- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 14 iunie 2007
- Stat pârât
- SWE
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Steen împotriva Suediei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, dna Marie Steén, este un național suedez născut în 1957 și trăiește la Stockholm. A fost reprezentată în fața Curții de către dl U. Jacobson, un avocat practicant la Stockholm. Guvernul suedez (“Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl B. Sjöberg al Ministerului Afacerilor Externe. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul suferă de boala Crohn (o boală marcată de inflamația cronică a colonului). La 23 februarie 1983, Oficiul de Asigurare Socială (Försäkringskassan) din Jönköping i-a acordat beneficiile de invaliditate (handikappersättning) la nivelul de 32% din suma de bază orientată la indicele de preț (basbeloppet) începând din august 1982. La 18 noiembrie 1988, a hotărât să crească beneficiile la 50% începând cu noiembrie 1987 din cauza costurilor sale suplimentare suportate ca urmare a bolii.
În septembrie 1998, reclamantul a solicitat o creștere a prestațiilor pentru handicap, deoarece a afirmat că costurile sale au crescut în continuare, printre altele, a trebuit să urmeze o dieta specială, depinde de medicamente și a avut cheltuieli suplimentare pentru a putea lucra. La 20 aprilie 1999, Oficiul de Asigurare Socială a acordat reclamantului o creștere, la nivelul de 69% din suma de bază, începând din octombrie 1998. Acesta a remarcat că a avut costuri suplimentare substanțiale din cauza bolii sale, dar că nu a avut nici o nevoie de asistență în viața sa de zi cu zi. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului (länsrätten) din județul Jönköping, cerând ca majorarea să fie plătită retroactiv începând cu august 1996. În hotărârea din 22 octombrie 1999, instanța a acordat recursul.
Între timp, la 16 octombrie 1999, reclamantul a solicitat Biroului de Asigurare Socială, în conformitate cu capitolul 20 litera (a) din Legea privind asigurările sociale (Lagen om allmän försäkring, 1962:381 – denumit în continuare „Legea din 1962”), să-și modifice decizia din 18 noiembrie 1988 și să-și acorde prestațiile de invaliditate la nivelul de 65% din suma de bază retroactivă începând din noiembrie 1987. Ea a susținut că decizia inițială a fost incorectă deoarece toate costurile sale suplimentare nu au fost luate în considerare la momentul respectiv. La 10 decembrie 1999, un oficial de la Oficiul de Asigurări Sociale a efectuat o reevaluare a deciziei din 18 noiembrie 1988, în conformitate cu dispozițiile relevante ale Legii din 1962, și a hotărât să respingă cererea din motivul că această decizie nu a fost luată pe material evident incorect sau incomplet.
În acest sens, oficialul a remarcat că Oficiul a acceptat toate costurile suplimentare, astfel cum a specificat reclamantul la momentul respectiv, cu excepția anumitor reduceri pentru cheltuielile alimentare. Reclamantul a apelat la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului, plângând că hotărârea Oficiului de Asigurări Sociale ar fi trebuit să fie luată de către consiliul său și nu de către un singur oficial, motiv pentru care acest caz ar trebui să fie remis la Oficiu pentru reexaminare de către consiliu. În alternativă, ea a susținut susținerea că ar trebui să acorde prestații de invaliditate la nivelul de 65% din suma de bază retroactiv din noiembrie 1987. Oficiul de Asigurare Socială a susținut că decizia sa a fost luată în mod corespunzător, ca decizie de reevaluare în temeiul capitolului 20 secțiunea 10 litera (a) din Legea din 1962 ar putea fi luată de un singur oficial.
Aceasta se referă atât la o hotărâre a Curții Supreme de Asigurări Sociale (ref. FÖD 1991:26) cât și la un aviz general (allmänna råd 1998:14) emis de Consiliul Național de Asigurare Socială (Riksförsäkringsverket). În urma unor alte observații din partea părților în care reclamantul a continuat să pună la îndoială legalitatea hotărârii Oficiului de Asigurare Socială și dacă a judecat, la 24 martie 2000, Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului i-a trimis o scrisoare (subrättelse), printre altele, informand-o că din decizia Oficiului a apărut că i-a judecat cererea cu privire la fond în conformitate cu capitolul 20 litera (a) din Legea din 1962 și că hotărârea a fost luată de un oficial de la Oficiu competent să ia o astfel de decizie.
