- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 18 noiembrie 2003
- Stat pârât
- SWE
- Concluzia
- Partly admissible
- Partly inadmissible
Romlin împotriva Suediei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 48630/99 de Tinna ROMLIN împotriva Suediei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 18 noiembrie 2003 în calitate de Cameră compusă de: Președintele Sir Nicolas Bratza, dna Strážnická Fischbach Casadevill Pavlovschi Borrego Borrego, dna Fura-Sandström, judecători și dna Elens-Passos, grefierul secțiunea adjunctivă Având în vedere cererea depusă la 19 aprilie 1999, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de către solicitant, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, Tinna Romlin, este un național suedez, născut în 1965 și locuiește în Sollentuna.
Ea este reprezentată în fața Curții de către dl Ulf Jacobson, a Dna I. Kalmerborn a Ministerului Afacerilor Externe, ca agent. Situațiile cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum a prezentat reclamantul, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul suferă de artrită reumatoidă. La 14 decembrie 1989, reclamantul a solicitat o indemnitate de invaliditate (hanikappersättning ) în temeiul capitolului 9, secțiunea 2 din Legea privind asigurările sociale ( Lagen om allmän försäkring, 1962:381 ) din cauza incapacității din cauza artritei reumatoide și a astmului. La 20 martie 1991, Biroul de asigurări sociale ( försäkringskassan ) din județul de Stockholm a respins cererea, constatând că nevoia ei de asistență și costurile sale suplimentare din cauza handicapului ei nu au atins nivelul necesar în temeiul dispoziției de mai sus.
Prin apel, Curtea Administrativă de Apel ( kammarrätten ) la Stockholm, la 7 decembrie 1992, a susținut decizia Oficiului de Asigurări Sociale. La 30 decembrie 1994, Curtea Supremă de Asigurări Sociale ( Försäkringsöverdomstolen ) a refuzat reclamantul să permită recursul. Nu s-a desfășurat nici o audiere orală în cadrul acestei proceduri. Între timp, în august 1993 reclamantul a primit o alocație pentru invaliditate.
Potrivit anumitor minute ale Oficiului de Asigurare Socială, datată 15 Decembrie 1993, Oficiul de Securitate Socială a hotărât să propună Consiliului de Asigurare Socială acordarea provizorie a prestațiilor de invaliditate la nivelul de 36% din suma de bază ( basbeloppet ) din ianuarie până în iulie 1994. 1993, Biroul a mai târziu considerat că studiile reclamantului la un anumit liceu și o altă școală ar putea fi privite la un nivel egal cu ocuparea forței de muncă și că dimensiunea cheltuielilor sale suplimentare pentru călătoria cu propria mașină au fost astfel încât să-i permită compensarea la nivelul 69% din suma de bază.
La 20 ianuarie 1994, Oficiul de Asigurare Socială a hotărât: „Începând cu ianuarie 1993, cheltuielile suplimentare ale reclamantului din cauza capacității ei funcționale reduse care i-au permis o alocație de invaliditate la nivel de 69% din suma de bază.” Reclamantul, reprezentat de un avocat, a apelat împotriva hotărârii Oficiului la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului Stockholm, susținând că reducerea capacității ei funcționale cauzate de handicapul ei și nevoia ei de sprijin a rămas nealterată în orice măsură din august 1991 și că ar fi trebuit să fie acordată o indemnitate de invaliditate începând de atunci. Ea a invocat rapoartele medicale existente, în special certificatele medicale: (a) Un certificat din 26 martie 1991 de către dr.
Svante Larsson, doctorul șef la Institutul Edsberg pentru piața muncii, în vederea faptului că reclamantul a avut simptome comune foarte puternice și că nu a fost potrivit ca ea să călătorească prin transportul public; (b) Un certificat medical din 9 septembrie 1991 de Dr. Ethel Nilsson, Doctor-șef interimar la Clinica de Rheumatologie a Spitalului Karolinska, care a declarat că în urmă cu câțiva ani reclamantul a suferit teste la Wardul de Rheumatologie, că nu a reușit să călătorească cu transportul public și a avut nevoie de o mașină special echipată; (c) un certificat medical din 25 februarie 1993 de Dr. Malcolm Puke; (d) Diverse certificate medicale de Dr. Esbjörn Larsson, Rheumatolog; (e) O declarație a profesorului Sigvard Kopp din 16 iunie 1993. În cadrul procedurii Convenției, Guvernul nu a subliniat nicio dovadă medicală contrară.
