- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 6 octombrie 2005
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Staniszewski împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
DIRECȚIUNEA TERZĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 53655/00 de către Bolesław STANISZEWSKI împotriva Poloniei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (A treia secțiune), care așezează la 6 octombrie 2005 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: B.M. Zupančič Președintele Caflisch dna Tsatsa-Nikolovska Zagrebsky Garlicki dna Gyulumyan David Thór Björgvinsson, judecători și grefierul secțiunii Berger Având în vedere cererea depusă la 22 aprilie 1999, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Reclamantul, Bolesław Staniszewski, este un național polonez, care s-a născut în 1946. El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl Wojciech Hermeliński, un avocat practicant la Varșovia.
Guvernul contestat este reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Jakub Wołāsiewicz, al Ministerului Afacerilor Externe. La 1 septembrie 1970, reclamantul a fost recunoscut ca având un statut de invaliditate de gradul trei (incapacitate limpede), datorită viziunii sale slabe. Prin decizia din 27 aprilie 1981, Consiliul de Asigurare Socială din Kalienna Góra ( Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) i-a acordat o pensie de invaliditate (închirierea inwalidzka În 1982, reclamantul a părăsit Polonia și a stabilit în Germania. Mai târziu, el s-a mutat în Australia și în Noua Zeelandă. El nu a informat autoritățile de asigurări sociale cu privire la noua sa adresă. La 1 aprilie 1982, Consiliul de asigurare socială din Kalienna Góra a refuzat plata pensiei reclamantului, deoarece a primit mai multe confirmații poștale că pensia nu a fost servită reclamantului, însoțită de un anunț: „adresatul a mers în străinătate”.
Începând cu 18 decembrie 1986, reclamantul a încetat să aibă o adresă permanentă în Polonia. La 13 ianuarie 1992, reclamantul, în vizita Poloniei, a depus o cerere la Consiliul de Asigurare Socială din Kalienna Góra pentru plata pensiei sale. El a informat autorităților de Asigurare Socială cu privire la cele două adrese ale sale, în Polonia și în Noua Zeelandă. Pentru a stabili adresa reclamantului, într-o scrisoare din 21 de ani. Mai 1992, Consiliul de Asigurare Socială din Ostrow Wielkopolski, competent de a face față cazului reclamantului, i-a cerut informații relevante. Această scrisoare a rămas fără răspuns. La 1 august 1997, reclamantul a depus o cerere la Consiliul de Asigurare Socială din Varșovia pentru plata pensiei.
Moțiunea sa a fost trimisă Consiliului de Asigurare Socială din Ostrow Wielkopolski. Prin decizia din 17 februarie 1998, Consiliul de Asigurare Socială din Ostrow Wielkopolski a decis că pensia de invaliditate a reclamantului îi va fi plătită cu efect retrospectiv începând cu 1 septembrie 1997. La 31 mai 1998, reclamantul s-a plâns la autoritățile de asigurare socială că pensia nu i-a fost încă plătită. El a solicitat ca sumele care nu au fost plătite de la 1982 până în 1997 să-i fie rambursate. El a solicitat, de asemenea, să ia decizia de a avea dreptul să beneficieze de familie. La 30 iunie 1998, autoritățile asigurărilor sociale au corectat greșeala cu privire la data în care trebuie reluată plata pensiei.
În consecință, plata a fost reluată începând cu 1 august 1997, adică prima zi a lunii în care a fost depusă cererea reclamantului, în conformitate cu art. 99 din Legea 1982, astfel cum a fost modificată. Într-o scrisoare din 21 iulie 1998, în răspuns la scrisoarea reclamantului din 31 mai 1998, autoritățile de asigurare socială din Ostrów Wielkopolski au povestit istoricul pensiei de invaliditate ale reclamantului și l-au informat cu privire la decizia de reluare a plăților. De asemenea, ei au informat reclamantul că, în conformitate cu dispozițiile Legii privind prestațiile familiale din 1 decembrie 1994, numai persoanele care locuiesc permanent în Polonia au fost eligibile pentru prestații familiale.
