- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 22 mai 2018
- Stat pârât
- LVA
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Sorocinskis împotriva Letoniei
Traducere în română Auto
Dl Georgijs Soročinskis este un cetățean leton care s-a născut în 1938 și locuiește în Rīga. El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către dna I. Nikuceva, un avocat practicant în Riga. Guvernul leton (“Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agenții lor, dna I. Reine și ulterior de dna K. Līce. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. La 20 noiembrie 1998, reclamantul a solicitat o pensie de pensie de pensie. În acel moment, reclamantul avea statutul de „non-citizen permanent rezident” din Letonia; astfel, în conformitate cu alineatul (1) din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat, perioadele pe care le-a petrecut în muncă în afara teritoriului Letoniei nu au fost luate în considerare.
În plus – în temeiul alineatului 13 din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat – având în vedere faptul că reclamantul a lucrat în Letonia timp de mai puțin de treizeci de ani, propriul său „salar lunar mediu” (adică venitul pentru care a fost plătită asigurarea) în loc de „salarul lunar mediu în stat” (adică salariul lunar mediu pentru asigurarea tuturor persoanelor asigurate în orice an calendaristic) a fost luat în considerare în scopul calculului pensiei sale. În consecință, pensia sa lunară a fost stabilită la 9,96 late lettone (LVL – aproximativ 14 euro (EUR)). Întrucât această sumă a fost mai mică decât pensia minimă stabilită de Cabinetul de Miniștri, reclamantul a primit, de fapt, 31 LVL (aproximativ 43 EUR).
La 11 iunie 1999 a intrat în vigoare un acord între Letonia și Ucraina privind cooperarea în domeniul asigurării sociale și, la 17 iunie 1999, reclamantul a solicitat recalculul pensiei sale pentru a ține seama de perioadele în care a lucrat în Ucraina. La 9 februarie 2000, pe baza cărora s-a dobândit cetățenia Letoniei, reclamantul a solicitat o recalculare suplimentară pentru a ține seama de perioadele rămase în timpul cărora a lucrat în străinătate.
Agenția de Asigurare Socială de Stat a luat în considerare perioadele în care reclamantul a lucrat în străinătate pentru determinarea perioadei sale de asigurare agregate (pentru definirea „periodului de asigurare” a se vedea punctul 16 de mai jos) ca fiind de patruzeci de ani și douăzeci și trei de zile; totuși, pe măsură ce perioadele de ocupare acumulate în Letonia nu au crescut, salariul său mediu lunar de asigurare (și nu salariul mediu lunar de asigurare în stat) a fost luat din nou în considerare în calculul pensiei sale. Chiar și cu aceste adăugari, pensia reclamantului a fost încă sub nivelul pensiei minime, astfel cum a stabilit Cabinetul de Miniștri. Astfel, după recalcularea oficială a pensiei sale, pensia reclamantului primit efectiv nu a crescut.
La 1 ianuarie 2002, în conformitate cu modificările Legii privind pensiile de stat, pensia reclamantului a fost ridicată la LVL 45.00 (aproximativ 62 EUR), care era pensia minimă pentru persoanele ale căror perioadă de asigurare depășește treizeci de ani. La 11 septembrie 2003, Agenția de Asigurare Socială de Stat a recalculat pensia reclamantului pe baza contribuțiilor de asigurare pe care le-a efectuat după pensionarea sa. Cu toate acestea, deoarece perioada de muncă a solicitat în Letonia încă nu a ajuns la treizeci de ani, salariul mediu lunar de asigurare în stat nu a fost luat în considerare în calculul pensiei sale. Astfel, pentru o perioadă totală de ocupare a forței de muncă de patruzeci și unsprezece luni și opt zile pensia reclamantului a fost stabilită la LVL 25.09 (aproximativ 34 EUR) pe lună.
