- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 12 aprilie 2001
- Stat pârât
- NLD
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
Göcer împotriva Țărilor de Jos
Traducere în română Auto
PRIMEA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE PARȚIONALĂ CU ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 51392/99 de către Ilyas și Gülșen GÖÇER împotriva Țărilor de Jos Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), ședința la 12 aprilie 2001 în calitate de Camera compusă de președinte Ferrari Bravo dna Thomassen Gaukur Jörundsson Türmen Bîrsan Casadevall Maruste și dl M. O’Boyle Având în vedere cererea de mai sus introdusă la 25 martie 1999 și înregistrată la 29 septembrie 1999, după ce a deliberat, decide după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamanții sunt resortisanți turci. Ele sunt un cuplu căsătorit și trăiesc în Karaman (Turcia).
În 1974, primul reclamant s-a mutat din Turcia în Țările de Jos unde a fost angajat ca lucrător de doc până la 24 septembrie 1984, când a încetat să lucreze din motive de anumite probleme mentale, aparent legate de dificultățile sale de a face față de moartea primei sale soții în 1981. După ce a primit beneficii de boală pentru perioada maximă, a primit beneficii combinate de invaliditate începând cu 21 septembrie 1985 în temeiul Legii generale privind beneficiile de dezactivare a forței de muncă (Algemene Arbeidsongeschiktheidswet; “AAW”) și al Legii privind asigurarea de dezactivare a forței de muncă (Wt op de Arbeidsongeschiktheidsverzekering ; „WAO” la 23 septembrie 1985, pe baza constatării incapacității de a lucra pentru 80–100%.
La un moment dat în 1986, reclamantul și familia sa au revenit permanent în Turcia, menținând dreptul la prestații în temeiul AAW și WAO. Proceduri privind beneficiile reclamantului în temeiul AAW și WAO La 3 noiembrie 1993, pe baza examinărilor medicale efectuate la 3 august 1993 de către un chirurg ortopedic, precum și la 4 august 1993 de către un specialist medical de asigurări sociale și un psihiatru, Institutul Național pentru Asigurări Sociale (Landelijk Institute sociale verzekeringen ; „LISV” a retras primele prestații ale reclamantului în temeiul AAW și WAO începând cu 14 aprilie 1994, pe baza unei concluzii că incapacitatea sa de lucru a scăzut la mai puțin de 25% în sensul AAW și la mai puțin de 15% în sensul AAO.
La 30 noiembrie 1993, primul reclamant a depus un recurs împotriva acestei decizii la Curtea Regională de la Haga (Arrondisseursrechtbank) În urma unei audieri din 12 iulie 1995, Curtea Regională de la Haga a respins acest recurs la 16 august 1995. Primul reclamant a depus un apel suplimentar la Tribunalul Central de Apel (Centrale Raad van Beroep Primul reclamant a prezentat motive scrise de recurs la Tribunalul Central de Apel la 22 septembrie 1995, la care LISV a răspuns în scris la 13 decembrie 1995. La 26 noiembrie 1997, s-a desfășurat o ședință în fața Tribunalului Central al Apelurilor, având în vedere că ancheta privind capacitatea de muncă a primului reclamant a fost incompletă, a hotărât să caute informații suplimentare.
Prin scrisorile din 10 și 17 februarie 1998, președintele Tribunalului Central de Apel a pus o serie de întrebări psihiatru Dr. A.K. care a examinat primul reclamant la 4 august 1993 la cererea fostului Serviciu Medical General ( Gemeenschappelijke Medische Dienst ). Dr. A.K. și-a prezentat răspunsul sub forma unui raport din 5 martie 1998. Atât LISV, cât și primul reclamant au profitat de posibilitatea de a prezenta observații cu privire la acest raport. Prin scrisoarea din 13 mai 1998, Tribunalul Central al Apelurilor a pus o serie de întrebări suplimentare Dr. A.K., care a răspuns la 7 iulie 1998. Primul reclamant a depus alte cereri scrise Tribunalului Central de Apel la 4 noiembrie 1998. La 18 noiembrie 1998, s-a desfășurat o a doua ședință în fața Tribunalului Central de Apeluri în cursul căreia reclamantul s-a plâns că, având în vedere durata procedurii, cerința de timp rezonabil în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din convenție nu a fost respectată.