Într-o scrisoare din 19 octombrie 1999, reclamantul a solicitat din nou autorităților de asigurări sociale să ramburseze sumele care nu au fost plătite după ce a părăsit Polonia în 1982. Într-o scrisoare din 17 noiembrie 1999 Biroul de Drogare Externă al Consiliului de Asigurare Socială a explicat reclamantului cadrul juridic al drepturilor de asigurare socială ale persoanelor care au emigrat în anii 1980 și i-a informat că legislația în vigoare nu prevede niciun rambursare a prestațiilor de asigurare socială care nu au fost plătite în timpul absenței persoanei intitulate în Polonia. Hotărârea renduă de Curtea Constituțională din 13 noiembrie 1992 (a se vedea mai jos) nu a creat dreptul la o astfel de rambursare.
Plățile prestațiilor, cum ar fi pensia de pensionare și pensia de invaliditate, au fost reluate cu efect din luna care precede data în care a fost depusă cererea de reluare a plăților. La 3 noiembrie 1992, Tribunalul Constituțional a declarat că art. 84 alineatul (1) punctele 1 și 4 din Legea privind prestațiile de asigurare socială din 14 Decembrie 1982 nu a fost în conformitate cu Constituția 1952, astfel cum a fost modificată în 1990. În temeiul acestei dispoziții, plățile pensiilor de pensionare și de invaliditate trebuiau să fie păstrate atunci când o persoană îndreptătățită să meargă în străinătate și locuiește permanent într-o țară cu care Polonia nu a încheiat un acord bilateral de asigurare socială.
Curtea a considerat că dreptul la o invaliditate sau la o pensie de pensie de pensie nu erau drepturi că statul ar putea acorda, reduce sau lua arbitrar. Aceste drepturi au fost achiziționate pe valoarea primelor plătite sistemului de asigurare socială administrat de stat pentru perioadele de ocupare a forței de muncă stabilite prin lege. De asemenea, acestea depind de alte condiții, cum ar fi ajungerea la o vârstă anume sau de a deveni handicapate. Curtea nu a reușit să vadă niciun motiv constituțional al regulamentului care să permită să rămână plățile unei astfel de pensii persoanelor care locuiesc în permanență în străinătate. Alegerea locului de reședință fiind un drept garantat de instrumentele internaționale de protecție a drepturilor omului, o decizie de mutare în străinătate nu ar trebui să implice consecințe negative în domeniul drepturilor dobândite în mod valabil, în special dreptul la prestațiile de asigurări sociale.
În consecință, dispoziția încurcată a fost încălcarea principiilor fundamentale ale statului de drept, așa cum a fost consemnată în Constituție. La 29 iunie 1994, această decizie a fost publicată în Jurnalul Legii și, în consecință, prevederile încurcate au pierdut forța obligatorie începând cu data respectivă.
art. 99 din Legea de 1982 a citit: „Procedurile de asigurare socială se plătesc începând de la data în care persoana achiziționează un drept relevant, dar nu mai devreme de trei luni care precedă luna în care a fost depusă cererea sau a fost acordată o decizie ex officio cu privire la acest drept.” Legea privind reevaluarea prestațiilor de asigurare socială de 25 de ani Octombrie 1996, care a modificat anumite dispoziții ale diferitelor legi ale asigurărilor sociale, a modificat și art. 99 din Legea de 1982. art. 99 modificat prevede: „Asigurarea socială se plătește de la data în care persoana obține un drept relevant, dar nu mai devreme de la începutul lunii care precedă luna în care a fost depusă o cerere sau de oficiu.