În plus, instanța a dat reclamantului patru săptămâni în care să își finalizeze cererile. Într-o scrisoare din 30 martie 2000, reclamantul a menținut cererile și a adăugat că a solicitat să se desfășoare o audiere orală în acest caz. Ea dorește ca instanța să ia măsurile adecvate pentru a clarifica modul în care Oficiul de Asigurări Sociale a tratat cazul său și, după ce a primit aceste informații, ea ar lua în considerare dacă dorește să audă pe cineva de la Consiliul Național de Asigurare Socială în fața instanței. Părțile au formulat alte observații, în care reclamantul și-a susținut cererea de audiere orală și a adăugat că dorește ca oficialul care a luat decizia la Oficiul de Asigurare Socială și o persoană numită la Consiliul Național de Asigurare Socială să fie ascultată pentru a stabili dacă decizia Oficiului a fost luată în mod corespunzător.
Ca răspuns la cererile reclamantului, Curtea de Administrație a Județeanului, în septembrie 2000, a hotărât să ceară Consiliului Național de Asigurare Socială să își prezinte avizul pe baza argumentelor reclamantului. Consiliul și-a emis avizul instanței în noiembrie 2000 și un aviz suplimentar în februarie 2001. În aceste avize, Consiliul a convenit cu Biroul de Asigurare Socială, referindu-se la avizele sale generale și la jurisprudența că decizia a fost luată în conformitate cu legea. Reclamantul a menținut încă cererea de audiere orală pentru a clarifica dacă hotărârea Biroului de Asigurare Socială a fost luată în mod corespunzător. La 19 februarie 2001, Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului a invitat reclamantul să prezinte observațiile sale de încheiere în acest caz și, la 22 februarie 2001, reclamantul a susținut că își menține cererile și cererea de audiere orală.
La 22 august 2001, Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului a respins recursul, precum și reclamantul” La 26 septembrie 2001, reclamantul a apelat la Curtea Administrativă de Apel (kammarrätten) din Jönköping, se bazează pe aceleași motive ca și înaintea instanței de judecată inferioară, și își dezvoltă motivele în continuare. În plus, ea s-a plâns că Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului nu a desfășurat o audiere orală în cazul care a încălcat drepturile sale în temeiul art. 6 din Convenție. Într-o altă propunere, primită de instanță la 15 noiembrie 2002, reclamantul a solicitat ca Curtea Administrativă de Apel să organizeze o audiție pentru a clarifica chestiunile litigioase.
Oficialul de la Biroul de Asigurări Sociale ar trebui să fie auzit dacă cazul a fost examinat în fond, iar directorul general al Consiliului Național de Asigurări Sociale ar trebui să fie interogat cu privire la poziția Consiliului privind competențele decizionale, în general, la Biroul de Asigurări Sociale. Părțile au formulat noi cereri la Curtea Administrativă de Apel și, la 19 februarie 2003, la reclamantul a respins cererea de audiere orală, deoarece a considerat că nu este necesar pentru a decide dacă să acorde sau nu o autorizație de recurs. La 14 aprilie 2003, Curtea Administrativă de Apel a refuzat să recurgă, deoarece nu a constatat niciun motiv pentru a modifica hotărârea instanței de judecată inferioară.
Reclamantul a apelat împotriva deciziei în fața Curții Supreme de Administrație (Regeringsrätten), menținând afirmațiile ei și adăugând că instanța inferioară a încălcat art. 6 din Convenția prin nu-i acordarea unei ședințe orale. De asemenea, ea solicită Curtea Supremă Administrativă să organizeze o audiere orală în cazul în care i-a acordat permisiunea de recurs. La 28 februarie 2005, Curtea Supremă Administrativă a refuzat să recurgă.