În decizia din 16 decembrie 1998, Tribunalul Central de Apel a respins recursul primului reclamant și a susținut decizia din 16 august 1995. Acesta a fost de acord cu LISV și cu Curtea Regională că, în ceea ce privește primul reclamant, nu existau limite somatice de o astfel de natură care, din acest motiv, ar trebui considerat inapt să își relueze activitatea de lucrător de doc, adică. activitatea pe care o făcea înainte de a fi declarat incapacitate. În ceea ce privește întrebarea dacă există limitații de natură psihiatrică, Tribunalul Central de Apeluri a acceptat faptul că reclamantul suferă de o tulburare psihiatrică care implică în principal limitații minore în funcționarea sa socială.
Cu toate acestea, având în vedere natura lucrărilor reclamantului, aceasta a susținut că această tulburare nu era de o asemenea natură sau gravitate care, pe acest motiv, ar trebui considerat ca fiind nepotrivit acestui tip de muncă. În măsura în care reclamantul se plângea că drepturile sale în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție nu au fost respectate în ceea ce privește faptul că procedurile dinainte de Tribunalul Central de Apel au depășit un timp rezonabil, Tribunalul Central de Apel a susținut că o nerespectare a cerinței de timp rezonabil în temeiul prezentei dispoziții nu ar putea duce la acordarea unor cereri de securitate socială care nu sunt conforme cu normele legale aplicabile și că ar trebui să se depună judecătorului civil o cerere de compensare pentru daunele presupuse suferite ca urmare a nerespectării acestei cerințe în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție.
Procedura privind titlul de reședință al primului reclamant din Olanda La 19 iunie 1989, primul reclamant a solicitat o prelungire a permisului său de reședință, care a fost respinsă la 6 iulie 1989 de către șeful poliției locale din Rotterdam. Solicitarea reclamantului de revizuire ( herzienment ) a fost respinsă de secretarul de stat al Justitie ( Staats secretaris van Justitie ) la 24 ianuarie 1991. Primul recurs ulterior al reclamantului a fost respins de Divizia Judiciară a Consiliului de Stat ( Afdeling Rechtspraak van de Raad van State ) la 19 august 1992. Divizia Judiciară a remarcat că, în conformitate cu art. 14 § 2 din Legea privind extratereștrii ( Vreemdelingenwet ), un permis de reședință devine nul în cazul în care titularul ia reședință permanentă în străinătate.
A constatat că primul reclamant a rezistat mai mult de trei ani în Turcia și a considerat că nu a prezentat niciun fapt sau circumstanță pe baza căruia ar trebui reținut că, în ciuda ședinței sale de lungă durată în Turcia, el a menținut reședința sa principală în Țările de Jos. Reclamanții se plâng în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că procedura privind retragerea primei prestații de securitate socială a reclamantului a depășit un timp rezonabil. Reclamanții se plâng că retragerea primei prestații de securitate socială a reclamantului este contrară drepturilor lor în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Reclamanții se plâng în conformitate cu art. 14 coroborat cu art. 6 din Convenție că au fost discriminate de autoritățile Țărilor de Jos pe baza naționalității lor.
Primul reclamant se plânge, de asemenea, că refuzul de prelungire a permisului său de ședere este contrar drepturilor sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 7. Reclamanții se plâng în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție că procedura privind retragerea primei prestații de securitate socială a reclamantului a depășit un timp rezonabil. art. 6 § 1 din Convenție, în măsura în care este relevantă, spune: „În determinarea drepturilor și obligațiilor sale civile ..., toată lumea are dreptul la ... o audiere într-un timp rezonabil de [a] ... tribunal...” Curtea consideră că această plângere trebuie adusă în avizul Guvernului Țărilor de Jos în conformitate cu art. 54 alineatul (3) litera (b) din Regulamentul Curții, invitând guvernul să prezinte observații scrise cu privire la admisibilitatea și meritul acestei plângeri.
Reclamanții se plâng în continuare că retragerea primei prestații de securitate socială a reclamantului este contrară drepturilor lor în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, care prevede, în măsura în care se menționează după cum urmează: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale, cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional…
” Curtea reamintește că dreptul la asistență de urgență, în măsura în care este prevăzut în legislația internă aplicabilă, este un drept pecuniar care intră în domeniul de aplicare al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 (cf. Hotărârea Gaygusuz v. Austria din 16 septembrie 1996, Raportul hotărârilor și hotărârilor 1996 IV, p. 1142, § 41) și consideră că, prin urmare, dreptul reclamantului la beneficii pentru incapacitate de muncă poate fi considerat ca relevant în domeniul de aplicare al prezentei dispoziții. Cu toate acestea, în cazul în care s-a constatat că, pe baza și în conformitate cu normele interne aplicabile, cauzele incapacității de muncă, pe care au fost acordate prestații de securitate socială, nu mai există, Curtea nu poate constata că este contrar articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 că aceste beneficii sunt, prin urmare, retrase, în interesul public.