Prin urmare, reclamantul a continuat să primească pensia minimă pentru persoanele ale căror perioadă de asigurare depășește treizeci de ani, care până atunci au fost ridicate la LVL 46.04 (aproximativ 63 EUR). Pe măsură ce reclamantul a continuat să lucreze, perioada sa agregată de asigurare a atins patruzeci și doi ani zece luni și douăzeci și opt zile. Începând cu 1 august 2016, pensia sa lunară a fost ridicată la 190,12 EUR, cu un supliment suplimentar de 37,85 EUR. Reclamantul a contestat decizia Agenției de Asigurare Socială de Stat din 11 septembrie 2003 în fața instanțelor administrative, plângând că, după intrarea în vigoare a acordului dintre Letonia și Ucraina privind cooperarea în domeniul securității sociale și după ce a dobândit cetățenia letonă, pensia sa nu a crescut.
El a remarcat, de asemenea, că toate circumstanțele care constituie baza plângerii sale au fost stabilite în aplicarea sa inițială din 2 iulie 2003. Invocând alineatele 13 și 33 din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat (a se vedea punctele 17-18 mai jos), el solicită recalcularea pensiei sale ținând seama de timpul în care a lucrat în Ucraina. La 25 februarie 2005, Curtea de District Administrativ a respins plângerea reclamantului. După ce a constatat că cruxul plângerii reclamantului a fost presupusul neregulă de a ține seama de perioadele pe care le-a lucrat în Ucraina, instanța a reevaluat decizia Agenției de Asigurare Socială de Stat și a concluzionat că pensia sa a fost calculată corect.
10. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva acestei decizii, declarând că toate circumstanțele care constituie baza plângerii sale au fost descrise în cererea sa inițială. Reclamantul a invocat alineatele 13 și 33 din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat. La 29 iunie 2006, Curtea Regională Administrativă a respins apelul reclamantului. La 15 decembrie 2006, Senatul Curții Supreme a anulat hotărârea Curții Regionale Administrative din cauza faptului că instanța nu a obținut și a reexaminat cererea inițială a reclamantului din 2 iulie 2003 către Agenția de Asigurare Socială de Stat. Prin urmare, instanța nu a putut clarifica domeniul exact al plângerii reclamantului. 12. La 22 mai 2007, Curtea Administrativă Regională a examinat plângerea reclamantului în cadrul procedurii orale.
În cadrul cererilor orale, reclamantul a subliniat că solicită recalcularea pensiei sale pe baza salariului mediu din țară. Perioada totală de ocupare a forței de muncă a fost de patruzeci și doi ani, în timp ce Legea privind pensiile de stat a cerut ca perioada de asigurare să fie de cel puțin treizeci de ani pentru ca salariul mediu lunar de asigurare din stat să fie utilizat în calcul. În ciuda faptului că a lucrat de patruzeci și doi ani, numai șaptezeci de ani au fost luate în considerare.
Reclamantul a concluzionat: „Dacă sunteți un cetățean, atunci totul este luat în considerare în calcul, dar dacă nu sunteți atunci, nu este.” Imaginatul (care este să spună Agenția de Asigurare Socială de Stat) apoi a solicitat reclamantului să clarifice domeniul de aplicare al plângerii, la care a răspuns: „Îmi cer pensia să fie recalculată pe baza salariului mediu din țară.” 13. La 14 iunie 2007, Curtea Regională Administrativă a respins plângerea reclamantului, observand că, în aplicarea inițială din 2 iulie 2003, reclamantul a solicitat recalcularea pensiei sale în conformitate cu normele generale. De asemenea, a remarcat că perioadele pe care le-a lucrat în Ucraina au fost luate în considerare deja de la intrarea în vigoare a acordului dintre Letonia și Ucraina privind cooperarea în domeniul securității sociale.
