- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 19 februarie 2002
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly admissible
- Partly inadmissible
Rice împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 65905/01 de către Alan John RICE împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 19 februarie 2002 în calitate de Cameră compusă de Președintele Pellonpää Sir Nicolas Bratza Pastor Ridruejo dna Palm Makarczyk dna Strážnická Pavlovschi și dl M. O’Boyle având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la 4 decembrie 2000 și înregistrată la 12 februarie 2001, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, Alan John Rice, este un național din Marea Britanie, născut în 1957 și locuiește în Bebington.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de dl Robinson de Biroul de Consiliere a Cetățenilor Bebington. Guvernul contestat este reprezentat de dl C.A. Whowersley, Biroul pentru Externe și Commonwealth, Londra. Circumstanțele cauzei Pot fi rezumate ca urmare. Soția reclamantului și soția sa au fost căsătorite în 1980 și au avut un copil, născut în 1991. Soția reclamantului a murit la 13 februarie 2000. În iunie 2000, reclamantul a solicitat Agenția de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială. El a solicitat beneficii echivalente cu cele pe care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul, și anume o plată a unei văduve și o indemnizație a mamei văduve, plătită în temeiul Legii privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”).
El a fost informat la 26 iunie 2000 că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca fiind o cerere valabil, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor sunt specifice femeilor. El a fost informat că nu are niciun drept de recurs deoarece reclamația sa nu a fost luată în considerare. Legea și practicile interne relevante Conform legii Regatului Unit, anumite prestații de securitate socială, inclusiv plata văduvei, alocarea mamei văduve și pensia văduvei, sunt plătite din Fondul Național de Asigurări. Prin secțiunea 1 din Legea din 1992, fondurile necesare pentru a plăti astfel de prestații trebuie să fie furnizate prin intermediul contribuțiilor plătibile secretarului de stat pentru securitate socială de către câștigătorii, angajatori și alții, împreună cu anumite adăugari ale Fondului de către Parlament.
Bărbații și femeile care câștigă sunt obligați să plătească aceleași contribuții de securitate socială în funcție de statutul lor de salariați sau de salariați independenți.
Plata adunătorilor în temeiul art. 36 din Legea 1992, o femeie văduvă are dreptul la plata unei văduve (în prezent, o plată forfetară de 1000 GBP) dacă: (i) ea este sub vârsta de pensie la momentul în care soțul ei a murit, sau el nu a avut atunci dreptul la o pensie de pensie de categorie A; (ii) soțul ei a îndeplinit anumite condiții specifice de contribuție de securitate socială prevăzute într-un program de la Legea 1992. 2. În temeiul articolului 37 din Legea din 1992, în măsura în care este relevantă, o femeie văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) are dreptul la alocarea mamei în anumite condiții, următoarele fiind condițiile relevante pentru situația prezentului caz: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Actului; și (ii) ea are dreptul să beneficieze de un copil în legătură cu un fiu sau fiica ei însuși și cu soțul său îndepărtat.
Indemnitatea mamei văduvăzi se ridică în prezent la 72,50 GBP pe săptămână, cu un supliment de 9,70 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește copilul mai mare eligibil, și un supliment de 11,35 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește alți copii. 3. Pensiunea văduvă În temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie văduvă (și care nu este recăsătorită) are dreptul la pensia unei văduve în cazul în care: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Legii; și (ii) la data morții soțului ei a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani; sau (iii) ea a încetat să aibă dreptul la alocarea unei mame văduvă în momentul în care avea peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani. Dacă reclamantul era o femeie, el ar putea aștepta cu nerăbdare dreptul la pensia unei văduvi, în viitor, atunci când el nu ar mai avea dreptul la alocarea mamei văduvă.
