- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 14 ianuarie 2021
- Stat pârât
- AZE
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Abbasov împotriva Azerbaidjanului
Traducere în română Auto
A cincea secție DECIZIE nr. 2773/09 Beyler Soltan oglu ABBASOV împotriva Azerbaidjanului Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a cincea secțiune), care așezează la 14 ianuarie 2021 ca comitet compus din: Lado Chanturia, Președintele, Latif Hüseynov, Mattias Guyomar, judecători și Martina Keller, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea depusă la 10 decembrie 2008, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat, având în vedere evoluția faptului în acest caz și observațiile părților în acest sens, după deliberare, hotărăsc după cum urmează: Reclamantul, dl Beyler Soltan oglu Abbasov, este un național azerian, care s-a născut în 1970 și locuiește în Tartar. El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl M. Mehdiyev, un avocat cu sediul în Azerbaidjan.
Guvernul azerian („Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Ç. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul a participat la operațiunile militare pentru integritatea teritorială a Republicii Azerbaidjan între 7 noiembrie 1993 și 10 februarie 1996. La o dată neespecificată în septembrie 2004, reclamantul a solicitat Comisariatului Militar din districtul Tartar („TDMC”) pentru cardul veteranului de război. În octombrie 2004, noiembrie 2005 și ianuarie 2006 TDMC a trimis scrisori în Archiva Ministerului Apărării cerând un certificat de confirmare a serviciului militar al reclamantului. Între timp, decretul prezidențial nr. 257 („Decretul nr. 257”) de stabilire a unei alocații lunare de 11 La 1 august 2005 a fost eficace manatii azerbaezi (AZN) pentru veteranii de război pentru plata facturilor de utilitate și a altor servicii (a se vedea punctul 29 de mai jos).
La 1 ianuarie 2006, a intrat în vigoare Legea privind acordurile sociale (a se vedea punctele 30-31 de mai jos). La 17 aprilie 2006, Ministerul Apărării a trimis certificatul solicitat TDMC. La 22 februarie 2007, TDMC a trimis o listă comisiei militare a Republicii Azerbaidjan cu detaliile de 25 de persoane, inclusiv reclamantul, care urmează să fie acordată cu statutul de veteran de război și a emis un card de veteran. 10. La 1 februarie 2007, suma alocației lunare a fost ridicată la AZN 15. 11. La 2 aprilie 2007, TDMC a emis un card de veteran reclamantului.
12. La 17 aprilie 2007, reclamantul a solicitat Biroului Tartar al Centrului pentru Protecția Socială a Populației („Centrul”) și a primit o alocație lunară de AZN 15 cu efect începând cu 2 aprilie 2007. 13. La 1 mai 2007, reclamantul a depus o cerere civilă la Curtea de District Tartar împotriva Centrului, TDMC și Ministerul Apărării cerând plata AZN 243, alocația totală neturnată pentru perioada 1 august 2005, data în care a intrat în vigoare decretul nr. 257, până la 2 În aprilie 2007, el a susținut că a solicitat un card de veteran în 2004 și că întârzierea de doi ani și jumătate a fost atribuită inactivității autorităților de stat. 14. În audierea de judecată, reclamantul a susținut că a primit AZN 15 pentru aprilie 2007 și a solicitat instanței să-i acorde AZN 228. 15. La 17 iulie 2007, Curtea de District Tartar a acordat cererea reclamantului.
Acesta a susținut că reclamantul a avut dreptul la indemnitate de la data în care a intrat în vigoare decretul nr. 257 și că incapacitatea sa de a-l primi în timpul perioadei în cauză a fost cauzată de inactivitatea autorităților de stat care nu au examinat în timp util cererea reclamantului de a solicita un card de veteran. Având în vedere faptul că reclamantul a primit AZN 15 aprilie 2007, Curtea a ordonat plata AZN 228 către solicitant de către Centru. 16. Centrul a depus un recurs susținând că, în temeiul Legii privind veteranii din 28 iunie 1994, reclamantul a avut dreptul la această alocație de la data la care a primit cartea. 17. La 7 septembrie 2007, instanța de apel a convocat reclamantul pentru prima audiere de apel la 8 octombrie 2007 și l-a informat că ar putea depune obiecția sa la recursul Centrului până la data respectivă.