În plus, după achiziționarea cetățeniei letoniene, au fost luate în considerare și perioadele pe care le-a lucrat în Rusia și petrecuse în serviciul militar. Decizia care a fost contestată se referă la creșterea perioadei de asigurare a reclamantului. Astfel, în calculul pensiei sale s-a luat în considerare întreaga perioadă de asigurare de patruzeci și unu de ani și douăzeci și opt de zile. În plus, reclamantul primea pensia minimă de stat în suma stabilită pentru persoanele ale căror perioadă de asigurare a fost peste treizeci de ani. În ceea ce privește alineatul 13 din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat, instanța a remarcat că pensia reclamantului a fost calculată corect, dar în ceea ce privește alineatul 33, aceasta a observat că această dispoziție nu se aplică reclamantului datorită limitației sale temporale.
14. În apelul său privind punctele de drept, reclamantul a reiterat din nou că toate circumstanțele care au constituit baza cererii sale au fost stabilite în cererea inițială. El a declarat, de asemenea, că pensia sa nu a fost recalculată pe baza modificărilor la Legea privind pensiile de stat care au intrat în vigoare la 1 ianuarie 2002. Aceste modificări au fost aplicate persoanelor ale căror perioadă de asigurare a fost mai mare de treizeci de ani, în timp ce perioada sa de asigurare a fost de peste patruzeci de ani. Cu toate acestea, salariul său propriu (în loc de salariul mediu din țară) a fost luat în considerare în calculul nivelului pensiei la care avea dreptul. Reclamantul s-a referit la alineatele 13 și 33 din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat, precum și la dispozițiile procedurale din Legea privind procedura administrativă.
15. La 29 august 2007, Senatul Curții Supreme a respins recursul reclamantului asupra punctelor de drept, menționând că nu conține argumente privind modul în care hotărârea Curții Regionale Administrative a încălcat dispozițiile juridice pe care le-a menționat-o. 16. Legea privind pensiile de stat, care a intrat în vigoare la 1 ianuarie 1996, prevede că una dintre componentele care trebuie luate în considerare în calculul și alocarea pensiilor este „perioada de asigurare”. În temeiul articolului 1 din Legea privind pensiile de stat, perioada de asigurare este perioada de timp în care o persoană asigurată a efectuat contribuții de asigurare socială sau astfel de contribuții au fost efectuate sau ar fi trebuit să fie efectuate în numele acestei persoane.
În ceea ce privește perioada anterioară la 1 ianuarie 1991 (în momentul în care sistemul de asigurări sociale nu a fost încă instituit), alineatul (1) din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat, astfel cum este în vigoare la momentul în care a fost aplicat reclamantului, cu condiția: „1. În cazul cetățenilor letoni, persoanele repatriate și membrii familiei și descendenții acestora, perioadele de muncă și perioadele tratate ca echivalenți cu ocuparea forței de muncă care au fost acumulate în Letonia sau în afara Letoniei înainte de 1 ianuarie 1991 se numără în direcția perioadei de asigurare, necesară pentru alocarea ([sau] recalcul) a pensiei de stat, indiferent de plata [prealizată] a contribuțiilor de asigurare socială.
În cazul resortisanților străini și al apatrizilor care au rezistat în Letonia la 1 ianuarie 1991, perioada de asigurare este compusă din perioade de ocupare a forței de muncă și perioadele tratate ca echivalente cu ocuparea forței de muncă care au fost acumulate în Letonia, precum și în perioadele tratate ca echivalent cu ocuparea forței de muncă care au fost acumulate în afara Letonia în cazurile menționate la punctele (4), (5) și (10) din prezentul alineat.