Hotărârea în ceea ce privește dreptul a fost acordată.” COMPLAINTE Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 că a fost privat de pensie și beneficiul familial timp de cincisprezece ani datorită faptului că el locuia în străinătate. De asemenea, el s-a plâns că aceste sume nu îi vor fi rambursate niciodată, în ciuda faptului că și-a dobândit în mod corespunzător beneficiile de asigurare socială cu puterea de a plăti primele relevante sistemului de asigurare socială administrat de stat. El s-a plâns în continuare în temeiul art. 6 din Convenție cu privire la nedreptățile procedurii dinaintea autorităților de asigurare socială. Reclamantul s-a plâns, în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, că a fost privat de pensia de pensie de pensionare și de alocare de familie, în mod valabil, pentru cincisprezece ani, doar pentru că a rezistat în străinătate.
„Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” În primul rând, Curtea observă că reclamantul nu a demonstrat că a avut dreptul vreodată la alocația pentru familie prevăzută pentru dispozițiile aplicabile ale legislației privind asigurările sociale.
Numai în scrisoarea sa din 31 mai 1998 solicită acordarea acestei alocații. În răspuns, el a fost informat că numai persoanele care locuiesc în Polonia au fost eligibile pentru aceasta. Curtea reamintește că art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 nu garantează dreptul de a cumpăra bunuri (a se vedea Van der Mussele c. Belgia , hotărârea din 23 noiembrie 1983 , Seria A nr. 70, p. 23, § 48 și Slivenko și alții c. Letonia (dec.) [GC], nr. 48321/99, § 121, CEDO 2002-II). În consecință, deoarece reclamantul nu a fost niciodată acordată alocația de familie, el nu poate plânge că a fost privat de aceasta. Rezultă că această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § § § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Guvernul susține că autoritățile poloneze nu pot fi responsabile în temeiul Convenției pentru orice plângeri care se referă la perioada anterioră la 10 octombrie 1994, când Polonia a ratificat Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție. Reclamantul recunoaște că, în cazul său, încălcarea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 provine din dispozițiile adoptate în 1982, înainte de ratificarea Protocolului nr. 1 la Convenția din partea Poloniei. Totuși, aplicarea acestor dispoziții a creat o situație permanentă care a continuat după ratificarea Poloniei Protocolului nr. În ciuda hotărârii Curții Constituționale din 3 noiembrie 1992, care a constatat suspendarea plății pensiilor de pensionare și de invaliditate la persoanele care trăiesc în străinătate neconstituționale, autoritățile de asigurări sociale ale statului nu au reluat automat plățile pensiei de invaliditate la solicitant.
Curtea observă că jurisdicția Curții ratione temporis acoperă doar perioada de după ratificarea Convenției sau a Protocolelor sale de către statul contestat. Din data de ratificare, toate presupusele acte și omisiuni ale statului trebuie să fie conforme cu Convenția sau cu protocolele sale și faptele ulterioare intră în jurisdicția Curții chiar dacă acestea sunt pur și simplu extinderea unei situații deja existente (a se vedea, de exemplu, Yağci și Sargin c. Turcia , hotărârea din 8 iunie 1995, Serie A nr. 319-A, p. 16, § 40, și Almeida Garrett, Mascarenhas Falcão și alții c. Portugalia nr. 29813/96 și 30229/96, § 43, CEDH 2000-I. Prin urmare, Curtea este competentă să examineze faptele prezentului caz pentru compatibilitatea lor cu Convenția numai în măsura în care au avut loc după 10 ani.
Octombrie 1994, data ratării Protocolului nr. 1 de către Polonia. Cu toate acestea, aceasta poate avea în vedere faptele anterioare ratării în măsura în care acestea ar putea fi considerate a crea o situație care se extinde dincolo de această dată (a se vedea Broniowski c. Polonia [GC], dec. 16 decembrie 2002, 31443/96, § 74). În acest sens, Curtea constată în primul rând că, în 1981, hotărârea a fost dată de către care reclamantul avea dreptul la pensia de invaliditate care trebuie plătită în fiecare lună, având în vedere că a respectat cerințele aplicabile pe care le-a atașat-o la o astfel de pensie în acel moment.
