- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 8 septembrie 2005
- Stat pârât
- DEU
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Ackermann și Fuhrmann împotriva Germaniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamanții, Norbert Ackermann și Ingo Fuhrmann, sunt resortisanți germani născuți în 1963 și, respectiv, în 1942 și locuiesc în Mannheim și Düsseldorf în Germania. Primul reclamant lucrează ca funcționar comercial (kaufmännischer Angesellter) într-o întreprindere privată. El este necăsătorit și contribuțiile sale anuale la asigurarea legală de vârstă pentru angajați se ridică în 2002 la 10,314 EUR și în 2003 la 11,934 EUR. La 24 aprilie 1995, primul reclamant a depus o cerere de a fi scutită de obligația sa de a contribui la asigurarea legală de vârstă pentru angajați (gesetzliche Rentensicherung). A susținut că asigurarea obligatorie a încălcat dreptul la egalitate de tratament, astfel cum este garantat de art. 3 din Legea de bază a Germaniei.
La 5 septembrie 1996, Asigurarea Națională de Sănătate pentru Angajați (Deutsche Angestellten Krankenkasse, DAK) a respins cererea reclamantului, constatând că reclamantul, în calitate de angajat, a fost supus asigurării obligatorii de vârstă în temeiul articolului 1 din a șasea carte a Codului dreptului social (SGB VI, a se vedea dreptul intern relevant mai jos), și că nu a îndeplinit cerințele de scutire în temeiul articolului 5 sau 6 din aceeași lege. La 11 februarie 1997, asigurarea națională de sănătate a respins obiecția reclamantului. La 28 februarie 1997, reclamantul a depus o propunere la Curtea Socială Mannheim (Sozialgericht) cu scopul de a fi scutită de la asigurarea obligatorie și de a-și rambursa contribuțiile din 1995, pentru a reduce în mod alternativ contribuțiile lunare la grad acceptabil și pentru a-și rambursa partea care depășește.
El a prezentat o declarație privind aspectele politice, economice și juridice ale schemei obligatorii de asigurare, susținând că asigurarea obligatorie a vârstnicii l-a privat de posibilitatea de a asigura vârstă în cadrul unui sistem privat de pensii, ceea ce ar da rezultate considerabil mai mari asupra investițiilor sale. Pensiunea pe care o putea primi în temeiul asigurării legale de vârstă a fost total disproporționată în comparație cu contribuțiile sale proprii. Acest lucru se datorează în parte faptul că contribuțiile din cadrul asigurării obligatorii nu au fost utilizate exclusiv pentru finanțarea pensiilor bazate pe contribuții, ci și pentru finanțarea așa-numitelor „beneficii extrinsece” (versicherungsfremde Leistungen, a se vedea legislația internă relevantă mai jos), inclusiv costurile suportate de reunificarea germană.
În plus, el a susținut că a fost discriminat în comparație cu generația în vârstă care a profitat în prezent de pensii mai mari decât cele pe care le-ar primi în sine la atingerea vârstei de pensii. În plus, el s-a plâns de discriminare în comparație cu grupul de câștigători care nu erau supuși sistemului obligatoriu de asigurare, cum ar fi persoanele independente și funcționarii publici. La 10 iulie 1998, Curtea Socială Mannheim a respins propunerea reclamantului, menționând în primul rând că dispozițiile legale de scutire nu se aplică reclamantului. În al doilea rând, Curtea Socială a constatat că asigurarea obligatorie nu a încălcat drepturile reclamantului în temeiul Legii de bază. Acesta a remarcat faptul că legislatorul a primit o marjă largă de apreciere atunci când ia măsuri în domeniul social-politic.
Statul de bunăstare este obligat să asigure nevoile de bază ale fiecărui cetățean. Prin urmare, legislatorul are dreptul să limiteze riscul de nevoia socială prin introducerea unui sistem obligatoriu de asigurare. Acesta a urmat faptul că asigurarea obligatorie ca atare nu a încălcat drepturile reclamantului în temeiul Legii de bază. Curtea socială a constatat în cele din urmă că selecția grupului de persoane care erau supuse schemei de asigurare obligatorie nu a fost arbitrară și, prin urmare, nu a încălcat dreptul reclamantului la egalitate de tratament. La 12 mai 2000, Curtea de Apel socială Baden-Württemberg (Landessalegerialgericht) a respins recursul reclamantului. Confirmând argumentul Tribunalului social, această instanță a subliniat faptul că argumentele reclamantului nu au luat în considerare în mod suficient conceptul de solidaritate.
