- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 11 iulie 2000
- Stat pârât
- DEU
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
H.T. împotriva Germaniei
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 38073/97 de H. T. împotriva Germaniei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 11 iulie 200 în calitate de Cameră compusă de A. Pastor Ridruejo, Președintele G. Ress, L. Caflisch, J. Makarczyk, I. Cabral Barreto, dna N. Vajić, M. Pellonpää, judecători și V. Berger, grefierul secțiunii având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la 31 iulie 1997 cu Comisia Europeană a Drepturilor Omului și înregistrată la 7 octombrie 1997, având în vedere art. 5 § 2 din Protocolul nr. 11 la Convenție, prin care competența de a examina cererea a fost transferată Curții, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul este un național german, născut în 1938 și trăiește în Mettmann.
Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Într-o scrisoare din 30 decembrie 1985 adresată Biroului de Pensiuni Rheinprovinz ( Landesversicherungsanstalt ), reclamantul și soțul ei, născuți în 1927, au declarat că, în scopul dreptului la pensia unei văduve sau a unui văduv, normele legale încă în vigoare ar trebui să continue să se aplice în viitor (a se vedea mai jos, "Legea internă relevantă privind normele de pensie în cauză"). La 4 martie 1986, după moartea soțului ei, reclamantul a solicitat cu Oficiul de Asigurări Rheinprovinz pentru plata pensiei de supraviețuitor.
La 10 iunie 1986, Oficiul de Asigurare a emis o decizie care acordă reclamantului o pensie de supraviețuitor începând cu 1 martie 1986. Oficiul, referindu-se la dispoziția relevantă a Legii privind pensiile muncitorilor (reforma), a afirmat, de asemenea, că, în cazul în care persoana în cauză are alte venituri câștigate sau venituri în loc de veniturile câștigate, plata pensiei de supraviețuitor nu a fost suspendată în primul an de la moartea soțului. Pe parcursul celui de-al doilea an, pensia supraviețuitorului a fost redusă cu un procent specific în ceea ce privește o sumă exonerată dinamică. La 20 iunie 1986, reclamantul a depus o plângere administrativă ( Widerspruch ) la Biroul Pensiunilor, care a fost respinsă la 24 martie 1987. Prin argumente din data de 27 aprilie 1987, reclamantul, reprezentat de avocat, a instituít proceduri cu Curtea Socială Düsseldorf, contestand deciziile de mai sus emise de Oficiul de Pensiuni Rheinprovinz.
În special, ea a susținut că legislația de bază, în special limita de vârstă pentru opunerea din noul sistem, a fost neconstituțională, adică în încălcarea dreptului la proprietate. În acest sens, reclamantul a remarcat că, în conformitate cu informațiile furnizate de Ministerul Federal al Muncii și problemelor sociale ( Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales ), o plângere constituțională ( Verfassungsbeschwerde ) cu privire la această chestiune era în așteptare în fața Curții Constituționale Federale. La 24 iunie 1987, Curtea socială Düsseldorf a suspendat procedura în temeiul articolului 251 din Codul de Procedură Civilă (Zivilprozesordnung) La 14 august 1987, Oficiul de Pensiuni Rheinprovinz a reevaluat pensia de supraviețuire a reclamantului.
Având în vedere celelalte venituri, Oficiul a suspendat plata lunară a DEM967.10. Prin argumentele din 10 septembrie 1987, reclamantul a depus o acțiune în fața Curții Sociale Düsseldorf împotriva hotărârii din 14 august 1987. Ea a sugerat din nou suspendarea procedurii în așteptarea procedurii constituționale în cadrul unui caz similar. A doua sesiune a procedurii a fost, de asemenea, suspendată. La 26 februarie 1993, reclamantul solicită Curtea Socială să relueze procedurile suspendate, menționând că, între timp, Curtea Constituțională Federală nu a luat nici o hotărâre cu privire la dispoziția juridică în cauză în cazul său. La 17 martie 1993, Curtea Socială a informat reclamantul că procedura a fost reluată.
La 22 iulie 1993, Curtea Socială a întrebat cu Curtea Constituțională Federală despre starea procedurii de plângere constituțională privind anumite aspecte ale reformei normelor care reglementează pensia de supraviețuire. La 5 august 1993, Curtea Constituțională Federală a informat Curtea Socială că două proceduri s-au încheiat în 1987 și că a avut în vedere adoptarea unei decizii în trei alte cazuri în 1994. La 17 septembrie 1993, Curtea Socială a organizat o ședință orală. La 5 iunie 1996, reclamantul solicită Curtea Socială să relueze procesul și a susținut că, având în vedere durata procedurii în fața Curții Constituționale Federale și având în vedere vârsta ei, nu mai ar putea aștepta. La 18 iunie 1996, Curtea Socială a informat reclamantul că procedura a fost reluată.
