- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 29 august 2012
- Stat pârât
- ITA
Stefanetti împotriva Italiei și alte 7 cereri
Traducere în română Auto
SEGUNDA SECȚIUNE Cerere nr. 21838/10 Emilio STEFANETTI împotriva Italiei și a altor 7 cereri (a se vedea lista adăugată) DECLARAREA FACTELOR Reclamanții sunt resortisanți italieni. Ele sunt reprezentate în fața Curții de către dna R. Palotti (SPI-CGIL), un avocat care practică în Sondrio, Italia. Circumstanțele cauzelor Cauzele, astfel cum sunt prezentate de solicitanți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamanții au solicitat Istituto Nazionale della Previdenza Sociale („INPS”) să își stabilească pensiile în conformitate cu Convenția Italo-Swiss din 1962 privind securitatea socială (a se vedea mai jos legislația și practicile interne relevante) pe baza contribuțiilor plătite în Elveția pentru munca pe care le-au efectuat acolo de mai mulți ani (a se vedea tabelul anexat pentru detalii).
Ca bază pentru calculul pensiilor (în ceea ce privește remunerarea medie a ultimilor zece ani), INPS a angajat o remunerație teoretică („retribuzione teorica”) în loc de remunerarea reală („retribuzione efecttiva”). Primul a avut ca rezultat o reajustare pe baza raportului existent între contribuțiile aplicate în Elveția (8%) și în Italia (32,7%), ceea ce a însemnat că calculul a avut ca bază un pseudo-salar cu rezultatul că reclamanții au obținut o pensie mai mică decât cea preconizată. Potrivit reclamanților, ei primiau aproximativ o treime din ceea ce datorau în pensie. Ca exemplu, suma pe care o primiau în pensie în 2010 și o estimare, potrivit reclamanților, a ceea ce ar fi trebuit să primească în același an, dacă această metodă de calcul nu a fost aplicată, este anexată.
În consecință, în 2006 reclamanții au instituit proceduri judiciare, susținând că acest lucru a fost contrar spiritului Convenției Italo-Swiss.
Legea nr. 296/2006 (a se vedea legea și practicile interne relevante de mai jos) a intrat în vigoare la 1 ianuarie 2007. Cerințele reclamanților au fost respinse în hotărârile separate ale Tribunalului Sondrio (înregistrate în registrul relevant menționat mai jos) având în vedere intrarea în vigoare a Legii nr. 296/2006: Hotărârea (n. 149/09) din 30 noiembrie 2009 în ceea ce privește dl Stefanetti; Hotărârea (n. 96/09) din 27 octombrie 2009 în ceea ce privește dl Rodelli; hotărârea (n. 09/10) din 28 ianuarie 2010 în ceea ce privește dl Negri; Hotărârea (n. 104/09) din 27 octombrie 2009 în ceea ce privește dl Del Nave; Hotărârea (n. 09/10) din 28 ianuarie 2010 în ceea ce privește dl Del Maffeo; Hotărârea (n. 166/09) din 10 decembrie 2010 în ceea ce privește dl Cotta; Hotărârea (n. 112/09) din 10 noiembrie 2009 în ceea ce privește dl Del Curti; hotărârea (n. 96/09) din 27 octombrie 2009 în ceea ce privește dl Andreola.
Toate reclamanții nu au apelat în continuare, considerând că este inutil, având în vedere că legea impugnată a fost considerată legitimă de către Curtea Constituțională în hotărârea sa din 23 mai 2008, nr. 172 (a se vedea legea și practicile interne relevante de mai jos), pe care alte instanțe erau obligate să le susțină.Legea și practicile interne relevante Convenția Italo-Swiss privind securitatea socială art. 23 din dispozițiile tranzitorii ale Convenției Italo-Swiss privind securitatea socială, din 14 decembrie 1962, prevede, în măsura în care este cazul, după cum urmează (traducere neoficială „1. În ceea ce privește Elveția, performanța este în conformitate cu dispozițiile prezentei convenții, chiar și în cazurile în care evenimentul asigurat a avut loc înainte de intrarea în vigoare a Convenției.