Reclamantul nu a prezentat nicio observație în răspuns la apelul Centrului deoarece nu i-a fost trimisă nicio copie (a se vedea punctul 19 mai jos). 18. După două audieri, la 23 octombrie 2007, Curtea de Apel a anulat hotărârea instanței de primă instanță și a acordat apelul Centrului. Referindu-se la art. 7 din Legea privind veteranii, Curtea de Apel a constatat că alocația trebuia plătită de la data eliberării cardului. 19. Reclamantul a depus un recurs de casă care reiterează argumentele sale anterioare. În plus, reclamantul s-a plâns că instanța de apel nu i-a trimis o copie a recursului altor părți, punându-l, prin urmare, într-un dezavantaj față de partea respectivă. 20. La 13 iunie 2008, Curtea Supremă a susținut hotărârea instanței de apel care își reiterează raționamentul și nu a abordat plângerea privind necomunicarea apelului Centrului către reclamant.
Evoluții factuale suplimentare 21. La 18 august 2018, reclamantul a informat Curtea cu privire la noi proceduri pe care le-a depus (a se vedea punctele 22-26 de mai jos) și a prezentat doar copia deciziei finale (a se vedea Hotărârea Curții Supreme din 30 de ani). Mai 2018). În ciuda cererii Curții, reclamantul nu a furnizat copii ale hotărârilor de primă instanță și de apel ale instanțelor și a apelurilor sale în aceste proceduri. Guvernul nu a prezentat nici documente referitoare la noua procedură.
Următoarele elemente pot fi discernate din hotărârea Curții Supreme din 30 mai 2018. 22. La 25 septembrie 2017, reclamantul a depus o cerere la Curtea Administrativă-Economică din Ganja împotriva Departamentului de District Tartar al Fondului de Protecție a Securității Sociale care solicită plata alocației sociale nerambursate pentru perioada cuprinsă între 2 aprilie 2004 și 2 aprilie 2007. 23. Nu este clar despre ce dispoziții de drept intern reclamantul și-a bazat cererea. Curtea de primă instanță și-a examinat cererea cu privire la fond, dar motivele procedurale de admitere a cererii sale de examinare nu sunt, de asemenea, clare.
24. La 16 noiembrie 2017, instanța de primă instanță a respins cererea reclamantului și a remarcat că, având în vedere că reclamantul a obținut cartea la 2 aprilie 2007 și în acea dată a avut deja dreptul la o pensie, în conformitate cu art. 9.1 din Legea privind alocațiile sociale, nu poate solicita plata alocației pentru perioada înainte de data respectivă. 25. La 22 februarie 2018, Curtea de Apel din Ganja a respins recursul reclamantului. 26. La 30 mai 2018 Curtea Supremă a acordat parțial recursul de cassare al reclamantului. În primul rând, a remarcat că întârzierea eliberării cardului veteran la solicitant nu ar trebui să-și afecteze drepturile în temeiul articolului 3.1.2 din Legea privind veteranii.
În plus, instanța a constatat că, în conformitate cu art. 9.1 din Legea privind alocațiile sociale, reclamantul a avut dreptul la plata alocației de la data intrării în vigoare a acesteia, adică de la 1 Prin urmare, aceasta a ordonat autorității acuzate să plătească reclamantului alocația socială nerambursată pentru perioada cuprinsă între 1 ianuarie 2006 și 2 aprilie 2007. Totodată, Curtea Supremă nu se referă la decretul nr. 257. Cu toate acestea, se pare că indemnitatea acordată a fost aceeași ca cea prevăzută de decretul, și anume o indemnitate lunară pentru facturile de utilitate, transporturile și alte servicii. Legea internă relevantă Legea privind veteranii din 28 iunie 1994 27. art. 3.1.2 din Lege prevede că persoanele care au participat la acțiuni militare pentru integritatea teritorială a Republicii Azerbaidjanului sunt recunoscute ca veteran de război.