Prin urmare, în măsura în care reclamantul poate fi înțeles că se plânge de adoptarea legii din 1982 pe baza căreia plata pensiei sale de invaliditate a fost rămasă după ce a părăsit Polonia, și în măsura în care se plânge decizia dată în 1982 prin care a fost ordonată șederea plății, această parte a cererii este incompatibilă ratione temporis cu dispozițiile convenției în sensul articolului 35 3 și trebuie respinse în conformitate cu art. 35 Cu toate acestea, Curtea remarcă, de asemenea, că esențialul plângerii reclamantului este că această decizie dată în 1982 și-a produs efectele după aceea, deoarece pensia de invaliditate la care avea dreptul și care trebuia plătită în fiecare lună pentru o perioadă nedeterminată a încetat să fie plătită numai pe motivul că a părăsit Polonia.
Curtea constată că este în natura pensiilor de asigurare socială, cum ar fi aceasta, în cazul în cauză, că acestea sunt plătite periodic. Hotărârea din 1981 de a acorda reclamantului pensiei de invaliditate a creat o situație continuă, deoarece aceasta a oferit de partea sa un drept legal permanent pentru obținerea mijloacelor de sustenabilitate după ce s-a stabilit că sănătatea lui a făcut dificil pentru el să continue ocuparea forței de muncă remunerate integrale. Curtea este de părere că rezultatele hotărârii din 1982 și-au produs rezultatele în mod repetat, în fiecare lună, în cazul în care nu s-a plătit o garanție periodică de asigurare socială, deoarece nu ar fi fost acordată această decizie.
În consecință, Curtea consideră că șederea plății pensiei periodice de asigurare socială, acordate pe baza unei decizii finale și valabile, a creat astfel o situație care continuă după 10 octombrie 1994, data la care Polonia a devenit obligată prin Protocolul nr. 1. Justiția guvernului de inadmisibilitate pe baza lipsei de competență ratione temporis Prin urmare, în ceea ce privește acest aspect al cererii, trebuie respins, în măsura în care cererea se referă la evenimentele care au avut loc după ce Polonia a devenit obligată de Protocolul nr. 1, Guvernul susține că, în temeiul articolului 99 din Legea 1982, reclamantul ar fi putut depune o propunere de reluare a plăților pensiei sale începând cu 29 iunie 1994, și anume.
data de publicare a hotărârii Curții Constituționale din 3 noiembrie 1992. În acea dată, dispozițiile Legii din 1982 pe baza cărora plățile pensiilor sale au fost pierdute forța obligatorie. În cazul în care reclamantul ar fi depus o astfel de cerere imediat după 29 iunie 1992, plățile ar fi putut fi reluate, în conformitate cu art. 99 din Legea de 1982, cu efect începând cu 1 aprilie 1992, adică trei luni înainte de luna în care ar fi fost depusă o astfel de cerere. Acestea susțin, de asemenea, că modificarea din 1996 la art. 99 din Legea s-a scurtat la o lună perioada pentru care plata unei beneficii ar putea fi efectuată retrospectiv. Reclamantul susține că, chiar după ce Curtea Constituțională a declarat dispozițiile articolului 84 din Legea 1992 neconstituțională, autoritățile poloneze nu au reluat plățile pensiilor reclamantului.
Curtea observă că, deja în noiembrie 1992, dispozițiile care au servit de bază pentru suspendarea plății pensiei reclamante au fost declarate de Curtea Constituțională incompatibile cu Constituția. La 29 iunie 1994, această hotărâre a Curții a fost publicată și, în această dată, art. 84 din Legea din 1982 și-a pierdut forța obligatorie. Prin urmare, baza juridică pentru menținerea plății pensiei reclamantului a încetat să existe. Curtea constată, de asemenea, că, în conformitate cu dispozițiile Legii din 1982, prestațiile de asigurare socială trebuiau plătite de la data în care persoana a obținut un drept relevant, dar nu mai devreme de trei luni care precedă luna în care a fost depusă o cerere relevantă.