În plus, Curtea de Apel a făcut trimitere la hotărârile Curții Sociale Federale (Bundessozialgericht) din 29 ianuarie 1998 și ale Curții Constituționale Federale (Bundesverfassungsgericht) din 29 decembrie 1999, conform căreia finanțarea așa-numitelor prestații extrinsece nu a încălcat drepturile reclamantului. Sistemul de asigurare în vârstă s-a bazat pe ideea de solidaritate și de compensare socială (sozialer Ausgleich) care includea tradițional un element de asistență socială. Chiar dacă cererile de pensie au un caracter personal, acestea au trebuit, de asemenea, să fie privite într-un context distinct social. Acesta a urmat faptul că legislatorul a fost autorizat să limiteze cererile de pensii și să modifice prestațiile atâta timp cât aceste măsuri au servit bunăstarea publică și au respectat principiul proporționalității.
Curtea Socială de Apel a constatat, de asemenea, că reclamantul a susținut o poziție care se concentrează pe interesele unei persoane asigurate care nu au devenit inapte la muncă, care nu au nevoie de măsuri de reabilitare și a căror contribuții nu beneficiază un soț supraviețuit. Această linie de argument a neglijat principiile asigurărilor și solidarității într-un mod inacceptabil. În cele din urmă, Comisia a remarcat că, în timpul procedurii, legislatorul a ridicat finanțarea pe bază de impozite a beneficiilor extrinsice și a stabilizat ratele contribuției. Prin apelul său asupra punctelor de drept în fața Curții Sociale Federale, reclamantul a susținut că sistemul de asigurare constituie o expropriare din următoarele motive: pentru reclamantul, ca un singur bărbat, returnările vor fi mai mici decât contribuțiile sale.
Acest lucru s-a dovedit la patru factori: faptul că contribuțiile au acoperit, de asemenea, așa-numitele „beneficii extrinsece”, inclusiv costurile suportate de reunificarea germană, principiul compensației sociale, faptul că impactul creșterii negative a populației nu a fost compensat de o rezervă de capital și costurile suplimentare suportate de speranța de viață mai mare a femeilor. El a afirmat că legislatorul și-a depășit competențele în temeiul Legii de bază și că obligația sa de a contribui la sistemul de asigurări a încălcat dreptul la libertate de acțiune și la egalitatea de tratament în temeiul Legii de bază. La 11 octombrie 2001, Curtea socială federală a respins apelul reclamantului privind punctele de drept.
Prin urmare, obligația nu depinde de capacitatea persoanelor individuale de a se asigura în sine. Sistemul de asigurare este justificat de principiul statului de bunăstare socială, care obligă statul să prevadă riscurile de viață. Aderarea obligatorie și contribuțiile au fost necesare pentru atingerea acestui obiectiv, în special pentru a proteja grupurile mai slabe ale societății. Curtea socială federală nu a examinat dacă evaluarea beneficiilor viitoare ale reclamantului ar putea încălca drepturile sale de proprietate, deoarece acest lucru ar putea fi examinat numai în momentul în care reclamantul de fapt a atins beneficiile sale. În ceea ce privește plângerea reclamantului cu privire la tratamentul inegal, Curtea Socială Federală a constatat că este justificat limitarea aderării obligatorii la grupul de angajați, deoarece acestea au fost de obicei mai mult nevoie de securitate.
Acest lucru a urmat de faptul că angajații erau de obicei dependenți de exploatarea propriei capacități de a lucra pentru a-și câștiga viața. Curtea Socială Federală a remarcat că legislatorul a aplicat principii similare pentru a defini grupul de persoane independente care fac obiectul asigurării obligatorii (secțiunea 2 din a șasea carte a Codului Social, a se vedea legea internă relevantă mai jos). De asemenea, s-a constatat că rata contribuțiilor obligatorii nu a pus o sarcină excesivă asupra reclamantului, care ar putea constitui o încălcare a dreptului său de proprietate. Faptul că contribuțiile au acoperit, de asemenea, așa-numitele „beneficii extrinsece” nu a condus la o încălcare a principiului egalității, ținând cont de faptul că aceste alte responsabilități sunt legate de cele ale asigurării de vârstă.