În conformitate cu capitolul 9, secțiunea 2, din Legea din 1962 (în vigoare până la 1 ianuarie 2001, când Legea din 1998 privind prestațiile și prestațiile de îngrijire a persoanelor cu handicap - lagen (1998:703) om handikappersättning och vârdbidrag - a intrat în vigoare), o persoană bolnavă sau handicapată a avut dreptul la prestații de invaliditate, cu condiția ca, înainte de a atinge vârsta de 65 de ani, să fi fost afectată funcțional de o perioadă considerabilă și într-un astfel de grad că are nevoie de asistență de către o altă persoană în viață zilnică sau de asistență continuă pentru a avea un loc de muncă sau alte cheltuieli suplimentare considerabile. Nevoia totală de sprijin și asistență a determinat eligibilitatea pentru prestațiile de invaliditate și valoarea compensației.
Prin urmare, a fost necesar să se examineze întreaga situație a persoanei în cauză și să se adauge necesitatea diferitelor tipuri de asistență și cheltuielile suplimentare. Potrivit orientărilor Consiliului Național de Asigurare Socială, costul total al tuturor nevoilor suplimentare din cauza handicapului ar trebui să atingă cel puțin 28,5% din suma de bază orientată la indicele prețurilor pentru a face individualul eligibil pentru o alocație. În 1983, atunci când reclamantul a fost acordat prima dată, suma de bază a fost de 19.400 SEK și, în 1999, când a fost acordată o majorare a prestațiilor, suma de bază a fost de 36.400 SEK. În conformitate cu capitolul 9, secțiunea 3, din Legea din 1962, astfel cum este în vigoare înainte de 1 ianuarie 2001, aceste beneficii au fost acordate anual la un nivel de 69%, 53% sau 36% din suma de bază, în funcție de măsura în care persoana asigurată are nevoie de asistență și de suma cheltuielilor suplimentare cauzate de handicap.
Înainte de 1 ianuarie 1991, nivelul a fost de 65%, 50% sau 34% din suma de bază. O hotărâre a Oficiului de Asigurare Socială în temeiul legii din 1962 poate fi apelată la Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului și de acolo la Curtea Administrativă de Apel și la Curtea Administrativă Supremă. Apelurile pot fi făcute împotriva hotărârilor ordinare ale Oficiului sau a unei decizii după revizuirea în temeiul capitolului 20, secțiunea 10 litera (a) din Legea din 1962. Această ultimă dispoziție permite Biroului de Asigurare Socială să modifice o decizie pe care a luat-o anterior pentru a remedia anumite defecte evidente ale deciziei respective, cu condiția ca aceasta nu a fost deja revizuită de către o instanță.
Prin urmare, Oficiul trebuie să își modifice decizia anterioară dacă conține o eroare de scris, o greșeală de calcul sau o greșeală similară sau dacă este incorectă din cauza faptului că este bazată pe informații în mod evident necorespunzător sau incomplete sau pe o aplicare evidentă necorespunzătoare a legii sau a altor motive similare. Cu toate acestea, se poate schimba o decizie în temeiul articolului 10 litera (a) în principiu, în termen de doi ani de la data adoptării deciziei. Cu toate acestea, aceasta poate fi modificată dacă nu apare decât după trecerea acestei perioade de doi ani că s-a bazat pe material evident incorect sau incomplet sau dacă există alte motive excepționale. O decizie trebuie modificată în temeiul acestei dispoziții chiar dacă nu a fost formulată o cerere în acest sens de către individul în cauză.
Procedura în instanța administrativă este reglementată de dispozițiile Legii de procedură a Curții administrative (Förvaltningsproceslagen, 1971:291 – denumită în continuare „Legea din 1971”). Secțiunea 9 prevede: „Procedura este scrisă. O audiere orală poate fi avută în legătură cu o anumită chestiune, atunci când există motive pentru a presupune că acest lucru ar contribui la proceduri sau ar fi condus la determinarea rapidă a cazului. În Curtea Administrativă de Apel și în Curtea Administrativă a Județeanului, se desfășoară o audiere orală dacă o parte individuală la procedură este solicitată și dacă nu este necesară și nu există motive speciale pentru a desfășura o audiere.” Posibilitatea unei părți individuale de a obține o audiere orală la cerere în aceste circumstanțe nu este disponibilă în cadrul procedurii dinaintea Curții Supreme de Administrație.
