- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 29 ianuarie 2002
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Neill și alții împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA DECIZIE A DECIZIEI NR. 56721/00, de către Dominic Fitzger NEILL și alții împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 29 ianuarie 2002 în calitate de Cameră compusă de Președintele Pellonpää Sir Nicolas Bratza Pastor Ridruejo dna Palm Fischbach Casadevill Pavlovschi și dl M. O’Boyle având în vedere cererea depusă la 26 noiembrie 1999 și înregistrată la 19 aprilie 2000, având în vedere formularul de cerere și observațiile suplimentare prezentate de solicitanți, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Reclamanții sunt cetățeni britanici, rezidenți în Regatul Unit. O listă a reclamanților este anexată la prezenta decizie.
Ele sunt reprezentate în fața Curții de domnul J. H. Briggs, un avocat cu Blount Petre Kramer din Londra. Reclamanții sunt ofițeri pensionați din forțele armate britanice. Primul și al treilea reclamant au murit de la prezentarea cererii în fața Curții, iar plângerile lor sunt continuate de proprietățile lor respective. O listă a reclamanților este anexată la prezenta decizie. Reclamanții sunt împărțiți în trei grupuri. Primul grup, Grupul Unu, este format din primul și al doilea reclamant. Al doilea grup, Grupul al Doilea, este format din al treilea și al șaselea solicitant. Al treilea grup, Grupul al Trei, este format din al șaptelea și al optulea solicitant. Grupul Unu și al doilea reclamant s-au retras din forțele armate înainte de 31 martie 1973 și s-a căsătorit în timpul servirii.
Primul reclamant a primit o pensie în cadrul Schemei de pensii a forțelor armate („Schema”) până la moartea sa la 24 decembrie 1999. După moartea sa, soția sa are dreptul ca văduvă la o pensie de o treime din cea plătită primului solicitant. Al doilea reclamant primește o pensie în cadrul regimului, dar în cazul decesului, văduva lui va avea dreptul la o a treia pensie. Grupul al doilea al treilea, al patrulea, al cincilea și al șaselea solicitant s-a retras din forțele armate înainte de 6 aprilie 1978 și s-a căsătorit după ce s-a retras. Al treilea reclamant a primit o pensie în cadrul regimului până la moartea sa la 3 mai 2000. În urma morții sale, soția sa nu a avut dreptul la pensie în temeiul sistemului.
Al patrulea, al cincilea și al șaselea solicitanți primesc o pensie în temeiul sistemului, dar în cazul morților lor, văduvele lor nu vor avea dreptul la pensie. Grupul trei, al șaptelea și al optulea solicitanți se retrag din forțele armate după 6 Aprilie 1978, care au slujit majoritatea carierei lor înainte de acea dată, și s-au căsătorit după ce s-au pensionat. Ei primesc o pensie în cadrul Schemei, dar în caz de deces, văduvele lor vor avea dreptul numai la o pensie restrânsă în temeiul Schemei. Sistemul de pensii al forțelor armate este sistemul de pensii ocupațional pentru membrii forțelor armate britanice, al căror reglementări sunt conținute în instrumentele prerogative prevăzute în trei statute, una pentru fiecare serviciu armat: Legea 1865 privind marină și plățile și pensiile pentru Marinele Regale și Marinele Regale, Legea de pensii și de plată Yeomanry 1884 pentru armată și Legea forței aeriene (Constituție) 1917 pentru Royal Air Forces.
Schema este substanțial la fel pentru fiecare dintre cele trei servicii. Deși sistemul este descris ca non-contributoriu, există o reducere aplicată în calculul salariilor militare pentru a permite serviciilor de pensii lor comparative, în prezent 7%. Văduva unui serviciur care s-a retras înainte de 31 martie 1973 și care s-a căsătorit în timpul slujirii primește o pensie de o treime din valoarea pensiei de serviciu ale soțului său după moartea sa. Începând cu 31 martie 1973, au intrat în vigoare noi norme („reguli din 1973”), care au sporit acest drept la jumătate din pensia de serviciu a soțului după moartea sa. Rata de reducere aplicată salariilor nu s-a schimbat ca urmare a acestor noi reguli.
