- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 6 mai 2003
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
- Partly admissible
McWILLIAMS împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 53738/00 de către Charles MCWILLIAMS împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 6 mai 2003 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Președintele Pellonpää Sir Nicolas Bratza dna Strážnická Maruste Pavlovschi, Garlicki Borrego Borrego, judecători și grefierul Secțiunii O’Boyle Având în vedere cererea depusă la 1 octombrie 1999, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Reclamantul, dl Charles McWilliams, este un național al Regatului Unit, născut în 1953 și locuiește în Bangor, County Down.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de John Ross & Son, o firmă de avocati care practică în Newtownards. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum a prezentat reclamantul, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului s-a căsătorit în 1988. El și soția sa au avut o fiică născut în 1984. La 3 mai 1999 soția reclamantului a murit. La scurt timp după moartea soției sale, el a făcut o anchetă telefonică cu agenția de prestații (dar a fost incapabil de a susține această cerere, a se vedea mai jos). Reclamantul a solicitat plata unei văduve în septembrie 1999, care a fost refuzată în octombrie 1999. La 9 noiembrie 2000, el a solicitat alocația mamei văduvă, care a fost refuzată la 19 decembrie 2000. Legea și practicile interne relevante În temeiul legislației Regatului Unit, anumite prestații de securitate socială sunt plătite din Fondul Național de Asigurări.
În momentul material, secțiunea 1 din Legea privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”), cu condiția ca fondurile necesare pentru a plăti astfel de beneficii, inclusiv plata văduvei, alocarea mamei văduvă și a pensiei văduvei, să fie furnizate prin intermediul contribuțiilor plătibile secretarului de stat pentru securitate socială de către câștigătorii, angajatori și alții, împreună cu anumite adăugari făcute la Fond de către Parlament. Bărbații și femeile câștigători au fost (și sunt) obligați să plătească aceleași contribuții de securitate socială în conformitate cu statutul lor de salariați sau de salariați independenți.
Plata de văduvă în temeiul art. 36 din Legea 1992, o femeie văduvă avea dreptul la plata unei văduve (la timpul material, o plată forfetară de 1000 de lire sterline (GBP)) dacă: (i) a fost sub vârsta de pensie la momentul în care soțul ei a murit sau el nu a avut dreptul la o pensie de pensie de categorie A; (ii) soțul ei a îndeplinit anumite condiții specifice de contribuție de securitate socială prevăzute într-un program al Legii 1992. În conformitate cu secțiunea 37 din Legea din 1992, în măsura în care este relevantă, o femeie văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) a avut dreptul la alocarea mamei în anumite condiții, următoarele fiind condițiile relevante în circumstanțele prezentului caz: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Actului; și (ii) ea a avut dreptul să beneficieze de un copil în legătură cu un fiu sau fiica ei însuși și soțul său îndepărtat.
La momentul material, alocația mamei văduvă a fost de aproximativ 72,50 GBP pe săptămână, cu un supliment de 9,70 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește copilul cel mai mare eligibil, și un supliment de 11,35 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește alți copii. Pensiunea Viduvii În temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie văduvă (și care s-a recăsătorit) a avut dreptul la pensia unei văduve în cazul în care: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Legii; și (ii) la data morții soțului ei a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani; sau (iii) ea a încetat să aibă dreptul la alocarea unei mame văduvă în momentul în care avea peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani.
Pentru perioada până la 7 aprilie 1997, termenele pentru a solicita plata văduvă și alocația mamei văduvă au fost stabilite în Regulamentele privind securitatea socială (Claims and Payments) 1987 („Regulamentele din 1987”), dintre care art. 19 prevedea: „(6) Timpul stabilit pentru a solicita prestații care nu sunt specificate în coloana 1 a anexei 4 este – ... (b) Douăsprezece luni în cazul beneficiului ... (7) Perioadele de șase și douăsprezece luni prevăzute de alineatul (6) sunt calculate de la oricare zi în care, în afară de a satisface condiția de a face o cerere, reclamantul are dreptul la beneficiul în cauză.” Începând cu 7 aprilie 1997, Regulamentul 19 a fost modificat astfel încât să citească: „(2) Timpul prescris pentru a solicita prestațiile menționate la alineatul (3) este de trei luni începând în ziua în care, în afară de a satisface condițiile depunerii unei cereri, reclamantul are dreptul la prestația în cauză.