La 5 februarie 1998, Curtea Socială a întrebat din nou cu Curtea Constituțională Federală în legătură cu starea proceselor complete în fața acesteia. La 18 februarie 1998, Curtea Constituțională Federală a respins două plângeri constituționale. Curtea Constituțională Federală a constatat că normele introduse în Legea privind pensiile și perioadele educaționale ale supraviețuitorilor, în măsura în care au prevăzut suspendarea plății de pensii ale supraviețuitorului în cazul altor venituri câștigate sau venituri în locul veniturilor câștigate, au fost compatibile cu Legea de bază (Grundgesetz La 7 mai 1998, Curtea Socială a transmis decizia Curții Constituționale Federale avocatului reclamantului și l-a solicitat să facă observații.
După un aviz, avocatul reclamantului a solicitat o prelungire a termenului. După un aviz suplimentar, avocatul reclamantului a informat Curtea Socială la 13 octombrie 1998 că nu mai reprezenta reclamantul. La 17 martie 1999, Curtea Socială a respins acțiunea reclamantului, constatând în special că în 1987 Curtea Constituțională Federală a declarat termenul de 50 de ani compatibil cu Legea de bază. Deciziile din 1998 nu au avut nici un impact asupra deciziei sale, deoarece nu au tratat obiectul acțiunii reclamantului. Înainte de 1 ianuarie 1986, bărbați și femei au trebuit să îndeplinească condiții diferite pentru dreptul la pensia de văduvă sau respectiv de văduvă. În timp ce, în general, o văduvă avea dreptul la pensia de văduvă, un văduv nu putea obține plata pensiei de văduvă decât dacă soția sa îndepărtată a avut în vedere în principal întreținerea familiei.
În martie 1975, Curtea Constituțională Federală a susținut că, având în vedere modificările rolului femeilor în căsătorie și în familie și pe piața forței de muncă, normele existente care stabilesc condiții diferite de drept la pensia unei văduve sau a unui văduv trebuiau înlocuite cu legislația care evită discriminarea. La 1 ianuarie 1986, Legea privind pensia și perioada educațională a supraviețuitorilor ( Hinterbliebenrenten- und Erziehungszeiten-Gesetz ) din 11 iulie 1985, de modificare a dispozițiilor relevante ale Legii de Pensiuni a Angajaților ( Angestelltenversicherungsgesetz ), a Legii de Asigurare a Reich ( Reichsversicherungsordnung) și a Actului Reich Miners ( Reichknappschaftsgesetz ), au intrat în vigoare.
Reich Legea de asigurare, aplicată lucrătorilor, și Legea de pensii angajaților, aplicată angajaților, împreună cu legislația de reformă, și anume Legea de pensie a lucrătorilor (Reform) (Arbeiterentversicherungs-Neuregelungsgesetz) și Legea de pensie a lucrătorilor (Reform) (Angestelstenversicherungs-Neuregelungsgesetz), au constituit baza sistemului general de asigurare a vârstei ( Gesetzliche Rentenversicherung der Arbeiter und Angestellten O văduvă are dreptul la o pensie de supraviețuire după moartea soțului său asigurat, iar un văduv are dreptul la o pensie de supraviețuire după moartea soției sale asigurate. În plus, în conformitate cu noua legislație, venitul sau venitul câștigat al supraviețuitorului în locul venitului câștigat este luat în considerare.
Potrivit raportului explicativ, această ultimă regulă a fost justificată din cauza funcției de întreținere a pensiei de supraviețuitor (60% din ultimul venit al soților). Reforma a avut loc numai cazuri de pensii începând cu data de 1 ianuarie 1986. În plus, pentru o perioadă de tranziție până la 31 decembrie 1988, soții ar putea opta pentru vechiul regim dacă au fost căsătoriți înainte de 1 ianuarie 1986 și dacă amândoi au fost în vârstă de 50 de ani în acel moment. Legislația de reformă ulterioră, inclusiv un regim uniform de pensii pentru lucrători și angajați, nu a afectat substanța legislației de mai sus referitoare la o pensie de supraviețuire. Codul de procedură civilă Conform secțiunii 251 din Codul de procedură civilă, o instanță suspendă procedurile la cererea părților în cazul în care o astfel de suspendare pare rezonabilă din cauza negocierilor de decontare sau din alte motive importante.