Cu toate acestea, nu se aplică în conformitate cu aceste dispoziții decât dacă evenimentul asigurat a avut loc înainte de 21 decembrie 1959 și dacă contribuțiile nu au fost sau nu vor fi transferate sau returnate în conformitate cu Convenția din 17 octombrie 1951 sau cu alineatul (5) din prezentul articol. (...) În ceea ce privește Italia, performanța este în conformitate cu dispozițiile prezentei convenții în cazul în care evenimentul asigurat a avut loc la sau după data intrării în vigoare. Cu toate acestea, atunci când evenimentul asigurat a avut loc înainte de data respectivă, performanța are loc în conformitate cu prezenta convenție de la data intrării în vigoare, dacă nu ar fi fost posibilă acordarea unei astfel de pensii din cauza insuficienței perioadelor de asigurare și numai dacă contribuțiile nu au fost rambursate de sistemul italian de asigurare socială.
(3) Cu excepția dispozițiilor de mai sus, se vor lua în considerare perioadele de asigurare, de contribuții și de ședere care au loc înainte de intrarea în vigoare a prezentei Convenții. Pentru o perioadă de cinci ani de la intrarea în vigoare a prezentei convenții, la obținerea vârstei pensionabile în temeiul legislației italiene, cetățenii italieni pot solicita, în derogare a articolului 7, transferul de contribuții plătite de ei și de angajatorii acestora în regimurile de asigurare în vârstă de vârstă și supraviețuitori la schema de asigurare italiană, cu condiția ca acestea să părăsească Elveția pentru o decontare permanentă în Italia sau într-o țară terță înainte de sfârșitul anului în care s-a ajuns la vârsta pensionabilă.
art. 5 alineatele (4) și (5) din Convenția din 17 octombrie 1951 se va aplica utilizării acestor contribuții transferate, eventuale rambursări și efectele acestor transferuri.” În măsura în care este relevant, art. 5 din Convenția Italo-Swiss privind asigurarea socială din 17 octombrie 1951 prevede (traducere neoficială „...(4) Cetățenii italieni care nu sunt acoperiți de alin. (*) sau de supraviețuitorii lor, pot solicita contribuții plătite de aceștia și de angajatorii acestora în asigurarea de vârstă în Elveția și a supraviețuitorilor care urmează să fie transferate la sistemul italian de asigurări sociale, așa cum se menționează la art. 1 (*). Acestea din urmă vor folosi contribuțiile respective pentru a se asigura că persoana asigurată obține beneficiile obținute din legislația italiană menționată la art. 1 alineatul (1) și orice alte dispoziții emise de autoritățile italiene.
În cazul în care, în conformitate cu dispozițiile juridice italiene relevante, persoana asigurată nu poate invoca un drept la pensie, serviciile de asistență socială italienă vor rambursa, la cerere, contribuțiile transferate. (5) Transferul de contribuții, astfel cum se prevede în subparagraful de mai sus, poate fi solicitat: (a) dacă cetățeanul italian a părăsit Elveția cel puțin zece ani înainte, (b) cu privire la apariția evenimentului asigurat. Cetățeanul italian al cărui contribuții au fost transferate schemei de asigurare socială italiană nu poate afirma nici un drept în ceea ce privește asigurarea de bătrânețe și supraviețuitori pe baza acestor contribuții.
O astfel de persoană, sau supraviețuitorii săi, poate aștepta o încasare obișnuită din schema de asigurare de bătrânețe și supraviețuitori elvețieni doar ... Se remarcă că articolele marcate (*) au fost abrogate de art. 26 alineatul (3) din Convenția din 1962, cu excepția articolului 23 alineatul (5) menționat anterior.
Dispoziția tranzitorie a articolului 23 din Convenția din 1961 a devenit definitivă prin intermediul acordului suplimentar din 4 iulie 1969, art. 1 alineatele (1) și (3) din care se menționează: „La atingerea vârstei pensionabile în temeiul legislației italiene și în cazul în care acestea nu au fost deja în primirea unei pensii, cetățenii italieni pot solicita, în derogare a articolului 7, transferul de contribuții plătite de ei și de angajatorii acestora la sistemul de asigurare a supraviețuitorilor și de vârstă în elveția la sistemul de asigurare italiană, cu condiția ca acestea să părăsească Elveția pentru o decontare permanentă în Italia ...” „Entitățile italiene de asistență socială trebuie să utilizeze astfel de contribuții în favoarea asigurărilor sau a moștenitorilor săi, astfel încât să asigure atingerea avantajelor derivate din legislația italiană, astfel cum se menționează la art. 1 din Convenție, în conformitate cu dispozițiile specifice emise de autoritățile italiene.