(3) Beneficiile la care se aplică alineatul (2) sunt – ... (g) beneficiul văduvului; ...” Termenele stabilite în versiunea modificată a Regulamentului 19 se aplică tuturor cererilor de beneficii ale văduvelor făcute la 7 aprilie 1987, indiferent de data pierderii. În plus, secțiunea 1 alineatul (2) din Legea de administrare a securității sociale din 1992 prevede, în ceea ce privește cererile de plată a văduvei: „În conformitate cu subsecțiunea (1) de mai sus, o persoană trebuie să facă o cerere sau să fie tratată ca fiind o cerere de beneficii pentru a avea dreptul la aceasta – (a) în cazul în care beneficiul este plata unei văduve, ea nu are dreptul la aceasta în ceea ce privește un deces care are loc mai mult de 12 luni înainte de data la care cererea este efectuată sau tratată ca fiind efectuată ...” Irlanda de Nord Echivalenții precisi a tuturor dispozițiilor de mai sus ale legislației primare și secundare au apărut în legislația din Irlanda de Nord.
Reclamantul plânge că legislația britanică de securitate socială discrimină împotriva lui din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Reclamantul se plânge în continuare că nu are niciun remediu în temeiul dreptului intern în încălcarea articolului 13 din Convenție.
Reclamantul se plânge că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice de securitate socială este discriminată împotriva lui din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. El se plânge în continuare că a fost refuzat un remediu eficace, în contravenție cu art. 13. art. 14 din Convenție prevede: „Ocuparea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [] Convenția este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 8 din Convenția prevede (dacă este cazul): „1.
Fiecare are dreptul de a respecta viața sa privată și de familie ... Nu va exista nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt în conformitate cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesele ... bunăstarea economică a țării ...” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau sancțiuni.” art. 13 din convenție prevede: „Toată persoana a căror drepturi și libertăți, astfel cum sunt prevăzute în [] Convenție, sunt încălcate, are un remediu eficace în fața unei autorități naționale, în ciuda faptului că încălcarea a fost comisă de persoanele care acționează în calitate oficială.” Guvernul susține că reclamantul nu a formulat o cerere de plată în termen de trei luni de la moartea soției sale și, prin urmare, nu se poate spune că este o victimă în sensul Convenției.
Reclamantul susține că a efectuat o anchetă telefonică cu agenția de prestații în termen de trei luni de la moartea soției sale, dar guvernul susține că reclamația sa este nefondată. Reclamantul nu a formulat nicio prezentare în răspuns. Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu art. 34 din Convenție, aceasta poate primi cereri de către persoane fizice și de alte persoane „clamând că este victimă de o încălcare de către una dintre Înaltele părți contractante a drepturilor prevăzute în Convenție sau a protocoalelor sale”.
Pentru a pretinde că este victimă de o încălcare, o persoană trebuie să fie afectată direct de măsura impugnată (a se vedea, de exemplu, Buckley v. Regatul Unit , hotărârea din 25 septembrie 1996, Raportul hotărârilor și deciziilor 1996-IV , p. 128 §§ 56-59 și Cornwell v. Regatul Unit (dec.), cererea nr. 36578/97, 11 mai 1999, nedeclarată . Până când reclamantul nu a solicitat în biroul său local de prestații pentru beneficiile văduvelor, sau a arătat clar dorința de a solicita aceste prestații, el nu a putut pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție care nu a făcut nicio reclamație nu ar fi avut dreptul la prestațiile văduvelor sau la alocația fiscală în temeiul dreptului intern.
Curtea remarcă că din 7 aprilie 1997, un termen de trei luni, începând cu data dreptului, a solicitat cererile pentru beneficiile văduvelor de către femei. O văduvă care nu solicită plata unei văduve în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei, pierde toate drepturile la acest beneficiu. Prima cerere justificată a reclamantului pentru plata văduvei a fost formulată în septembrie 1999, la mai mult de trei luni de la moartea soției sale. Această parte din cererea sa este, în consecință, incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție. Alocația mamei văduvă este o prestație continuă care poate fi solicitată în orice moment, presupunând drepturi, dar o reclamație făcută în afara termenului de trei luni nu poate fi retrasă până la data pierderii.
