- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 11 decembrie 2007
- Stat pârât
- DEU
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Pokorny împotriva Germaniei
Traducere în română Auto
A cincea secțiune a Deciziei Parțiale privind aDMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 74664/01 de Werner POKORNY împotriva Germaniei Curții Europene a Drepturilor Omului (Quinta Secțiune), care așezează la 11 decembrie 2007 ca Cameră compusă din: P. Lorenzen, Președintele, dna S. Botoucharova, V. Butkevych, dna M. Tsatsa-Nikolovska, R. Maruste, J. Borrego Borrego, dna R. Jaeger, judecători și dna C. Westerdiek Secțiunea Grefier Având în vedere cererea depusă la 22 iunie 2001, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Dl Werner Pokorny a fost un național german care s-a născut în 1933 și a trăit în Berlin. El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl K. H. Christoph, un avocat care practică în Berlin.
Faptele cazului, prezentate de solicitant, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul a fost un cetățean al Republicii Democrate Germane („RDM”) și un inginer de profesie. El a susținut schema de pensii suplimentară pentru membrii Partidului de Unitate Socialist al RDA (Sozialistische Einheitspartei Deutschlands - SED) între 1965 și 1987. Apoi, el a aderat la un sistem suplimentar de pensii deschis șef-ofițerilor executivi până în 1990 (a se vedea „Legea internă relevantă”). Reclamantul a decedat la 15 iulie 2005. Veduva sa a dorit să își urmeze cererea.
Primul set de proceduri La 16 octombrie 1995, Fondul Federal de Asigurări pentru Angajații Salariți Bundesversicherungsanstalt für Angestellte – denumit în continuare „Fond de asigurare” – a stabilit pensia de invaliditate a reclamantului pentru perioada cuprinsă între 1 septembrie și 30 noiembrie 1992. La 8 noiembrie 1995, el a depus o obiecție susținând că contribuțiile sale la schema suplimentară de pensii nu au fost luate în considerare. Obiecția sa a fost respinsă la 11 martie 1996. La 28 martie 1996, reclamantul a interzis o acțiune la Curtea Socială din Berlin, iar la 24 iunie 1996, instanța a respins acțiunea sa ca fiind nefondată. Reclamantul a apelat apoi împotriva acestei hotărâri.
În timp ce procedurile de recurs au fost în așteptare acuzatului a emis două noi hotărâri la 6 septembrie 1996 și 6 iulie 2000 de stabilire a pensiei de invaliditate a reclamantului; aceste hotărâri au devenit, de asemenea, obiecte de procedură. La 2 noiembrie 2001, Curtea Socială de Apel a respins apelul reclamantului și acțiunile sale împotriva celor două hotărâri ulterioare ca fiind nefondate. Acesta a constatat că calcularea este în conformitate cu legislația internă și cu decizia Curții Constituționale Federale din 28 aprilie 1999, astfel cum a fost pusă în aplicare de Curtea Socială Federală din 3 august 1999 (a se vedea Klose și alții c. Germania (dec.), nr. 12923/03, 25 septembrie 2007). Curtea a refuzat reclamantul să permită recursul asupra punctelor de drept.
Iunie 2002 Curtea Socială Federală a respins plângerea reclamantului ca fiind inadmisibilă. Al doilea set al procedurii (a) Prima parte La 8 noiembrie 1995, reclamantul a solicitat succesorului partidului SED să revizuiască perioadele contribuțiilor sale în cadrul regimului suplimentar de pensii al SED. Cererea reclamantului a fost respinsă în februarie 1996, precum și opoziția sa la 21 iunie 1996. Apoi, la 7 iulie 1996, la Curtea Socială de Berlin, a interzis o acțiune. La 22 iunie 2000, instanța a ordonat suspendarea procedurii în așteptarea hotărârii Curții Constituționale Federale într-un caz pilot. Procedura a fost redeschisă în 2002. (b) A doua parte La 20 noiembrie 1995, Fondul de Asigurare a stabilit perioadele de contribuții la sistemul suplimentar de pensii pentru șef-ofițerii executivi.