În cazul în care nu se poate obține niciun avantaj pe baza unor astfel de acorduri, entitățile italiene de asistență socială trebuie să ramburseze contribuțiile transferate părților interesate.” jurisprudența relevantă pentru perioada de înaintea promulgării Legii nr. 296/2006 Hotărârea Curții de Casație din 6 martie 2004, precum și o altă jurisprudență analogă în momentul material, au stabilit că, în absența unei legislații specifice care reglementează transferul de contribuții, metoda de calcul al stabilității pensiilor lucrătorilor ar trebui să se bazeze pe remunerația reală primită de persoana respectivă, inclusiv orice activitate întreprinsă în Elveția, indiferent de faptul că contribuțiile plătite în Elveția și transferate în Italia au fost calculate pe baza unor rate mult mai mici decât cele stabilite în legislația italiană.
Legea nr. 296 din 27 decembrie 2006 art. 1 alineatul 777, din Legea nr. 296/2006, care a intrat în vigoare la 1 ianuarie 2007, prevede (traducere neoficială „art. 5 alineatul (2) din Decretul prezidențial nr. 488 din 27 aprilie 1968 și modificările ulterioare trebuie interpretate în sensul că, în cazul transferului de contribuții acordate entităților străine de bunăstare la sistemul de asigurare generală obligatoriu italian, în urma tratatelor și convențiilor internaționale de securitate socială, remunerația pensionabilă în raport cu perioada de ocupare a forței de muncă este calculată prin înmulțirea sumei de contribuții transferate și divizând rezultatul cu ratele de contribuție pentru regimul de asigurare de invaliditate, de vârstă și de supraviețuitor, după cum este cazul în perioada respectivă de contribuție.
Hotărârea Curții Constituționale din 23 mai 2008, nr. 172 Prin o scrisoare din 5 martie 2007, Curtea de Casație a pus la îndoială legitimitatea Legii nr. 296/2006 și a trimis cazul Curții Constituționale. Curtea Constituțională a hotărât, în suma, după cum urmează. Deși interpretativ, Legea nr. 296/2006 a fost inovatoare. Nu a existat nici o jurisprudență contradictorie în ceea ce privește regimul de pensii, ci o singură interpretare bine stabilită, conform căreia lucrătorul italian ar putea cere să își transfere contribuțiile sale, plătite în Elveția, către INPS, pentru a obține avantajele prevăzute de legislația italiană privind asigurarea de invaliditate, vârstă și supraviețuitori, inclusiv cea privind calculele pensiilor bazate pe remunerații, pe baza salariilor câștigate în Elveția, indiferent de faptul că contribuțiile transferate au fost plătite la o rată elvețiană mult mai mică.
Curtea Constituțională a remarcat că legile care definesc remunerarea pensiilor fac parte dintr-un sistem de asistență socială care echilibra resursele disponibile și serviciile furnizate. O modificare a calculului pensiilor de la criteriul contributiv la cel bazat pe remunerație („retributivo”), nu a fost în detrimentul sustenabilității financiare a sistemului. Astfel, modificările aduse de Legea impugnată au încercat să alinieze relația dintre remunerarea pensionabilă și contribuțiile cu sistemul în vigoare în Italia în aceeași perioadă de timp. Legea prevedea că remunerația primită în străinătate (utilizată ca bază pentru calculele pensiilor) trebuie ajustată prin aplicarea aceleiași rate procentuale utilizate pentru contribuțiile de pensii plătite în Italia în aceeași perioadă.