Reclamantul a susținut că, în cadrul anchetei efectuate de Oficiul de Asigurări Sociale, nu a apărut nicio informație care să acorde sprijin poziției adoptate, că nu ar putea acorda compensații pentru invaliditate pentru perioada anterioară ianuarie 1993. Reclamantul a solicitat instanței să obțină avizul experților în reumatologie în ceea ce privește extinderea handicapului reclamantului și a necesității ei de sprijin înainte și după ianuarie 1993. În plus, ea a solicitat ca instanța să desfășoare o audiere orală. La 4 mai 1995, Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului a respins cererea de a obține un aviz expert și a desfășura o audiere orală și a reiterat conținutul articolelor 8 și 9 (a se vedea sub titlul "B" de mai jos) din Legea de procedură a Curții Administrative (förvaltningsproceslagen, 1971:291; denumită în continuare „Legea din 1971”).
Acesta a observat că, având în vedere natura chestiunii și a anchetei efectuate în acest caz, instanța a considerat inutile efectuarea unei anchete suplimentare sub forma unui aviz expert și a unei audieri orale. Curtea a dat reclamantului două săptămâni în care să îndice circumstanțele suplimentare pe care le dorea să le invoce și să-și prezinte observațiile finale scrise. Se pare că Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului nu a invitat reclamantul în mod expres să dea motive pentru cererea de audiere orală. La 9 mai 1995, avocatul reclamantului, invocând art. 6 din Convenție, a protestat împotriva refuzului de a desfășura o audiere orală.
În ceea ce privește fondurile cauzei, avocatul a subliniat faptul că nu exista niciun motiv important pentru limitarea efectului retroactiv al acordului de prestații pentru handicap până în ianuarie 1993. În acest sens, avocatul a invocat un alt caz decis de Curtea Administrativă a Județeniei, din care nu s-a putut distinge cazul reclamantului, în opinia sa. Prin hotărârea din 22 iunie 1995, Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului a susținut hotărârea Oficiului de Asigurări Sociale. Hotărârea conține un scurt rezumat al procedurii din martie 1991 și a dispozițiilor relevante din capitolul 9, secțiunea 2, și capitolul 16, secțiunea 5, din Legea privind asigurările sociale.
În ceea ce privește circumstanțele specifice ale cazului reclamantului, acesta a declarat: „Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului, care constată că o subvenție a prestațiilor în temeiul Legii privind asigurările sociale nu constituie un drept civil, nu consideră că este necesară o ședință orală pentru a determina cazul. Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului face următoarea evaluare. Ancheta în acest caz nu sugerează că [pentru reclamantul] necesitatea totală de asistență care rezultă din handicapul ei înainte de ianuarie 1993 a fost de un grad de îndeplinire a condițiilor de drept la prestațiile de invaliditate. Prin urmare, recursul este respins.” Reclamantul, prin intermediul avocatului său, a recurs împotriva hotărârii de mai sus la Curtea Administrativă de Apel (Kammarrätten ) solicitând ca aceasta să anuleze hotărârea și să remiteți cazul pentru procedură proaspătă.
În alternativa, ea solicită instanței de apel să acorde o nouă hotărâre că, începând cu august 1991, ea are dreptul la prestații de invaliditate la un nivel corespunzător 69% din suma de bază. În ceea ce privește fondul, reclamantul a contestat concluziile instanței inferioare cu privire la invaliditatea ei și necesitatea de asistență înainte de ianuarie 1993. Referindu-se la evaluările efectuate de Oficiul de Asigurare Socială la 6 august 1990 și 20 decembrie 1993, ea a susținut că concluziile Curții Administrative County au fost „inventate” și lipsă de credibilitate. Ea a subliniat faptul că evaluarea din 1993 a luat în considerare aceleași tipuri de nevoie de asistență ca evaluarea din 1990, inclusiv necesitatea acoperirii cheltuielilor auto.
Reclamantul a întrebat ce a însemnat Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului prin „investigație în acest caz”. Deoarece instanța nu a stabilit nevoia de asistență sau cheltuieli suplimentare ale reclamantului pentru perioada anterioră ianuarie 1993, pe motivele pentru care a ajuns la concluzia că nu are dreptul la indemnitate pentru handicap în perioada respectivă? Dovezile din acest caz nu au arătat nicio modificare radicală în jurul lunii decembrie 1992/ ianuarie 1993. Având în vedere aceste considerații, reclamantul a solicitat Curții de Apel administrative să efectueze o anchetă pentru a stabili amploarea handicapului și cheltuielile suplimentare pentru perioada din august 1991 până în decembrie 1992 și să-i acorde o alocație de invaliditate pentru această perioadă.