La 15 ianuarie 1996, acesta a respins obiecția reclamantului. La 26 ianuarie 1996, reclamantul a introdus o acțiune în Curtea Socială de Berlin. La 15 iulie 1999, Curtea a ordonat șederea procedurii. În 2002, Curtea a reînchis procedura. La 10 ianuarie 2003 au fost aderate procedurile în temeiul a) și b). La 15 mai 2003, Curtea Socială a continuat procesul și a fost reînchisă în 2005. La 8 noiembrie 2005, acuzații au recunoscut cererea reclamantului și a fost astfel încheiată procedura. La 10 noiembrie 1998 și 3 februarie 1999, Fondul de Asigurare a stabilit pensia de vârstă a reclamantului. La un moment necunoscut, el a depus o obiecție. În urma inactării Fondului de Asigurare, reclamantul a introdus o acțiune care a provocat inactivitatea Fondului de Asigurări.
La 10 martie 2000, Fondul de Asigurare a pronunțat apoi o decizie cu privire la obiecția sa. La 22 martie 2000, reclamantul a introdus o acțiune în Curtea Socială. La 4 iulie 2000, Curtea Socială a sugerat ca procedurile să rămână în vederea unei proceduri pilote care sunt în așteptare în fața Curții Constituționale Federale. Întrucât părțile nu au acceptat șederea, instanța a ordonat șederea sa ex officio la 15 septembrie 2000. La 13 iulie 2005, în urma hotărârii Curții Constituționale Federale din 23 iunie 2004, instanța a informat reclamantul că nu a putut relua procedurile înainte de a fi încheiată procedura în conformitate cu 2a) și b). La 15 iulie 2005, reclamantul a decedat și văduva sa a continuat să urmărească procedura.
La 23 ianuarie 2006, instanța i-a informat că acuzatul a recunoscut cererea și a întrebat dacă va accepta acest lucru. Cu toate acestea, văduva reclamantului nu a acceptat recunoașterea și a solicitat continuarea procedurii. Februarie 2006 instanța a respins cererea ei de un termen de două luni de a prezenta observații suplimentare ca inacceptabile și acordate un termen de o lună. Se pare că procedura este încă în așteptare. Legea internă relevantă în RDA exista un sistem de pensii generale obligatoriu ( Sozialpflichtversicherung ), un sistem de pensii suplimentare opțional ( Freiwillige Zusatzrentenversicherung ) și, în plus, sisteme suplimentare de pensii pentru anumite profesii sau grupuri (Zusatz- und Sonderversorgungs-system ), care au dus la o creștere considerabilă a sumei de pensii.
Pentru o prezentare mai detaliată a sistemului de pensii RDA și transferul acestuia în Republica Federală Germania („FRG”) a se vedea decizia recentă a Curții în cazul lui Klose și alții În plus, reclamantul a susținut că a fost pedepsit pentru opiniile sale politice prin reducerea drepturilor de pensie. În cele din urmă, reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 6 din Convenție cu privire la durata procedurii. HOTĂRÂREA Reclamantul s-a plâns în legătură cu suma pensiei sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, luate singur și coroborate cu art. 14 din Convenția și cu art. 7 din Convenție. La început, Curtea constată că nu este necesar să se examineze dacă văduva reclamantului poate urmări cererea sa în ceea ce privește aceste plângeri, deoarece această parte a cererii este inadmisibilă, în orice caz, din următoarele motive.