Prin urmare, norma a făcut explicit ceea ce se afla în dispozițiile interpretative inițiale. În consecință, nu a existat încălcarea principiului certitudinii juridice. Nu a fost nici discriminatoria normei, deoarece drepturile dobândite și mai favorabile ale pensionaților anteriore nu au fost, până atunci, inaudibile. În plus, Legea nu a discriminat persoanele care au lucrat în străinătate, deoarece a asigurat pur și simplu un echilibru global în sistemul de bunăstare și a evitat situația în care persoanele care au efectuat contribuții mici la un sistem de pensii străine ar putea primi aceeași pensie ca cele care au plătit contribuțiile italiene mult mai mari. Reducerea, deoarece a impus doar o interpretare care ar fi putut fi deja deferită de dispozițiile inițiale.
În sfârșit, acest sistem a permis încă o pensie suficientă și satisfăcător, adecvată pentru stilul de viață al lucrătorului. În consecință, afirmația de neconstituționalitate a menționată lege a fost evident nefondată. 1. Reclamanții se plâng în conformitate cu art. 6 § 1 din Convenție că intervenția legislativă, și anume promulgarea Legii nr. 296/2006, în timp ce procedurile erau în așteptare, care au schimbat jurisprudența bine stabilită, le-a refuzat dreptul la un proces echitabil. 2. Reclamanții se plâng în continuare că promulgarea Legii nr. 296/2006 și aplicarea acesteia în cazul lor constituie o interferență nejustificată cu posesiunile lor. În plus, a fost arbitrară de când a creat o disparitate în tratament între persoanele care au ales să lucreze în Elveția și cele care au rămas în Italia.
Au invocat art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția, coroborat cu art. 14 din Convenție. Reclamanții au avut o audiere echitabilă în determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor lor civile, în conformitate cu art. 6 § 1 din Convenție? În special, au existat interferențe legislative cu administrarea justiției concepute pentru a influența determinarea judiciară a unui litigiu? Dacă da, interferența a fost bazată pe motive convingătoare de interes general?
În sfârșit, interferența a fost compatibilă cu principiile securității juridice (a se vedea Maggio și alții c. Italia , nr. 46286/09, 52851/08, 53727/08, 54486/08 și 56001/08, 31 mai 2011)? 2. a. Are reclamanții o posesie în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1? 2. b. Dacă este cazul, reducerea pensiilor reclamanților, ca urmare a noului mod de calcul prevăzut în Legea nr. 296/2006, care pretinde că a avut ca rezultat o pierdere de aproximativ două treimi din pensiile lor, constituie o interferență cu bucuria pașnică a poseselor reclamanților în interesul public și în conformitate cu condițiile prevăzute de lege, în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1? A impus o sarcină individuală excesivă reclamanților?
Apendice nr. Cerere nr. Lodged on Solicitant name date of nace location of residence Years lucrează în Elveția Pensiunea primită în 2010 în EUR Pensiunea care ar fi fost primită în EUR 21838/10 14/04/2010 Emilio STEFANETTI 21/10/1940 Dubino 1959-1996 9,898 29,696 21849/10 14/04/2010 Giovacchino RODELLI 18/03/1942 Talamona 1962-1973 1977-1996 8,571 25,715 211852/10 14/04/2010 Roberto NEGRI 11/01/1937 Castione Andevenno 1954-1957 1965-1973 1975-1997 11,513 34,540 211855/10 13/04/2010 Luigi DELLA NAVE 28/03/1933 Morbegno 1962-1989 11 321 33 965 21860/10 13/04/2010 Gottardo DEL MAFFEO 20/10/1938 Spriana 1959-1966 10,583 31,751 211863/10 13/04/2010 Rinaldo COTTA 14/08/1944 San Martino Val Masino 1962-1987 14,132 42,396 211869/10 13/04/2010 Fausto CURTI 28/05/1942 Verceia 1962-1976 1978-1997 10,473 31,419 211870/10 13/04/2010 Luigi ANDREOLA 22/10/1944 Tirano 1967-1977 21,842 65,526
SECOND SECTION
Application no. 21838/10 Emilio STEFANETTI against Italy and 7 other applications (see list appended)
STATEMENT OF FACTS
The applicants are Italian nationals. They are represented before the Court by Mrs R. Palotti (SPI-CGIL), a lawyer practising in Sondrio, Italy. A. The circumstances of the cases The facts of the cases, as submitted by the applicants, may be summarised as follows. The applicants requested the Istituto Nazionale della Previdenza Sociale (“INPS”) to establish their pensions in accordance with the 1962 Italo-Swiss Convention on Social Security (see Relevant Domestic Law and Practice below) on the basis of the contributions paid in Switzerland for work they had performed there over several years (see annexed table for details).
