- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 13 decembrie 2005
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Barrow și alții împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, dl Norman Barrow, este un național britanic care s-a născut în 1930 și trăiește în Stoke-on-Trent. Soția sa a murit la 11 octombrie 1985. La 25 iunie 2000, reclamantul a solicitat Agenția de Beneficii pentru plata prestațiilor de securitate socială. El a solicitat beneficii echivalente cu cele la care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul în temeiul Legii privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”). El a fost informat că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca o cerere valabil, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor sunt specifice femeilor. Susținerea a fost în cele din urmă respinsă de Tribunalul de Apel pentru Securitate Socială la 14 februarie 2001. Reclamantul, dl Joseph Roberts, este un național britanic care s-a născut în 1957 și trăiește în Springfield.
Soția sa a murit la 7 octombrie 1999, lăsând reclamantul și fiul său, născut la 2 martie 1984. La 21 noiembrie 2000, reclamantul a solicitat beneficii echivalente cu cele la care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul în temeiul Legii privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”). El a fost informat la 27 noiembrie 2000 că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca cerere valabil, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor sunt specifice femeilor. Apelul său a fost respins de către Tribunalul de Apel la 27 februarie 2001. Reclamantul, dl Michael McConville, este un național britanic născut în 1934 și locuiește la Belfast.
El este reprezentat în fața Curții de către Campbell McKee, avocati. Soția sa a murit la 20 iunie 1985, lăsând doi copii cu vârsta de 8 și 4 ani, la scurt timp după moartea ei, reclamantul a contactat Departamentul de Sănătate și Securitate Socială prin telefon pentru a vedea dacă beneficiile văduvilor ar fi disponibile. El a fost informat că nu au existat beneficii pentru el pentru că era un om. El a formulat ulterior o cerere pentru beneficiile văduvilor echivalent cu cele la care o văduvă, al căror soț a murit în condiții similare cu cele ale soției sale, ar fi avut dreptul în temeiul Legii privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”). El a fost informat la 5 septembrie 2000 că Agenția de Beneficii nu a putut accepta cererea sa ca o cerere valabil, deoarece reglementările care reglementează plata beneficiilor văduvelor sunt specifice femeilor.
Apelul său la Tribunalul de Apel pentru Securitate Socială a fost respins la 9 noiembrie 2000. Reclamantul, John Kelly, este un național britanic care s-a născut în 1935 și trăiește în Cheshire. Soția sa a murit la 23 septembrie 1998. Susținerea sa pentru beneficiul văduvului a fost respinsă de Departamentul de Sănătate și Securitate Socială la 8 septembrie 2000 din cauza faptului că, în calitate de om, el nu a fost eligibil pentru beneficii. apelurile sale la Serviciul de Apel al Departamentului au fost refuzate în aprilie și respectiv în iulie 2001. Legea internă relevantă pentru aceste cereri este stabilită în Willis v. Regatul Unit, nr. 36042/97, §§ 14-26, CEDO 2002-IV.
The applicant, Mr Norman Barrow, is a British national who was born in 1930 and lives in Stoke-on-Trent. His wife died on 11 October 1985. On 25 June 2000, the applicant applied to the Benefits Agency for the payment of social security benefits. He applied for benefits equivalent to those to which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”). He was informed that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows' benefits were specific to women. The claim was finally rejected by the Social Security Appeal Tribunal on 14 February 2001. The applicant, Mr Joseph Roberts, is a British national who was born in 1957 and lives in Springfield.
His wife died on 7 October 1999, leaving the applicant and his son, born on 2 March 1984. On 21 November 2000, the applicant applied for benefits equivalent to those to which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”). He was informed on 27 November 2000 that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows' benefits were specific to women. His appeal was dismissed by the Appeal Tribunal on 27 February 2001. The applicant, Mr Michael McConville, is a British national who was born in 1934 and lives in Belfast.
He is represented before the Court by Campbell McKee, solicitors. His wife died on 20 June 1985, leaving two children aged 8 and 4. Shortly after her death, the applicant contacted the Department of Health and Social Security by telephone to see whether any widowers' benefits would be available. He was informed that there were no benefits available to him because he was a man. He subsequently made a claim for widowers' benefits equivalent to those to which a widow, whose husband had died in similar circumstances to those of his wife, would have been entitled under the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”). He was informed on 5 September 2000 that the Benefits Agency was unable to accept his application as a valid claim because the regulations governing the payment of widows' benefits were specific to women.
His appeal to the Social Security Appeal Tribunal was rejected on 9 November 2000. The applicant, John Kelly, is a British national who was born in 1935 and lives in Cheshire. His wife died on 23 September 1998. His claim for widow's benefit was rejected by the Department of Health and Social Security on 8 September 2000 on the ground that, as a man, he was not eligible for the benefits. His appeals to the Appeal Service of the Department were refused in April and July 2001 respectively. The domestic law relevant to these applications is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom, no. 36042/97, §§ 14-26, ECHR 2002-IV.