În aprilie 2002, Curtea Constituțională Federală a refuzat să aducă plângere constituțională a reclamantului. Al doilea reclamant lucrează ca angajat executiv într-o companie de asigurare privată. La 11 aprilie 1993, al doilea reclamant a depus o cerere de a fi scutită de obligația sa de a contribui la asigurarea legală de vârstă pentru angajați și a solicitat să își ramburseze contribuțiile. La 29 aprilie 1993, Asigurarea Națională pentru Angajați (Bundesversicherungsanstalt für Angestelte, BfA) a respins cererea reclamantului. La 25 iunie 1993, aceeași autoritate a respins obiecția reclamantului. La 26 iulie 1993, reclamantul a depus o propunere la Curtea Socială Düsseldorf. A susținut că aderarea obligatorie la schema de asigurări a constituit o expropiere și s-a plâns de un tratament inegal în comparație cu persoanele care desfășoară activități independente.
La 3 decembrie 1993, Curtea Socială a respins propunerea reclamantului, constatând că diferențiarea dintre angajați și persoanele independente nu este arbitrară, ci a fost justificată de vulnerabilitatea socială a acestor grupuri. Curtea Socială a remarcat, de asemenea, că, de asemenea, persoanele independente sunt din ce în ce mai supuși unor sisteme obligatorii de asigurare, de exemplu asigurări ale avocatului. Rata actuală de contribuție nu a fost excesivă și, prin urmare, nu a încălcat drepturile de proprietate ale reclamantului. Reclamantul nu a stabilit o încălcare a viitoarelor cereri de pensie. Pur și simplua apreciere că cererile sale de pensie ar putea fi reduse în viitor nu a condus la o încălcare a drepturilor de proprietate actuale ale reclamantului.
La 7 decembrie 1994, Curtea Socială de Apel din Renania de Nord-Westfalia a respins recursul reclamantului, referindu-se în principal la hotărârea Curții Sociale. La 25 octombrie 1995, Curtea Socială Federală a respins plângerea reclamantului împotriva refuzului de concediu de recurs (Nichtzulassungsbeschwerde) ca fiind inadmisibilă. La 17 decembrie 1998, Curtea Constituțională Federală a refuzat să divulge plângerea reclamantului. Codul social german este împărțit în zece cărți, și anume Book One și apoi Book Trei la Unsprezece cărți. A șasea carte a Codului Social (SGB VI) se referă la sistemul public de asigurare în vârstă (Gesetzliche Rentenversicherung). Secțiunea 1 (1) prevede că toți angajații sunt supuși asigurării obligatorii.
Secțiunea 2 prevede că anumite grupuri de persoane independente sunt, de asemenea, supuse asigurării obligatorii, cum ar fi profesorii, personalul de asistență medicală și maestre, artizanii care nu au propria lor afaceri și persoane care lucrează în principal pentru un singur client. Potrivit secțiunii 5, următoarele grupuri de persoane nu sunt supuse asigurării obligatorii: (1) funcționari și judecători; (2) angajați ai entităților publice sau clericale în măsura în care au cereri de pensii în temeiul schemei de pensii ale funcționarilor publici sau în temeiul unor reglementări similare ale bisericii; (3) membri ai ordonanțelor religioase în măsura în care menținerea acestora în conformitate cu normele acestui ordin este asigurată.
Secțiunea 6 definește anumite grupuri de persoane care sunt scutite de asigurarea obligatorie, în special cele care fac obiectul unui alt sistem obligatoriu de asigurare sau care au creanțe comparabile cu cele ale funcționarilor publici. Suma pensiei plătite în cadrul schemei de asigurare depinde în principal de valoarea venitului persoanei asigurate și de momentul contribuției. În afară de pensiile și pensiile de supraviețuire care se bazează pe contribuțiile persoanei asigurate, asigurarea acordă, de asemenea, beneficii care nu se bazează pe contribuții. Aceste plăți, care sunt, de asemenea, numite „beneficii extrinsece” (versicherungsfremde Leistungen), includ cererile de pensii bazate pe timpuri dedicate creșterii copiilor (Kindererziehungszeiten), pensiile compensarea efectelor războiului și nedreptății (Kriegsfolge- und Wiedergutmachungslasten) și plățile referitoare la conversia pensiilor după reunificarea germană.