As a basis for the calculation of their pensions (in respect of the average remuneration of the last ten years), the INPS employed a theoretical remuneration (“ retribuzione teorica ”) instead of the real remuneration (“ retribuzione effettiva ”). The former resulted in a readjustment on the basis of the existing ratio between the contributions applied in Switzerland (8%) and in Italy (32.7%), which meant that the calculation had as its basis a pseudo-salary with the result that the applicants were obtaining a lower pension than that expected. According to the applicants they were receiving approximately a third of what they were due in pension. As an example, the amount they were receiving in pension in 2010 and an estimate, according to the applicants, of what they should have received in that same year had this method of calculation not been applied, is annexed.
Consequently, in 2006 the applicants instituted judicial proceedings, contending that this was contrary to the spirit of the Italo-Swiss Convention. Law no. 296/2006 (see Relevant Domestic Law and Practice below) entered into force on 1 January 2007. The applicants’ claims were rejected in separate judgments of the Sondrio Tribunal (filed in the relevant registry as mentioned below) in view of the entry into force of Law no. 296/2006: Judgment (no. 149/09) of 30 November 2009 in respect of Mr Stefanetti; Judgment (no. 96/09) of 27 October 2009 in respect of Mr Rodelli; Judgment (no. 09/10) of 28 January 2010 in respect of Mr Negri; Judgment (no. 104/09) of 27 October 2009 in respect of Mr Del Nave; Judgment (no. 09/10) of 28 January 2010 in respect of Mr Del Maffeo; Judgment (no. 166/09) of 10 December 2010 in respect of Mr Cotta; Judgment (no. 112/09) of 10 November 2009 in respect of Mr Del Curti; Judgment (no. 96/09) of 27 October 2009 in respect of Mr Andreola.
All the applicants did not appeal further, deeming it to be futile given that the impugned law had been considered legitimate by the Constitutional Court in its judgment of 23 May 2008, no. 172 (see Relevant Domestic Law and Practice below), which other courts were then bound to uphold. B. Relevant domestic law and practice 1. The Italo-Swiss Convention on Social Security Article 23 of the transitional provisions of the Italo-Swiss Convention on Social Security, of 14 December 1962, provides, in so far as relevant, as follows ( unofficial translation ): “1. In so far as Switzerland is concerned, performance shall be in accordance with the provisions of this Convention, even in cases where the insured event occurred before the entry into force of the Convention.
Old-age and survivors’ ordinary annuities will, however, only apply in accordance with these provisions if the insured event took place before 21 December 1959, and if the contributions were not or will not be transferred or reimbursed in accordance with the Convention of 17 October 1951, or paragraph 5 of this Article. (...) 2. In so far as Italy is concerned, performance shall be in accordance with the provisions of this Convention where the insured event occurred on or after the date of its entry into force. Nevertheless, when the insured event occurred before that date, performance shall take place in accordance with the present Convention from the date of its entry into force, if it would not have been possible to grant such a pension due to the insufficiency of the insurance periods, and only if the contributions have not been reimbursed by the Italian social insurance scheme.
3. With the exception of the above provisions, periods of insurance, of contributions and of residence occurring before the entry into force of this Convention will be taken into consideration. 5. For a period of five years from the entry into force of this Convention, upon the attainment of pensionable age under Italian law, Italian citizens may request, in derogation of Article 7, that the contributions paid by them and their employers into the Swiss old-age and survivors insurance schemes be transferred to the Italian insurance scheme, on condition that they have left Switzerland for permanent settlement in Italy or in a third country prior to the end of the year in which their pensionable age was reached.