Din jurisprudența instanțelor naționale, se pare că motivele menționate în secțiunea 9 al treilea paragraf pentru refuzul unei audieri orale au fost interpretate ca fiind mai degrabă alternative decât cumulative (a se vedea Regeringsrättens Årsbok 1997 ref 62). Potrivit lucrărilor pregătitoare din Legea din 1971, o audiere orală ar putea fi un supliment valoros al procedurii scrise și ar putea beneficia de examinarea unui caz, în special în două situații: în primul rând, atunci când a fost necesar să se audă un martor, un expert sau o parte sau când a fost dificil ca o parte să prezinte cazul în scris și, în al doilea rând, atunci când diferitele poziții în cazul trebuie rezolvate pentru a elimina problemele inutile sau inutile de litigiu.
În ultimul caz, audierea orală ia un caracter pregătitor, subliniind însă că o audiere orală nu ar trebui considerată o alternativă la procedura scrisă, ci un supliment la aceasta (a se vedea proiectul de legea Guvernului 1971:30, p. 535). În plus, în ceea ce privește secțiunea 9 al treilea paragraf, s-a afirmat că cererea unei părți de o audiere orală ar trebui să fie examinată îndeaproape. Cu toate acestea, o astfel de cerere nu ar trebui să aibă o influență decisivă asupra acestei chestiuni, deoarece întrebarea dacă a fost necesară o audiere orală a fost determinată în principal pe baza informațiilor disponibile în acest caz. Cu toate acestea, alte circumstanțe ar putea fi de relevanță, de exemplu importanța pentru partea în cauză sau posibilitatea ca o audiere orală să îmbunătățească înțelegerea părții cu privire la o decizie viitoare în acest caz.
Cu toate acestea, dacă cazul a fost de caracter banal sau costurile unei audieri orale ar fi disproporționat în raport cu valoarea celor în cauză în acest caz, ar putea exista motive pentru a nu avea loc o audiere orală (p. 537). În ultimii ani, jurisprudența Curții Supreme de Administrație constată că a anulat o serie de hotărâri privind recursul și a acordat permisiunea de a face recurs în instanțele administrative de recurs, deoarece a fost refuzată o audiere orală în instanțele de judecată (a se vedea, printre altele, Regeringsrättens Årsbok 2002 ref 23, Regeringsrättens Årsbok 2003 note 68, și Regeringsrättens Årsbok 2004 note 65).
The applicant, Ms Marie Steén, is a Swedish national who was born in 1957 and lives in Stockholm. She was represented before the Court by Mr U. Jacobson, a lawyer practising in Stockholm. The Swedish Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr B. Sjöberg of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs. The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant suffers from Crohn’s disease (a disease marked by chronic inflammation of the colon). On 23 February 1983 the Social Insurance Office (Försäkringskassan) in Jönköping granted her disability benefits (handikappersättning) at the level of 32% of the basic amount geared to the price index (basbeloppet) as from August 1982. On 18 November 1988 it decided to increase the benefits to the level of 50% as from November 1987 because of her extra costs incurred as a result of the disease.
In September 1998 the applicant applied for an increase of the disability benefits, as she claimed that her costs had increased further, inter alia, she had to follow a special diet, was dependent on medication and had extra expenses to be able to work. On 20 April 1999 the Social Insurance Office granted the applicant an increase, to the level of 69% of the basic amount, as from October 1998. It noted that she had substantial extra costs due to her disease but that she did not have any need for assistance in her daily life. The applicant appealed to the County Administrative Court (länsrätten) of the County of Jönköping, demanding that the increase be paid retroactively as from August 1996. In a judgment of 22 October 1999, the court granted the appeal.
In the meantime, on 16 October 1999, the applicant requested the Social Insurance Office, under Chapter 20 section 10 (a) of the Social Insurance Act (Lagen om allmän försäkring, 1962:381 – hereinafter “the 1962 Act”), to change its decision of 18 November 1988, and to grant her disability benefits at the level of 65% of the basic amount retroactively from November 1987. She claimed that the original decision had been incorrect as all her extra costs had not been taken into account at the time. On 10 December 1999 an official at the Social Insurance Office made a re-assessment of the decision of 18 November 1988, in accordance with the relevant provision of the 1962 Act, and decided to reject the request on the grounds that that decision had not been made on obviously incorrect or incomplete material.