Prin urmare, în măsura în care reclamantul ar putea fi înțeles ca plângând că pensia datorată acestuia după 10 octombrie 1994, atunci când Polonia a devenit obligată prin Protocolul nr. 1, nu a fost plătită, Curtea remarcă că nu a demonstrat că a luat măsuri pentru obținerea plăților pentru perioada de începere a acestei date. El a prezentat cererea de reluare a plăților numai la 1 August 1997. Plățile pensiei au fost reluate în cele din urmă, în conformitate cu deciziile din 17 februarie și 30 iunie 1998, cu efect începând cu 1 August 1997, adică prima zi a lunii în care cererea reclamantului a fost depusă în conformitate cu art. 99 din Legea 1982, astfel cum a fost modificată în 1996. Reclamantul nu a arătat sau susținut că plata pensiei datorii pentru perioada de începând cu 10 octombrie 1994 ar fi fost refuzată dacă ar fi depus o astfel de cerere imediat după ce a devenit posibil.
În sfârșit, Curtea consideră că, în urma hotărârii Curții Constituționale din 3 noiembrie 1992, cadrul juridic general aplicabil drepturilor de asigurare socială în temeiul căruia o persoană care susține că este acordată o pensie a fost obligată să prezinte autorităților competente o cerere relevantă, a fost aplicat persoanelor în situația reclamantului. În consecință, reclamantul a fost obligat să prezinte o procedură relevantă pentru a relua plata pensiei sale. Curtea consideră că această cerință nu a fost aplicată în mod discriminatoriu, astfel încât să afecteze situația sau să facă în mod incorect dificil obținerea unei decizii în favoarea sa. În consecință, această plângere este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § § § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Reclamantul s-a încălcat în continuare în temeiul articolului 6 din Convenție cu privire la nedreptatea procedurii în fața autorităților de asigurări sociale. Chiar dacă se presupune că art. 6 ar putea fi considerat aplicabil procedurii efectuate în fața unui organism care nu este de caracter judiciar, Curtea observă că reclamantul nu a explicat în ce mod aceste proceduri au fost nejustificate, rezultând că această plângere este în mod evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § § 3 și 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Vincent Berger Boštjan M . Zupančič Președintele grefierului
THIRD SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 53655/00 by Bolesław STANISZEWSKI against Poland The European Court of Human Rights (Third Section), sitting on 6 October 2005 as a Chamber composed of: Mr B.M. Zupančič , President , Mr L. Caflisch , Mrs M. Tsatsa-Nikolovska , Mr V. Zagrebelsky , Mr L. Garlicki , Mrs A. Gyulumyan , Mr David Thór Björgvinsson, judges , and Mr V. Berger , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 22 April 1999, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Bolesław Staniszewski, is a Polish national, who was born in 1946. He is represented before the Court by Mr Wojciech Hermeliński, a lawyer practising in Warsaw.
The respondent Government are represented by their Agent, Mr Jakub Wołąsiewicz, of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A. The circumstances of the case On 1 September 1970 the applicant was acknowledged as having a third degree disability status (slight disability), due to his poor eyesight. By a decision of 27 April 1981 the Social Insurance Board in Kamienna Góra ( Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych ) granted him a disability pension ( renta inwalidzka ). In 1982 the applicant left Poland and settled in Germany. Later on, he moved to Australia and to New Zealand. He did not inform the social insurance authorities about his new address. On 1 April 1982 the Social Insurance Board in Kamienna Góra withheld the payment of the applicant’s pension as it had received several postal confirmations that the pension had not been served on the applicant, accompanied with a notice: “the addressee went abroad”.
