- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 13 noiembrie 2003
- Stat pârât
- SWE
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Lundkvist împotriva Suediei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, dl Tommy Lundkvist, este un național suedez, născut în 1949 și locuiește în Kvicksund. El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl J. Södergren, un avocat practicant la Stockholm. Guvernul contestat a fost reprezentat de dna I. Kalmerborn al Ministerului pentru Afaceri Externe, ca agent. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. În seara din 24 iunie 1994, așa-numita “noapte de vară”, a izbucnit un rând între reclamant și soția sa în casa cuplului. Mai târziu, la 25 iunie, la aproximativ 2 a.m., un incendiu a devastat casa, o casă de lemn deținută de solicitant, care a ars la zidurile fundației. Reclamantul a fost ulterior acuzat în conformitate cu capitolul 3, art. 5 din Codul Penal, cu tratarea nedreptată a soției sale, și în conformitate cu capitolul 13, art. 1 cu incendiu pentru incendierea casei sale.
În august 1994 Curtea de district Västerås a condamnat reclamantul pe primul număr și l-a condamnat la o lună de închisoare. La al doilea cont, acesta l-a achitat, constatand că, în ciuda unor argumente puternice care susțin cazul urmăririi judiciare, nu s-a dovedit, în afară de îndoieli rezonabile, că reclamantul a fost vinovat de infracțiune. La 14 decembrie 1994, Curtea de Apel Svea a susținut hotărârea. În ceea ce privește acuzația de incendiu, el a remarcat: „Atunci cum a fost constatat de Curtea de District, există motive puternice pentru a crede că [reclamantul] a pornit focul în vila sa. Cu toate acestea, nu există nimic în ancheta care să-l lege direct la acest act. Nici ancheta nu exclude posibilitatea că focul a fost cauzat de un accident sau a fost inițiat de o altă persoană.
Deoarece nu se poate considera, prin urmare, că [reclamantul] a pornit focul, acuzația trebuie respinsă.” Ulterior, reclamantul a instituit o procedură civilă împotriva societății sale de asigurare, Länsförsäkringar Bergslagen, solicitând o hotărâre declaratorie în sensul că acesta din urmă a fost obligat în temeiul contractului de asigurare să-i plătească compensarea pentru daunele cauzate de incendiu la domiciliu și bunuri personale. Curtea de district Västerås, care stătea cu o bancă diferită de cea din cauza penală, a organizat o audiere orală în cursul cărora s-a auzit probele de la reclamant, martorii care au furnizat dovezi în timpul procesului penal și un număr de martori noi. Dovezile scrise ale părților au fost în mare măsură la fel cum au fost prezentate în cadrul procedurii penale.
În hotărârea sa din 24 ianuarie 1997, Curtea de District a constatat pentru societatea de asigurări și împotriva reclamantului. Hotărârea conține o secțiune introductivă intitulată „Antecedent”, în care Curtea de District a citat concluzia Curții de Apel mai sus solicitată, precum și un rezumat al argumentelor părților („Yrkande mm”). Acest lucru a fost urmat de raționamentul Curții de District („Domskäl”), care a prezentat o descriere a elementelor de probă scrisă și orală, a reiterat conținutul unuiele dintre noi probe orale și a prezentat evaluarea Curții de District. Acesta a reiterat în primul rând standardele de probă aplicabile cazurilor de compensare a asigurărilor, menționând că nu a fost contestat aici că s-a produs un eveniment asigurat, dar numai dacă problema intră în clauza de excepție din H 4.3 din polița de asigurare, cf. art. 32 din Legea privind asigurarea consumatorilor (konsumentförsäkringslagen), pe care o dovedește compania de asigurări.
În această privință, Curtea de District a subliniat faptul că un factor semnificativ pentru a distinge evaluarea probelor în cazul civil de cel din cauza penală a fost tăcerea reclamantului. Curtea de District a examinat apoi, la o lungime destul de lungă, dovezile, inclusiv cele de la experți, în ceea ce privește posibilele cauze naturale ale incendiului, în special instalațiile electrice și sistemul de încălzire al casei, în special un arzător combinat de lemn și de ulei și șemineu. Acesta a concluzionat că aceste cauze ar putea fi excluse și că, prin urmare, existau motive importante pentru a considera că cauza trebuie să se ascundă în altă parte. „Așa cum a afirmat deja, [reclamatorul] din partea sa nu a putut contribui cu nici o explicație despre originea incendiului.