Acei servitori care slujeau la 31 martie 1973 au fost autorizați, dacă acestea au ales, să „achiziționeze în” serviciul lor prealabil pentru o pensie jumatate pentru viitoarele lor văduve. Această opțiune nu a fost disponibilă pentru acei servitori care s-au pensionat deja până la acea dată. Văduva unui polițist care s-a retras înainte de 6 aprilie 1978 și care s-a căsătorit după pensionare nu primește pensie în cadrul regimului după moartea sa. Începând cu 6 aprilie 1978, au intrat în vigoare noile norme („reguli din 1978”), care prevăd că văduva unui serviciur care s-a retras după aceea și care s-a căsătorit după pensionare ar avea dreptul la o pensie bazată pe o treizeci și patrume din pensia văduvă de serviciu normală pentru fiecare an de serviciu de către soțul ei după 6 aprilie 1978. Serviciul până la 6 aprilie 1978 nu s-a numărat spre pensie, așa cum ar fi făcut-o dacă serviciul s-ar fi căsătorit în timp ce ar fi servit.
Rata de abatere aplicată salariilor nu s-a schimbat ca urmare a acestor noi norme. Regulile au fost modificate ulterior, dar regulile din 1973 și 1978, astfel cum se descrise mai sus, sunt încă în vigoare și plângerile din această cerere se referă la aceste reguli.
Reclamanții din Grupul Unu se plâng că văduvele lor sunt sau vor avea dreptul la doar o treime de pensie în cadrul sistemului, deoarece, deși s-au căsătorit în timp ce reclamanții erau încă în serviciu, reclamanții se retrag înainte de introducerea normelor din 1973. Reclamanții din Grupul al Doilea se plâng că văduvele lor nu sunt sau nu vor avea dreptul la o pensie de serviciu pentru că s-au căsătorit după pensionarea reclamanților, dar înainte de introducerea normelor din 1978. Reclamanții din Grupa Trei se plâng că văduvele lor vor avea dreptul la doar o pensie de servicii restricționate deoarece s-au căsătorit după pensionare, dar reclamantul s-a retras foarte curând după introducerea normelor din 1978 și, prin urmare, nu a avut suficient timp în serviciu în conformitate cu normele din 1978 pentru a consolida contribuții semnificative la pensiile văduvelor.
Toate reclamanții se plâng că calculul în temeiul Schemei de drepturi de pensie în serviciul soției lor în cazul deceselor lor, pe baza datei căsătoriei sau a datei pensionării, este arbitrar și discriminatoriu. Invocă art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, împreună cu art. 14 din Convenție. Toți reclamanții susțin că sunt victime de o presupusă încălcare a art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, împreună cu art. 14 din Convenție. Se plâng că sunt defavorizate personal de Schema, deoarece sunt conștienți de drepturile de pensie limitate ale soțiilor lor în cazul morții lor.
Aceștia susțin că sunt obligați să efectueze plăți suplimentare pentru pensiile private, pentru a pregăti soțiile lor, în cazul în care acestea sunt văduve, la același nivel pe care le beneficiază cei vizați de Schema îmbunătățită în conformitate cu normele din 1973 și 1978. Pe aceste motive, reclamanții susțin că decizia Comisiei în Coca și alții c. Regatul Unit (depunerea nr. 38696/97, decizia de admisibilitate din 9 septembrie 1998) s-a bazat pe o neînțelegere a dezavantajurilor confruntate de reclamanții care intră în cadrul „grupului A”, astfel cum este descris în acest caz. Curtea reamintește jurisprudența consecventă a organelor Convenției în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenție și predecesorul său, vechiul articol 25 din Convenție, care prevede că o cerere individuală în temeiul Convenției trebuie formulată de o persoană care pretinde că este victimă de o încălcare a dreptului sau a drepturilor Convenției.