4. De-a lungul perioadei în cauză, termenele pentru declararea plății de la văduvă și a alocației mamei văduve au fost stabilite în Regulamentele privind securitatea socială (Claims and Payments) 1987 (Instrumentul de plată 1987/1968), art. 19 (modificat) din care se prevede: „(2) Timpul prescris pentru a solicita prestațiile menționate la alineatul (3) este de trei luni începând în ziua în care, în afară de a satisface condițiile depunerii unei cereri, reclamantul are dreptul la prestația în cauză. (3) Beneficiile la care se aplică alineatul (2) sunt -(...) (g) beneficiul văduvului;(...)” 5. Legea privind reforma de bunăstare și pensii din 1999 Legea privind reformele și pensiile de bunăstare („Legea 1999”) introduce două noi prestații de securitate socială, acordarea de alocare a părinților văduvi și Indemnitatea de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa.
Indemnitatea de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa. Ambele sunt plătite bărbaților și femeilor care îndeplinesc condițiile de eligibilitate relevante. De asemenea, Legea de 1999 introduce o nouă plată de securitate socială, numită plată de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lipsa de lip. Părțile relevante ale Actului au intrat în vigoare la 9 aprilie 2001 și permit oricărui bărbat al cărui soție moare înainte, la data respectivă sau după aceea, sau oricărei femei ale căror soț moare la data respectivă sau după aceea, să solicite acordarea de alocare a Părinților Viduvi.
De asemenea, permite oricărui bărbat al cărui soție moare la sau după data respectivă să solicite plată pentru livrare sau livrare în același mod ca o femeie al cărei soț moare la sau după acea dată. Legea din 1999 păstrează drepturile femeilor în temeiul Legii din 1992 ale căror soți au murit înainte de 9 aprilie 2001. Astfel, acestea continuă să aibă dreptul la plată a văduvei, la alocarea mamei văduvă și la pensiunea de văduvă în cazul în care sunt îndeplinite condițiile relevante de calificare.
COMPLAINTE Reclamantul se plânge că legislația privind securitatea socială a Regatului Unit discrimină el și soția sa din cauza sexului său și, prin urmare, încălcă art. 14 din Convenția luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Reclamantul se plânge că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației privind securitatea socială din Marea Britanie discrimină împotriva acestuia din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat atât cu art. 8 din Convenția, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. art. 14 prevede: „Drumarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în prezenta convenție este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 8 prevede (dacă este cazul): „1.
Fiecare are dreptul de a respecta viața sa privată și de familie … Nu va exista nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt în conformitate cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesele ... bunăstarea economică a țării … ” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede: „1. Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesele sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și de principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Guvernul susține că „decizia finală” la care se referă reclamațiile reclamantului a fost cea inclusă în scrisoarea Agenției de Beneficii din 26 iunie 2000 și că cererea a fost astfel depusă în afara termenului de șase luni stabilit de art. 35 § 1 din convenție. Curtea constată că plângerile reclamantului au fost introduse la 4 Decembrie 2000, la mai puțin de șase luni de la Agenția Beneficiilor prin scrisoarea menționată de Guvern.
Astfel, se concluzionează că cererea a fost depusă în conformitate cu termenul stabilit de art. 35 § 1 din Convenție. Cu toate acestea, Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu art. 34 din Convenție, nu poate primi decât cereri de persoane fizice și de alte persoane „clamând a fi victimă de o încălcare de către una dintre Înaltele părți contractante a drepturilor prevăzute în Convenție sau protocoalele sale”. Pentru a pretinde că este o victimă a unei încălcări, o persoană trebuie să fie direct afectată de măsura impușită (a se vedea, de exemplu, Hotărârea Buckley v. Regatul Unit din 25 septembrie 1996, Raporturile Hotărârilor și Deciziilor 1996-IV, p. 1288, §§§ 56-59 și decizia Valmont v. Regatul Unit din 23 martie 1999, nepublicată).