In this respect, the official noted that the Office had accepted all the extra costs, as specified by the applicant at the time, except certain reductions for food expenses. The applicant appealed to the County Administrative Court, complaining that the Social Insurance Office’s decision should have been made by its board and not by a single official, for which reason the case should be returned to the Office for reconsideration by the board. In the alternative, she maintained her claim that she should granted disability benefits at the level of 65% of the basic amount retroactively from November 1987. The Social Insurance Office submitted that its decision had been duly made, as a decision for re-assessment under Chapter 20 section 10 (a) of the 1962 Act could be made by a single official.
It referred to both a judgment by the Supreme Social Insurance Court (ref. FÖD 1991:26) and a general opinion (allmänna råd 1998:14) issued by the National Social Insurance Board (Riksförsäkringsverket). Following further submissions from the parties in which the applicant continued to question the legality of the Social Insurance Office’s decision and whether it had at all tried the case on the merits, the County Administrative Court, on 24 March 2000, sent her a letter (underrättelse), inter alia, informing her that it appeared from the Office’s decision that it had tried her request on the merits according to Chapter 20 section 10 (a) of the 1962 Act and that the decision had been made by an official at the Office who was competent to make such a decision.
The court further gave the applicant four weeks in which to finalise her submissions. In a letter of 30 March 2000, the applicant maintained her claims and added that she requested that an oral hearing be held in the case. She wished for the court to take appropriate measures to clarify how the Social Insurance Office had dealt with her case and, once she had received that information, she would consider whether she wanted to hear someone from the National Social Insurance Board before the court. The parties made further submissions, in which the applicant maintained her request for an oral hearing and added that she wished for the official who had made the decision at the Social Insurance Office and a named person at the National Social Insurance Board to be heard in order to establish whether the Office’s decision had been duly taken.
In response to the applicant’s requests, the County Administrative Court, in September 2000, decided to ask the National Social Insurance Board to submit its opinion on the matter based on the applicant’s submissions. The Board delivered its opinion to the court in November 2000, and a supplementary opinion in February 2001. In these opinions, the Board agreed with the Social Insurance Office, with reference to its general opinions and to case-law, that the decision had been taken according to law. The applicant still maintained her request for an oral hearing in order to clarify whether the Social Insurance Office’s decision had been taken in due order. On 19 February 2001 the County Administrative Court invited the applicant to make her concluding submissions in the case and, on 22 February 2001, the applicant submitted that she maintained her claims and request for an oral hearing.
On 22 August 2001 the County Administrative Court rejected the appeal as well as the applicant’ On 26 September 2001 the applicant appealed to the Administrative Court of Appeal (kammarrätten) in Jönköping, relying on the same grounds as before the lower court, and developing her reasons further. Moreover, she complained that the County Administrative Court had not held an oral hearing in the case which was in breach of her rights under Article 6 of the Convention. In a further submission, received by the court on 15 November 2002, the applicant demanded that the Administrative Court of Appeal hold a hearing to clarify the contentious issues. The official at the Social Insurance Office should be heard about whether the case had been examined in substance and the Director-General of the National Social Insurance Board should be questioned about the Board’s position on decision-making competences, in general, at the Social Insurance Office.
The parties made further submissions to the Administrative Court of Appeal and, on 19 February 2003, it rejected the applicant’s request for an oral hearing as it considered that it was not necessary in order to decide whether or not to grant leave to appeal. The applicant was given three weeks to submit supplementary written pleadings, which she did. On 14 April 2003 the Administrative Court of Appeal refused leave to appeal as it found no reasons to change the lower court’s judgment. The applicant appealed against the decision to the Supreme Administrative Court (Regeringsrätten), maintaining her claims and adding that the lower courts had violated Article 6 of the Convention by not granting her an oral hearing.
She also requested that the Supreme Administrative Court hold an oral hearing if it granted her leave to appeal. On 28 February 2005, the Supreme Administrative Court refused leave to appeal. According to Chapter 9, section 2, of the 1962 Act (as in force until 1 January 2001, when the 1998 Act on Disability Benefits and Care Allowance - lagen (1998:703) om handikappersättning och vårdbidrag – entered into force), a person who was ill or handicapped was entitled to disability benefits, provided that, before reaching the age of 65, he or she had been functionally impaired for a considerable time and to such a degree that he or she needed time-consuming assistance from another person in everyday life or continuing assistance in order to be gainfully employed or otherwise had considerable extra expenses.