Article 5 (4) and (5) of the Convention of 17 October 1951 will apply to the use of such transferred contributions, eventual reimbursements and the effects of such transfers.” In so far as relevant, Article 5 of the Italo-Swiss Convention on Social Insurance of 17 October 1951 provides ( unofficial translation ): “...(4) Italian citizens not covered by the preceding sub-paragraph (*) or their survivors, may request contributions paid by them and their employers into the Swiss old-age and survivors’ insurance to be transferred to the Italian social welfare insurance scheme as indicated in Article 1 (*). The latter will use the said contributions to ensure that the insured person obtains the benefits derived from Italian law quoted in Article 1 (*) and any other dispositions issued by the Italian authorities.
In the event that, under the relevant Italian legal provisions, the insured person cannot assert a right to a pension, the Italian social welfare services will reimburse, upon request, the transferred contributions. (5) Transfer of contributions as provided for in the above sub-paragraph may be requested: (a) if the Italian citizen has left Switzerland at least ten years before, (b) on the occurrence of the insured event. The Italian citizen whose contributions have been transferred to the Italian social insurance scheme cannot assert any right in respect of the Swiss old-age and survivors’ insurance on the basis of such contributions.
Such a person, or his [or her] survivors, may expect an ordinary annuity from the Swiss old-age and survivors insurance scheme only ... [under] the conditions set out in the first paragraph (*).” It is noted that the articles marked (*) were repealed by Article 26 (3) of the 1962 Convention, except for the purposes of the above-cited Article 23 (5). The transitional provision of Article 23 of the 1961 Convention became definitive by means of the additional agreement of 4 July 1969, Article 1 (1) and (3) of which read: “On reaching pensionable age under Italian law, and where they have not already been in receipt of a pension, Italian citizens may request, in derogation of Article 7, that the contributions paid by them and their employers into the Swiss old-age and survivors’ insurance scheme be transferred to the Italian insurance scheme, on condition that they have left Switzerland for permanent settlement in Italy ...” “The Italian social welfare entities must use such contributions in favour of the insured or his or her heirs in such a way as to ensure the attainment of the advantages derived from Italian law, as cited in Article 1 of the Convention, in accordance with the specific arrangements issued by the Italian authorities.
If no advantage can be attained on the basis of such arrangements, the Italian social welfare entities must reimburse the transferred contributions to the interested parties.” 2. Case-law relevant to the period before the enactment of Law no. 296/2006 The Court of Cassation’s judgment of 6 March 2004, and other analogous jurisprudence at the material time, established that, in the absence of specific legislation regulating the transfer of contributions, the method of calculation in determining workers’ pensions should be based on the real remuneration received by that person, including any work undertaken in Switzerland, irrespective of the fact that contributions paid in Switzerland and transferred to Italy had been calculated on the basis of much lower rates than those established under Italian legislation.
3. Law no. 296 of 27 December 2006 Article 1, paragraph 777, of Law no. 296/2006, which entered into force on 1 January 2007, provides ( unofficial translation ): “Article 5 (2) of Presidential Decree no. 488 of 27 April 1968 and subsequent modifications must be interpreted to the effect that, in the event of transfer of contributions paid to foreign welfare entities to the Italian obligatory general insurance scheme, as a consequence of international social security treaties and conventions, the pensionable remuneration relative to the employment period abroad is calculated by multiplying the amount of transferred contributions by a hundred and dividing the result by the contribution rates for the invalidity, old-age and survivors insurance scheme, as applicable during the relevant contributory period.
More favourable pension treatment already liquidated before the entry into force of the current law is exempted.” 4. Constitutional Court judgment of 23 May 2008, no. 172 By a writ of 5 March 2007, the Court of Cassation questioned the legitimacy of Law no. 296/2006 and remitted the case to the Constitutional Court. The Constitutional Court gave judgment on 23 May 2008, holding, in sum, as follows. Although interpretative, Law no. 296/2006 was innovative.
There had been no conflicting case-law on the pension regime but a single well-established interpretation, according to which the Italian worker could ask to transfer his or her contributions, paid in Switzerland, to the INPS, in order to obtain the advantages provided by Italian law on invalidity, old-age and survivors’ insurance, including that of remuneration-based pension calculations, on the basis of the wages earned in Switzerland, irrespective of the fact that the transferred contributions had been paid at a much lower Swiss rate. The Constitutional Court noted that the laws defining pension remuneration were part of a welfare system which balanced available resources and the services supplied.