În acest caz, în perioada dintre moartea soției sale la 13 februarie 2000 și cererea sa de beneficii pentru văduve în iunie 2000, reclamantul nu poate fi declarat afectat direct de discriminarea a căror plânge, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție care nu a făcut reclamație nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficii pentru văduve în temeiul dreptului intern (a se vedea Cornwell v. Regatul Unit , cerere nr. 36578/97, hotărârea din 11 mai 1999, nedeclarată . În special ea nu ar fi avut dreptul la plata unei văduve. În consecință, pentru perioada 13 februarie 2000- iunie 2000, reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Primului Protocol și că cererea, în măsura în care se referă la această perioadă, este incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu acceptă faptul că, în ceea ce privește orice discriminare care ar putea fi suferită de soția îndepărtată a reclamantului, reclamantul poate pretinde că este o victimă a presupusei încălcări. De aceea, acest aspect al plângerii este, de asemenea, incompatibil. Rationne personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție. Curtea consideră că restul cererii ridică probleme complexe de drept și de fapt în temeiul Convenției, ale căror determinare ar trebui să depinde de examinarea meritelor. Prin urmare, aceasta concluzionează că restul cererii nu este evident nefondat în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție.
Nu au fost stabilite alte motive de declarare a acestor părți ale cererii inadmisibile. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, Declarații admisibil, fără prejudecarea fondului, acea parte a cererii de discriminare presupusă a fost suferită de reclamant în perioada de după cererea de beneficii a văduvelor în iunie 2000; declara inadmisibilă restul cererii.
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 65905/01 by Alan John RICE against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 19 February 2002 as a Chamber composed of Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mr A. Pastor Ridruejo , Mrs E. Palm , Mr J. Makarczyk , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr S. Pavlovschi , judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced on 4 December 2000 and registered on 12 February 2001, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Alan John Rice, is a United Kingdom national, born in 1957 and living in Bebington.
He is represented before the Court by Mr Robinson of Bebington Citizens Advice Bureau. The respondent Government are represented by Mr C.A. Whomersley, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. The applicant and his wife were married in 1980 and had one child, born in 1991. The applicant’s wife died on 13 February 2000. In June 2000 the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits. He applied for benefits equivalent to those which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled, namely a Widow’s Payment and a Widowed Mother’s Allowance, payable under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”).
He was informed on 26 June 2000 that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows’ benefits were specific to women. He was told that he had no right of appeal since his claim had not been considered. B. Relevant domestic law and practice Under United Kingdom law, certain social security benefits, including Widow’s Payment, Widowed Mother’s Allowance, and Widow’s Pension, are paid for out of the National Insurance Fund. By Section 1 of the 1992 Act, the funds required for paying such benefits are to be provided by means of contributions payable to the Secretary of State for Social Security by earners, employers and others, together with certain additions made to the Fund by Parliament.
Male and female earners are obliged to pay the same social security contributions in accordance with their status as employed earners or self-employed earners.
Widow’s Payment Under Section 36 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed is entitled to a widow’s payment (currently a lump sum payment of GBP 1,000) if: (i) she is under pensionable age at the time when her husband died, or he was not then entitled to a Category A retirement pension; (ii) her husband satisfied certain specified social security contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the 1992 Act.
Widowed Mother’s Allowance Under Section 37 of the 1992 Act, in so far as relevant, a woman who has been widowed (and who has not remarried) is entitled to a mother’s allowance on certain conditions, the following being the relevant conditions to the circumstance of the present case: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) she is entitled to receive child benefit in relation to a son or daughter of herself and her late husband. The Widowed Mother’s Allowance currently amounts to GBP 72.50 per week, with an extra GBP 9.70 per week in respect of the eldest eligible child, and a further GBP 11.35 per week in respect of other children.
Widow’s Pension Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed (and who is not remarried) is entitled to a widow’s pension if: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65; or (iii) she ceased to be entitled to a widowed mother’s allowance at the time when she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65. If the applicant were a woman, he could look forward to entitlement to a Widow’s Pension in the future, when he would no longer be entitled to the Widowed Mother’s Allowance.