Următoarele perioade, care sunt tratate ca fiind echivalente cu ocuparea forței de muncă acumulate până la 1 ianuarie 1991 ... se consideră că se numără până la perioada de asigurare care urmează să fie luată în considerare în calculul pensiei: ... (4) perioade de studiu la instituțiile de învățământ superior și la alte instituții de formare la nivel post-secundar; (5) perioade de studiu de doctorat, ... Învățământ postgraduat sau formare profesională în curs de desfășurare; ... (10) timp petrecut în locurile de detenție de către victimele persecuției politice ... [sau] în exil, și timp petrecut evadarea de la astfel de locuri, acele perioade care urmează să fie multiplicate cu trei, sau cu cinci în cazul timpului petrecut în [Nord] extins și regiunile tratate ca echivalent…
” 17. În temeiul alineatului 13 din dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat, în ceea ce privește perioada tranzitorie, o altă componentă care este luată în considerare în calculul pensiei este salariul mediu lunar de asigurare al persoanei într-un termen specificat. Astfel, în ceea ce privește persoanele care s-au retras în 1998, salariul mediu lunar de asigurare al acestei persoane de peste douăzeci și patru luni între 1996 și 1998 a fost luat în considerare.
Cu toate acestea, dacă (i) perioada de asigurare a persoanei în Letonia nu a fost mai mică de treizeci de ani (salvarea persoanelor persecutate politice, în raport cu care s-a aplicat o metodologie diferită) și dacă salariul lunar mediu al persoanei în ultimele douăzeci și patru luni a fost sub salariul lunar mediu al asigurărilor în statul în 1997, sau (ii) persoana a fost oficial șomer, salariul lunar mediu al asigurărilor în stat în 1997 a fost luat în considerare în calculul pensiei sale.
18. La 1 ianuarie 2002, dispozițiile tranzitorii din Legea privind pensiile de stat au fost completate cu alineatul (33), care prevede că în calculul pensiei plătibile unei persoane a căror perioadă de asigurare nu este mai mică de treizeci de ani și al căror salariu mediu lunar de asigurare, calculat în conformitate cu alineatul (13) din aceste dispoziții tranzitorii, este mai mic decât salariul mediu lunar de asigurare în stat în perioada cuprinsă între 1 ianuarie 1996 și 31 decembrie 1999, trebuie luat în considerare salariul mediu lunar de asigurare în stat pe parcursul a patruzeci și opt luni respective.
Aplicarea retrospectivă a acestei dispoziții se limitează la pensiile acordate după 1 ianuarie 2000. 19. Guvernul a prezentat o scrisoare din 7 septembrie 2016 de la Ministerul Welfare, în care partea relevantă a menționării: „Modul favorabil de calcul al pensiei unei persoane” consemnat la punctul 13 din dispoziția tranzitorie a Legii nu ar fi aplicat unui cetățean leton în următoarele situații: 1) În ianuarie 1998 un cetățean leton solicită o pensie de pensie de pensie pentru o perioadă totală de 32 de ani, din care 9 ani sunt [accurate] în Letonia, dar 23 de ani [au fost acumulate] în Georgia.
Pensiunea este calculată timp de 32 de ani, dar salariul mediu lunar de asigurare în stat nu este luat în considerare în calculul capitalului inițial, deoarece perioada de asigurare în Letonia este sub 30 de ani; 2) În ianuarie 2016, un cetățean leton solicită o pensie de pensie de pensie pentru o perioadă totală de asigurare de 40 de ani, din care 24 de ani sunt [accumulate] în Letonia, dar 16 de ani [sau acumulate] în Estonia. În conformitate cu legislația, Letonia acordă și plătește pensia de pensie de pensie numai pentru 24 de ani [accedenți] în Letonia; în consecință, salariul mediu lunar de asigurare din stat nu este luat în considerare în calculul capitalului inițial, deoarece perioada de asigurare pentru care letonia plătește este sub 30 de ani; 3) În ianuarie 2012, un cetățean letonez solicită o pensie de pensie de pensie pentru o perioadă totală de 38 de ani, din care 25 de ani [accedenți] în Letonia, dar 13 de ani [au fost acumulați] în Belarus.
În conformitate cu Hotărârea dintre Republica Letonia și Belarus privind cooperarea în domeniul securității sociale, Letonia acordă pensia de pensie numai pentru perioada de asigurare acumulată în Letonia – 25 de ani. În consecință, salariul mediu lunar de asigurare în stat nu este luat în considerare în calculul capitalului inițial, deoarece perioada de asigurare pentru care letonia plătește este sub 30 de ani.”