28. art. 7 din Lege prevede că termenii și condițiile pentru atribuirea titlului unui veteran de război, un veteran al forțelor armate și al veteranului de muncă sunt furnizate de autoritatea executivă relevantă. Privilegiile prevăzute pentru veteran se aplică de la data eliberării cardului unui veteran. Decretul prezidențial nr. 257 din 11 iulie 2005 29. art. 1 din decretul prevede că, pentru a consolida protecția socială a veteranilor de război care au participat la bătăliile militare pentru integritatea teritorială a Republicii Azerbaidjanului, acestea sunt plătite o alocație lunară a AZN 11 ca asistență pentru plata facturilor de utilitate și a altor servicii. Legea privind alocațiile sociale din 1 ianuarie 2006 30. În conformitate cu art. 1.0.1 din Lege, alocațiile sociale sunt fonduri plătite lunar sau ca sumă forfetară pentru anumite categorii de persoane, în conformitate cu procedura stabilită de prezenta Lege pentru acordarea de asistență socială.
31. art. 9.1 din Lege prevede că licențe lunare, indiferent de momentul cererii, sunt acordate de la ziua în care apare dreptul de a le primi, cu posibilitatea plății sumelor de până la trei ani înainte de solicitarea unei astfel de licențe. COMPLAINTE 32. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că nu a fost informat cu privire la recursul părții acuzate împotriva hotărârii Curții de District Tartar din 17 iulie 2007 și, prin urmare, a fost privat de posibilitatea de a depune o obiecție. 33. Reclamantul s-a plâns în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție cu privire la nefuncția de către autoritățile de stat să-i plătească alocația statutară, la care avea dreptul de veteran de război, pentru perioada cuprinsă între 1 august 2005 și 2 aprilie 2007. Reclamantul s-a plâns că nu i-a transmis recursul inculpatului a încălcat art. 6 din Convenție.
De asemenea, el se plângea că refuzul autorităților interne de a-i acorda alocația statutară pentru perioada solicitată, referindu-se la data eliberării cardului veteranului său, care a fost întârziat din cauza inactivității autorităților de stat, a încălcat drepturile sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție. Aceste dispoziții, în măsura în care este relevant, se citesc după cum urmează: art. 6 § 1 „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., fiecare are dreptul la o audiere corectă ... de [a] ... tribunal ...” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” (dec.), nr. 33234/08, 12 decembrie 2017), în cazul în care a fost constatat că reclamantul nu a suferit un dezavantaj financiar semnificativ ca urmare a unei amenzi echivalente cu 185 EUR, guvernul a susținut că, în mod similar, în acest caz, suma reclamată de către solicitant este nesemnificativă și că nu a suferit un dezavantaj semnificativ. 36. Guvernul a susținut în continuare că, la fel ca în Gulmammadov Prin urmare, guvernul a considerat că nu a suferit un dezavantaj semnificativ în sensul articolului 35 § 3 litera (b) din Convenție.
37. În plus, Guvernul a susținut că, în orice caz, plângerile reclamantului au fost în mod evident nefondate. 38. Nu au fost admise în dosar plângerile tardive ale reclamantului. 39. În urma noilor evoluții în acest caz (a se vedea paragrafele) 21-26 de mai sus), Guvernul a declarat că această chestiune a fost acum rezolvată și a cerut Curții să elimine cererea din lista cazurilor. Reclamantul a solicitat Curții să continue examinarea cazului. Evaluarea Curții 40. Curtea consideră că nu este necesar să se stabilească dacă o chestiune care dă naștere cererii a fost rezolvată în sensul articolului 37 § 1 litera (b) din convenție, deoarece cererea este, în orice caz, inadmisibilă din următoarele motive.