A change in calculating pensions from the contributory criterion to the remuneration-based one (“ retributivo ”), was not to the detriment of the financial sustainability of the system. Thus, the changes brought about by the impugned Law sought to bring the relationship between pensionable remuneration and contributions into line with the system in force in Italy during the same period of time. The Law provided that remuneration received abroad (used as a basis for pension calculations) was to be adjusted by applying the same percentage ratios used for pension contributions paid in Italy during the same period. Thus, the norm made explicit what had been in the original interpretative provisions.
Consequently, there had been no breach of the principle of legal certainty. Nor was the norm discriminatory since the acquired and more favourable rights of earlier pensioners were, by then, unassailable. Furthermore, the Law did not discriminate against people who had worked abroad, because it simply ensured an overall balance in the welfare system, and avoided the situation whereby persons who had made small contributions to a foreign pension scheme could receive the same pension as those who had paid the much higher Italian contributions. The contested Law did not provide for any ex post reductions, as it merely imposed an interpretation which could already have been inferred from the original provisions.
Lastly, this system still allowed for a sufficient and satisfactory pension, adequate for the lifestyle of a worker. Accordingly, the claim of unconstitutionality of the said Law was manifestly ill-founded. COMPLAINTS 1. The applicants complain under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the legislative intervention, namely the enactment of Law no. 296/2006, whilst proceedings were pending, which changed well-established case-law, had denied them their right to a fair trial. 2. The applicants further complain that the enactment of Law no. 296/2006 and its application to their cases constituted an unjustified interference with their possessions. Moreover, it had been arbitrary since it created a disparity in treatment between persons who had chosen to work in Switzerland, and those who remained in Italy.
They invoked Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention in conjunction with Article 14 of the Convention.
COMMON QUESTIONS
1. Did the applicants have a fair hearing in the determination of their civil rights and obligations, in accordance with Article 6 § 1 of the Convention? In particular, was there interference by the legislature with the administration of justice designed to influence the judicial determination of a dispute? If so, was the interference based on compelling grounds of general interest? Lastly, was the interference compatible with the principles of legal certainty (see Maggio and Others v. Italy , nos.
46286/09, 52851/08, 53727/08, 54486/08 and 56001/08, 31 May 2011)? 2. a. Did the applicants have a possession within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1? 2. b. If so, did the applicants’ pension reductions, as a consequence of the new method of calculation as envisaged in Law no. 296/2006, which they claim resulted in a loss of approximately two-thirds of their pensions, constitute an interference with the applicants’ peaceful enjoyment of their possessions in the public interest and in accordance with the conditions provided for by law, within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1? Did it impose an excessive individual burden on the applicants?
APPENDIX No. Application no. Lodged on Applicant name date of birth place of residence Years worked in Switzerland Pension Received in 2010 in EUR Pension which would have been received in EUR 21838/10 14/04/2010 Emilio STEFANETTI 21/10/1940 Dubino 1959-1996 9,898 29,696 21849/10 14/04/2010 Giovacchino RODELLI 18/03/1942 Talamona 1962-1973 1977-1996 8,571 25,715 21852/10 14/04/2010 Roberto NEGRI 11/01/1937 Castione Andevenno 1954-1957 1965-1973 1975-1997 11,513 34,540 21855/10 13/04/2010 Luigi DELLA NAVE 28/03/1933 Morbegno 1962-1989 11,321 33,965 21860/10 13/04/2010 Gottardo DEL MAFFEO 20/10/1938 Spriana 1959-1966 10,583 31,751 21863/10 13/04/2010 Rinaldo COTTA 14/08/1944 San Martino Val Masino 1962-1987 14,132 42,396 21869/10 13/04/2010 Fausto CURTI 28/05/1942 Verceia 1962-1976 1978-1997 10,473 31,419 21870/10 13/04/2010 Luigi ANDREOLA 22/10/1944 Tirano 1967-1977 21,842 65,526