El a avut ocazii bune de a porni focul. Potrivit anchetei, cu puțin înainte de incendiu, el a intrat și ieșit din casă de mai multe ori. Curtea de District consideră că nici o altă persoană decât [reclamantul] nu poate fi suspectată că a pornit focul. Informațiile furnizate de [soția sa] poliției în timpul primului interviu fac suspiciunile împotriva lui în special puternice. În timpul interviului de poliție, ea a declarat, printre altele, că [reclamantul] a amenințat să ardă casa în jos dacă ea și fiul ei ar trebui să se mute. Dovezile obținute la interviurile de poliție trebuie să fie oferite o valoare evidentă deosebită. Apoi a furnizat informații noi și diferite într-un mod curios. Noua sa declarație nu pare credibilă.
Ea are motive personale puternice pentru a încerca să salveze situația financiară a familiei. Noile informații ar putea fi explicate, sau cel puțin văzute, având în vedere faptul că, după cum recunoaște, ea a vorbit cu [reclamantul] despre circumstanțele legate de originea incendiului în cadrul ședinței Curții de Apel. Chiar și în timpul audierii din cazul anterior, dna Lundkvist a dat abia explicații credibile pentru a depărta din informațiile pe care le-a furnizat spontan în timpul primului interviu de poliție și nu și-a prezentat în mod convingător noua versiune, printre altele că ar fi trebuit să fie în interiorul casei imediat înainte de incendiu și să fi văzut fum în casă, printre altele.
A fost examinată în continuare cu privire la aceste puncte și a declarat că nu „știa cum ar trebui să răspundă”. Ceea ce a indicat în primul rând că [ reclamantul] a pornit focul este că, în legătură cu un rând cu soția sa, el a exprimat o amenințare de a arde casa în jos, plus faptul că starea lui de minți a fost în mod clar astfel încât, într-o stare de disperare, el ar putea fi crezut că a pornit focul prin utilizarea lichidelor inflamabile care erau în casă. Dispoziția sa de a lua pași dramatici este confirmată de gândurile suicidare pe care le-a exprimat imediat după incendiu. Ipoteza că [reclamantul] însuși a pornit focul cu ajutorul lichidelor inflamabile este susținută de dezvoltarea incendiului, astfel cum a fost martor de mai mulți martori oculari și, cu excepția dlui Andersson, de dovezile primite de experți tehnici cu privire la incidentele de incendiu.
Unul dintre factorii aparenti care sugerează, de asemenea, că [reclamantul] a pornit focul este că, după cum a subliniat Curtea de District în hotărârea sa din 5 august 1994, imediat înainte de incendiu [reclamantul] a dus fiul său din camera sa în casă la camion și faptul că [reclamantul] a fost în casă, în pivniță, la momentele exacte în care fumul a devenit evident. În plus, ar trebui să se ia în considerare faptul că [reclamantul] însuși, în mod voluntar, a ridicat problema incendiului cu dl Mats Eriksson [ofițer de poliție] atunci când poliția a intervenit împotriva lui după incendiu. Curtea de District constată că circumstanțele care susțin afirmația că [reclamantul] a inițiat intenționat incendiul depășește alte cauze posibile ale incendiului cu un grad atât de ridicat încât nu ar trebui plătită compensația de asigurare.
Prin urmare, recursul este respins.” Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea de Apel Svea. Această instanță, de asemenea, stătea într-o compoziție diferită de cea din cauza penală. Reclamantul se bazează în principal pe aceleași dovezi ca în fața Curții de District. Curtea de Apel a auzit dovezi de la reclamant la cererea sa și de la mai mulți martori experți și a auzit înregistrări în bandă de o serie de declarații de martori luate de Curtea de District, inclusiv cele ale soției și mamei reclamantei, la cerere lor. În hotărârea sa din 17 martie 1998, Curtea de Apel a menținut hotărârea Curții de District. Ca și Curtea de District, Curtea de Apel a luat în primul rând în considerare diferitele cauze tehnice posibile ale incendiului și a susținut concluziile Curții de District că aceste cauze trebuie excluse.
„Comportamentul reclamantului în timpul nopții de vară și neliniștirea și anxietatea pe care a provocat-o în doamna Lundkvist și mama sa indică faptul că a fost extrem de dezechilibrat mental. Informațiile pe care dna Lundkvist le-a furnizat în cele din urmă pentru a-l proteja apare, după cum a declarat Curtea de District, să nu fie credibile. În plus, ar trebui să se ia în considerare faptul că declarațiile inițial făcute de [de solicitant] cu privire la incendiu în timpul interviurilor de poliție – prima dată când el nu a fost încă informat că a fost suspectat că a comis o infracțiune – nu sunt susținute de restul anchetei. După aceea, el nu a putut contribui la nicio explicație. Curtea de Apel trage aceeași concluzie cu Curtea de District din faptul că după interviul inițial al poliției [reclamantului] nu a furnizat nici o informație cu privire la eveniment.
