- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 6 septembrie 2022
- Stat pârât
- HUN
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Horváth împotriva Ungariei
Traducere în română Auto
PRIMEA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE Nr. 10490/16 László HORVÁTH împotriva Ungariei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), care a stat la 6 septembrie 2022 în calitate de comitet compus din: Alena Poláčková , președinte, Péter Paczolay Davor Derenčinović , judecători și Liv Tigerstedt, secretar adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea (nu.
10490/16) împotriva Ungariei depusă în fața Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 27 ianuarie 2016 de un național maghiar, dl László Horváth, care s-a născut în 1964 și locuiește în Budapesta („reclamantul”), reprezentat de dl A. Cech, avocat practicant în Budapesta; hotărârea de a anunța cererea către Guvernul maghiar („Guvernul”), reprezentată de agentul lor, dl Z. Tallódi, Ministerul Justiției; observațiile părților; după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: Cererea se referă la suspendarea plății „indemnității de serviciu” (în precedență, înainte de modificarea legislativă, „pensiune de serviciu”) a reclamantului, un ofițer de poliție pensionat cu 26 de ani de serviciu, deoarece veniturile sale din post-retragere de locuri de muncă private au atins un prag legal în anii 2012-2016.
Acest prag a fost atins, în conformitate cu art. 83/B din Legea din 1997 privind pensiile, în cazul în care baza de pensii acumulată (în legătură cu ocuparea post-pensiune) a atins de 18 de ori valoarea salariului minim lunar statutar. În astfel de cazuri, se suspendă alocația pentru restul anului în cauză. Sistemul se aplică până la atingerea vârstei generale de pensionare, după care o pensie este plătită în conformitate cu normele generale. Reclamantul recurge la instanțele obișnuite și la Curtea Constituțională nu au avut niciun folos. În special, aceasta din urmă deținută în hotărârile nr. 3061/2015. (IV.10.) și 3112/2016. (VI.3.) faptul că alocația în cauză a fost un avantaj social care corespunde indigenței, mai degrabă unui drept dobândit și, prin urmare, dreptul constituțional la proprietate nu a fost încălcat.
În plus, instanța a susținut că alocația a fost concepută pentru a compensa pierderea veniturilor și, prin urmare, în cazul în care un beneficiar are venituri din alte surse care depășesc o anumită sumă, atunci nu există o necesitate rezonabilă de compensare. Este adevărat că legea a făcut distincții, deoarece numai anumite tipuri de venituri trebuie luate în considerare în ceea ce privește suspendarea. Cu toate acestea, această distincție se bazează pe sursa veniturilor. În consecință, orice tratament diferențiat a fost între venituri diferite mai degrabă decât persoanele. Reclamantul s-a plâns că această situație a constituit o interferență nejustificată cu drepturile sale de proprietate, în încălcarea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. În plus, se recurge la art. 14 citit coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, el a susținut, de asemenea, că măsura impugnată este discriminatorie.
1, reclamantul s-a plâns de transformarea pensiei de serviciu, fără impozite și protejate în fosta Constituție, în alocație de serviciu, impozită și nu mai beneficiată de protecție în temeiul Legii fundamentale. În plus, în observațiile sale, suspendarea recurentă a indemnității a constituit o interferență ilegală și nejustificată cu drepturile sale de proprietate. Guvernul nu este de acord. În ceea ce privește transformarea pensiei de serviciu în alocație de serviciu, Curtea a susținut deja că aceaceasta a fost o măsură legală care nu a reprezentat o sarcină individuală excesivă (a se vedea Markovics și alții c. Ungaria (dec.), nr. 77575/11 și altele 2, §§§ 34 și 42, 24 iunie 2014). Curtea nu consideră niciun motiv să se depărteze de această concluzie.
