- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 4 ianuarie 2008
- Stat pârât
- DEU
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Lyszczyna împotriva Germaniei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamantul, dl Wladislaw Lyszczyna, este un național german care s-a născut în 1945 și locuiește în Düsseldorf. Guvernul contestat a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna A. Wittling-Vogel, Ministerialdireigentin, din Ministerul Federal al Justiției. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Până la emigrarea sa în Germania, în februarie 1984, reclamantul a locuit și a lucrat în Katowice (Polonia). La cererea de prestații în Germania, reclamantul a făcut declarații diferite cu privire la ocuparea forței de muncă sau la dosarul său de lucru în Polonia. Într-o cerere adresată Fondului Federal de Asigurări pentru Miner (Bundesknappschaft – denumită în continuare „Fondul Federal de Asigurare”) reclamantul a susținut că a fost angajat independent înainte de părăsirea Poloniei.
Cu toate acestea, într-o cerere de prestații de șomaj adresată Biroului Federal al Muncii, reclamantul a susținut că a fost angajat la momentul material. În Germania, reclamantul a colectat prestații de șomaj și alocații temporare (Übergangsgeld). La 3 octombrie 1984 și 21 decembrie 1992 a avut un atac de cord. La 11 aprilie 1995, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie de invaliditate la Fondul Federal de Asigurări, declarând că a fost angajat independent în Polonia până la 31 ianuarie 1984 și a efectuat contribuții la sistemul de pensii polonez în acea perioadă. La 26 septembrie 1995, Fondul Federal de Asigurări și-a respins cererea de a constata că nu a contribuit la sistemul de pensii pentru o perioadă suficient de lungă.
La 2 octombrie 1995, reclamantul a depus obiecție la Fondul Federal de Asigurări. La 28 februarie 1996, Comisia de Obiecții a Fondului Federal de Asigurări (Wnderspuchsstelle) și-a respins obiecția. La 20 mai 1996, reclamantul a oferit să contribuie retroactiv (nachentrichten) la sistemul de pensii pentru luna ianuarie 1984. În octombrie 1997, Fondul Federal de Asigurări a respins cererea reclamantului. La 7 martie 1996, reclamantul a interzis o acțiune împotriva Fondului Federal de Asigurări în cadrul Curții Sociale Düsseldorf, susținând, printre altele, că ar avea dreptul de a face contribuții retroactive la sistemul de pensii pentru luna ianuarie 1984. În aprilie 1998, instanța a obținut informații de la Fondul Polonez de Pensiuni privind contribuțiile reclamantului la sistemul de pensii polonez.
Potrivit Fondului de pensii polonez, reclamantul a fost independent și a contribuit la sistemul de pensii publice până la 31 decembrie 1983. La 12 ianuarie 1999, după o audiere, Curtea Socială Düsseldorf a respins acțiunea reclamantului care confirmă concluziile Fondului Federal de Asigurări. În plus, instanța a remarcat că termenul pentru contribuția s-a scurs retroactiv. La 18 februarie 1999, reclamantul a depus un recurs la Curtea Socială de Apel. La 18 mai 1999, instanța a ordonat traducerea documentelor poloneze depuse de reclamant. La 24 iunie 1999, instanța a solicitat reclamantului să prezinte documentele originale poloneze. La 17 iunie 1999, 9 noiembrie 2001, 13 iunie și 12 septembrie 2002, 7 aprilie și 18 septembrie 2003, Curtea a avut ședințe și a interogat cu totul patru martori.
În urma unei modificări ale Codului Social nr. 6 la 1 ianuarie 2001, reclamantul a solicitat aplicarea noilor dispoziții juridice în cazul său. La 18 septembrie 2003, Curtea Socială de Apel a respins recursul reclamantului. Curtea a recunoscut că a fost invalid de la atacul de cord la 21 decembrie 1992, dar a confirmat că nu a contribuit la sistemul de pensii pentru o perioadă suficient de lungă. 6 un asigurat ar fi trebuit să contribuie la schema de pensii timp de cel puțin 36 de luni în ultimii cinci ani care precedă apariția nulității. Perioada respectivă ar putea fi prelungită în mod excepțional luând în considerare contribuțiile sau perioadele anterioare în care au fost colectate anumite prestații.
Deși instanța a luat în considerare contribuțiile anterioare acordate sistemului de pensii polonez și perioadele în care reclamantul a primit beneficii de șomaj, reclamantul încă nu a atins numărul minim necesar de luni. O nouă prelungire excepțională a fost respinsă deoarece instanța a constatat că reclamantul nu a efectuat contribuții în ceea ce privește ianuarie 1984. Curtea a subliniat că, în conformitate cu Asigurarea de Pensiuni Poloneză, reclamantul a efectuat contribuții doar până la 31 decembrie 1983. În ceea ce privește propunerile proprii a reclamantului, instanța a considerat că acestea sunt incoherente, deoarece el a făcut declarații diferite în ceea ce privește ocuparea forței de muncă sau cazierul său de lucru în trecut.
În plus, instanța a avut îndoieli grave în ceea ce privește dacă reclamantul era într-adevăr șomer în Germania în timp ce primia beneficii de șomaj, deoarece martorii interogati au indicat că a lucrat în mod ilicit. În plus, reclamantul a transportat o licență pentru a conduce un bar. Cu toate acestea, instanța a lăsat această întrebare deschisă, deoarece absența contribuțiilor pentru luna ianuarie 1984 a exclus, în orice caz, o pensie de invaliditate. În cele din urmă, instanța a susținut că, de asemenea, aplicarea noilor dispoziții juridice ale Codului Social nr. 6 nu ar da dreptul reclamantului la pensie de invaliditate.