1. The applicant, Mr Georgijs Soročinskis, is a Latvian national who was born in 1938 and lives in Rīga. He was represented before the Court by Ms I. Nikuļceva, a lawyer practising in Riga.
The Latvian Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agents, Ms I. Reine and subsequently by Ms K. Līce.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows.
On 20 November 1998 the applicant requested a retirement pension. At that time the applicant had the status of “permanently resident noncitizen” of Latvia; thus, in accordance with paragraph 1 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions, the periods that he had spent in employment outside the territory of Latvia were not taken into account. Furthermore – under paragraph 13 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions – in view of the fact that the applicant had worked in Latvia for less than thirty years, his own average monthly “insurance wage” (that is to say the income in relation to which the insurance was paid) instead of the “average monthly insurance wage in the State” (that is to say the average monthly insurance wage of all insured persons in any given calendar year) was taken into account for the purpose of calculating his pension. Accordingly, his monthly pension was set at 9.96 Latvian lats (LVL – approximately 14 euros (EUR)). As this sum was lower than the minimum pension set by the Cabinet of Ministers, the applicant in fact received LVL 31 (approximately EUR 43).
On 11 June 1999 an agreement between Latvia and Ukraine on cooperation in the field of social security entered into force, and on 17 June 1999 the applicant applied for a recalculation of his pension to take into account the periods during which he had worked in Ukraine. On 9 February 2000, on the basis of having acquired citizenship of Latvia, the applicant applied for a further recalculation to take account of the remaining periods during which he had worked abroad. The State Social Insurance Agency took into account the periods during which the applicant had worked abroad when determining his aggregate insurance period (for a definition of “insurance period” see paragraph 16 below) as being forty years and twenty-three days; however, as the employment periods accumulated in Latvia had not increased, his own average monthly insurance wage (and not the average monthly insurance wage in the State) was again taken into account in the calculation of his pension. Even with those additions, the applicant’s pension was still below the level of the minimum pension, as set by the Cabinet of Ministers. Thus, after the formal recalculation of his pension, the pension the applicant actually received did not increase. On 1 January 2002, in accordance with amendments to the Law on State Pensions, the applicant’s pension was raised to LVL 45.00 (approximately EUR 62), which was the minimum pension for persons whose insurance period exceeded thirty years.
The applicant continued working, and on 2 July 2003 he applied for yet another recalculation of his pension. On 11 September 2003 the State Social Insurance Agency recalculated the applicant’s pension on the basis of the insurance contributions he had made following his retirement. It took the additional time period worked into account in determining the applicant’s aggregate insurance period. However, as the period the applicant had been employed in Latvia still did not reach thirty years, the average monthly insurance wage in the State was not taken into account in the calculation of his pension. Thus, for a total employment period of forty-one years eleven months and twenty-eight days the applicant’s pension was set at LVL 25.09 (approximately EUR 34) per month. Therefore, the applicant continued receiving the minimum pension for persons whose insurance period exceeded thirty years, which by then had been raised to LVL 46.04 (approximately EUR 63).
As the applicant continued working, his aggregate insurance period reached forty-two years ten months and twenty-eight days. As of 1 August 2016 his monthly pension was raised to EUR 190.12, with an additional supplement of EUR 37.85.
The applicant challenged the decision of the State Social Insurance Agency of 11 September 2003 before the administrative courts, complaining that following the entry into force of the agreement between Latvia and Ukraine on cooperation in the field of social security and after he had acquired Latvian citizenship his pension had not increased. He also noted that all the circumstances forming the basis of his complaint had been set out in his initial application of 2 July 2003. Invoking paragraphs 13 and 33 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions (see paragraphs 17-18 below) he requested that his pension be recalculated by taking into account the time he had worked in Ukraine.