Since 18 December 1986 the applicant ceased to have a permanent address in Poland. On 13 January 1992 the applicant, while visiting Poland, lodged a motion with the Social Insurance Board in Kamienna Góra for payment of his pension. He informed the Social Insurance authorities about his two addresses, in Poland and in New Zealand. In order to establish the applicant’s address, in a letter of 21 May 1992 the Social Insurance Board in Ostrów Wielkopolski, competent to deal with the applicant’s case, asked him for relevant information. This letter remained unanswered. On 1 August 1997 the applicant lodged a motion with the Social Insurance Board in Warsaw for payment of the pension. His motion was remitted to the Social Insurance Board in Ostrów Wielkopolski.
By a decision of 17 February 1998 the Social Insurance Board in Ostrów Wielkopolski decided that the applicant’s disability pension would be paid to him with a retrospective effect from 1 September 1997. On 31 May 1998 the applicant complained to the social insurance authorities that the pension had not been paid to him yet. He requested that the amounts which had not been paid from 1982 until 1997 should be reimbursed to him. He also requested that a decision be given to the effect that he should be entitled to the family benefit. On 30 June 1998 the social insurance authorities corrected the error concerning the date on which the payment of the pension was to be resumed. Accordingly, the payment was to be resumed from 1 August 1997, i.e.
the first day of the month during which the applicant’s motion had been lodged, as provided for by Article 99 of the 1982 Act as amended. In a letter of 21 July 1998, in reply to the applicant’s letter of 31 May 1998, the social insurance authorities in Ostrów Wielkopolski recounted the history of the applicant’s disability pension and informed him about the decision to resume payments. They also informed the applicant that under the provisions of the Family Benefits Act of 1 December 1994, only persons residing permanently in Poland were eligible for family benefits.
In a letter of 19 October 1999 the applicant again requested the social insurance authorities to reimburse the amounts which had not been paid after he had left Poland in 1982. In a letter of 17 November 1999 the Foreign Entitlements Office of the Social Insurance Board explained to the applicant the legal framework of social insurance entitlements of persons who had emigrated in the 1980s, and informed him that the laws in force did not provide for any reimbursement of social insurance benefits which had not been paid during the absence of the entitled person in Poland. The judgment given by the Constitutional Court of 13 November 1992 (see below) did not create a right to such reimbursement.
The payments of benefits such as retirement pension and disability pension were to be resumed with effect from the month preceding the date on which the motion for the payments to be resumed was lodged. B. Relevant domestic law and practice On 3 November 1992 the Constitutional Tribunal declared that Article 84 (1) items 1 and 4 of the Law on the Social Insurance Benefits of 14 December 1982 was not in accordance with the 1952 Constitution as amended in 1990. Under this provision, the payments of retirement and disability pensions were to be stayed when an entitled person went abroad and was permanently residing in a country with which Poland had not concluded a social insurance bilateral agreement.
The Court considered that the entitlements to a disability or a retirement pension were not entitlements that the state could arbitrarily award, reduce or take away. These entitlements were acquired on the strength of premiums paid to the state-run social insurance system for periods of employment set out by law. They were also dependent on other conditions such as reaching a given age, or becoming disabled. The Court failed to see any constitutional grounds for the regulation allowing to stay payments of such pension to persons permanently residing abroad. The choice of place of residence being a right guaranteed by international instruments for the protection of human rights, a decision to move abroad should not entail any negative consequences in the sphere of validly acquired rights, in particular the rights to social insurance benefits.
The impugned provision was consequently in breach of fundamental principles of rule of law as enshrined in the Constitution. On 29 June 1994 this decision was published in the Journal of Laws and, accordingly, the impugned provisions lost their binding force as from that date. Article 99 of the 1982 Act read: “Social insurance benefits shall be paid beginning from the date on which the person acquires a relevant entitlement, but not earlier than three months preceding the month during which the motion was submitted, or an ex officio decision in respect of the entitlement was given.” The Law on a re-assessment of the social insurance benefits of 25 October 1996, which changed certain provisions of various social insurance laws, amended also Article 99 of the 1982 Act.
