- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 12 noiembrie 2002
- Stat pârât
- SWE
- Articole
- Articolul 6
- Concluzia
- Nicio încălcare — Articolul 6
Döry împotriva Suediei
Traducere în română Auto
Prin decizia provizorie din 25 aprilie 1990, Oficiul de Asigurare Socială (försäkringskassan; denumit în continuare „Oficiul”) al județului de Stockholm a decis că plățile beneficiilor pentru prejudiciu industrial reclamantului, care s-a născut în 1954, ar trebui întrerupte începând cu 1 martie 1990. Această decizie a fost confirmată printr-o decizie finală din 2 iulie 1990. Oficiul a considerat că capacitatea reclamantului de a lucra nu a fost redusă din cauza problemelor din spate, în măsura în care are dreptul la beneficiile în cauză în temeiul normelor aplicabile ale Actului privind asigurarea prejudiciului industrial (Lagen om arbetsskadeförsäkring, 1976:380; denumit în continuare „Legea din 1976”) 9. Reclamantul a solicitat ulterior Oficiului să își revizuiască decizia, pe care a făcut-o la 20 noiembrie 1991. Cu excepția acordării prestațiilor pentru perioada 1 martie – 27 aprilie 1990, Oficiul a susținut decizia anterioară și a constatat, de asemenea, că reclamantul nu a avut dreptul la o pensie de viață.
10. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului (länsrätten) din județul de Stockholm, susținând că are dreptul la beneficii continuate după 27 aprilie 1990. Ea a susținut că dovezile medicale, pe care decizia Oficiului se bazează, au arătat de fapt că are dreptul la beneficiile solicitate. 11. Prin hotărârea din 8 aprilie 1992, Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului a susținut decizia Oficiului. Evaluarea instanței a fost bazată pe certificate medicale de la trei medici diferite care au declarat că reclamantul a fost în măsură să lucreze și, prin urmare, nu are dreptul la prestațiile în cauză. Reclamantul a apelat apoi la Curtea Administrativă de Apel (kammarrätten) de la Stockholm.
În sprijinul apelului ei, a invocat certificate medicale emise de alte trei medici. În plus, fără să declare motivele solicitării, a solicitat instanței să desfășoare o audiere orală. 13. La 5 noiembrie 1992, instanța de acuzație a respins cererea de audiere orală. După ce a reiterat art. 9 din Legea de procedură a Curții Administrative (Förvaltningsproceslagen, 1971:291; denumit în continuare „Legea din 1971”; a se vedea mai jos punctul 28), aceasta a dat următoarele motive: „Auând în vedere subiectul în cauză și informațiile care au ajuns până acum la întârziere în acest caz, [curtea] consideră că o ședință orală este în prezent inutilă. [Reclamantul] este invitat să prezinte observațiile sale finale scrise în acest caz în termen de două săptămâni de la notificarea acestei decizii.
Cazul poate fi determinat în ciuda nerespectării acestor observații scrise.” 14. La 25 februarie 1994, Curtea Administrativă de Apel, bazată pe dovezile medicale prezentate în acest caz, a respins apelul reclamantului. De asemenea, a respins cererea reînnoită de audiere orală. 15. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva hotărârii în fața Curții Supreme de Asigurări Sociale (Försäkringsöverdomstolen) și s-a plâns de lipsa de audieri orale în instanțele inferioare. În acest sens, ea a susținut că cazul nu a fost investigat în mod adecvat și că o audiere orală a fost necesară pentru a explica chestiuni de importanță pentru evaluarea instanțelor. 16. Prin scrisoarea din 9 februarie 1995, Curtea Supremă de Asigurări Sociale a informat reclamantul că o audiere orală în acest caz pare a fi inutile.
La 8 iunie 1995, Curtea Supremă de Asigurări Sociale a refuzat să recurgă. 18. Reclamantul a fost în stare de boală între 1 mai și 30 iunie 1991, în cursul perioadei în care a primit prestații de boală per diem în temeiul Legii privind asigurările sociale (Lagen om allmän försäkring, 1962:381; denumită în continuare „Legea din 1962”). Cu toate acestea, prin decizia din 7 august 1991, Oficiul a constatat că nu mai are dreptul la astfel de prestații. La cererea reclamantului, Oficiul a examinat decizia sa la 10 iunie 1992, dar nu a schimbat-o. 19. La 15 septembrie 1993, Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului, la apelul reclamantului, a constatat că dovezile medicale disponibile nu au arătat că are dreptul la beneficii începând cu 1 iulie 1991. Se pare că reclamantul nu a solicitat o audiere orală înainte de această instanță.
20. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea Administrativă de Apel. Ea a solicitat, de asemenea, în acest caz, că instanța de acuzare deține o audiere orală și, în plus, a solicitat să obțină dovezi medicale suplimentare. La 2 decembrie 1993, instanța a respins cererile, având în vedere aceleași motive privind problema unei audieri orale ca în decizia sa din 5 noiembrie 1992 (a se vedea punctul 13 mai sus). 21. La 25 februarie 1994, Curtea Administrativă de Apel a respins apelul reclamantului și cererea reînnoită de audiere orală. 22. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva hotărârii în fața Curții Supreme de Asigurări Sociale. Ea solicită din nou o audiere orală în acest caz. De asemenea, s-a plâns de lipsa audierii orale în instanța de judecată.
23. Prin scrisoarea din 9 februarie 1995, Curtea Supremă de Asigurare Socială a informat reclamantul că o audiere orală în acest caz pare a fi inutile. La 8 iunie 1995, Curtea Supremă de Asigurare Socială a refuzat reclamantul să permită recursul. 25 Toate persoanele angajate care lucrează în Suedia sunt asigurate împotriva leziunilor industriale în conformitate cu Legea din 1976. Oricine este pus pe lista bolnavă ca urmare a unei leziuni industriale și care este asigurat în temeiul legii din 1962 are dreptul la același per diem beneficiază de asigurarea obișnuită de boală (asigurare socială) în primele 90 de zile ca și cum ar fi fost bolnav dintr-un alt motiv decât o leziune industrială.
După ce au trecut 90 de zile, persoana asigurată are dreptul la o prestație de boală per diem în conformitate cu Legea din 1976 (asigurarea de prejudiciu industrial), în cazul în care capacitatea sa de a continua cu un loc de muncă câștigătoare este redusă cu cel puțin 25% (50% înainte de 1 iulie 1990). După ce perioada de boală s-a încheiat și persoana asigurată nu mai este pe lista bolnavă, el sau ea are dreptul la o pensie de viață în cazul în care capacitatea de angajare câștigată este redusă cu cel puțin un cincisprezece.26 Toți cetățenii suedezi și ceilalți rezidenți din Suedia sunt asigurați în conformitate cu Legea din 1962. Oricine este înregistrat la Oficiul de Asigurări Sociale și are un venit anual de cel puțin 6.000 de coroane suedeze (SEK) are dreptul la un beneficiu de boală per diem, în cazul în care boala lui reduce capacitatea de a lucra cu cel puțin 25%.
27. O hotărâre a Oficiului de Asigurare Socială în temeiul actelor din 1962 și 1976 poate fi apelată la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului și de acolo la Curtea Administrativă de Apel și, în momentul respectiv, cu condiția să se acorde recursul, la Curtea Supremă de Asigurări Sociale. Această ultimă instanță a fost instanța finală în materie de asigurări sociale până la 1 iulie 1995, atunci când a fost abolită și sarcinile sale preluate de Curtea Supremă Administrativă (Regeringsrätten). 28. Procedura în instanța administrativă este reglementată de dispozițiile Legii din 1971. De asemenea, a reglementat procedura în fața Curții Supreme de Asigurări Sociale. Secțiunea 9 prevede: „Procedurile sunt scrise, o audiere orală poate avea loc cu privire la o anumită chestiune, atunci când există motive de a presupune că acest lucru ar fi în beneficiul procedurii sau de determinarea rapidă a cazului.
În Curtea Administrativă de Apel și în Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului se desfășoară o audiere orală, dacă o parte individuală la procedură a solicitării, cu excepția cazului în care nu este necesar sau există motive speciale pentru a desfășura o audiere.” Posibilitatea ca o parte individuală să obțină o audiere orală la cerere în aceste circumstanțe nu a fost disponibilă în cadrul procedurii dinaintea Curții Supreme de Asigurări Sociale. 29. Potrivit documentelor pregătitoare din Legea din 1971, o audiere orală poate fi un supliment valoros al procedurii scrise și poate beneficia de examinarea unui caz în două situații în special: în primul rând, atunci când este necesar să se audă un martor, un expert sau o parte sau atunci când este dificil ca o parte să prezinte cazul în scris și, în al doilea rând, atunci când diferitele poziții în acest caz trebuie rezolvate pentru a elimina problemele inutile sau inutile de litigiu.