The total need for support and assistance determined the eligibility for disability benefits and the amount of compensation. It was thus necessary to look at the whole situation of the person in question and to add together the need for different types of assistance and the extra expenses. According to the guidelines of the National Social Insurance Board the total cost of all extra needs due to the disability should attain at least 28.5% of a basic amount geared to the price index in order to make the individual eligible for an allowance. In 1983, when the applicant was first granted the benefit, the basic amount was SEK 19,400 and, in 1999 when she was granted increased benefits, the basic amount was SEK 36,400.
According to Chapter 9, section 3, of the 1962 Act, as in force before 1 January 2001, such benefits were granted on a yearly basis at a level of 69%, 53% or 36% of the basic amount, depending on the extent to which the insured person was in need of assistance and the amount of extra expenses caused by the disability. Before 1 January 1991 the levels were 65%, 50% or 34% of the basic amount. A decision by the Social Insurance Office under the 1962 Act may be appealed against to the County Administrative Court and from there on to the Administrative Court of Appeal and to the Supreme Administrative Court. Appeals may be made against the Office’s ordinary decisions or a decision upon review under Chapter 20, section 10 (a), of the 1962 Act.
The latter provision enables the Social Insurance Office to change a decision it has previously taken in order to rectify certain obvious defects of that decision, provided that it has not already been reviewed by a court. Thus, the Office must change its earlier decision if it contains a writing error, miscalculation or similar mistake or if it is incorrect due to it being based on obviously incorrect or incomplete information or an obviously incorrect application of the law or other similar reason. The question of changing a decision under section 10 (a) should, in principle, be raised within two years from the day the decision was taken. However, it may nevertheless be changed if it appears only after the elapse of this two-year period that it was based on obviously incorrect or incomplete material or if there are other exceptional reasons.
A decision is to be changed under this provision even if a request to that effect has not been made by the individual concerned. The procedure in the administrative courts is governed by the provisions of the Administrative Court Procedure Act (Förvaltningsprocesslagen, 1971:291 – hereinafter “the 1971 Act”). Section 9 provides: “The proceedings shall be in writing. An oral hearing may be held in regard to a certain issue, when there is reason to assume that that would assist in the proceedings or be conductive to the speedy determination of the case.
In the Administrative Court of Appeal and the County Administrative Court an oral hearing shall be held if requested by an individual party to the proceedings and if it is not unnecessary and there are no particular reasons against holding a hearing.” The possibility for an individual party to obtain an oral hearing on request under those circumstances is not available in the proceedings before the Supreme Administrative Court.
From the case-law of the national courts, it appears that the grounds stated in the third paragraph of section 9 for refusing an oral hearing have been interpreted as being alternative rather than cumulative (see Regeringsrättens Årsbok 1997 ref 62). According to the preparatory work to the 1971 Act, an oral hearing could be a valuable complement to the written proceedings and could benefit the examination of a case, in particular in two situations: firstly, when it was necessary to hear a witness, an expert or a party or when it was difficult for a party to present the case in writing and, secondly, when different positions in the case needed to be sorted out in order to eliminate unnecessary or pointless issues of dispute.
In the latter case, the oral hearing takes on a preparatory character. It was stressed, however, that an oral hearing should not to be seen as an alternative to the written procedure but as a supplement to it (see Government Bill 1971:30, p. 535). It was further stated, in respect of the third paragraph of section 9, that a party’s request for an oral hearing should be given close consideration. However, such a request should not have a decisive influence on the matter, as the question whether an oral hearing was necessary was to be determined primarily on the basis of the available information in the case. However, other circumstances could be of relevance, for instance the importance for the party of the matter at stake or the possibility that an oral hearing could enhance the party’s understanding of a future decision in the case.
Nevertheless, if the case was of a trivial character or the costs of an oral hearing would be disproportionate to the value of what was at stake in the case, there could be reason not to hold an oral hearing (p. 537). In recent years, it appears from the case law of the Supreme Administrative Court that it has set aside a number of decisions on appeal and granted leave to appeal in the administrative courts of appeal because an oral hearing has been denied in the lower courts (see, inter alia, Regeringsrättens Årsbok 2002 ref 23, Regeringsrättens Årsbok 2003 note 68, and Regeringsrättens Årsbok 2004 note 65).