În ceea ce privește suspendarea în sine, Curtea constată că părțile diferă în ceea ce privește dacă alocația constituie o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, în timp ce reclamantul susține afirmativ, Guvernul a aprobat poziția Curții Constituționale în sens contrar. Curtea, din partea sa, nu consideră necesar să decidă această întrebare, deoarece această plângere este, în orice caz, inadmisibilă pentru următoarele motive.
La început, Curtea constată că măsura a fost prescrisă prin lege (Legea din 1997 privind pensiile) și poate fi luată ca fiind destinată să servească interesul general al politicilor economice și sociale (a se vedea Markovics și alții, citat mai sus, § 34). În ceea ce privește proporționalitatea sa, Curtea acceptă sugestiile guvernului potrivit căreia alocația în calitate de aceștia vizează înlocuirea unui venit pe care beneficiarul, din cauza circumstanțelor specifice de a nu mai fi în serviciul de poliție activă, nu poate genera. Pentru Curte, această ipoteză este valabil atâta timp cât beneficiarul nu este prezent pe piața forței de muncă. În cazul în care retragerea decide să ia o ocupare de muncă, justificarea alocației evoluează.
Deoarece venitul beneficiarului într-un an dat a ajuns de 18 de ori la valoarea salariului minim lunar legal, situația indigenței a încetat să existe în acel an. Având în vedere marja largă de apreciere a autorităților naționale în materie socioeconomică și în protecția poșetei publice, Curtea acceptă acest prag, destul de ridicat, ca fiind irazonabil, în special deoarece suspendarea se referă doar la un an calendaristic și, în plus, la valoarea pragului crește de fiecare dată la modificările salariale minime statutare. În plus, schema impugat este, mai ales, valabil doar până când o persoană ajunge la vârsta obișnuită de pensionare, după care pensia este deturnată în întregime, în conformitate cu normele generale.
10. Aceste considerații sunt suficiente pentru ca Curtea să constate că reclamantul nu a suportat o sarcină individuală excesivă (a se vedea, de asemenea, în contextul articolului 83/C din Legea din 1997 privind pensiile, care conține o regulă similară de interzicere a unei compensații duble, Fábián c. Ungaria [GC], nr. 78117/13, § 84, 5 septembrie 2017). Rezultă că nu există nici o indicație de încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Prezenta plângere este, prin urmare, evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 litera (a) și trebuie respinsă, în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4 din Convenție.
11. În plus, reclamantul a susținut că măsura reclamată a fost discriminatorie din diferite unghiuri, în acest sens (i) se aplică numai în cazul în care activitatea secundară a fost desfășurată în Ungaria, în loc de în străinătate; (ii) se aplică numai persoanelor care au primit o indemnizație de servicii care au vârsta mai mică de 57 ani la 1 ianuarie 2012; și (iii) persoane care au semnat un contract voluntar de reservist cu forțele armate au fost scutite. 12. Din nou, Guvernul nu a fost de acord, susținând, printre altele, că reclamantul a greșit legea. 13. Curtea reamintește că numai diferențele de tratament bazate pe o caracteristică identificabilă sau „status” sunt capabile să echivaleze la discriminare în sensul art. 14, însă lista caracteristicilor prevăzute la art. 14 este ilustrativă și nu exhaustivă.
Pentru ca o problemă să apară în temeiul articolului 14, trebuie să existe o diferență în tratamentul persoanelor în situații analoge sau relevante similare. Un reclamant trebuie să demonstreze că, având în vedere natura particulară a plângerii sale, el sau ea a fost într-o situație relevant similară celorlalte tratate diferit (a se vedea, printre multe autorități, Valkov și altele c. Bulgaria, nr. 2033/04 și altele 8 §§ 115-16, 25 octombrie 2011). 14. Prin urmare, trebuie să se cercete dacă reclamantul a putut demonstra că, în scopul suspendării alocației de servicii, el a fost într-o situație relevantă similară cu alți pensionari care beneficiază de scutirile (i)-iii) (a se vedea punctul 11 de mai sus).