În decembrie 1997, Curtea Administrativă de Apel și-a respins cererea de audiere orală, considerând că acest lucru nu este necesar pentru a determina dacă să-și acorde permisiunea de a face apel și i-a dat două săptămâni pentru a-și încheia cererile în scris. La 5 ianuarie 1998, instanța a refuzat permisiunea de a face recurs. La 9 februarie 1998, Curtea Supremă de Administrație (Regeringsrätten ), reamintind că, în mod normal, nu a efectuat audieri orale, a respins cererea reclamantului de o astfel de audiere și a dat-o trei săptămâni în care să prezinte observații scrise suplimentare. La 25 februarie 1999, reclamantul a refuzat să permită recursul.
În conformitate cu capitolul 9 secțiunea 2 din Legea din 1962, o persoană bolnavă sau handicapată are dreptul la prestații de invaliditate, cu condiția ca, înainte de a ajunge la vârsta de 65 de ani, el sau ea să devină afectată funcțional pentru un timp considerabil și în așa fel încât el sau ea are nevoie de asistență temporară de către o altă persoană în viața cotidiană sau de asistență continuă pentru a fi angajat în mod câștig sau are cheltuieli suplimentare considerabile. Nevoia totală de sprijin și asistență stabilește eligibilitatea pentru prestațiile de invaliditate și valoarea compensației. Prin urmare, este necesar să se examineze întreaga situație a persoanei în cauză și să se adaugă necesitatea de diferite tipuri de asistență și cheltuieli suplimentare.
Potrivit Comitetului Național de Asigurări Sociale (Riksförsäkringsverket; denumit în continuare „Consiliu”) liniile directoare, costul total al tuturor necesităților suplimentare din cauza handicapului ar trebui să ajungă la cel puțin 28,5% dintr-o sumă de bază orientată la indicele prețurilor ( basbelopp ) pentru a face individualul eligibil pentru o alocație. Pentru a beneficia de prestații pentru invaliditate, reclamantul trebuie să facă o cerere la Biroul de Asigurare Socială. În conformitate cu capitolul 16, secțiunea 5 din Legea din 1962, aceste beneficii pot fi deturnate retroactiv cu privire la o anumită perioadă înainte de cerere, care nu depășește doi ani. Scopul acestei dispoziții a fost de a evita că reclamantul își pierde dreptul din cauza lipsei de informații.
Prestațiile de invaliditate nu sunt supuse impozitării. În conformitate cu capitolul 9, secțiunea 3, din Legea din 1962 (în vigoare la 1 ianuarie 2001), aceste prestații sunt acordate anual la un nivel de 69, 53 sau 36% din suma de bază, în funcție de măsura în care persoana asigurată are nevoie de asistență și de valoarea cheltuielilor suplimentare cauzate de handicap. La 20 ianuarie 1994, în cazul în care Oficiul a acordat prestațiile de invaliditate reclamantului, suma de bază a fost SEK 35.200. Procedură O decizie a Oficiului de Asigurare Socială în temeiul Legii din 1962 poate fi apelată la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului și de acolo la Curtea Administrativă de Apel și la Curtea Administrativă Supremă.
Procedura din instanța administrativă este reglementată de dispozițiile Legii din 1971. Secțiunea 9 prevede: „Procedura este scrisă. Poate fi avută o ședință orală în ceea ce privește o anumită chestiune, atunci când există motive să presupunem că acest lucru ar fi în beneficiul procedurii sau determinarea rapidă a cazului.
În Curtea Administrativă de Apel și în Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului se desfășoară o audiere orală dacă o parte individuală a procedurii și dacă nu este necesară și nu există motive speciale pentru a desfășura o audiție ( I kammarrätt och länsrätt skall muntlig förhandling hållas, om enskild som för talian i målet begär det samt förhandlingen ej är obehövlig och ejheller särskil skäl talar det ).” Din jurisprudența instanțelor naționale, se pare că motivele menționate în al treilea paragraf al secțiunii 9 pentru refuzul unei audieri orale au fost interpretate ca fiind mai degrabă alternative decât cumulative (a se vedea Regeringsrättens Årsbok 1997 ref 62). În aceste circumstanțe, posibilitatea unei părți individuale de a obține o ședință orală la cerere nu este disponibilă în cadrul procedurii dinainte de Curtea Supremă de Administrație.
Potrivit lucrărilor pregătitoare din Legea din 1971, o audiere orală poate fi un supliment valoros al procedurii scrise și poate beneficia de examinarea unui caz în două situații în special: în primul rând, atunci când este necesar să se audă un martor, un expert sau o parte sau atunci când este dificil ca o parte să prezinte cazul în scris și, în al doilea rând, atunci când diferitele poziții în acest caz trebuie rezolvate pentru a elimina problemele inutile sau inutile de litigiu. În ultimul caz, audierea orală ia un caracter pregătitor, subliniind însă că o audiere orală nu trebuie considerată ca o alternativă la procedura scrisă, ci ca o completare a acesteia (a se vedea proiectul de legea Guvernului 1971:30, p. 535). S-a afirmat în continuare, în ceea ce privește secțiunea 9 al treilea paragraf, că cererea unei părți de o audiere orală ar trebui să fie luată în considerare.