The amended Article 99 reads: “Social insurance benefits shall be paid from the date on which the person acquires a relevant entitlement, but not earlier than from the beginning of a month preceding the month during which the motion was submitted, or an ex officio decision in respect of the entitlement was given.” COMPLAINTS The applicant complained under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 that he was deprived of his pension and family benefit for fifteen years due to the fact that he was residing abroad. He also complained that these sums will never be reimbursed to him, despite the fact that he has duly acquired his social insurance benefits on the strength of paying the relevant premiums to the State-run Social Insurance system.
He further complained under Article 6 of the Convention about the unfairness of the proceedings before the Social Insurance authorities. THE LAW 1. The applicant complained under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 that he was deprived of his validly acquired retirement pension and family allowance for fifteen years merely because that he was residing abroad. Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 reads: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.
The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” a) The Court first observes that the applicant has not shown that he was ever entitled to the family allowance provided for the applicable provisions of the social insurance laws. It was only in his letter of 31 May 1998 that he requested to be granted such allowance. In reply, he was informed that only persons residing in Poland were eligible for it. The Court recalls that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 does not guarantee the right to acquire property (see Van der Mussele v. Belgium , judgment of 23 November 1983, Series A no. 70, p. 23, § 48, and Slivenko and Others v. Latvia (dec.) [GC], no. 48321/99, § 121, ECHR 2002-II).
Consequently, as the applicant was never granted the family allowance, he cannot complain that he was deprived thereof. It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. b) The Government argue that the Polish authorities cannot be responsible under the Convention for any complaints which refer to the period prior to 10 October 1994, when Poland ratified Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. The applicant acknowledges that in his case the breach of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 originated from the provisions enacted in 1982, prior to the ratification of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention by Poland.
However, the application of these provisions created a permanent situation which continued after Poland ratified Protocol No. 1. This was because despite the judgment of the Constitutional Court of 3 November 1992 which found the suspension of payment of retirement and disability pensions to persons living abroad unconstitutional, the state-run social insurance authorities did not automatically resume payments of the disability pension to the applicant. The Court observes that the Court’s jurisdiction ratione temporis covers only the period after the ratification of the Convention or its Protocols by the respondent State.
From the ratification date onwards, all the State’s alleged acts and omissions must conform to the Convention or its Protocols and subsequent facts fall within the Court’s jurisdiction even where they are merely extensions of an already existing situation (see, for example, Yağci and Sargin v. Turkey , judgment of 8 June 1995, Series A no. 319-A, p. 16, § 40, and Almeida Garrett, Mascarenhas Falcão and Others v. Portugal , nos. 29813/96 and 30229/96, § 43, ECHR 2000-I). Accordingly, the Court is competent to examine the facts of the present case for their compatibility with the Convention only in so far as they occurred after 10 October 1994, the date of ratification of Protocol No. 1 by Poland.
It may, however, have regard to the facts prior to ratification inasmuch as they could be considered to have created a situation extending beyond that date (see Broniowski v. Poland [GC], dec. 16 December 2002, 31443/96, § 74). In this connection, the Court first notes that in 1981 the decision was given by which the applicant became entitled to the disability pension to be paid to him every month, on the ground that he complied with applicable requirements that law attached to such a pension at that time.
Hence, insofar as the applicant can be understood as complaining about the adoption of the 1982 law on the basis of which the payment of his disability pension was stayed after he had left Poland, and insofar as he complains about the decision given in 1982 by which the staying of the payment was ordered, this part of the application is incompatible ratione temporis with the provisions of the Convention within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 4. However, the Court further observes that the gist of the applicant’s complaint is that this decision given in 1982 produced its effects afterwards in that the disability pension to which he was entitled and which was to be paid to him every month for undetermined period ceased to be paid solely on the ground that he had left Poland.