În ultimul caz, audierea orală are ca caracter pregătitor, însă s-a subliniat că o audiere orală nu ar trebui considerată ca o alternativă la procedura scrisă, ci ca un complemento la aceasta (a se vedea proiectul de legea Guvernului 1971:30, p. 535). 30. În plus, în ceea ce privește art. 9 al treilea paragraf, s-a afirmat că cererea unei părți de audiere orală ar trebui să fie luată în considerare. Cu toate acestea, o astfel de cerere nu ar trebui să aibă o influență decisivă asupra acestei chestiuni, deoarece întrebarea dacă o audiere orală este necesară să fie determinată în principal pe baza informațiilor disponibile în acest caz. Cu toate acestea, alte circumstanțe pot fi relevante, de exemplu importanța pentru partea în cauză sau posibilitatea ca o audiere orală să îmbunătățească înțelegerea părții cu privire la o decizie viitoare în acest caz.
Cu toate acestea, dacă cazul este de caracter banal sau costurile unei audieri orale ar fi disproporționate în raport cu valorile în joc în acest caz, ar putea exista motive pentru a nu ține o audiție orală (p. 537).
8. By a provisional decision of 25 April 1990 the Social Insurance Office (försäkringskassan; hereinafter “the Office”) of the County of Stockholm decided that payments of industrial injury benefits to the applicant, who was born in 1954, should be discontinued as from 1 March 1990. This decision was confirmed by a final decision of 2 July 1990. The Office considered that the applicant’s ability to work was not reduced due to her back problems to such an extent that she was entitled to the benefits in question under the applicable rules of the Act on Industrial Injury Insurance (Lagen om arbetsskadeförsäkring, 1976:380; hereinafter “the 1976 Act”) 9. The applicant later requested the Office to review its decision, which it did on 20 November 1991. Save for the grant of benefits for the period 1 March – 27 April 1990, the Office upheld its previous decision and also found that the applicant was not entitled to a life annuity.
10. The applicant appealed to the County Administrative Court (länsrätten) of the County of Stockholm, claiming that she was entitled to continued benefits after 27 April 1990. She maintained that the medical evidence, on which the Office’s decision was based, in fact showed that she was entitled to the benefits sought. 11. By a judgment of 8 April 1992 the County Administrative Court upheld the Office’s decision. The court’s assessment was based on medical certificates from three different physicians who all stated that the applicant was able to work and thus was not entitled to the benefits in question. It did not hold an oral hearing, nor did the applicant request one. 12. The applicant then appealed to the Administrative Court of Appeal (kammarrätten) in Stockholm.
In support of her appeal she invoked medical certificates issued by three other physicians. Furthermore, without stating any reasons for her request, she asked the court to hold an oral hearing. 13. On 5 November 1992 the appellate court rejected the request for an oral hearing. After having restated section 9 of the Administrative Court Procedure Act (Förvaltningsprocesslagen, 1971:291; hereinafter “the 1971 Act”; see further paragraph 28 below), it gave the following reasons: “Having regard to the subject-matter at issue and the information that has so far come to hand in the case, [the court] finds that an oral hearing is at present unnecessary. [The applicant] is invited to submit her final written observations in the case within two weeks after having been notified of this decision.
The case can be determined notwithstanding a failure to submit such written observations.” 14. On 25 February 1994 the Administrative Court of Appeal, relying on the medical evidence submitted in the case, rejected the applicant’s appeal. It also rejected her renewed request for an oral hearing. 15. The applicant appealed against the judgment to the Supreme Social Insurance Court (Försäkringsöverdomstolen). She complained about the lack of oral hearings in the lower courts. In that respect, she maintained that the case had not been adequately investigated and that an oral hearing had been necessary for her to explain matters of importance to the courts’ assessment. 16. By a letter of 9 February 1995 the Supreme Social Insurance Court informed the applicant that an oral hearing in the case appeared to be unnecessary.
She was given the opportunity to submit further observations on the question of leave to appeal. 17. On 8 June 1995 the Supreme Social Insurance Court refused the applicant leave to appeal. 18. The applicant was on sick-leave between 1 May and 30 June 1991, during which period she received per diem sickness benefits under the Social Insurance Act (Lagen om allmän försäkring, 1962:381; hereinafter “the 1962 Act”). However, by a decision of 7 August 1991 the Office found that she was no longer entitled to such benefits. At the applicant’s request, the Office reviewed its decision on 10 June 1992 but did not change it. 19. On 15 September 1993 the County Administrative Court, upon the applicant’s appeal, found that the available medical evidence did not show that she was entitled to benefits as from 1 July 1991. The appeal was thus rejected.