Vârsta generală a pensionării este de 65 de ani (secțiunea 35 SGB V). Din 1957 până în 1992, femeile au avut dreptul la o pensie până la 60 de ani. În 1992 legislatorul a adaptat treptat vârsta pensionării femeilor la 65 de ani. Finanțarea prestațiilor în temeiul asigurării statutare este organizată într-un sistem rotativ în cadrul căruia plățile efectuate pe parcursul unui an sunt finanțate din contribuțiile primite în acel an (Umlageverfahren, a se vedea punctul 153 (1) SGB VI). Finanțarea se bazează pe contribuțiile persoanelor asigurate (a), care sunt completate cu o subvenție federală de stat financiară (b). (a) Contribuțiile sunt calculate în funcție de salariile brute ale asigurărilor, care sunt luate în considerare până la o anumită limită (Beitragsbemessungsgrenze).
Această limită se calculează anual. În 2005, limita a fost stabilită la un venit anual de 62.400 EUR. Ratele contribuțiilor sunt, de asemenea, stabilite anual și dezvoltate după cum urmează: 1993: 17,5 %, 1994: 19,2 %; 1995: 18,6 %; 1996: 19,2 %; 1997: 20,3 %; 1999 19,5 %, 2000: 19,3 %, 2001: 19,1 %; 2003 – 2005: 19,5 % din venitul brut. Contribuțiile trebuie plătite în acțiuni egale de către angajat și de către angajator (secțiunea 168 (1) nr. 1 SGB VI). (b) Statul federal contribuie la cheltuielile efectuate prin subvenții finanțate de impozitare (secțiunea 213 SGB VI). La 1 aprilie 1998, legislatorul a introdus o subvenție de stat suplimentară care a fost menită să finanțeze aceste cheltuieli în cadrul schemei de asigurări, care nu au fost acoperite de contribuții (a se vedea nr. 2 mai sus).
Aceste plăți suplimentare au constituit în 1998 9,6 miliarde DEM. În 2001, subvențiile globale au acoperit 23,2 % și în 2003 25,6 % din cheltuielile globale.
The applicants, Norbert Ackermann and Ingo Fuhrmann, are German nationals who were born in 1963 and 1942 respectively and live in Mannheim and Düsseldorf in Germany. The first applicant works as a commercial clerk (kaufmännischer Angestellter) in a private enterprise. He is unmarried and his yearly contributions to the statutory old-age insurance for employees amounted in 2002 to EUR 10,314 and in 2003 to EUR 11,934. On 24 April 1995 the first applicant filed a request to be exempted from his obligation to contribute to the statutory old-age insurance for employees (gesetzliche Rentenversicherung). He argued that the compulsory insurance violated his right to equal treatment as guaranteed by Article 3 of the German Basic Law.
On 5 September 1996 the National Health Insurance for Employees (Deutsche Angestellten Krankenkasse, DAK) rejected the applicant’s request, finding that the applicant, as an employee, was subject to the obligatory old-age insurance under section 1 of the sixth book of the Social Law Code (SGB VI, see relevant domestic law below), and that he did not meet the requirements to be exempted under sections 5 or 6 of that same law. On 11 February 1997 the National Health Insurance rejected the applicant’s objection. On 28 February 1997 the applicant lodged a motion with the Mannheim Social Court (Sozialgericht) with a view to being exempted from the obligatory insurance and to being reimbursed his contributions since 1995, alternatively to reduce his monthly contributions to an acceptable degree and to reimburse the exceeding part.
He submitted a statement on political, economic and legal aspects of the compulsory insurance scheme. He argued that the obligatory old-age insurance deprived him of the possibility to provide for old age under a private pension scheme, which would yield considerably higher returns on his investments. The pension which he was likely to receive under the statutory old-age insurance was totally disproportionate when compared to his own contributions. This was partly due to the fact that the contributions under the compulsory insurance were not exclusively used to finance contribution-based pensions, but also to finance so called “extrinsic benefits” (versicherungsfremde Leistungen, see relevant domestic law below), including costs incurred by the German reunification.
He further alleged that he was discriminated against when compared to the older generation who currently profited from higher pensions than those which he himself would receive on reaching pension age. Moreover, he complained about discrimination when compared to the group of earners who were not subject to the obligatory insurance system such as self-employed persons and civil servants. On 10 July 1998 the Mannheim Social Court rejected the applicant’s motion. It noted, first, that the legal provisions for exemption did not apply to the applicant. Secondly, the Social Court found that the compulsory insurance did not violate the applicant’s rights under the Basic Law. It noted that the legislator had been granted a wide margin of appreciation when taking measures in the social-political area.