Time-limit for applications for benefits Throughout the period in question, the time-limits for claiming Widow’s Payment and Widowed Mother’s Allowance were set out in the Social Security (Claims and Payments) Regulations 1987 (Statutory Instrument 1987/1968), regulation 19 (as amended) of which provided: “(2) The prescribed time for claiming the benefits specified in paragraph (3) is three months beginning on the day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned. (3) The benefits to which paragraph (2) applies are-(...) (g) widow’s benefit;(...)”
The Welfare Reform and Pensions Act 1999 The Welfare Reform and Pensions Act (“the 1999 Act”) introduces two new social security benefits, Widowed Parent’s Allowance and Bereavement Allowance. The Widowed Parent’s Allowance replaces the Widowed Mother’s Allowance. The Bereavement Allowance replaces the Widow’s Pension. Both is payable to men and women who meet the relevant qualifying conditions. The 1999 Act also introduces a new social security payment, called a Bereavement Payment, payable both to men and women in place of the Widow’s Payment. The relevant parts of the Act entered into force on 9 April 2001 and allow any man whose wife dies before, on or after that date, or any woman whose husband dies on or after that date, to apply for Widowed Parent’s Allowance. It also allows any man whose wife dies on or after that date to apply for Bereavement Payment or Bereavement Allowance in exactly the same way as a woman whose husband dies on or after that date. The 1999 Act preserves the entitlements of women under the 1992 Act whose husbands died before 9 April 2001. They thus continue to be entitled to the Widow’s Payment, Widowed Mother’s Allowance and Widow’s Pension where the relevant qualifying conditions are met. COMPLAINTS The applicant complains that United Kingdom social security legislation discriminates against him and his late wife on grounds of his sex and thus violates Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The applicant complains that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under United Kingdom social security legislation discriminates against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. Article 14 states: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in this Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 8 provides (as relevant): “1. Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life … 2. There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of ... the economic well-being of the country … ” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 states: “1. Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. 2. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” The Government submit that the “final decision” to which the applicant’s complaints relate was that contained in the Benefits Agency’s letter of 26 June 2000 and that the application was thus submitted outside the six month time-limit laid down by Article 35 § 1 of the Convention. The Court notes that the applicant’s complaints were introduced on 4 December 2000, less than six months after the Benefits Agency by letter referred to by the Government. It thus concludes that the application was submitted in accordance with the time-limit set by Article 35 § 1 of the Convention. However, the Court recalls that under Article 34 of the Convention it may only receive applications from individuals and others “claiming to be the victim of a violation by one of the High Contracting Parties of the rights set forth in the Convention or the protocols thereto”. In order to claim to be a victim of a violation, a person must be directly affected by the impugned measure (see, for example, the Buckley v. the United Kingdom judgment of 25 September 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996-IV, p. 1288, §§ 56-59 and the Valmont v. the United Kingdom decision of 23 March 1999, unpublished). In the present case, during the period between his wife’s death on 13 February 2000 and his application for widows’ benefits in June 2000, the applicant cannot be said to have been directly affected by the discrimination of which he complains, since a woman in the same position who had made no claim would have had no entitlement to widows’ benefits under domestic law (see Cornwell v. the United Kingdom , application no. 36578/97, decision of 11 May 1999, unreported). In particular she would have had no entitlement to a Widow’s Payment. It follows that for the period 13 February 2000 to June 2000 the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and First Protocol, and that the application, insofar as it relates to this period, is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. The applicant complains also about discrimination suffered by his late wife in respect of the decision to refuse him widows’ benefits. However, the Court does not accept that, in respect of any discrimination which may have been suffered by the applicant’s late wife, the applicant can claim to be a victim of the alleged violation. It follows that this aspect of the complaint is also incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. The Court considers that the remainder of the application raises complex issues of law and fact under the Convention, the determination of which should depend on an examination of the merits. It concludes, therefore, that the remainder of the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other grounds for declaring those parts of the application inadmissible have been established. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares admissible, without prejudging the merits, that part of the application concerning discrimination alleged to have been suffered by the applicant during the period after his claim for widows’ benefits in June 2000; Declares inadmissible the remainder of the application. Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Registrar President