Cu toate acestea, o astfel de cerere nu ar trebui să aibă o influență decisivă asupra acestei chestiuni, deoarece problema dacă o audiere orală este necesară este determinată în principal pe baza informațiilor disponibile în acest caz. Cu toate acestea, alte circumstanțe pot fi relevante, de exemplu importanța pentru partea în cauză sau posibilitatea ca o audiere orală să îmbunătățească înțelegerea părții cu privire la o decizie viitoare în acest caz. Cu toate acestea, dacă cazul este de caracter trivial sau costurile audierii orale ar fi disproporționate cu valorile în joc în acest caz, ar putea fi motive să nu se desfășoare o audiere orală (p. 537). Reclamantul s-a plâns că lipsa unei audieri orale în cazul ei constituie o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție.
În plus, ea s-a plâns în temeiul acestei dispoziții că instanța competentă nu a efectuat o reexaminare corectă a recursului său judiciar împotriva deciziei administrative în cauză și, prin urmare, a refuzat o audiere echitabilă. În măsura în care este relevantă, art. 6 § 1 din Convenție citește: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., toată lumea are dreptul la o audiere corectă și publică ... de [a] ... tribunal ...” Reclamantul s-a plâns în primul rând și în primul rând că refuzul instanțelor naționale de a desfășura o audiere orală a încălcat dispoziția de mai sus. Ea a susținut că, la fel ca Oficiul de Asigurare Socială, Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului și Curtea Administrativă de Apel nu au reușit să-și evalueze nevoia de asistență, care ar fi putut fi reparată dacă reclamantul și avocatul ei au primit ocazia de a prezenta argumente orale la o audiere publică.
Apoi ar fi explicat direct curtei situația condiției sale medicale și efectele sale asupra vieții ei de zi cu zi, în special în ceea ce privește nevoia ei de asistență. Prin luarea de probe orale de la ea și consilierul Oficiului de Asigurare Socială, instanța ar fi putut să completeze dovezile și să evalueze o parte din dovezile care au fost centrale pentru acest caz. În practică, regula de doi ani privind acordarea retrospectivă a prestațiilor aplicată, indiferent de cunoștința sau ignoranța reclamantului cu privire la posibilitatea de a solicita prestații. Guvernul nu a contestat faptul că procedura în fața Curții administrative de județ implică determinarea drepturilor civile ale reclamantului și că dispozițiile de mai sus era aplicabilă în ceea ce privește aceste proceduri.
Pe de altă parte, ei au susținut că acest lucru nu a fost astfel în ceea ce privește concediul de recurs în fața Curții de Apel administrative și a Curții administrative Supreme, la care art. 6 § 1 nu era aplicabil. În ceea ce privește refuzul Curții administrative de judecată de a desfășura o ședință orală, Guvernul a susținut că, deși această instanță în vigoare a acționat ca singura instanță judiciară în acest caz și, în acest sens, a abordat atât chestiunile de fapt, cât și de drept, au existat, în opinia lor, circumstanțe excepționale care justificau acordarea unei ședințe orale. În primul rând, ei au făcut referire la motivele furnizate de Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului pentru refuzul său din 4 mai 1995 de a desfășura o audiere, care a fost în conformitate cu dreptul intern.
În plus, problema care trebuie decisă se referă numai la măsura în care acordarea beneficiilor ar trebui să fie efectuată retroactiv în conformitate cu reglementarea de limitare a doi ani, care a fost introdusă pentru a evita pierderea drepturilor din motive de ignoranță. Cu toate acestea, reclamantul a solicitat anterior astfel de beneficii și cu siguranță nu a fost ignorat de posibilitățile de a face acest lucru. Tulburarea sa funcțională și nevoia ei de asistență și cheltuieli suplimentare, precum și dovezile relevante au fost revizuite în contextul cererii sale anterioare și au apărut necontroversiale. Noul fapt care trebuie considerat legat de studiile reclamantului și atunci când acestea au început, și anume în ianuarie 1993, nu a fost o chestiune de litigiu.