41. art. 35 § 3 din convenție prevede: „3. Curtea declară inadmisibilă orice cerere individuală depusă în temeiul articolului 34 dacă consideră că: ... (b) reclamantul nu a suferit un dezavantaj semnificativ, cu excepția cazului în care respectarea drepturilor omului, astfel cum este definită în Convenția și în Protocolul respectiv, necesită o examinare a cererii cu privire la fondul și cu condiția ca niciun caz să fie respins în acest motiv care nu a fost considerat corespunzător de către un tribunal intern.” 42. În primul rând, în ceea ce privește dacă reclamantul a suferit un dezavantaj semnificativ, Curtea reiterează că o încălcare a dreptului, indiferent de cât de reală din punct de vedere pur legal, ar trebui să fie minim severă pentru a justifica o examinare de către o instanță internațională.
Evaluarea acestui nivel minim este relativă și depinde de toate circumstanțele cazului, ținând seama atât de percepțiile subiective ale reclamantului, cât și de ceea ce este obiectiv în joc. Sentimentul subiectiv al reclamantului cu privire la impactul presupuselor încălcări trebuie să fie justificat pe motive obiective (a se vedea Korolev v. Russia (dec.), nr. 25551/05, 1 iulie 2010). Concluzia că nu există astfel de dezavantaj poate fi bazată pe criterii cum ar fi impactul financiar al chestiunilor în litigiu sau importanța cazului pentru reclamant (a se vedea Gulmammadov , citat mai sus, § 25, cu alte referințe). 43. În cazul în cauză, litigiul se referă la atribuirea unei alocații lunare pentru plata facturilor de utilitate și a altor servicii, care nu constituie prima sursă de venit pentru solicitant.
Oricând, suma totală în joc era AZN 228 (aproximativ 190 EUR la momentul depunerii cererii interne, în prezent 120 EUR) (a se vedea alineatul (1)) 14 mai sus). După noua procedură din acest caz, cererea reclamantului de alocare socială a fost acordată pentru majoritatea perioadei pe care a susținut inițial în fața instanțelor interne și în plângerea sa în fața Curții (a se vedea punctul 26 de mai sus). Hotărârea Curții Supreme din 30 de ani. Mai 2018 nu specifică valoarea exactă a atribuirii și părțile nu au furnizat nici Curtei aceste informații. Cu toate acestea, calcularea atribuirii pe baza AZN 11 ( ianuarie 2006 – ianuarie 2007) și AZN 15 (februarie – martie 2007) pe lună, după cum a solicitat inițial reclamantul, suma acordată ar putea fi estimată în jurul AZN 173. Prin urmare, suma efectivă în joc pare să fie în jurul AZN 55 (aproximativ 28 EUR).
44. Curtea este conștientă că impactul pierderii pecuniare nu trebuie măsurat în termeni abstracți: chiar și prejudiciu material modeste pot fi semnificative în funcție de circumstanțele individuale ale persoanei și de situația economică a țării sau a regiunii în care trăiește (a se vedea Bazelyuk c. Ucraina (dec.), nr. 49275/08, 27 martie 2012, și Moiseyev c. Rusia (dec.), nr. 35722/04, 27 iunie 2017). Cu toate acestea, acesta observă că în acest caz reclamantul nu susține că pierderea sumei menționate mai sus ar provoca greutăți financiare grave și ar avea un impact major asupra vieții sale personale în lumina circumstanțelor sale specifice (în comparație cu Svystun și alții c. Ucraina c. (dec.), nr. 25250/16 și alte două cereri, 3 noiembrie 2016). 45. În același timp, Curtea este conștientă că suma pecuniară implicată nu este singurul element care determină dacă reclamantul a suferit un dezavantaj semnificativ.
Într-adevăr, o încălcare a Convenției poate avea legătură cu chestiuni importante de principiu și, prin urmare, ar putea provoca un dezavantaj semnificativ fără a afecta niciun interes pecuniar. Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu consideră că în cazul în care reclamantul a susținut astfel de chestiuni în acest caz în ceea ce privește plângerea sa în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 sau plângerea sa în temeiul articolului 6 privind necomunicarea apelului opozitiv la el (comparate cu Burov c. Moldova (dec.), nr. 38875/03, § 30, 14 iunie 2011, și Gulmammadov, citat mai sus, § 29). 46. În plus, din dosarul de procedură rezultă că reclamantul nu a efortat la nivel intern să solicite o copie a recursului părții opozitoare și nu a ridicat această chestiune în fața instanței de apel în timpul celor două audieri.