În consecință, această plângere trebuie respinsă vădit nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Reclamanții se plâng în conformitate cu art. 14 coroborat cu art. 6 din Convenție că au fost discriminate de autoritățile Țărilor de Jos pe baza naționalității lor. Curtea remarcă că această plângere a rămas complet nefondată și nu a găsit nici o indicație în dosarul că reclamanții, în cadrul procedurii în cauză, au fost discriminați de către autoritățile Țărilor de Jos în ceea ce privește drepturile lor garantate de art. 6 din convenție. Rezultă că această plângere trebuie, de asemenea, respinsă pentru faptul că este evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție.
Primul reclamant se plâng că refuzul de prelungire a permisului său de ședere este contrar drepturilor sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 7. Curtea constată că Protocolul nr. 7 la Convenție nu a fost ratificat de Țările de Jos, astfel încât această parte a cererii este incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să se suspende examinarea plângerii reclamanților de faptul că procedurile privind retragerea primei beneficii pentru incapacitate de muncă au depășit un timp rezonabil în sensul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție și declară inadmisibil restul cererii.
FIRST SECTION
PARTIAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 51392/99 by İlyas and Gülșen GÖÇER against the Netherlands The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 12 April 2001 as a Chamber composed of Mr L. Ferrari Bravo , President , Mrs W. Thomassen , Mr Gaukur Jörundsson , Mr R. Türmen , Mr C. Bîrsan , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr R. Maruste ,, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application introduced on 25 March 1999 and registered on 29 September 1999, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicants are Turkish nationals. They are a married couple and live in Karaman (Turkey).
A. The circumstances of the case In 1974, the first applicant moved from Turkey to the Netherlands where he was employed as a dock worker until 24 September 1984, when he stopped working for reasons of certain mental problems apparently related to his difficulties in coping with the death of his first wife in 1981. After having received sickness benefits for the maximum period, he was granted combined disability benefits as from 21 September 1985 under the General Labour Disablement Benefits Act ( Algemene Arbeidsongeschiktheidswet ; “AAW”) and the Labour Disablement Insurance Act ( Wet op de Arbeidsongeschiktheidsverzekering ; “WAO”) on 23 September 1985 on the basis of a finding of being incapacitated for work for 80–100%.
At some unspecified point in time in 1986, the applicant and his family returned permanently to Turkey, retaining his right to benefits under the AAW and WAO. Proceedings on the applicant’s benefits under the AAW and WAO On 3 November 1993, on the basis of medical examinations of the first applicant that had been carried out on 3 August 1993 by an orthopaedic surgeon, and on 4 August 1993 by a social insurance medical specialist and a psychiatrist, the National Institute for Social Insurances ( Landelijk instituut sociale verzekeringen ; “LISV”) withdrew the first applicant’s benefits under the AAW and WAO as from 14 April 1994, on the basis of a finding that his incapacity for work had diminished to less than 25% for the purposes of the AAW and to less than 15% for the purposes of the WAO.
On 30 November 1993, the first applicant filed an appeal against this decision with the Hague Regional Court ( Arrondissementsrechtbank ). Following a hearing held on 12 July 1995, the Hague Regional Court rejected this appeal on 16 August 1995. The first applicant filed a further appeal with the Central Appeal Tribunal ( Centrale Raad van Beroep ). The first applicant submitted his written grounds for appeal to the Central Appeals Tribunal on 22 September 1995, to which the LISV responded in writing on 13 December 1995. On 26 November 1997, a hearing was held before the Central Appeals Tribunal. As it considered that the investigation into the first applicant’s capacity for work had been incomplete, it decided to seek further information.
By letters of 10 and 17 February 1998, the President of the Central Appeals Tribunal put a number of questions to the psychiatrist Dr. A.K. who had examined the first applicant on 4 August 1993 upon the request of the former General Medical Service ( Gemeenschappelijke Medische Dienst ). Dr. A.K. submitted his reply in the form of a report on 5 March 1998. Both the LISV and the first applicant availed themselves of the opportunity to submit comments on this report. By letter of 13 May 1998, the Central Appeals Tribunal put a number of additional questions to Dr. A.K., who replied on 7 July 1998. The first applicant filed further written submissions to the Central Appeals Tribunal on 4 November 1998. On 18 November 1998, a second hearing was held before the Central Appeals Tribunal in the course of which the applicant complained that, given the duration of the proceedings, the reasonable time requirement under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention had been disrespected.