The Court notes that it is in the nature of social insurance pensions such as this concerned in the present case that the are paid periodically. The 1981 decision to grant the applicant the disability pension created a continuous situation in that it provided on his part for a permanent legal entitlement to obtain subsistence means after it had been established that his health made it difficult for him to continue full-time paid employment. The Court is of the view that the results of the 1982 decision therefore produced its results repeatedly, every month, in that a periodical social insurance benefit was not paid as it would have been had this decision not been given.
The Court accordingly considers that the staying of payment of the periodical social insurance pension, awarded on the basis of a final and valid decision, thus created a situation continuing after 10 October 1994, the date on which Poland became bound by Protocol No. 1. The Government’s plea of inadmissibility on the ground of lack of jurisdiction ratione temporis in respect of this aspect of the application must therefore be rejected. c) Insofar as the application relates to events after Poland became bound by Protocol No. 1, the Government argue that under Article 99 of the 1982 Act the applicant could have lodged a motion to have the payments of his pension resumed from 29 June 1994, i.e.
the date on which the judgment of the Constitutional Court of 3 November 1992 was published. It was on that date that the provisions of the 1982 Act on the basis of which the payments of his pension had been stayed lost their binding force. Had the applicant lodged such a motion immediately after 29 June 1992, the payments could have been resumed, as provided for by Article 99 of the 1982 Act, with effect as from 1 April 1992, i.e. three months prior to the month during which such a motion would have been lodged. They further argue that the 1996 amendment to Article 99 of the Act shortened to one month the period for which the payment of a benefit could be made retrospectively. The applicant argues that even after the Constitutional Court declared the provisions of Article 84 of the 1992 Act unconstitutional, the Polish authorities did not resume payments of the pension to the applicant.
The Court observes that already in November 1992 the provisions which had served as the basis for staying of payment of the applicant pension were declared by the Constitutional Court to be incompatible with the Constitution. It was on 29 June 1994 that this judgment of the Court was published and it was on this date that the impugned Article 84 of the 1982 Act lost its binding force. Hence, the legal basis for staying of the payment of the applicant’s pension ceased to exist. The Court further notes that under the provisions of the 1982 Act, social insurance benefits were to be paid from the date on which the person acquired a relevant entitlement, but not earlier than three months preceding the month during which a relevant motion was submitted.
After the 1996 amendments to that Act, this three-month period was shortened to one month. Therefore, insofar as the applicant could be understood as complaining that the pension due to him after 10 October 1994, when Poland became bound by Protocol No. 1, was not paid to him, the Court observes that he has not shown that he took steps to obtain payments for the period starting on that date. He submitted his request for payments to be resumed only on 1 August 1997. The payments of the pension were eventually resumed, under the decisions of 17 February and 30 June 1998, with effect as from 1 August 1997, i.e. the first day of the month during which the applicant’s request had been lodged as provided for by Article 99 of the 1982 Act as amended in 1996. The applicant had not shown, or argued, that the payment of the pension due for the period starting on 10 October 1994 would have been refused, had he submitted such a request immediately after it had become possible.
Lastly, the Court considers that, following the judgment of the Constitutional Court of 3 November 1992, the general legal framework applicable to the social insurance entitlements under which a person claiming to be granted a pension was obliged to submit a relevant motion to the competent authorities, was applied to persons in the applicant’s situation. Accordingly, the applicant was under an obligation to submit a relevant motion in order to have the payment of his pension resumed. The Court considers that this requirement was not applied to him in a discriminatory manner, so as to negatively affect his situation or to make it unduly difficult to obtain a decision in his favour. It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
2. The applicant further complained under Article 6 of the Convention about unfairness of the proceedings before the Social Insurance authorities. Even assuming that Article 6 could be deemed applicable to the proceedings conducted before a body which is not of a judicial character, the Court observes that the applicant failed to explain in what way these proceedings were unfair. It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares the application inadmissible. Vincent Berger Boštjan M . Zupančič Registrar President