Problema care trebuie determinată a fost de la momentul în care ea avea dreptul la prestațiile de invaliditate. Astfel, au existat motive puternice pentru a crede că o audiere orală nu ar fi furnizat Tribunalului Administrativ County cu orice informații suplimentare care ar fi putut fi de importanță pentru avizul său asupra cazului reclamantului. Problema subvenției retroactive a prestațiilor pentru handicap a fost una care nu a putut fi iluminată prin întâlnirea reclamantului în persoană, ci mai degrabă prin studierea avizelor medicale relevante și a altor rapoarte. În plus, reclamantul nu a prezentat niciun motiv pentru care solicită Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului să organizeze o audiție și nu a invocat nicio martor - sau alte dovezi.
Fiind reprezentată de avocat, nu a avut nici o dificultate în argumentarea cazului ei în scris. Ar trebui adăugat că principiul accesului public a fost garantat prin accesul public la documentele oficiale care se aplică majorității documentelor conținute în dosarele judiciare. În cele din urmă, ar trebui să se țină seama de cerința articolului 6 de a încheia procedurile judiciare într-un termen rezonabil. Chiar presupunând că art. 6 este aplicabil Curții administrative de apel și Curții administrative supreme în acest caz, aceasta a urmat din caracterul limitat al concediului de apel și din diferitele considerații menționate mai sus în ceea ce privește Curtea administrativă de județ, că nu a apărut nici o eșec în temeiul prezentei dispoziții cu privire la refuzul instanței de apel de a desfășura o audiere.
Având în vedere cele de mai sus, Guvernul a solicitat Curtea să declare cererea inadmisibilă ca fiind evident nefondată. Curtea, având în vedere argumentele părților, consideră că plângerea privind lipsa unei audieri orale ridică probleme complexe de drept și de fapt în temeiul Convenției, ale căror hotărâre ar trebui să depinde de examinarea meritelor plângerii. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că această parte a cererii nu este evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 1 din Convenție. Nu au fost stabilite alte motive de declarare inadmisibilă a acestei plângeri. Reclamantul s-a încălcat, în conformitate cu art. 6 alineatul (1) din Convenție, că instanța competentă nu a efectuat o reexaminare adecvată a recursului său judiciar împotriva deciziei administrative în cauză și, prin urmare, i-a refuzat o audiere echitabilă.
Cu toate acestea, Curtea consideră că această plângere nu este susținută și este, în plus, contrazisă de faptul că județul Administrativ a eliminat de fapt afirmația ei că a avut dreptul la prestații de invaliditate pentru o perioadă înainte de ianuarie 1993, deplasându-se până în august 1991. Curtea concluzionează că această parte a cererii nu dezvăluie o încălcare a articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție. În consecință, aceasta trebuie respinsă ca fiind manifestament nefondată, în conformitate cu art. 35 § § § 3 și 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate admisibilă, fără a judeca fondul, plângerea reclamantului cu privire la [Notă1] lipsa unei audieri orale; declara restul cererii inadmisibil.
Françoise Elens-Pasos Nicolas Bratza Președintele adjunct al grefierului [Notă1] rezumă plângerile succint fără a cita neapărat articolele invocate din Convenția.
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 48630/99 by Tinna ROMLIN against Sweden The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 18 November 2003 as a Chamber composed of: Sir Nicolas Bratza , President , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr M. Fischbach , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr J. Borrego Borrego , Mrs E. Fura-Sandström, judges , and Mrs F. Elens-Passos , Deputy Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 19 April 1999, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Tinna Romlin, is a Swedish national, who was born in 1965 and lives in Sollentuna.
She is represented before the Court by Mr Ulf Jacobson, a juris candidate , practising in Stockholm. The Government is represented by Mrs I. Kalmerborn of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, as Agent. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows. The applicant suffers from rheumatoid arthritis. On 14 December 1989 the applicant applied for a disability allowance ( handikappersättning ) under Chapter 9, Section 2 of the Social Insurance Act ( Lagen om allmän försäkring, 1962:381 ) on the grounds of incapacity due to rheumatoid arthritis and asthma. On 20 March 1991 the Social Insurance Office ( försäkringskassan ) of the County of Stockholm rejected the application, finding that her need for assistance and her additional costs due to her handicap did not attain the level required under the above provision.
Upon appeal, the Administrative Court of Appeal ( kammarrätten ) in Stockholm, on 7 December 1992, upheld the Social Insurance Office’s decision. On 30 December 1994 the Supreme Social Insurance Court ( Försäkringsöverdomstolen ) refused the applicant leave to appeal. No oral hearing was held in those proceedings. In the meantime, in August 1993 the applicant reapplied for a disability allowance.