Prin urmare, chiar presupunând că necomunicarea apelului inculpatului către reclamant ar putea susține o chestiune de echitate a procedurii, în circumstanțele prezentului caz, nu poate fi considerată că i-a cauzat niciun dezavantaj semnificativ în ceea ce privește art. 35 alineatul (3) litera (b) din Convenția (compare Puškárová v. Slovakia (dec.), nr. 19356/14, § 21-22, 7 mai 2019). 47. Al doilea element prevăzut la art. 35 § 3 lit. (b) obligă Curtea să examineze cazul, în orice caz, dacă respectul drepturilor omului este necesar.
Acest lucru ar fi valabil atunci când un caz pune întrebări cu caracter general care afectează respectarea Convenției, de exemplu atunci când este necesar să se clarifice obligația statului contestat în temeiul Convenției sau să induce statul contestat să rezolve o deficiență structurală (a se vedea, de exemplu, Zwinkels c. Olanda (dec.), nr. 16593/10, § 28, 9 octombrie 2012). Având în vedere prezentul caz din această perspectivă, Curtea nu vede niciun motiv convingător pentru a garanta examinarea în fond (comparatul Bondarenko c. Ucraina (dec.), nr. 35432/10, 17 septembrie 2019). 48. În cele din urmă, în ceea ce privește cea de-a treia condiție a acestui criteriu de inadmisibilitate, și anume faptul că cazul trebuie să fi fost „doblă considerat” de către un tribunal intern, Curtea constată că cazul reclamantului a fost examinat de către instanțe la trei niveluri de competență în două seturi de proceduri și, ulterior, reclamația sa a fost acordată parțial de Curtea Supremă în noua procedură.
49. Prin urmare, cele trei condiții ale criteriului de inadmisibilitate care au fost îndeplinite, Curtea constată că această plângere trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în temeiul articolului 35 §§ 3 litera (b) și al articolului 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea declara în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIFTH SECTION
DECISION Application no. 2773/09 Beyler Soltan oglu ABBASOV against Azerbaijan The European Court of Human Rights (Fifth Section), sitting on 14 January 2021 as a Committee composed of: Lado Chanturia, President, Latif Hüseynov, Mattias Guyomar, judges, and Martina Keller, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to the above application lodged on 10 December 2008, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government, Having regard to the factual developments in the case and the parties’ comments in this respect, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS
The applicant, Mr Beyler Soltan oglu Abbasov, is an Azerbaijani national, who was born in 1970 and lives in Tartar. He was represented before the Court by Mr M. Mehdiyev, a lawyer based in Azerbaijan.
The Azerbaijani Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr Ç. Əsgərov. The circumstances of the case
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows.
The applicant participated in the military operations for the territorial integrity of the Republic of Azerbaijan between 7 November 1993 and 10 February 1996.
On an unspecified date in September 2004 the applicant applied to the Tartar District Military Commissariat (“the TDMC”) for a war veteran’s card.
In October 2004, November 2005 and January 2006 the TDMC sent letters to the Archive of the Ministry of Defence asking for a certificate confirming the applicant’s military service.
Meanwhile, Presidential decree no. 257 (“Decree no. 257”) establishing a monthly allowance of 11 Azerbaijani manats (AZN) for war veterans for payment of utility bills and other services became effective as of 1 August 2005 (see paragraph 29 below). On 1 January 2006 the Law on social allowances entered into force (see paragraphs 30-31 below).
On 17 April 2006 the Ministry of Defence sent the certificate sought to the TDMC.
On 22 February 2007 the TDMC sent a list to the Military Commissariat of the Republic of Azerbaijan with the details of 25 persons, including the applicant, to be awarded with war veteran status and issued a veteran’s card.
On 1 February 2007 the amount of the monthly allowance was raised to AZN 15.