In its decision of 16 December 1998, the Central Appeals Tribunal rejected the first applicant’s appeal and upheld the decision of 16 August 1995. It agreed with the LISV and the Regional Court that, as regards the first applicant, there were no somatic limitations of such a nature that on that ground he should be considered as being unfit to resume his work of dock worker, i.e. the work that he had done before he was declared incapacitated. As to the question whether there were limitations of a psychiatric nature, the Central Appeals Tribunal accepted that the applicant was suffering from a psychiatric disorder entailing mainly minor limitations in his social functioning. However, given the nature of the applicant’s work, it held that this disorder was not of such nature or gravity that, on that ground, he should be regarded as being unfit for that kind of work.
Insofar as the applicant had complained that his rights under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention had been disrespected in that the proceedings before the Central Appeals Tribunal had exceeded a reasonable time, the Central Appeals Tribunal held that a failure to respect the reasonable time requirement under this provision could not result in granting social security claims that are not in accordance with the applicable statutory rules and that a claim for compensation for alleged damages suffered as a result of a failure to respect this requirement under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention should be filed with the civil judge. Proceedings on the first applicant’s Netherlands residence title On 19 June 1989, the first applicant applied for a prolongation of his residence permit, which was rejected on 6 July 1989 by the Head of the local police in Rotterdam.
The applicant’s request for revision ( herziening ) was rejected by the State Secretary of Justice ( Staatssecretaris van Justitie ) on 24 January 1991. The first applicant’s subsequent appeal was rejected by the then Judicial Division of the Council of State ( Afdeling Rechtspraak van de Raad van State ) on 19 August 1992. The Judicial Division noted that, pursuant to Article 14 § 2 of the Aliens Act ( Vreemdelingenwet ), a residence permit becomes void where the holder takes up permanent residence abroad. It found it established that the first applicant had resided more than three years in Turkey and considered that he had not submitted any facts or circumstances on the basis of which it should be held that, notwithstanding his lengthy stay in Turkey, he had maintained his main residence in the Netherlands.
COMPLAINTS The applicants complain under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the proceedings concerning the withdrawal of the first applicant’s social security benefits exceeded a reasonable time. The applicants complain that the withdrawal of the first applicant’s social security benefits is contrary to their rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicants complain under Article 14 in conjunction with Article 6 of the Convention that they have been discriminated against by the Netherlands authorities on the basis of their nationality. The first applicant also complains that the refusal to prolong his residence permit is contrary to his rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 7. THE LAW 1. The applicants complain under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention that the proceedings concerning the withdrawal of the first applicant’s social security benefits exceeded a reasonable time.
Article 6 § 1 of the Convention, insofar as relevant, reads: “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations ..., everyone is entitled to a ... hearing within a reasonable time by [a] ... tribunal...” The Court considers that this complaint must be brought to the notice of the Netherlands Government in accordance with Rule 54 § 3(b) of the Rules of Court, inviting the Government to submit written observations on the admissibility and merits of this complaint. 2. The applicants further complain that the withdrawal of the first applicant’s social security benefits is contrary to their rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, which provision, insofar as relevant reads as follows: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions.
No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law… ” The Court recalls that the right to emergency assistance, insofar as provided for in the applicable domestic legislation, is a pecuniary right falling within the scope of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 (cf. Gaygusuz v. Austria judgment of 16 September 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996 IV, p. 1142, § 41) and considers that, therefore, the applicant’s right to benefits for incapacity for work can be regarded as falling within the scope of this provision.
However, where it has been found established, on the basis of and in conformity with the applicable domestic rules, that the causes of an incapacity for work, on which ground social security benefits were granted, no longer exist, the Court cannot find it to be contrary to Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 that such benefits are consequently withdrawn; this being in the public interest. It follows that this complaint must be rejected as manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. 3. The applicants complain under Article 14 in conjunction with Article 6 of the Convention that they have been discriminated against by the Netherlands authorities on the basis of their nationality.
The Court notes that this complaint has remained fully unsubstantiated and has found no indication in the case-file that the applicants, in the proceedings concerned, have been discriminated against by the Netherlands authorities in respect of their rights guaranteed by Article 6 of the Convention. It follows that this complaint must also be rejected for being manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. 4. The first applicant complains that the refusal to prolong his residence permit is contrary to his rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 7. The Court notes that Protocol No. 7 to the Convention has not been ratified by the Netherlands. This part of the application is therefore incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention.
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to adjourn the examination of the applicants’ complaint that the proceedings on the withdrawal of the first applicant’s benefits for incapacity for work exceeded a reasonable time within the meaning of Article 6 § 1 of the Convention; and Declares inadmissible the remainder of the application. Michael O’Boyle Luigi Ferrari Bravo Registrar President