According to certain minutes of the Social Insurance Office, dated 15 December 1993, the Social Security Office decided to propose to the Social Insurance Board that the applicant be provisionally granted disability benefits at the level of 36% of the basic amount ( basbeloppet ) from January until and including July 1994. According to Office minutes of 29 December 1993, the Office later considered that the applicant’s studies at a certain high school and another school could be viewed on a par with gainful employment and that the extent of her additional expenses for travelling with her own car were such as to entitle her to compensation at the level of 69% of the basic amount.
On 20 January 1994 the Social Insurance Office decided: “As from January 1993, [the applicant’s] additional expenses because of her reduced functional capacity entitled her to a disability allowance at the level of 69 per cent of the basic amount.” The applicant, represented by a lawyer, appealed against the Office’s decision to the County Administrative Court of the County of Stockholm, claiming that the reduction in her functional capacity caused by her handicap and her need for support had remained unaltered at any rate since August 1991 and that she should have been granted a disability allowance as from then.
She invoked the existing medical reports, in particular medical certificates: (a) A certificate of 26 March 1991 by Dr Svante Larsson, Chief Doctor at the Edsberg Labour Market Institute, to the effect that the applicant had very strong joint symptoms and that it was very unsuitable that she travel by public transport; (b) A medical certificate of 9 September 1991 by Dr Ethel Nilsson, Acting Chief Doctor at the Clinic of Rheumatology of the Karolinska Hospital, stating that several years ago the applicant had undergone tests at the Rheumatology Ward, that she did not manage to travel with public transport and needed a specially equipped car; (c) A medical certificate of 25 February 1993 by Dr Malcolm Puke; (d) Various medical certificates by Dr Esbjörn Larsson, Rheumatologist; (e) A statement of 16 June 1993 by Professor Dr Sigvard Kopp.
In the Convention proceedings, the Government have not pointed to any contrary medical evidence. The applicant submitted that, in the investigation carried out by the Social Insurance Office, no information has emerged that lends support to the position adopted, that it could not grant disability compensation for the period prior to January 1993. The applicant asked the court to obtain the opinion of experts in rheumatology as regards the extent of the applicant’s handicap and of her need for support before and after January 1993. Moreover, she requested that the court hold an oral hearing. On 4 May 1995 the County Administrative Court rejected her requests that it obtain an expert opinion and hold an oral hearing.
It reiterated the contents of sections 8 and 9 (see under title “B” below) of the Administrative Court Procedure Act ( förvaltningsprocesslagen , 1971:291; hereinafter “the 1971 Act”). It observed that, having regard to the nature of the issue and the investigation carried out in the case, the court found it unnecessary to hold a further investigation in the form of an expert opinion and an oral hearing. The court gave the applicant two weeks within which to indicate the further circumstances she wished to invoke and to submit her final written observations. It does not appear that the County Administrative Court invited the applicant expressly to give reasons for her request for an oral hearing.
On 9 May 1995 the applicant’s lawyer, invoking Article 6 of the Convention, protested against the refusal to hold an oral hearing. As regards the merits of the case, the lawyer stressed that there was no material ground for limiting the retroactive effect of the grant of disability benefits to January 1993. In this connection, the lawyer invoked another case decided by the County Administrative Court, from which the applicant’s case could not, in his view, be distinguished. By judgment of 22 June 1995, the County Administrative Court upheld the Social Insurance Office’s decision. The judgment contained a brief summary of the proceedings since March 1991 and of the relevant provisions in Chapter 9, section 2, and Chapter 16, section 5, of the Social Insurance Act.
As regards the specific circumstances of the applicant’s case, it stated: “The County Administrative Court, which finds that a grant of benefits under the Social Insurance Act does not constitute a civil right, does not consider that an oral hearing is necessary in order to determine the case. The County Administrative Court makes the following assessment. The investigation in this case does not suggest that [the applicant’s] total need for assistance resulting from her handicap before January 1993 was of such a degree as to fulfil the conditions for entitlement to disability benefits. The appeal shall therefore be rejected.” The applicant, through her lawyer, appealed against the above judgment to the Administrative Court of Appeal ( kammarrätten ) requesting that it quash the judgment and refer the case back for fresh proceedings.
In the alternative, she requested the appellate court to give a new decision to the effect that she was entitled as from August 1991 to disability benefits at a level corresponding to 69% of the base amount. As regards the merits, the applicant disputed the lower court’s findings as to her disability and need for assistance prior to January 1993. Referring to the assessments made by the Social Insurance Office on 6 August 1990 and 20 December 1993, she maintained that the County Administrative Court’s findings were “invented” and lacked credibility. She stressed that the 1993 assessment took account of the same types of need for assistance as the 1990 assessment, including the need for cover of car expenses.