On 2 April 2007 the TDMC issued a veteran’s card to the applicant.
On 17 April 2007 the applicant applied to the Tartar Office of the Centre for Social Protection of Population (“the Centre”) and was awarded a monthly allowance of AZN 15 with effect from 2 April 2007.
On 1 May 2007 the applicant lodged a civil claim with the Tartar District Court against the Centre, the TDMC and the Ministry of Defence asking for payment of AZN 243, the total unpaid allowance for the period from 1 August 2005, the date when Decree no. 257 came into force, to 2 April 2007. He argued that he had requested a veteran’s card in 2004 and the delay of two and a half years was attributable to the inactivity of the State authorities.
At the court hearing, the applicant submitted that he had received AZN 15 for April 2007 and asked the court to grant him AZN 228.
On 17 July 2007 the Tartar District Court granted the applicant’s claim. It held that the applicant was entitled to the allowance from the date Decree no. 257 came into force and that his inability to receive it during the period in question had been caused by the inactivity of the State authorities which had failed to examine the applicant’s request for a veteran’s card in a timely manner. Taking into account that the applicant had received AZN 15 for April 2007, the court ordered payment of AZN 228 to the applicant by the Centre.
The Centre lodged an appeal arguing that under the Law on veterans of 28 June 1994 the applicant was entitled to the said allowance from the date when he received the card.
On 7 September 2007 the appellate court summoned the applicant for the first appellate hearing on 8 October 2007 and informed him that he could lodge his objection to the Centre’s appeal up until that date. The applicant did not submit any comments in reply to the Centre’s appeal because no copy of it had been sent to him (see paragraph 19 below).
After two hearings, on 23 October 2007 the Court of Appeal quashed the first-instance court’s judgment and granted the Centre’s appeal. Referring to Article 7 of the Law on veterans, the appellate court found that the allowance had to be paid from the time the card had been issued.
The applicant lodged a cassation appeal reiterating his previous arguments. In addition, the applicant also complained that the appellate court had failed to send him a copy of the other party’s appeal, therefore putting him at a disadvantage vis-à-vis that party.
On 13 June 2008 the Supreme Court upheld the judgment of the appellate court reiterating its reasoning. It did not address the complaint concerning non-communication of the Centre’s appeal to the applicant. Further factual developments
On 18 August 2018 the applicant informed the Court about new proceedings he had lodged (see paragraphs 22-26 below) and submitted only the copy of the final decision (the Supreme Court’s judgment of 30 May 2018). Despite the Court’s request, the applicant failed to provide copies of the first-instance and appellate courts’ judgments and his appeals in those proceedings. The Government have not submitted any documents concerning the new proceedings either. The following can be discerned from the Supreme Court’s judgment of 30 May 2018.
On 25 September 2017 the applicant lodged a claim with the Ganja Administrative-Economic Court against the Tartar District Department of the Social Security Protection Fund asking for payment of the unpaid social allowance for the period from 2 April 2004 to 2 April 2007.
It is not clear on which provisions of domestic law the applicant based his claim. The first-instance court examined his claim on the merits, but the procedural grounds for admitting his claim for examination are also unclear.
On 16 November 2017 the first-instance court dismissed the applicant’s claim. It noted that since the applicant had obtained the card on 2 April 2007 and on that date he was already entitled to a pension, under Article 9.1 of the Law on social allowances, he could not claim the payment of allowance for the period before that date.
On 22 February 2018 the Ganja Court of Appeal dismissed the applicant’s appeal.
On 30 May 2018 the Supreme Court partly granted the applicant’s cassation appeal. It firstly noted that the delay in issuance of the veteran’s card to the applicant should not affect his rights under Article 3.1.2 of the Law on veterans. The court further found that, according to Article 9.1 of the Law on social allowances, the applicant was entitled to the payment of the allowance from the date when that Law came into force, that is from 1 January 2006. It therefore ordered the defendant authority to pay the applicant the unpaid social allowance for the period from 1 January 2006 to 2 April 2007. While doing so, the Supreme Court did not refer to Decree no. 257. However, it appears that the awarded allowance was the same as the one provided for by the Decree, namely a monthly allowance for utility bills, transport and other services. Relevant domestic law The Law on veterans of 28 June 1994
Article 3.1.2 of the Law provides that persons who participated in military actions for the territorial integrity of the Republic of Azerbaijan shall be recognised as war veterans.