În acest context și având în vedere cazul în ansamblu, nu există posibilitatea de a lua în considerare faptul că incendiul a fost inițiat de orice altă persoană decât [reclamantul]. Având în vedere aceste considerații, societatea de asigurări trebuie considerată a arătat – în conformitate cu standardul de probă aplicabil cazurilor civile de acest tip – că [reclamantul] a pornit focul. Prin urmare, cererea de hotărâre declarativă este respinsă, iar hotărârea Curții de District este respinsă.” Reclamantul a solicitat permisiunea de a face recurs împotriva hotărârii Curții de Apel. La 11 noiembrie 1998, Curtea Supremă a refuzat concediul. Capitolul 13 secțiunea 1 din Codul Penal (brottsbalken) prevede: „Dacă o persoană pornește un incendiu, ceea ce implică un pericol pentru viața sau sănătatea altor persoane sau leziuni ample asupra proprietății altor persoane, el sau ea va fi condamnat pentru incendiarism și va fi condamnat la închisoare cuprinsă între doi și opt ani.
În cazul în care infracțiunea este mai puțin gravă, persoana este condamnată la închisoare între unu și trei ani.” Capitolul 1, secțiunea 2, primul paragraf al Codului Penal menționează: „Cu excepția cazului în care nu este prevăzut în mod specific, un act este considerat o infracțiune penală numai dacă a fost comisă cu intenție.” „Dacă ați provocat evenimentul asigurat prin intenție, nu veți primi nicio compensație pentru partea dumneavoastră. Același lucru se aplică dacă o altă persoană a acționat cu consimțământul tău sau dacă persoana are interese financiare semnificative în comun cu tine (de exemplu, soția ta) și nu există motive speciale în contrast.
Acesta este, de asemenea, cazul - cu excepția cazului în care se referă la o asigurare terță - în cazul în care evenimentul asigurat a fost cauzat de neglijență brută și nu există motive speciale în contrar.” Nu se susține că clauza de politică menționată mai sus a fost contrar cu dispozițiile relevante ale Legii privind asigurarea consumatorilor, din care art. 32 prevede că nici o acoperire de asigurare nu va fi furnizată în favoarea unui asigurat care a provocat în mod intenționat evenimentul asigurat și că acoperirea poate fi redusă în anumite condiții dacă un eveniment asigurat a fost cauzat de neglijență brută sau neglijență care nu este nesignificantă. Diferite standarde de probă se aplică cazurilor penale și civile.
Într-un caz penal, sarcina de probă este în întregime a procurorului, care trebuie să stabilească dincolo de orice îndoieli rezonabile că pârâtul a comis actul în cauză și că a făcut acest lucru cu intenția sau neglijența necesară. Într-un caz civil, sarcina de probă este, în mod normal, a reclamantului. Standardul de probă într-un caz civil diferă în funcție de tipul de probă și de circumstanțele care trebuie dovedite, dar este mai puțin strict decât într-un caz penal. Potrivit exemplelor de jurisprudență a Curții Supreme prezentate de Guvern (a se vedea, de exemplu, NJA 1984 p. 501, NJA 1986 p. 3, NJA 1986 p. 358, NJA 1986 p. 470 și NJA 1990 p. 93), în cazurile de compensare a asigurărilor destinate consumatorilor, trebuie să demonstreze că, având în vedere circumstanțele în ansamblu, este mai probabil decât nu că a avut loc un eveniment asigurat.
Sarcina de probă a titularului de poliție este considerată un pic mai liniștită decât sarcina civilă obișnuită a probei. În cazul în care societatea de asigurare răspunde că nu se acordă nicio compensație deoarece titularul de poliție a cauzat intenționat evenimentul asigurat, sarcina se schimbă asupra societății, care trebuie să dovedească acest lucru în conformitate cu standardul civil obișnuit.
The applicant, Mr Tommy Lundkvist, is a Swedish national, who was born in 1949 and lives in Kvicksund. He is represented before the Court by Mr J. Södergren, a lawyer practising in Stockholm. The respondent Government were represented by Mrs I. Kalmerborn of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, as Agent. The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. In the evening of 24 June 1994, the so-called “midsummer night”, a row broke out between the applicant and his wife in the couple’s home. Later, on 25 June, at around 2 a.m., a fire ravaged the home, a wooden house owned by the applicant, which burned down to the foundation walls. The applicant was subsequently charged under Chapter 3, Article 5 of the Penal Code, with ill-treating his wife, and under Chapter 13, Article 1 with arson for setting his house on fire.