The applicant queried what the County Administrative Court meant by “the investigation in the case”. Since the court had not established the applicant’s need for assistance or additional expenses for the period prior to January 1993, on what grounds had it reached the conclusion that she was not entitled to disability allowance during the said period? The evidence in the case did not show any radical change around December 1992/January 1993. In the light of these considerations, the applicant asked the administrative Court of Appeal to carry out an investigation in order to establish the extent of her disability and additional expenses for the period from August 1991 to December 1992 and grant her a disability allowance for this period.
The applicant also requested an oral hearing. In December 1997 the Administrative Court of Appeal rejected her request for an oral hearing, finding this unnecessary for determining whether to grant her leave to appeal and gave her two weeks for completing her submissions in writing. On 5 January 1998 the court refused her leave to appeal. On 9 February 1998 the Supreme Administrative Court ( Regeringsrätten ), recalling that it normally did not hold oral hearings, rejected the applicant’s request for such a hearing and gave her three weeks within which to submit additional written observations. On 25 February 1999 it refused the applicant leave to appeal.
B. Relevant domestic law 1. Disability benefits According to chapter 9, section 2 of the 1962 Act, a person who is ill or handicapped is entitled to disability benefits, provided that, before reaching the age of 65, he or she has become functionally impaired for a considerable time and to such a degree that he or she needs time-consuming assistance from another person in everyday life or continuing assistance in order to be gainfully employed or otherwise has considerable extra expenses. The total need for support and assistance determines the eligibility for disability benefits and the amount of compensation. It is thus necessary to look at the whole situation of the person in question and to add together the need for different types of assistance and the extra expenses.
According to the National Social Insurance Board’s ( Riksförsäkringsverket ; hereinafter “the Board”) guidelines, the total cost of all extra needs due to the disability should come to at least 28.5% of a basic amount geared to the price index ( basbelopp ) in order to make the individual eligible for an allowance. In order to be granted disability benefits, the claimant must make an application to the Social Insurance Office. Under Chapter 16, section 5 of the 1962 Act, such benefits may be disbursed retroactively with respect to a certain period prior to the application, which is not to exceed two years. The purpose of this provision was to avoid that the claimant forfeit his or her entitlement due to lack of information.
Disability benefits are not subject to taxation. According to Chapter 9, section 3, of the 1962 Act (as in force on 1 January 2001) such benefits are granted on a yearly basis at a level of 69, 53 or 36% of the basic amount, depending on the extent to which the insured person is in need of assistance and the amount of extra expenses caused by the disability. On 20 January 1994, when the Office granted the applicant disability benefits, the basic amount was SEK 35,200. 2. Procedure A decision by the Social Insurance Office under the 1962 Act may be appealed against to the County Administrative Court and from there on to the Administrative Court of Appeal and the Supreme Administrative Court. The procedure in the administrative courts is governed by the provisions of the 1971 Act.
Section 9 provides: “The proceedings are in writing. An oral hearing may be held in regard to a certain issue, when there is reason to assume that that would be to the benefit of the proceedings or the speedy determination of the case.
In the Administrative Court of Appeal and the County Administrative Court an oral hearing shall be held if requested by an individual party to the proceedings and if it is not unnecessary and there are no particular reasons against holding a hearing ( I kammarrätt och länsrätt skall muntlig förhandling hållas, om enskild som för talan i målet begär det samt förhandlingen ej är obehövlig och ej heller särskilda skäl talar mot det )”. From the case-law of the national courts, it appears that the grounds stated in the third sub-paragraph of section 9 for refusing an oral hearing have been interpreted as being alternative rather than cumulative (see Regeringsrättens Årsbok 1997 ref 62). The possibility for an individual party to obtain an oral hearing on request under those circumstances is not available in the proceedings before the Supreme Administrative Court.
According to the preparatory work to the 1971 Act, an oral hearing can be a valuable complement to the written proceedings and may benefit the examination of a case in two situations in particular: firstly, when it is necessary to hear a witness, an expert or a party or when it is difficult for a party to present the case in writing and, secondly, when different positions in the case need to be sorted out in order to eliminate unnecessary or pointless issues of dispute. In the latter case, the oral hearing takes on a preparatory character. It was stressed, however, that an oral hearing should not to be seen as an alternative to the written procedure but as a complement to it (see Government Bill 1971:30, p. 535). It was further stated, in respect of the third paragraph of section 9, that a party’s request for an oral hearing should be given great consideration.
However, such a request should not have a decisive influence on the matter, as the question of whether an oral hearing is necessary is to be determined primarily on the basis of the available information in the case. Still, other circumstances may be of relevance, for instance the importance for the party of the matter at stake or the possibility that an oral hearing could enhance the party’s understanding of a future decision in the case. Nevertheless, if the case is of a trivial character or the costs of an oral hearing would be disproportionate to the values at stake in the case, there could be reason not to hold an oral hearing (p. 537). COMPLAINT The applicant complained that the lack of an oral hearing in her case constituted a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention.