The Welfare State was obliged to provide for every citizen’s basic needs. Accordingly, the legislator was entitled to limit the risk of social neediness by introducing a compulsory insurance scheme. It followed that the compulsory insurance as such did not violate the applicant’s rights under the Basic Law. The Social Court finally found that the selection of the group of people who were subject to the compulsory insurance scheme was not arbitrary and thus did not violate the applicant’s right to equal treatment. On 12 May 2000 the Baden-Württemberg Social Court of Appeal (Landessozialgericht) rejected the applicant’s appeal. Confirming the Social Court’s reasoning, that court emphasised that the applicant’s arguments did not sufficiently take into account the concept of solidarity.
Furthermore, the Court of Appeal referred to the decisions of the Federal Social Court (Bundessozialgericht) of 29 January 1998 and of the Federal Constitutional Court (Bundesverfassungsgericht) of 29 December 1999, according to which the financing of so-called extrinsic benefits did not violate the applicant’s rights. The old-age insurance scheme was based on the idea of solidarity and of social compensation (sozialer Ausgleich) which traditionally included an element of social welfare. Even though pension claims had a personal character, they also had to be seen in a distinctly social context. It followed that the legislator was allowed to limit pension claims and to modify benefits as long as these measures served the public welfare and respected the principle of proportionality.
The Social Court of Appeal further found that the applicant advocated a position which was focused on the interests of an insured person who did not become unfit for work, who did not need rehabilitation measures and whose contributions did not benefit a surviving spouse. This line of argument neglected the principles of insurance and of solidarity in an unacceptable way. It finally noted that, during proceedings, the legislator had raised the tax-based financing of the extrinsic benefits and had stabilised the rates of contribution. With his appeal on points of law before the Federal Social Court, the applicant argued that the insurance system amounted to an expropriation for the following reasons: for the applicant, as a single male, the returns would be lower than his contributions.
This was due to four factors: the fact that the contributions also covered so-called “extrinsic benefits”, including the costs incurred by the German reunification, the principle of social compensation, the fact that the impact of the negative growth of population was not compensated by a capital reserve, and the additional costs incurred by women’s higher life expectancy. He alleged that the legislator had overstepped his competencies under the Basic Law, and that his obligation to contribute to the insurance scheme violated his right to freedom of action and to equal treatment under the Basic Law. On 11 October 2001 the Federal Social Court rejected the applicant’s appeal on points of law.
It found, inter alia, that it was acceptable to subject all employees to an obligatory insurance with a view to their typically higher social vulnerability. Accordingly, the obligation did not depend on the individual persons’ ability to provide for themselves. The insurance system was justified by the principle of the Social Welfare State, which obliged the State to provide for the risks of life. Obligatory adherence and contributions were necessary to reach this aim, in particular in order to protect the weaker groups of society. The Federal Social Court did not examine if the assessment of the applicant’s future benefits could violate his property rights, as this could only be examined at the time the applicant actually touched his benefits.
With respect to the applicant’s complaint about unequal treatment, the Federal Social Court found that it was justified to limit the obligatory adherence to the group of employees, because these were typically more in need of security. This followed from the fact that employees were typically dependant on exploiting their own capacity to work in order to earn their living. The Federal Social Court noted that the legislator had applied similar principles to define the group of self-employed persons who were subject to the obligatory insurance (section 2 of the sixth book of the Social Code, see relevant domestic law below). It further found that the rate of the obligatory contributions did not put an excessive burden on the applicant, which might amount to a violation of his property right.
The fact that the contributions also covered the so-called “extrinsic benefits” did not lead to a violation of the principle of equality, taking into account that these other responsibilities were related to those of the old-age insurance. In April 2002 the Federal Constitutional Court refused to entertain the applicant’s constitutional complaint. The second applicant works as an executive employee in a private insurance company. On 11 April 1993 the second applicant filed a request to be exempted from his obligation to contribute to the statutory old-age insurance for employees and requested to be reimbursed his contributions. On 29 April 1993 the National Insurance for Employees (Bundesversicherungsanstalt für Angestellte, BfA) rejected the applicant’s request.