Reclamantul a depus apoi o plângere împotriva refuzului de concediu de recurs în privința punctelor de drept de la Curtea Socială Federală, printre altele care a contestat aplicarea Codului Social nr. Plaga a ajuns la Curtea Socială Federală la 26 ianuarie 2004. Reclamantul a primit o prelungire de o lună a termenului pentru justificarea plângerii sale asupra propunerii sale. Prezenta decizie a fost adresată instanței la 5 aprilie 2004 și, la 24 iunie 2004, Curtea Socială Federală a respins plângerea reclamantului ca fiind inadmisibilă, declarând că nu a justificat suficient plângerile sale.
The applicant, Mr Wladislaw Lyszczyna, is a German national who was born in 1945 and lives in Düsseldorf. The respondent Government were represented by their Agent, Mrs A. Wittling-Vogel, Ministerialdirigentin, of the Federal Ministry of Justice. The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. Until his emigration to Germany in February 1984 the applicant lived and worked in Katowice (Poland). When applying for benefits in Germany the applicant made differing statements as to his employment or working record in Poland. In an application to the Federal Insurance Fund for Miners (Bundesknappschaft – hereinafter called “Federal Insurance Fund”) the applicant submitted that he had been self-employed prior to leaving Poland.
Yet in an application for unemployment benefits to the Federal Labour Office the applicant submitted that he had been employed at the material time. In Germany the applicant collected unemployment benefits and temporary allowances (Übergangsgeld). On 3 October 1984 and 21 December 1992 he had a heart attack. On 11 April 1995 the applicant applied for an invalidity pension to the Federal Insurance Fund submitting that he had been self-employed in Poland until 31 January 1984 and had made contributions to the Polish pension scheme during that time. On 26 September 1995 the Federal Insurance Fund rejected his request finding that he had not contributed to the pension scheme for a sufficiently long period.
On 2 October 1995 the applicant lodged an objection with the Federal Insurance Fund. On 28 February 1996 the Commission for Objections of the Federal Insurance Fund (Widerspruchsstelle) rejected his objection. On 20 May 1996 the applicant offered to contribute retroactively (nachentrichten) to the pension scheme for the month of January 1984. In October 1997 the Federal Insurance Fund rejected the applicant’s request. On 7 March 1996 the applicant brought an action against the Federal Insurance Fund in the Düsseldorf Social Court arguing inter alia that he would be entitled to make contributions to the pension scheme retroactively for the month of January 1984. In April 1998 the court obtained information from the Polish Pension Fund relating to the applicant’s contributions to the Polish pension scheme.
According to the Polish Pension Fund the applicant had been self-employed and had contributed to the public pension scheme until 31 December 1983. On 12 January 1999, following a hearing, the Düsseldorf Social Court rejected the applicant’s action confirming the findings of the Federal Insurance Fund. The court noted in addition that the time-limit for contributing retroactively had elapsed. On 18 February 1999 the applicant lodged an appeal with the Social Court of Appeal. On 18 May 1999 the court ordered the translation of Polish documents submitted by the applicant. On 24 June 1999 the court requested the applicant to submit the original Polish documents. On 17 June 1999, 9 November 2001, 13 June and 12 September 2002, 7 April and 18 September 2003 the court held hearings and questioned four witnesses altogether.
Following a change of Social Code No. 6 as of 1 January 2001 the applicant requested the application of the new legal provisions to his case. On 18 September 2003 the Social Court of Appeal rejected the applicant’s appeal. The court acknowledged that he had been invalid since his heart attack on 21 December 1992, but confirmed that he had not contributed to the pension scheme for a sufficiently long period. It recalled that according to the provisions of Social Code No. 6 an insured would have had to contribute to the pension scheme for at least 36 months during the last five years preceding the occurrence of invalidity. That period could be extended exceptionally by taking into account previous contributions or periods during which certain benefits had been collected.
Although the court took into consideration previous contributions made to the Polish pension system and periods during which the applicant had received unemployment benefits the applicant still did not reach the required minimum number of months. A further exceptional extension was rendered impossible because the court found that the applicant had not made contributions in respect of January 1984. The court pointed out that according to the Polish Pension Insurance the applicant had only made contributions until 31 December 1983. As regards the applicant’s own submissions the court found them to be inconsistent, since he had made different statements as to his employment or working record in the past.
Furthermore, the court had grave doubts as to whether the applicant had actually been unemployed in Germany while receiving unemployment benefits since the witnesses questioned had indicated that he had worked illicitly. In addition the applicant had carried a licence to run a bar. However, the court left that question open since the absence of contributions for the month of January 1984 excluded an invalidity pension in any event. Lastly, the court held that also the application of the new legal provisions of Social Code No. 6 would not entitle the applicant to invalidity pension. The court refused the applicant leave to appeal on points of law.
The applicant then lodged a complaint against the refusal of leave to appeal on points of law with the Federal Social Court, inter alia contesting the application of Social Code No. 6. The complaint reached the Federal Social Court on 26 January 2004. The applicant was granted an extension of one month of the time-limit for substantiating his complaint upon his own motion. His submissions reached the court on 5 April 2004 and on 24 June 2004 the Federal Social Court rejected the applicant’s complaint as inadmissible stating that he had not sufficiently substantiated his complaints.