În măsura în care reclamantul a invocat art. 7 din Convenție, Curtea consideră că faptele cauzei nu fac obiectul acestei dispoziții și că plângerile reclamantei sunt, prin urmare, incompatibile ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției și cu protocolurile acesteia. În ceea ce privește prima sesiune de procedură, Curtea reamintește că un reclamant nu poate acuza o încălcare a articolului 1 în cazul în care hotărârile impușite referitoare la „pozițiile sale”, fie bunurile existente, fie o „așteptare legitimă” în acest sens. Curtea reamintește că o așteptare legitimă trebuie să se bazeze fie pe o dispoziție juridică, fie trebuie să aibă o bază solidă în jurisprudența internă (a se vedea von Maltzan și alții v. Germania [GC], nos.
71916/01, 71917/01 și 10260/02 § 112, CEDH 2005-...). În plus, Curtea reiterează că tranziția de la un regim comunist la un sistem democratic de economie de piață în noile Länder a creat o sarcină considerabilă pentru legislatorul german. Prin urmare, legislatorul a beneficiat de o marjă largă de apreciere în acest sens. În plus, Curtea nu trebuie să examineze în detaliu metoda extrem de complexă de calcul aplicată pentru transferul de drepturi de pensie de la RDA către Republica Federală Germania (a se vedea Klose , citată mai sus). Prima sesiune a procedurii a fost doar suma pensiei de invaliditate pentru o perioadă de trei luni. Nu există nici o indicație că Tratatul de unificare a creat drepturi care depășesc drepturile stabilite de legislator după unificarea germană.
Având în vedere considerentele de mai sus, Curtea concluzionează că reclamantul nu a putut pretinde că are o așteptare legitimă de a primi o pensie de o sumă mai mare. Astfel, plângerile reclamantului sunt incompatibile ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției și cu protocolele sale. În ceea ce privește a doua serie de proceduri, Curtea observă că procedura a fost încheiată prin recunoașterea acuzatului. Prin urmare, reclamantul nu mai poate pretinde că este o victimă în sensul articolului 34 § 1 din Convenție. Astfel, plângerea reclamantului este vădit nefondată. A treia sesiune de procedură este încă în așteptare și, prin urmare, Curtea consideră că plângerile reclamantei sunt prematuri, prin urmare, această parte a cererii trebuie respinsă în temeiul articolului 35 § 1, 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Invocând art. 6 din Convenție, reclamantul s-a plâns cu privire la lungimea celor trei seturi de proceduri. El s-a bazat pe art. 6 § 1 din Convenție, care, în măsura în care este cazul, prevede: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., fiecare are dreptul la o ... audiție într-un termen rezonabil de [a] ... tribunal...” Curtea consideră că văduva reclamantului poate urmări cererea soțului său demodat în ceea ce privește plângerile sale cu privire la durata procedurii (a se vedea, printre altele, Vocaturo c. Italia , hotărârea din 24 mai 1991, Serie A nr. 206, p. 29, § 2). Curtea constată că nu poate determina, pe baza cazului, admisibilitatea plângerii. Prin urmare, este necesar să se anunțe această parte a cererii guvernului contestat, în conformitate cu art. 54 alineatul (2) litera (b) din Regulamentul Curții.
Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să se suspende examinarea plângerilor reclamantei cu privire la durata procedurii; declara restul cererii inadmisibil. Claudia Westerdiek Președintele grefierului Peer Lorenzen
FIFTH SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 74664/01 by Werner POKORNY against Germany The European Court of Human Rights (Fifth Section), sitting on 11 December 2007 as a Chamber composed of: Mr P. Lorenzen, President, Mrs S. Botoucharova, Mr V. Butkevych, Mrs M. Tsatsa-Nikolovska, Mr R. Maruste, Mr J. Borrego Borrego, Mrs R. Jaeger, judges, and Mrs C. Westerdiek , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 22 June 2001, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant Mr Werner Pokorny was a German national who was born in 1933 and lived in Berlin. He was represented before the Court by Mr K. H. Christoph, a lawyer practising in Berlin. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the applicant, may be summarised as follows.