Article 7 of the Law provides that terms and conditions for awarding the title of a war veteran, a veteran of the armed forces and veteran of labour shall be provided by the relevant executive authority. The privileges envisaged for veterans shall be applicable from the time of the issuance of a veteran’s card. Presidential decree no. 257 of 11 July 2005
Article 1 of the decree provides that, in order to strengthen the social protection of war veterans who participated in the military battles for the territorial integrity of the Republic of Azerbaijan, they shall be paid a monthly allowance of AZN 11 as assistance in payment of utility bills and other services. The Law on social allowances of 1 January 2006
Under Article 1.0.1 of the Law, social allowances are funds paid monthly or as a lump-sum to certain categories of persons in accordance with the procedure established by this Law for providing social support.
Article 9.1 of the Law provides that monthly allowances, regardless of the time of the request, are granted from the day the right to receive them arises, with the possibility of the payment of the sums for up to three previous years prior to applying for such allowance. COMPLAINTS
The applicant complained under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that he had not been informed of the defendant party’s appeal against the Tartar District Court’s judgment of 17 July 2007 and, therefore, had been deprived of the opportunity to lodge an objection to it.
The applicant complained under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention about the failure by the State authorities to pay him the statutory allowance, to which he was entitled as a veteran of war, for the period from 1 August 2005 to 2 April 2007. THE LAW
The applicant complained that the domestic courts’ failure to forward to him the defendant’s appeal was in breach of Article 6 of the Convention. He also complained that the domestic authorities’ refusal to award him the statutory allowance for the period claimed, referring to the issue date of his veteran’s card, which was belated due to inactivity of the State authorities, violated his rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. These provisions, in so far as relevant, read as follows: Article 6 § 1 “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a fair ... hearing ... by [a] ... tribunal ...” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” The parties’ submissions
Referring to the Court’s case-law and in particular, to the case of Gulmammadov v. Azerbaijan ((dec.), no. 33234/08, 12 December 2017), where the applicant was found not to suffer a significant financial disadvantage as a result of a fine equivalent to EUR 185, the Government argued that, similarly, in the present case, the amount claimed by the applicant was insignificant and that he had not suffered a significant disadvantage.
The Government further argued that, as in the Gulmammadov case, the applicant had not shown that the financial implications of the proceedings had represented a particular hardship for him. They also argued that, the proceedings did not concern a question of principle for him. Therefore, the Government considered that he had not suffered a significant disadvantage within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (b) of the Convention.
Further, the Government argued that, in any event, the applicant’s complaints were manifestly ill-founded.
The applicant’s belated submissions were not admitted to the case file.
Following the new developments in the present case (see paragraphs 21-26 above), the Government stated that the matter had now been resolved and asked the Court to strike the application out of the list of cases. The applicant asked the Court to continue the examination of the case. The Court’s assessment
The Court considers that it is not necessary to determine whether the matter giving rise to the application has been resolved within the meaning of Article 37 § 1 (b) of the Convention, as the application is in any event inadmissible for the following reasons.
Article 35 § 3 of the Convention reads: “3. The Court shall declare inadmissible any individual application submitted under Article 34 if it considers that: ... (b) the applicant has not suffered a significant disadvantage, unless respect for human rights as defined in the Convention and the Protocols thereto requires an examination of the application on the merits and provided that no case may be rejected on this ground which has not been duly considered by a domestic tribunal.”
First, as to whether the applicant suffered a significant disadvantage, the Court reiterates that a violation of a right, however real from a purely legal point of view, should be minimally severe to warrant consideration by an international court. The assessment of this minimum level is relative and depends on all the circumstances of the case, taking account of both the applicant’s subjective perceptions and what is objectively at stake. The applicant’s subjective feeling about the impact of the alleged violations has to be justifiable on objective grounds (see Korolev v. Russia (dec.), no. 25551/05, 1 July 2010). The finding that no such disadvantage exists can be based on criteria such as the financial impact of the matter in dispute or the importance of the case for the applicant (see Gulmammadov , cited above, § 25, with further references).