On 25 February 2005 the Administrative District Court dismissed the applicant’s complaint. Having found that the crux of the applicant’s complaint was the alleged failure to take into account the periods he had worked in Ukraine, the court reassessed the decision of the State Social Insurance Agency and concluded that his pension had been calculated correctly.
The applicant appealed against this decision, stating that all the circumstances forming the basis of his complaint had been outlined in his initial application. The applicant invoked paragraphs 13 and 33 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions. On 29 June 2006 the Administrative Regional Court dismissed the applicant’s appeal. The applicant lodged an appeal on points of law on the same grounds.
On 15 December 2006 the Senate of the Supreme Court set aside the judgment of the Administrative Regional Court on the grounds that the court had not obtained and reviewed the applicant’s initial application of 2 July 2003 to the State Social Insurance Agency. As a result, the court had not been able to clarify the exact scope of the applicant’s complaint.
On 22 May 2007 the Administrative Regional Court examined the applicant’s complaint in oral proceedings. During his oral submissions the applicant emphasised that he requested that his pension be recalculated on the basis of the average salary in the country. His total employment period was forty-two years, whereas the Law on State Pensions required the insurance period to be no less than thirty years in order for the average monthly insurance wage in the State to be used in the calculation. Despite the fact he had worked for forty-two years, only seventeen years had been taken into account. The applicant concluded by stating: “If you are a citizen then everything is taken into account in the calculation, but if you are not then it is not.” The respondent (that is to say the State Social Insurance Agency) then requested the applicant to clarify the scope of the complaint, to which he replied: “I request the pension to be recalculated on the basis of the average salary in the country.”
On 14 June 2007 the Administrative Regional Court dismissed the applicant’s complaint. It observed that in his initial application of 2 July 2003 the applicant had requested that his pension be recalculated in accordance with general rules. It furthermore noted that the periods he had worked in Ukraine had been taken into account already since the agreement between Latvia and Ukraine on cooperation in the field of social security had entered in force. Furthermore, following the applicant’s acquisition of Latvian citizenship the periods he had worked in Russia and had spent in military service had also been taken into account. The decision that was being challenged concerned the increase in the applicant’s insurance period. Thus, the entirety of his insurance period of forty-one years eleven months and twenty-eight days had been taken into account in the calculation of his pension. In addition, the applicant was receiving the minimum State pension in the amount set for persons whose insurance period was above thirty years. With regard to paragraph 13 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions the court noted that the applicant’s pension had been calculated correctly, but in relation to paragraph 33 it observed that this provision was not applicable to the applicant owing to its temporal limitation.
In his appeal on points of law the applicant again reiterated that all the circumstances that formed the basis of his claim had been set out in the initial application. He also stated that his pension had not been recalculated on the basis of the amendments to the Law on State Pensions that had entered into force on 1 January 2002. These changes applied to persons whose insurance period was above thirty years, whereas his insurance period amounted to more than forty years. Despite that, his own salary (instead of the average salary in the country) had been taken into account when calculating the level of the pension to which he had been entitled. The applicant referred to paragraphs 13 and 33 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions, as well as to procedural provisions of the Administrative Procedure Law.
On 29 August 2007 the Senate of the Supreme Court rejected the applicant’s appeal on points of law, noting that it contained no arguments as to how the judgment of the Administrative Regional Court had contravened the legal provisions he had referred to.