Denumirea reclamantului se referă la durata procedurii, care a început la 27 aprilie 1987 și s-a încheiat la 17 martie 1999 când acțiunea reclamantului a fost respinsă de Curtea Socială Düsseldorf. Prin urmare, acestea au durat aproape 12 ani. Potrivit reclamantului, durata procedurii este încălcarea cerinței de „tempo rațional” prevăzute la art. 6 § 1 din convenție. Guvernul respinge afirmația și consideră că durata procedurii se datorează în principal cererilor reclamanților de suspendare a procedurii. Curtea consideră, având în vedere criteriile stabilite în jurisprudența sa privind problema „templ rezonabil” (complexitatea cauzei, comportamentul reclamantului și al autorităților competente) și având în vedere toate informațiile în posesia sa, că este necesară o examinare a meritelor acestei plângeri.
Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, DECLARA APLICAȚIA ADMISSIBILĂ , fără a prejudeca meritele cazului. Vincent Berger Antonio Pastor Ridruejo Președintele grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 38073/97 by H. T. against Germany The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 11 July 200 as a Chamber composed of Mr A. Pastor Ridruejo, President , Mr G. Ress, Mr L. Caflisch, Mr J. Makarczyk, Mr I. Cabral Barreto, Mrs N. Vajić, Mr M. Pellonpää, judges , and Mr V. Berger, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced with the European Commission of Human Rights on 31 July 1997 and registered on 7 October 1997, Having regard to Article 5 § 2 of Protocol No. 11 to the Convention, by which the competence to examine the application was transferred to the Court, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant is a German national, born in 1938 and living in Mettmann.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. A. Particular circumstances of the case In a letter of 30 December 1985 addressed to the Rheinprovinz Pension Office ( Landesversicherungsanstalt ), the applicant and her husband, born in 1927, declared that for the purposes of entitlement to a widow’s or a widower’s pension the statutory rules still in force should continue to apply in future (see below, "Relevant domestic law on the pension rules at issue"). On 4 March 1986, following her husband’s death, the applicant applied with the Rheinprovinz Insurance Office for the payment of a survivor’s pension.
On 10 June 1986 the Insurance Office issued a decision granting the applicant a survivor’s pension as from 1 March 1986. The Office, referring to the relevant provision of the Workers’ Pension (Reform) Act, further stated that in case that the person concerned had other earned income or income in lieu of earned income, the payment of the survivor’s pension was not suspended during the first year after the spouse’s death. During the second year, the survivor’s pension was reduced by a specific percentage in relation to a dynamic exonerated amount. On 20 June 1986 the applicant lodged an administrative complaint ( Widerspruch ) with the Pensions Office, which was dismissed on 24 March 1987. By submissions dated 27 April 1987, the applicant, represented by counsel, instituted proceedings with the Düsseldorf Social Court, challenging the above decisions issued by the Rheinprovinz Pension Office.
She maintained in particular that the underlying legislation, especially the age-limit for opting out of the new system, was unconstitutional, i.e. in breach of the right to property. In this respect, the applicant noted that, according to information provided by the Federal Ministry for Labour and Social Matters ( Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales ), a constitutional complaint ( Verfassungsbeschwerde ) concerning the above issue was pending before the Federal Constitutional Court. She suggested that the proceedings before the Social Court be suspended to await the outcome of the said constitutional complaint proceedings. With her action, the applicant also objected to the calculation of the pension in question.
On 24 June 1987 the Düsseldorf Social Court suspended the proceedings pursuant to Section 251 of the Code of Civil Procedure ( Zivilprozessordnung ). On 14 August 1987 the Rheinprovinz Pensions Office reassessed the applicant’s survivor’s pension. Taking her other income into account, the Office suspended the monthly payment of DEM967.10. By submissions of 10 September 1987, the applicant filed an action with the Düsseldorf Social Court against the decision of 14 August 1987. She again suggested that the proceedings be suspended pending constitutional complaint proceedings in a similar case. The second set of proceedings was, thereupon, also suspended. On 26 February 1993 the applicant requested the Social Court to resume the suspended proceedings.
She noted that in the meantime the Federal Constitutional Court had not taken any decisions concerning the legal provision at issue in her case. On 17 March 1993 the Social Court informed the applicant that the proceedings had been resumed. On 22 July 1993 the Social Court inquired with the Federal Constitutional Court about the state of the constitutional complaint proceedings concerning certain aspects of the reform of the rules governing a survivor’s pension. On 5 August 1993 the Federal Constitutional Court informed the Social Court that two proceedings had terminated in 1987 and that it envisaged rendering a decision in three further cases in 1994. On 17 September 1993 the Social Court held an oral hearing.