Principalul argument al reclamantului în sprijinul afirmației sale că se afla într-o astfel de situație este, în esență, faptul că este imposibil să se facă o distincție validă, în scopuri de pensie, între caracteristicile grupurilor respective. Cu toate acestea, Curtea nu este dispusă să tragă concluzii pe baza implicațiilor pensiilor/beneficiilor din ocuparea forței de muncă interne sau străine, asupra iminenței vârstei generale de pensionare sau asupra existenței contractelor de rezervă.
Acestea sunt hotărâri de politică care sunt în principiu rezervate autorităților naționale, care sunt mai bine plasate decât o instanță internațională pentru a evalua nevoile și condițiile locale (a se vedea, mutatis mutandis, Valkov , citată mai sus, § 117). 15. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că, pentru lipsa unei situații relevante similare, nu există nici o indicație de încălcare a drepturilor reclamantului în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenția a citit în conjuncție cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 (a se vedea, mutatis mutandis și în contextul ocupării forței de muncă publice și private, Fábián , citat mai sus, § 133). 16. Rezultă că această parte a cererii este, de asemenea, evident bolnavă fondată în sensul art. 35 § 3 lit. (a) și trebuie respinsă, în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4 din Convenție.
Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Efectuată în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 29 septembrie 2022. Liv Tigerstedt Alena Poláčková Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 10490/16 László HORVÁTH against Hungary The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 6 September 2022 as a Committee composed of: Alena Poláčková , President, Péter Paczolay , Davor Derenčinović , Judges, and Liv Tigerstedt, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 10490/16) against Hungary lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 27 January 2016 by a Hungarian national, Mr László Horváth, who was born in 1964 and lives in Budapest (“the applicant”), who was represented by Mr A. Cech, a lawyer practising in Budapest; the decision to give notice of the application to the Hungarian Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Mr Z. Tallódi, Ministry of Justice; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The application concerns the suspension of payment of the ‘service allowance’ (previously, before a legislative amendment, ‘service pension’) of the applicant, a retired police officer with 26 years of service, because his income from post-retirement private employment reached a statutory threshold in the years 2012 to 2016. This threshold was attained, according to former section 83/B of the Pensions Act 1997, if the accrued pension-base (related to the post-retirement employment) reached eighteen times the amount of the statutory minimum monthly salary. In such cases the disbursement of the allowance is suspended for the rest of the year concerned. The scheme applies until the general age of retirement is reached, after which a pension is paid under the general rules.
The applicant’s legal recourses to the ordinary courts and the Constitutional Court were to no avail. In particular, the latter held in decisions nos. 3061/2015. (IV.10.) and 3112/2016. (VI.3.) that the allowance in question was a social benefit corresponding to indigence, rather than an acquired right, and thus the constitutional right to property was not infringed. The court further held that the allowance was designed to compensate the loss of income and therefore if a beneficiary had income from other sources which exceeded a certain amount, then there was no reasonable need for compensation. It was true that the law made distinctions, since only certain types of income had to be taken into consideration regarding the suspension. However, this distinction relied on the source of the income. Consequently, any differential treatment was between different incomes rather than persons.
The applicant complained that this state of affairs amounted to an unjustified interference with his property rights, in breach of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. Moreover, relying of Article 14 read in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, he also argued that the impugned measure was discriminatory.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
4. Under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, the applicant complained of the transformation of the service pension, tax free and protected in the former Constitution, into service allowance, which was taxable and no longer enjoyed protection under the Fundamental Law. Moreover, in his submissions, the recurrent suspension of the allowance amounted to an unlawful and unjustified interference with his property rights.
The Government disagreed.
As regards the transformation of the service pension into service allowance, the Court has already held that this was a lawful measure which did not represent an excessive individual burden (see Markovics and Others v. Hungary (dec.), nos. 77575/11 and 2 others, §§ 34 and 42, 24 June 2014). The Court sees no reason to depart from this conclusion.