On 25 June 1993 that same authority rejected the applicant’s objection. On 26 July 1993 the applicant lodged a motion with the Düsseldorf Social Court. He alleged that the obligatory adherence to the insurance scheme amounted to an expropriation and complained about unequal treatment when compared to self-employed persons. On 3 December 1993 the Social Court rejected the applicant’s motion, finding that the differentiation between employees and self-employed persons was not arbitrary, but was justified by the different social vulnerability of these groups. The Social Court further noted that also self-employed persons were increasingly subject to obligatory insurance schemes, for example to the lawyer’s insurance.
The current rate of contribution was not excessive and thus did not violate the applicant’s property rights. The applicant had not established a violation of his future pension claims. The mere apprehension that his pension claims might be reduced in the future did not lead to a violation of the applicant’s present property rights. On 7 December 1994 the North Rhine-Westphalia Social Court of Appeal rejected the applicant’s appeal, referring mainly to the Social Court’s decision. On 25 October 1995 the Federal Social Court rejected the applicant’s complaint against the denial of leave to appeal (Nichtzulassungsbeschwerde) as inadmissible. It found that the applicant had failed to establish that the subject matter of his motion was of fundamental importance or that the lower court had committed a procedural error.
On 17 December 1998 the Federal Constitutional Court refused to entertain the applicant’s complaint. The German Social Code is divided into ten books, namely Book One and then Books Three to Eleven. The Sixth Book of the Social Code (SGB VI) deals with the public old-age insurance scheme (Gesetzliche Rentenversicherung). Section 1 (1) provides that all employees are subject to the obligatory insurance. Section 2 stipulates that certain groups of self-employed persons are also subject to the obligatory insurance, such as teachers, nursing staff and midwifes, artisans who do not have their own business and persons who mainly work for one single customer.
According to section 5 the following groups of persons are not subject to the obligatory insurance: (1) civil servants and judges; (2) employees of public or clerical entities insofar as they have pension claims under the civil servant’s pension scheme or under comparable church regulations; (3) members of religious orders insofar as their maintenance according to the rules of that order is assured. Section 6 defines certain groups of persons who are exempt from the obligatory insurance, in particular those who are subject to another obligatory insurance scheme or who have claims which are comparable to those of civil servants. The amount of the pension paid under the insurance scheme mainly depends on the amount of the insured person’s income and the time of contribution.
Besides the pensions and survivor’s pensions which are based on the insured person’s contributions, the insurance also grants benefits which are not based on contributions. These payments, which are also referred to as “extrinsic benefits” (versicherungsfremde Leistungen), include pension claims based on times devoted to the raising of children (Kindererziehungszeiten), pensions compensating the effects of war and injustice (Kriegsfolge- und Wiedergutmachungslasten) and payments relating to the conversion of pensions following the German reunification. The general retirement age is 65 (section 35 SGB V). From 1957 until 1992, women were entitled to a pension by the age of 60. In 1992 the legislator gradually adapted women’s retirement age to 65 years.
The financing of the benefits under the statutory insurance is organised in a revolving system under which payments made over a certain year are financed from contributions received in that year (Umlageverfahren, see section 153 (1) SGB VI). The financing is based on the contributions of the insured persons (a), which are complemented by a tax-financed federal state subsidy (b). (a) The contributions are calculated according to the insured person’s gross wages, which are taken into account up to a certain limit (Beitragsbemessungsgrenze). This limit is calculated on a yearly basis. In 2005, the limit was set at a yearly income of EUR 62,400. The contribution rates are also fixed on a yearly basis and developed as follows: 1993: 17.5 %, 1994: 19.2 %; 1995: 18.6 %; 1996: 19.2 %; 1997: 20.3 %; 1999 19.5 %, 2000: 19.3 %, 2001: 19.1 %; 2003 – 2005: 19.5 % of the gross income.
The contributions have to be paid in equal shares by the employed person and by the employer (section 168 (1) no. 1 SGB VI). (b) The Federal State contributes to the expenses by tax-financed subsidies (section 213 SGB VI). On 1 April 1998 the legislator introduced an additional state subsidy which was aimed at financing those expenses under the insurance scheme, which were not covered by contributions (see no. 2 above). These additional payments amounted in 1998 to DEM 9.6 billion. In 2001, the overall subsidies covered 23.2 % and in 2003 25.6 % of the overall spending.