Moreover, she complained under this provision that the competent courts had failed to carry out a proper review of her judicial appeal against the administrative decision in issue and consequently denied her a fair hearing. THE LAW Insofar as is relevant, Article 6 § 1 of the Convention reads: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing ... by [a] ... tribunal ...” 1. The applicant complained firstly and principally that the refusal of the national courts to hold an oral hearing violated the above provision. She argued that, like the Social Insurance Office, the County Administrative Court and the Administrative Court of Appeal had failed to assess her need for assistance, which defect could have been redressed had the applicant and her counsel been given an opportunity to present oral arguments at a public hearing.
She would then have explained directly to the court the situation of her medical condition and its effects on her day-to-day life, notably with respect to her need for assistance. By taking oral evidence from her and counsel for the Social Insurance Office, the courts would have been able to complete the evidence and to assess a part of the evidence that was central to the case. In practice, the two-year rule on retrospective grant of benefits applied irrespective of the claimant’s knowledge or ignorance of the possibility to apply for benefits. The Government did not dispute that the proceedings before the County Administrative Court involved the determination of the applicant’s civil rights and that the above provision was applicable with respect to those proceedings.
On the other hand, they argued that this was not so as regards the leave to appeal proceedings before the Administrative Court of Appeal and the Supreme Administrative Court, to which Article 6 § 1 was inapplicable. As regards the County Administrative Court’s refusal to hold an oral hearing, the Government submitted that, although this court in effect acted as the only judicial instance in this case and in so doing dealt with matters of both fact and law, there were in their view exceptional circumstances that justified dispensing with an oral hearing. In the first place, they referred to the reasons given by the County Administrative Court for its refusal of 4 May 1995 to hold a hearing, which was in accordance with domestic law.
Moreover, the issue to be decided concerned only the extent to which the grant of benefits should be made retroactively under the two year limitation rule which had been introduced to avoid forfeiture of entitlements for reasons of ignorance. However, this applicant had previously applied for such benefits and certainly was not unaware of the possibilities to do so. Her functional disorder and her need for assistance and additional expenses as well as the relevant evidence had been reviewed in the context of her previous application and appeared uncontroversial. The new fact to be considered related to the applicant’s studies and when these had started, namely in January 1993, was not a matter of dispute.
The issue to be determined was from what time she was entitled to the disability benefits. Thus there were strong reasons for believing that an oral hearing would not have provided the County Administrative Court with any additional information that could have been of importance to its adjudication of the applicant’s case. The issue of retroactive grant of disability benefits was one that could hardly be illuminated by meeting the applicant in person but rather by studying the relevant medical opinions and other reports. Furthermore, the applicant did not state any reasons for her request to the County Administrative Court to hold a hearing and never invoked any witness - or other evidence. Being represented by counsel, she had no difficulty in arguing her case in writing.
It should be added that the principle of public access was secured by public access to official documents which applied to most documents contained in the court case-files. Finally, regard should be had to the Article 6 requirement to conclude judicial proceedings within a reasonable time. Even assuming that Article 6 was applicable to the Administrative Court of Appeal and the Supreme Administrative Court in this case, it followed from the limited nature of the leave to appeal issue and from the various considerations mentioned above with respect to the County Administrative Court, that no failure arose under this provision with regard to the appellate court’s refusal to hold a hearing. In the light of the above, the Government requested the Court to declare the application inadmissible as being manifestly ill-founded.
The Court, having regard to the parties’ submissions, considers that the complaint about the lack of an oral hearing raises complex issues of law and fact under the Convention, the determination of which should depend on an examination of the merits of the complaint. The Court concludes, therefore, that this part of the application is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 1 of the Convention. No other grounds for declaring the said complaint inadmissible have been established. 2. The applicant further complained under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the competent courts had failed to carry out a proper review of her judicial appeal against the administrative decision at issue and consequently denied her a fair hearing.
However, the Court considers that this complaint is unsubstantiated and is moreover contradicted by the fact that the County Administrative Court actually disposed of her claim that she was entitled to disability benefits for a period prior to January 1993, going as far back as August 1991. The Court concludes that this part of the application discloses no appearance of a violation of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. It follows that it must be rejected as being manifestly ill-founded, pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares admissible, without prejudging the merits, the applicant’s complaint concerning [Note1] the lack of an oral hearing; Declares the remainder of the application inadmissible.
Françoise Elens-Passos Nicolas Bratza Deputy Registrar President [Note1] Summarise the complaints succinctly without necessarily citing the invoked Convention Articles.