It does not appear that the applicant asked for an oral hearing before this instance. 20. The applicant appealed to the Administrative Court of Appeal. She requested also in this case that the appellate court hold an oral hearing and, moreover, asked it to obtain further medical evidence. On 2 December 1993 the court rejected the requests, giving the same reasons on the issue of an oral hearing as in its decision of 5 November 1992 (see paragraph 13 above). 21. On 25 February 1994 the Administrative Court of Appeal rejected the applicant’s appeal and her renewed request for an oral hearing. 22. The applicant appealed against the judgment to the Supreme Social Insurance Court. She requested again that an oral hearing be held in the case.
She also complained about the lack of oral hearings in the lower courts. 23. By a letter of 9 February 1995 the Supreme Social Insurance Court informed the applicant that an oral hearing in the case appeared to be unnecessary. She was given the opportunity to submit further observations on the question of leave to appeal. 24. On 8 June 1995 the Supreme Social Insurance Court refused the applicant leave to appeal. 25. All gainfully employed persons working in Sweden are insured against industrial injuries in accordance with the 1976 Act. Anyone who is put on the sick-list as a result of an industrial injury and who is insured under the 1962 Act is entitled to the same per diem benefit from the ordinary sickness insurance (social insurance) during the first 90 days as if he or she had been sick for a reason other than an industrial injury.
When 90 days have passed, the insured person is entitled to a per diem sickness benefit in accordance with the 1976 Act (industrial injury insurance), if his or her ability to carry on with gainful employment is reduced by at least 25% (50% prior to 1 July 1990). After the period of sickness has come to an end and the insured person is no longer on the sick-list, he or she is entitled to a life annuity if the capacity for gainful employment is reduced by at least one fifteenth. 26. All Swedish nationals and other residents in Sweden are insured in accordance with the 1962 Act. Anyone who is registered with the Social Insurance Office and has an annual income of at least 6,000 Swedish kronor (SEK) has the right to a per diem sickness benefit, if his or her sickness reduces the ability to work by at least 25%.
27. A decision by the Social Insurance Office under the 1962 and 1976 Acts may be appealed against to the County Administrative Court and from there on to the Administrative Court of Appeal and, at the relevant time, subject to leave to appeal being granted, to the Supreme Social Insurance Court. The latter court was the final instance in social insurance matters until 1 July 1995, when it was abolished and its tasks taken over by the Supreme Administrative Court (Regeringsrätten). 28. The procedure in the administrative courts is governed by the provisions of the 1971 Act. It also regulated the proceedings before the Supreme Social Insurance Court. Section 9 provides: “The proceedings are in writing.
An oral hearing may be held in regard to a certain issue, when there is reason to assume that that would be to the benefit of the proceedings or the speedy determination of the case. In the Administrative Court of Appeal and the County Administrative Court an oral hearing shall be held if requested by an individual party to the proceedings, unless it is unnecessary or there are particular reasons against holding a hearing.” The possibility for an individual party to obtain an oral hearing on request under those circumstances was not available in the proceedings before the Supreme Social Insurance Court.
29. According to the preparatory documents to the 1971 Act, an oral hearing can be a valuable complement to the written proceedings and may benefit the examination of a case in two situations in particular: firstly, when it is necessary to hear a witness, an expert or a party or when it is difficult for a party to present the case in writing and, secondly, when different positions in the case need to be sorted out in order to eliminate unnecessary or pointless issues of dispute. In the latter case, the oral hearing takes on a preparatory character. It was stressed, however, that an oral hearing should not to be seen as an alternative to the written procedure but as a complement to it (see Government Bill 1971:30, p. 535). 30. It was further stated, in respect of the third paragraph of section 9, that a party’s request for an oral hearing should be given great consideration.
However, such a request should not have a decisive influence on the matter, as the question whether an oral hearing is necessary is to be determined primarily on the basis of the available information in the case. Still, other circumstances may be of relevance, for instance the importance for the party of the matter at stake or the possibility that an oral hearing could enhance the party’s understanding of a future decision in the case. Nevertheless, if the case is of a trivial character or the costs of an oral hearing would be disproportionate to the values at stake in the case, there could be reason not to hold an oral hearing (p. 537).