Reclamantul și-a solicitat alocația mamei văduvă la 9 Prin urmare, nu se poate spune că el a fost direct afectat de discriminarea a căror plânge în timpul perioadei dintre moartea soției sale, la 3 mai 1999 și 9 noiembrie 2000. în conformitate cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie să fie declarate inadmisibile în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4. Curtea constată că Guvernul nu contestă admisibilitatea cererii de alocare a mamei văduvă de la data cererii, iar Curtea consideră că plângerea susține probleme serioase de fapt și de drept în temeiul Convenției, ale căror determinare necesită o examinare a meritelor. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că această plângere nu este evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție.
Nu s-a stabilit niciun alt motiv pentru declararea inadmisibilă. Guvernul nu a formulat niciun argument cu privire la admisibilitatea acestui aspect al cererii. Curtea reamintește totuși că art. 13 nu ajunge atât de departe în ceea ce privește garantarea unui remediu care să permită contestarea legislației primare a unui stat contractant în fața unei autorități naționale, deoarece este contrar convenției (a se vedea, de exemplu, Willis v. Regatul Unit) , nr. 36042/97, § 62, CEDO 2002-IV … cererea inadmisibilă pentru perioada între moartea soției reclamantului și data la care a formulat cererea de alocare a mamei văduvă; declara cererea inadmisibilă în măsura în care reclamantul plânge în temeiul articolului 13 din Convenție; declara restul cererii admisibile, fără a prejudicia fondurile cauzei.
Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Grefier Președintele
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 53738/00 by Charles MCWILLIAMS against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 6 May 2003 as a Chamber composed of: Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi, Mr L. Garlicki , Mr J. Borrego Borrego, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 1 October 1999, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Charles McWilliams, is a United Kingdom national, who was born in 1953 and lives in Bangor, County Down.
He is represented before the Court by John Ross & Son, a firm of solicitors practising in Newtownards. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. The applicant married in 1988. He and his wife had a daughter born in 1984. On 3 May 1999 the applicant’s wife died. Shortly after his wife’s death he made a telephone enquiry with the benefits agency (but has been unable to substantiate this claim, see below). The applicant applied for a widow’s payment in September 1999, which was refused in October 1999. On 9 November 2000 he applied for widowed mother’s allowance, which was refused on 19 December 2000. B. Relevant domestic law and practice Under United Kingdom law, certain social security benefits are paid for out of the National Insurance Fund.
At the material time Section 1 of the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”), provided that the funds required for paying such benefits, including Widow’s Payment, Widowed Mother’s Allowance, and Widow’s Pension, were to be provided by means of contributions payable to the Secretary of State for Social Security by earners, employers and others, together with certain additions made to the Fund by Parliament. Male and female earners were (and are) obliged to pay the same social security contributions in accordance with their status as employed earners or self-employed earners.
Widow’s Payment Under Section 36 of the 1992 Act, a woman who was widowed was entitled to a widow’s payment (at the material time, a lump sum payment of 1,000 pounds sterling (GBP)) if: (i) she was under pensionable age at the time when her husband died, or he was not then entitled to a Category A retirement pension; (ii) her husband satisfied certain specified social security contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the 1992 Act.
Widowed Mother’s Allowance Under Section 37 of the 1992 Act, in so far as relevant, a woman who was widowed (and who had not remarried) was entitled to a mother’s allowance on certain conditions, the following being the relevant conditions to the circumstances of the present case: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) she was entitled to receive child benefit in relation to a son or daughter of herself and her late husband. At the material time, the widowed mother’s allowance amounted to approximately GBP 72.50 per week, with an extra GBP 9.70 per week in respect of the eldest eligible child, and a further GBP 11.35 per week in respect of other children.
Widow’s Pension Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who was widowed (and who had remarried) was entitled to a widow’s pension if: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65; or (iii) she ceased to be entitled to a widowed mother’s allowance at the time when she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65.