Following discussion, the parties agreed to a further suspension of the proceedings. On 5 June 1996 the applicant requested the Social Court to resume the proceedings. She submitted that, having regard to the length of the proceedings before the Federal Constitutional Court and considering her age, she could no longer be expected to wait. On 18 June 1996 the Social Court informed the applicant that the proceedings had been resumed. On 5 February 1998 the Social Court inquired again with the Federal Constitutional Court about the state of complete proceedings before it. On 18 February 1998 the Federal Constitutional Court dismissed two constitutional complaints.
The Federal Constitutional Court found that the rules introduced by the Survivor’s Pension and Educational Periods Act, in so far as they provided for a suspension of the survivor’s pension payment in case of other earned income or income in lieu of earned income, were compatible with the Basic Law ( Grundgesetz ). On 7 May 1998 the Social Court forwarded the Federal Constitutional Court's decision to the applicant's counsel and requested him for comments. After a reminder, the applicant's counsel asked for an extension of the time limit. After a further reminder, the applicant's counsel informed the Social Court on 13 October 1998 that he was no longer representing the applicant. On 17 March 1999 the Social Court dismissed the applicant's action.
It found in particular that in 1987 the Federal Constitutional Court had declared the age-limit of 50 years compatible with the Basic Law. The decisions of 1998 had no impact on its decision as they did not deal with the object of the applicant's action. B. Relevant domestic law 1. Pension rules Before 1 January 1986 men and women had to meet different conditions for entitlement to a widow’s or a widower’s pension, respectively. While a widow was generally entitled to a widow’s pension, a widower could only obtain payment of a widower’s pension if his late wife had mainly provided for the family’s maintenance. In March 1975 the Federal Constitutional Court had held that, having regard to changes in the role of women in marriage and family and the labour market, the existing rules fixing different conditions for entitlement to a widow’s or a widower’s pension had to be replaced by legislation avoiding discrimination.
On 1 January 1986 the Survivor’s Pension and Educational Periods Act ( Hinterbliebenenrenten- und Erziehungszeiten-Gesetz ) of 11 July 1985, amending the relevant provisions of the Employees’ Pension Act ( Angestelltenversicherungsgesetz ), the Reich Insurance Act ( Reichsversicherungsordnung) and the Reich Miners’ Act ( Reichknappschaftsgesetz ), entered into force.
The Reich Insurance Act, applying to workers, and the Employees’ Pension Act, applying to employees, together with the reform legislation, namely the Workers’ Pension (Reform) Act ( Arbeiterrentenversicherungs-Neuregelungsgesetz ) and the Employees’ Pension (Reform) Act ( Angestelltenversicherungs-Neuregelungsgesetz ), formed the basis of the general old age insurance system ( gesetzliche Rentenversicherung der Arbeiter und Angestellten ). A widow is entitled to a survivor’s pension after the death of her insured husband, and a widower is entitled to a survivor’s pension after the death of his insured wife. Moreover, pursuant to the new legislation, a survivor’s earned income or income in lieu of earned income is taken into account.
According to the explanatory report, the latter rule was justified on account of the maintenance function of a survivor’s pension (60% of the spouses’ last income). The reform only concerned pension cases having occurred as from 1January 1986. Furthermore, for a transitional period until 31 December 1988, spouses could opt for the old regime if they had been married before 1 January 1986 and if they were both older than 50years at that time. Subsequent reform legislation, including a uniform pension regime for workers and employees, did not affect the substance of the above legislation concerning a survivor’s pension. 2. Code of Civil Procedure According to Section 251 of the Code of Civil Procedure, a court suspends proceedings upon the request of the parties if such a suspension appears reasonable on account of settlement negotiations or for other important reasons.
THE LAW The applicant’s complaint relates to the length of the proceedings, which began on 27 April 1987 and ended on 17 March 1999 when the applicant's action was dismissed by the Düsseldorf Social Court. They therefore lasted nearly 12 years. According to the applicant, the length of the proceedings is in breach of the “reasonable time” requirement laid down in Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. The Government reject the allegation. They consider that the length of the proceedings is mainly due to the applicants' requests to suspend the proceedings. The Court considers, in the light of the criteria established in its case-law on the question of “reasonable time” (the complexity of the case, the applicant’s conduct and that of the competent authorities), and having regard to all the information in its possession, that an examination of the merits of this complaint is required.
For these reasons, the Court, unanimously,
DECLARES THE APPLICATION ADMISSIBLE
, without prejudging the merits of the case. Vincent Berger Antonio Pastor Ridruejo Registrar President