The applicant was a citizen of the German Democratic Republic (“GDR”) and an engineer by profession. He subscribed to the additional pension scheme for members of the GDR’s Socialist Unity Party ( Sozialistische Einheitspartei Deutschlands - SED) between 1965 and 1987. Subsequently, he adhered to an additional pension scheme open to chief executive officers until 1990 (see “Relevant domestic law”). The applicant passed away on 15 July 2005. His widow wished to pursue his application. 1. First set of proceedings On 16 October 1995 the Federal Insurance Fund for Salaried Employees ( Bundesversicherungsanstalt für Angestellte – hereinafter referred to as “Insurance Fund”) fixed the applicant’s invalidity pension for the period between 1 September and 30 November 1992. On 8 November 1995 he lodged an objection arguing that his contributions to the additional pension scheme had not been taken into account.
His objection was rejected on 11 March 1996. On 28 March 1996 the applicant brought an action in the Berlin Social Court. On 24 June 1996 the court rejected his action as unfounded. The applicant then appealed against that judgment. While the appeal proceedings were pending the defendant issued two new decisions on 6 September 1996 and 6 July 2000 fixing the applicant’s invalidity pension; those decisions also became subject of the proceedings. On 2 November 2001 the Social Court of Appeal rejected the applicant’s appeal and his actions against the two subsequent decisions as unfounded. It found that the calculation was in accordance with domestic legislation and the decision of the Federal Constitutional Court of 28 April 1999 as implemented by the Federal Social Court of 3 August 1999 (see Klose and Others v. Germany (dec.), no. 12923/03, 25 September 2007). The court refused the applicant leave to appeal on points of law.
On 11 June 2002 the Federal Social Court rejected the applicant’s complaint as inadmissible. 2. The second set of the proceedings (a) The first part On 8 November 1995 the applicant requested the successor party of the SED to review the periods of his contributions under the additional pension scheme of the SED. On 29 February 1996 the applicant’s request was rejected, as well as his objection on 21 June 1996. He then brought an action in the Berlin Social Court on 7 July 1996. On 22 June 2000 the court ordered the stay of the proceedings awaiting the decision of the Federal Constitutional Court in a pilot case. The proceedings were re-opened in 2002. (b) The second part On 20 November 1995 the Insurance Fund established the periods of contributions to the additional pension system for Chief Executive Officers.
On 15 January 1996 it rejected the applicant’s objection. On 26 January 1996 the applicant brought an action in the Berlin Social Court. On 15 July 1999 the court ordered the stay of the proceedings. In 2002 the court re-opened the proceedings. On 10 January 2003 the proceedings under a) and b) were joined. On 15 May 2003 the Social Court stayed the proceedings. They were re-opened in 2005. On 8 November 2005 the defendants acknowledged the applicant’s claim and the proceedings were thus terminated. 3. The third set of proceedings On 10 November 1998 and 3 February 1999 the Insurance Fund fixed the applicant’s old-age pension. At an unknown point of time he lodged an objection. Following the Insurance Fund’s inaction the applicant brought an action challenging the inactivity of the Insurance Fund.
On 10 March 2000 the Insurance Fund then rendered a decision upon his objection. On 22 March 2000 the applicant brought an action in the Social Court. On 4 July 2000 the Social Court suggested that the proceedings be stayed in view of a pilot procedure pending before the Federal Constitutional Court. Since the parties did not consent to the stay, the court ordered its stay ex officio on 15 September 2000. On 13 July 2005, following the Federal Constitutional Court’s decision of 23 June 2004, the court informed the applicant that it could not re-open the proceedings before the proceedings under 2a) and b) would be terminated. On 15 July 2005 the applicant passed away and his widow further pursued the proceedings.