Time-limit for applications for benefits For the period up to 7 April 1997, the time-limits for claiming widow’s payment and widowed mother’s allowance were set out in the Social Security (Claims and Payments) Regulations 1987 (“the 1987 Regulations”), regulation 19 of which provided: “(6) The prescribed time for claiming benefits not specified in column (1) of Schedule 4 shall be – ... (b) twelve months in the case of ... widow’s benefit ... (7) The periods of six and twelve months prescribed by paragraph (6) are calculated from any day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned.” As of 7 April 1997, regulation 19 was amended so as to read: “(2) The prescribed time for claiming the benefits specified in paragraph (3) is three months beginning on the day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned. (3) The benefits to which paragraph (2) applies are– ... (g) widow’s benefit; ...” The time-limits set out in the amended version of regulation 19 applied to all widows’ benefits claims made as of 7 April 1987, regardless of the date of bereavement. In addition, section 1(2) of the Social Security Administration Act 1992 provided, in relation to claims for Widow’s Payment: “Where under subsection (1) above a person is required to make a claim or to be treated as making a claim for a benefit in order to be entitled to it – (a) if the benefit is a widow’s payment, she shall not be entitled to it in respect of a death occurring more than 12 months before the date on which the claim is made or treated as made ...”
Northern Ireland Precise equivalents of all of the above provisions of primary and secondary legislation appeared in Northern Ireland legislation. COMPLAINT The applicant complains that British social security legislation discriminates against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicant further complains that he had no remedy under domestic law in breach of Article 13 of the Convention. THE LAW The applicant complains that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British social security legislation discriminates against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. He further complains that he has been denied an effective remedy, contrary to Article 13. Article 14 of the Convention states: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 8 of the Convention provides (as relevant): “1. Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life ... 2. There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of ... the economic well-being of the country ...” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 states: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” Article 13 of the Convention provides: “Everyone whose rights and freedoms as set forth in [the] Convention are violated shall have an effective remedy before a national authority notwithstanding that the violation has been committed by persons acting in an official capacity.” A. Widow’s Payment The Government submit that the applicant did not make a claim for the payment within three months of his wife’s death and thus cannot be said to be a victim for the purposes of the Convention. The applicant claims to have made a telephone enquiry with the benefits agency within three months of his wife’s death, but the Government submit that his claim is unsubstantiated. The applicant has not made any submissions in response. The Court recalls that under Article 34 of the Convention it may receive applications from individuals and others “claiming to be the victim of a violation by one of the High Contracting Parties of the rights set forth in the Convention or the protocols thereto”. In order to claim to be a victim of a violation, a person must be directly affected by the impugned measure (see, for example, Buckley v. the United Kingdom , judgment of 25 September 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996-IV, p. 128, §§ 56-59, and Cornwell v. the United Kingdom (dec.), application no. 36578/97, 11 May 1999, unreported). Until the applicant applied to his local benefits office for widows’ benefits, or made clear his wish to claim those benefits, he could not claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position who had made no claim would have had no entitlement to widows’ benefits or tax allowance under domestic law. The Court notes that since 7 April 1997, a three-month time-limit, commencing from the date of entitlement, has applied to claims for widows’ benefits by women. A widow who does not claim a widow’s payment within three months of her husband’s death, loses all entitlement to this benefit. The applicant’s earliest substantiated claim for widow’s payment was made in September 1999, more than three months after the death of his wife. That part of his application is accordingly incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. B. Widowed Mother’s Allowance Widowed mother’s allowance is a continuing benefit which can be claimed at any time, assuming entitlement, but a claim made outside the three-month time-limit cannot be back-dated to the date of bereavement. The applicant made his claim for widowed mother’s allowance on 9 November 2000. He cannot therefore be said to have been directly affected by the discrimination of which he complains during the period between his wife’s death, on 3 May 1999 and 9 November 2000. It follows that for this period he cannot claim to have been a victim for the purposes of the Convention and to that extent his application is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4. The Court notes that the Government do not contest the admissibility of the applicant’s claim for widowed mother’s allowance from the date of the claim, and the Court considers that the complaint raises serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that this complaint is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring it inadmissible has been established. C. Complaint under Article 13 The Government have made no submissions about the admissibility of this aspect of the application. The Court recalls however that Article 13 does not go so far as to guarantee a remedy allowing a Contracting State’s primary legislation to be challenged before a national authority on grounds that it is contrary to the Convention (see, for example, Willis v. the United Kingdom , no. 36042/97, § 62, ECHR 2002-IV). It follows that this aspect of the application concerned is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares the application inadmissible insofar as it concerns non-payment of widow’s payment; Declares the application inadmissible for the period between the applicant’s wife’s death and the date on which he made his claim for widowed mother’s allowance; Declares the application inadmissible insofar as the applicant complains under Article 13 of the Convention; Declares the remainder of the application admissible, without prejudging the merits of the case. Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Registrar President