In August 1994 the Västerås District Court convicted the applicant on the first count and sentenced him to one month’s imprisonment. On the second count, it acquitted him, finding that, notwithstanding the existence of strong arguments supporting the prosecution’s case, it had not been shown beyond reasonable doubt that the applicant was guilty of the offence. On 14 December 1994 the Svea Court of Appeal upheld the judgment. As regards the arson charge, it observed: “As found by the District Court, there are strong reasons for believing that [the applicant] started the fire in his villa. However, there is nothing in the investigation that directly links him to this act. Nor does the investigation exclude the possibility that the fire was caused by an accident or had been started by another person.
Since it cannot therefore be regarded as established beyond reasonable doubt that [the applicant] started the fire, the charge must be rejected.” Subsequently, the applicant instituted civil proceedings against his insurance company, Länsförsäkringar Bergslagen, requesting a declaratory judgment to the effect that the latter was obliged under the insurance contract to pay him compensation for the damage caused by the fire to his house and personal belongings. The Västerås District Court, sitting with a different bench from the one in the criminal case, held an oral hearing during which evidence was heard from the applicant, the witnesses who had given evidence during the criminal trial and a number of new witnesses.
The written evidence adduced by the parties was to a large extent the same as had been submitted in the criminal proceedings. In its judgment of 24 January 1997, the District Court found for the insurance company and against the applicant. The judgment contained an introductory section entitled “Background”, in which the District Court quoted the Court of Appeal’s above-cited conclusion, and a summary of the parties’ submissions (“Yrkande mm”). This was followed by the District Court’s reasoning (“Domskäl”), which gave an itemised description of the written and oral evidence, reiterated the contents of some of the new oral evidence, and set out the District Court’s assessment.
It first reiterated the standards of proof applicable to cases of insurance compensation, noting that it was not disputed here that an insured event had occurred, but only whether the matter fell within the exception clause in H 4.3 of the insurance policy, cf. section 32 of the Consumer Insurance Act (konsumentförsäkringslagen), which it was for the insurance company to prove. In this connection the District Court emphasised that a factor that was significant for distinguishing the assessment of evidence in the civil case from that of the criminal case was the applicant’s silence. The District Court then examined, at quite some length, the evidence, including that from experts, as to the possible natural causes of the fire, notably the house’s electrical installations and heating system, in particular a combined wood-and-oil burner and the chimney.
It concluded that such causes could be excluded and that there were therefore weighty reasons for considering that the cause must lie somewhere else. It went on: “As already stated, [the applicant] for his part has not been able to contribute with any explanation as to the origin of the fire. He had good opportunities to start the fire. According to the investigation, shortly before the fire, he went in and out of the house several times. The District Court considers that no person other than [the applicant] can be suspected of having started the fire. The information provided by [his wife] to the police during the first interview makes the suspicion against him particularly strong. During the police interview she had stated inter alia that [the applicant] threatened to burn the house down if she and her son were to move.
The evidence obtained at the police interviews must be given particular evidential value. Subsequently she has provided new and different information in a curious manner. Her new statement does not seem credible. She has strong personal reasons for trying to save the family’s financial situation. The new information could be explained, or at least seen, in the light of the fact that, as she admits, she talked with [the applicant] about the circumstances relating to the origin of the fire before the Court of Appeal hearing. Even during the hearing in the previous case Mrs Lundkvist gave barely credible explanations for departing from the information that she had spontaneously provided during the first police interview and has not convincingly presented her new version, inter alia that she should have been inside the house immediately before the fire and seen smoke in the house, amongst other things.
She has been further examined on these points and has stated that she did ‘not know how she should reply’. What first and foremost indicated that [the applicant] started the fire is that, in connection with a row with his wife, he expressed a threat to burn the house down, plus the fact that his state of mind was clearly such that, in a fit of desperation, he could very well be believed to have started the fire by using the inflammable liquids that were in the house. His disposition for taking dramatic steps is confirmed by the suicidal thoughts that he expressed immediately after the fire. The assumption that [the applicant] himself started the fire with the help of inflammable liquids is supported by the development of the fire as witnessed by several eye witnesses and, with the exception of Mr Andersson, by the evidence heard from technical experts on fire incidents.