In the present case, the dispute concerned the award of a monthly allowance for payment of utility bills and other services, which did not constitute the primary source of income for the applicant. Originally, the overall amount at stake was AZN 228 (approximately EUR 190 at the time of lodging the domestic claim, currently EUR 120) (see paragraph 14 above). Following the new proceedings in the present case, the applicant’s claim for social allowance was granted for most of the period that he originally claimed before the domestic courts and in his complaint before the Court (see paragraph 26 above). The Supreme Court’s judgment of 30 May 2018 does not specify the exact amount of the award and the parties have not provided the Court with such information either. However, calculating the award on the basis of AZN 11 (January 2006 – January 2007) and AZN 15 (February - March 2007) per month, as originally claimed by the applicant, the amount awarded could be estimated to be around AZN 173. Therefore, the actual amount at stake appears to be around AZN 55 (approximately EUR 28).
The Court is conscious that the impact of pecuniary loss must not be measured in abstract terms: even modest pecuniary damage may be significant in the light of the person’s individual circumstances and the economic situation of the country or region in which he lives (see Bazelyuk v. Ukraine (dec.), no. 49275/08, 27 March 2012, and Moiseyev v. Russia (dec.), no. 35722/04, 27 June 2017). However, it observes that in the present case the applicant does not argue that the loss of the above-mentioned sum would cause him serious financial hardship and have a major impact on his personal life in the light of his specific circumstances (compare Svystun and Others v. Ukraine (dec.), no. 25250/16 and two other applications, 3 November 2016).
At the same time the Court is mindful that the pecuniary sum involved is not the only element that determines whether the applicant has suffered a significant disadvantage. Indeed, a violation of the Convention may concern important questions of principle and thus cause a significant disadvantage without affecting any pecuniary interest. However, the Court does not consider that any such issues have been raised by the applicant in the present case in respect of his complaint under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 or his complaint under Article 6 concerning non-communication of the opposing party’s appeal to him (compare Burov v. Moldova (dec.), no.38875/03, § 30, 14 June 2011, and Gulmammadov, cited above, § 29).
Moreover, it appears from the case file that the applicant made no effort at domestic level to request a copy of the opposing party’s appeal and failed to raise this issue before the appellate court during its two hearings. Therefore, even assuming that the non-communication of the defendant’s appeal to the applicant could raise an issue of fairness of the proceedings, in the circumstances of the present case, it may not be seen as having caused any significant disadvantage to him in terms of Article 35 § 3 (b) of the Convention (compare Puškárová v. Slovakia (dec.), no. 19356/14, §§ 21-22, 7 May 2019).
The second element set out in Article 35 § 3 (b) compels the Court to examine the case in any event if respect for human rights so requires. This would apply where a case raises questions of a general character affecting the observance of the Convention, for instance where there is a need to clarify the respondent State’s obligation under the Convention or to induce the respondent State to resolve a structural deficiency (see, for example, Zwinkels v. the Netherlands (dec.), no. 16593/10, § 28, 9 October 2012). Considering the present case from this perspective the Court does not see any compelling reason to warrant its examination on the merits (compare Bondarenko v. Ukraine (dec.), no. 35432/10, 17 September 2019).
Lastly, as regards the third condition of this inadmissibility criterion, namely that the case must have been “duly considered” by a domestic tribunal, the Court notes that the applicant’s case was examined by courts at three levels of jurisdiction in two sets of proceedings and his claim was subsequently partially granted by the Supreme Court in the new proceedings.
The three conditions of the inadmissibility criterion having therefore been satisfied, the Court finds that this complaint must be declared inadmissible under Article 35 §§ 3 (b) and 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 4 February 2021. {signature_p_2} Martina Keller Lado Chanturia Deputy Registrar President