The Law on State Pensions, which entered into force on 1 January 1996, provides that one of the components to be taken into account in the calculation and allocation of pensions is the “insurance period”. Under section 1 of the Law on State Pensions, the insurance period is the period of time over which an insured person has made social insurance contributions or such contributions have been made or should have been made on that person’s behalf. With regard to the time period prior to 1 January 1991 (when the social insurance system had not yet been established), paragraph 1 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions, as in force at time when it was applied to the applicant, provided: “1. In the case of Latvian citizens, repatriated persons, and their family members and their descendants, periods of employment and periods treated as equivalent to employment that have been accrued within or outside Latvia prior to 1 January 1991 shall count towards the insurance period, which is necessary for the allocation ([or] recalculation) of the State pension, irrespective of [any prior] payment of social insurance contributions. In the case of foreign nationals and stateless persons who were resident in Latvia on 1 January 1991, the insurance period shall be composed of periods of employment and periods treated as equivalent to employment that have been accrued within Latvia, as well as periods treated as equivalent to employment that have been accrued outside Latvia in the cases specified in sub-paragraphs (4), (5) and (10) of this paragraph. The following periods, which are treated as equivalent to employment accrued up to 1 January 1991 ... shall be considered as counting towards the insurance period to be taken into account in calculating the pension: ... (4) periods of study at higher-education institutions, and at other training institutions at post-secondary level; (5) periods of doctoral study, ... postgraduate education or ongoing vocational training; ... (10) time spent in places of detention by victims of political persecution ... [or] in exile, and time spent escaping from such places, those periods to be multiplied by three, or by five in the case of time spent in the [Soviet] Far North and regions treated as equivalent… ”
Under paragraph 13 of the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions, with respect to the transitional period, another component that is taken into account in the calculation of the pension is the person’s average monthly insurance wage within a specified time period. Thus, with respect to persons who retired in 1998, that person’s average monthly insurance wage over twenty-four months from 1996 until 1998 was taken into account. If, however, (i) the person’s insurance period in Latvia was not less than thirty years (save for politically persecuted persons, in relation to whom a different methodology applied) and if the person’s average monthly insurance wage for the last twenty-four months was below the average monthly insurance wage in the State in 1997, or (ii) the person had been officially unemployed, the average monthly insurance wage in the State in 1997 was taken into account in the calculation of his or her pension.
On 1 January 2002 the transitional provisions of the Law on State Pensions were supplemented by paragraph 33, which provides that in calculating the pension payable to a person whose insurance period is not less than thirty years and whose average monthly insurance wage, as calculated in accordance with paragraph 13 of these transitional provisions, is lower than the average monthly insurance wage in the State in the period between 1 January 1996 and 31 December 1999, the average monthly insurance wage in the State over the said forty-eight months should be taken into account. The retrospective application of this provision is limited to pensions that were granted after 1 January 2000.
The Government submitted a letter of 7 September 2016 from the Ministry of Welfare, the relevant part of which stated: ““The favourable model of calculating a person’s pension” enshrined in paragraph 13 of the transitional provision of the Law would not be applied to a Latvian citizen in the following situations: 1) In January 1998 a Latvian citizen requests a retirement pension for a total insurance period of 32 years, of which 9 years are [accrued] in Latvia but 23 years [are accrued] in Georgia. The pension is calculated for 32 years but the average monthly insurance wage in the State is not taken into account in the calculation of the initial capital, as the insurance period in Latvia is below 30 years; 2) In January 2016 a Latvian citizen requests a retirement pension for a total insurance period of 40 years, of which 24 years are [accrued] in Latvia but 16 years [are accrued] in Estonia. In accordance with the legislation, Latvia grants and pays the retirement pension only for the 24 years [accrued] in Latvia; accordingly, the average monthly insurance wage in the State is not taken into account in the calculation of the initial capital, as the insurance period for which Latvia pays is below 30 years; 3) In January 2012 a Latvian citizen requests a retirement pension for a total insurance period of 38 years, of which 25 years are [accrued] in Latvia but 13 years [are accrued] in Belarus. In accordance with the Agreement between the Republic of Latvia and Belarus on the cooperation in the field of social security, Latvia grants the retirement pension only for the insurance period accrued in Latvia – the 25 years. Accordingly, the average monthly insurance wage in the State is not taken into account in the calculation of the initial capital, as the insurance period for which Latvia pays is below 30 years.”