Concerning the suspension itself, the Court notes that the parties differ as to whether the allowance constituted a “possession” for the purposes of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1: whereas the applicant argued in the affirmative, the Government endorsed the position of the Constitutional Court to the contrary. The Court, for its part, does not find it necessary to decide this question, because this complaint is in any event inadmissible for the following reasons.
At the outset, the Court finds that the measure was prescribed by law (the Pensions Act 1997) and can be taken as having aimed at serving the general interest of economic and social policies (see Markovics and Others , cited above, § 34).
Turning to its proportionality, the Court accepts the Government’s suggestion that the allowance as such aimed to substitute for an income which the beneficiary, due to the specific circumstance of no longer being in active police service, cannot generate. For the Court, this hypothesis is valid so long as the beneficiary is not present on the labour market. Should the retiree decide to take up an employment, the rationale of the allowance evolves. The lawmaker stipulated that once the beneficiary’s income in a given year reached eighteen times the amount of the statutory minimum monthly salary, the situation of indigence ceased to exist in that year. Given the national authorities’ wide margin of appreciation in socio-economic matters and in protecting the public purse, the Court accepts this threshold, rather high, as not being unreasonable, especially since the suspension only concerns one calendar year at a time and, moreover, the threshold amount increases every time the statutory minimum salary changes. Furthermore, the impugned scheme is, importantly, only valid until a person reaches the ordinary retirement age, after which pension is disbursed in full, under the general rules.
These considerations are sufficient for the Court to find that the applicant did not have to bear an excessive individual burden (see also, in the context of section 83/C of the Pensions Act 1997 containing a similar rule of prohibition of double compensation, Fábián v. Hungary [GC], no. 78117/13, § 84, 5 September 2017). It follows that there is no indication of a violation of his rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. This complaint is therefore manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) and must be rejected, pursuant to Article 35 § 4 of the Convention.
Moreover, the applicant submitted that the measure complained of was discriminatory from various angles, in that (i) it applied only if the secondary activity was performed in Hungary, rather than abroad; (ii) it applied only to persons in receipt of service allowance who were younger than 57 years of age on 1 January 2012; and (iii) persons who signed a voluntary contract of reservist with the armed forces were exempted.
Again, the Government disagreed, arguing inter alia that the applicant misconstrued the law.
The Court recalls that only differences in treatment based on an identifiable characteristic, or “status”, are capable of amounting to discrimination within the meaning of Article
However, the list of characteristics set out in Article 14 is illustrative and not exhaustive. For an issue to arise under Article 14, there must be a difference in the treatment of persons in analogous, or relevantly similar, situations. An applicant must demonstrate that, having regard to the particular nature of his or her complaint, he or she was in a relevantly similar situation to others treated differently (see, among many authorities, Valkov and Others v. Bulgaria , nos. 2033/04 and 8 others, §§ 115-16, 25 October 2011). 14. It must therefore be ascertained whether the applicant has been able to demonstrate that, for the purposes of suspension of service allowance, he was in a relevantly similar situation to other retirees benefiting from the exemptions (i) to (iii) (see paragraph 11 above). The applicant’s main argument in support of his assertion that he was in such a situation is in essence that it is impossible to draw a valid distinction, for pension purposes, between the characteristics of the respective groups. However, the Court is not prepared to draw conclusions based on the pension/benefit implications of domestic or foreign employment, on the imminency of general retirement age, or on the existence of reservist contracts. It is not for an international court to make pronouncements on such matters. Those are policy judgments that are in principle reserved for the national authorities, which are better placed than an international court to evaluate local needs and conditions (see, mutatis mutandis , Valkov , cited above, § 117).
The Court therefore concludes that, for want of a relevantly similar situation, there is no indication of a violation of the applicant’s rights under Article 14 of the Convention read in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 (see also, mutatis mutandis and in the context of public and private employments, Fábián , cited above, § 133).
It follows that this part of the application is likewise manifestly ill ‑ founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) and must be rejected, pursuant to Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 29 September 2022. Liv Tigerstedt Alena Poláčková Deputy Registrar President