One of the apparent factors which likewise suggests that [the applicant] started the fire is that, as pointed out by the District Court in its judgment of 5 August 1994, immediately before the fire [the applicant] carried his son from his room in the house out to the lorry and the fact that [the applicant] was in the house, in the cellar, at the precise moments that the smoke became apparent. Furthermore, it should be taken into consideration that [the applicant] himself, voluntarily, raised the question of arson with Mr Mats Eriksson [police officer] when the police intervened against him after the fire. The District Court finds that the circumstances adduced in support of the submission that [the applicant] intentionally started the fire outweigh other possible causes of the fire to such a high degree that insurance compensation should not be paid.
The appeal shall therefore be rejected.” The applicant appealed to the Svea Court of Appeal. That court, too, sat in a different composition from that in the criminal case. The applicant relied mainly on the same evidence as before the District Court. The Court of Appeal heard evidence from the applicant at his own request and from several expert witnesses and heard tape recordings of a number of witness statements taken by the District Court, including those of the applicant’s wife and mother, at their request. In its judgment of 17 March 1998 the Court of Appeal upheld the District Court’s judgment. Like the District Court, the Court of Appeal first considered the various possible technical causes of the fire and endorsed the District Court’s findings that such causes had to be excluded.
“[The applicant]’s behaviour during the midsummer night and the disquiet and anxiety that he aroused in Mrs Lundkvist and his mother indicate that he was mentally highly imbalanced. The information that Mrs Lundkvist finally provided in order to protect him appears, as the District Court held, not to be credible. Furthermore regard should be had to the fact that the statements initially made by [the applicant] about the fire during the police interviews – the first time, when he had not yet been informed that he was under suspicion of having committed an offence – are not supported by the remainder of the investigation. Thereafter he has not been able to contribute any explanation. The Court of Appeal draws the same conclusion as the District Court from the fact that after the initial police interview [the applicant] has given hardly any information about the event.
Against this background and having regard to the case as a whole, there is no possibility of considering that the fire was started by any person other than [the applicant]. In view of these considerations the insurance company must be considered to have shown – in accordance with the standard of proof applicable to civil cases of this kind – that [the applicant] started the fire. His request for a declaratory judgement shall therefore be rejected and the District Court’s judgment shall stand.” The applicant sought leave to appeal against the Court of Appeal’s judgment. On 11 November 1998 the Supreme Court refused leave. Chapter 13, section 1, of the Penal Code (brottsbalken) provides: “If a person starts a fire, which entails a danger to another person’s life or health or extensive damage to another person’s property, he or she shall be convicted of incendiarism and be sentenced to imprisonment of between two and eight years.
Where the offence is less serious, the person shall be sentenced to imprisonment of between one and three years.” Chapter 1, section 2, first sub-paragraph of the Penal Code reads: “Unless otherwise specifically provided, an act shall be considered a criminal offence only if it has been committed with intent.” “If you have caused the insured event by intent you shall not receive any compensation for your part. The same applies if another person acted with your consent or if the person has significant financial interests in common with you (for example your spouse) and there are no particular reasons to the contrary.
This is also the case - except where it concerns a third party insurance - if the insured event has been caused by gross negligence and there are no particular reasons to the contrary.” It is not claimed that the above-cited policy clause conflicted with the relevant provisions of the Consumer Insurance Act, section 32 of which provides that no insurance cover will be provided in favour of an insured person who has intentionally caused the insured event and that the cover may on certain conditions be reduced if an insured event has been caused by gross negligence or negligence which is not insignificant. Different standards of proof apply to criminal and civil cases. In a criminal case the burden of proof is entirely on the prosecutor, who must establish beyond any reasonable doubt that the defendant has committed the act in question and that he did so with the necessary intent or negligence.
In a civil case, the burden of proof is normally on the plaintiff. The standard of proof in a civil case differs according to the type of case and the circumstances that have to be proved, but is less strict than in a criminal case. According to examples of Supreme Court case law submitted by the Government (see, e.g., NJA 1984 p. 501, NJA 1986 p. 3, NJA 1986 p. 358, NJA 1986 p. 470 and NJA 1990 p. 93), in cases concerning insurance compensation to consumers it is for the policyholder to show that, having regard to the circumstances as a whole, it is more likely than not that an insured event has occurred. The policyholder’s burden of proof is viewed as somewhat more lenient than the ordinary civil burden of proof.
If the insurance company responds that no compensation shall be granted because the policyholder has intentionally caused the insured event, the burden shifts onto the company, which has to prove this in accordance with the ordinary civil standard.