On 23 January 2006 the court informed her that the defendant had acknowledged the claim and inquired whether she would accept this. The applicant’s widow, however, did not accept the acknowledgment and requested the continuance of the proceedings. On 9 February 2006 the court rejected her request for a time-limit of two months to submit further observations as unacceptable and granted a time-limit of one month. It appears that the proceedings are still pending. B. Relevant domestic law In the GDR there were a compulsory general pension scheme ( Sozialpflichtversicherung ), an optional supplementary pension scheme ( Freiwillige Zusatzrentenversicherung ) and furthermore additional pension schemes for certain professions or groups ( Zusatz- und Sonderversorgungs-systeme ), which led to a considerable increase of the amount of pension.
For a more detailed overview of the GDR pension system and its transfer to the Federal Republic of Germany (“FRG”) see the Court’s recent decision in the case of Klose and Others (cited above). COMPLAINTS Invoking Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 taken alone and in conjunction with Article 14 the applicant complained that he was entitled to a higher pension. Furthermore the applicant submitted under Article 7 that he was punished for his political views by a reduction of his pension rights. Lastly, the applicant complained under Article 6 of the Convention about the length of the proceedings. THE LAW 1. The applicant complained about the amount of his pension under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, taken alone and in conjunction with Article 14 of the Convention and under Article 7 of the Convention.
At the outset the Court finds that it is not necessary to examine whether the applicant’s widow may pursue his application in respect of those complaints since this part of the application is inadmissible in any event for the following reasons. Insofar as the applicant invoked Article 7 of the Convention the Court considers that the facts of the case do not fall within the ambit of that provision and the applicant’s complaints are therefore incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention and the Protocols thereto. As regards the first set of proceedings the Court recalls that an applicant can only allege a violation of Article 1 if the impugned decisions related to his “possessions”, i . e . either existing possessions or a “legitimate expectation” in this respect.
The Court recalls that a legitimate expectation must be based either on a legal provision or must have a solid basis in the domestic case law (see von Maltzan and Others v. Germany [GC], nos. 71916/01, 71917/01 and 10260/02 § 112, ECHR 2005-...). Furthermore, the Court reiterates that the transition from a communist regime to a democratic market-economy system in the new Länder created a considerable burden for the German legislator. Therefore the legislator enjoyed a wide margin of appreciation in this respect. Furthermore, it is not for the Court to examine in detail the extremely complex method of calculation applied to the transfer of pension rights from the GDR to the Federal Republic of Germany (see Klose , cited above).
The subject of the first set of proceedings was solely the amount of invalidity pension for a period of three months. There is no indication that the Unification Treaty created rights going beyond the rights established by the legislator following German Unification. Having regard to the above considerations the Court concludes that the applicant could not claim to have a legitimate expectation of receiving a pension of a higher amount. Thus, the applicant’s complaints are incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention and the Protocols thereto. In respect of the second set of proceedings the Court observes that the proceedings were terminated by an acknowledgment of the defendant.
Hence the applicant can no longer claim to be a victim within the meaning of Article 34 § 1 of the Convention. Thus, the applicant’s complaint is manifestly ill-founded. The third set of proceedings is still pending and the Court therefore considers the applicant’s complaints to be premature. It follows that this part of the application must be rejected pursuant to Article 35 §§ 1, 3 and 4 of the Convention. 2. Invoking Article 6 of the Convention the applicant complained about the length of the three sets of proceedings.
He relied on Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, which as far as relevant provides: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a ... hearing within a reasonable time by [a] ... tribunal...” The Court considers that the applicant’s widow may pursue her late husband’s application in respect of his complaints about the length of the proceedings (see among others, Vocaturo v. Italy , judgment of 24 May 1991, Series A no. 206, p. 29, § 2). The Court finds that it cannot, on the basis of the case file, determine the admissibility of the complaint. It is therefore necessary to give notice of this part of the application to the respondent Government in accordance with Rule 54 § 2 (b) of the Rules of Court.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicant’s complaints concerning the length of the proceedings; Declares the remainder of the application inadmissible. Claudia Westerdiek Peer Lorenzen Registrar President