Remarcă că reclamanții nu se plâng în legătură cu modul în care sistemul afectează sau poate afecta soțiile lor, ci mai degrabă în ceea ce privește modul în care aceasta s-a afectat. Cu toate acestea, având în vedere concluziile atinse sub Curtea consideră că nu este necesar să se determine dacă reclamanții pot pretinde sau nu că sunt „victime” în sensul articolului 34. art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede următoarele: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale; nimeni nu va fi privat de posesele sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și de principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Curtea reamintește că Convenția nu garantează ca atare un drept la o pensie de stat sau la beneficii similare finanțate de stat. Cu toate acestea, atunci când un drept la astfel de beneficii bazat pe un sistem de contribuție este prevăzut în legislația internă, acest drept poate fi tratat ca un drept pecuniar în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, astfel încât să poată fi aplicabil această dispoziție.
(Gaygusuz v. Hotărârea Austria din 16 septembrie 1996, Raports 1996-IV, §§ 39-41). Curtea reamintește în continuare că, în cazul Gaygusuz însuși, reclamantul a îndeplinit toate condițiile legale de primire a asistenței de urgență în cauză, inclusiv a contribuțiilor la fondul de șomaj, cu excepția celei de naționalitate austriaca. Reclamanții din Grupul Unu se plâng că văduvele lor sunt sau vor avea dreptul la doar o treime de pensii în cadrul sistemului, deoarece, deși s-au căsătorit în timp ce reclamanții erau încă în serviciu, reclamanții se retrag înainte de introducerea normelor din 1973. Ei susțin că se bucură, ca parte a condițiilor lor de angajament, de așteptarea de a primi o pensie în cadrul Schemei care urmează pensionarea lor, atât pentru ei, cât și pentru văduvele lor.
Ei susțin că această așteptare este o „poziție” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția, având în vedere reducerea salariilor pe care le-au suferit în virtutea schemei. Acestea susțin că limitele stabilite de Schema privind drepturile de pensie ale văduvelor lor constituie o interferență ilegală cu această posesie în contravenție cu art. 1 Curtea constată că soțiile reclamanților care intră în cadrul Grupului Unu primesc sau vor primi, în caz de văduvă, o pensie de serviciu bazată pe o treime din pensiile de serviciu ale soților lor. Acest drept nu este afectat de dispozițiile normelor din 1973. Reclamanții și soțiile lor nu au dreptul la o pensie mai mare, deoarece reclamanții s-au retras înainte de 31 martie 1973 și nu au fost eligibile în conformitate cu regulile lor.
Nici ei nu au avut nici o reclamație care să constituie o așteptare legitimă că, în ceea ce privește văduvă, soțiile reclamanților ar avea dreptul la o pensie într-o sumă mai mare de o treime din pensia de serviciu a soțului lor. În consecință, Curtea constată că, în măsura în care reclamanții care intră în cadrul Grupului Unu au avut drepturi pecuniare care constituie bunuri în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, faptele nu dezvăluie nici o interferență cu aceste drepturi. În consecință, această parte a cererii este inadmisibilă ca fiind evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție și trebuie respinsă în temeiul articolului 35 § 4 din Convenție. Reclamanții din Grupul al Doilea se plâng că văduvele lor nu sunt sau nu vor avea dreptul la o pensie de serviciu, deoarece aceste solicitanți se retrag înainte de introducerea normelor din 1978 și se căsătoresc în urma pensionării lor.
Ele avansează aceleași argumente în ceea ce privește art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția, așa cum au fost avansate de reclamanții din Grupul Unu. În contrast cu poziția din cazul Gaygusuz menționat mai sus, condițiile preconizate în temeiul regimului de acordare a unei pensii de serviciu soțiilor reclamanților în caz de văduvă nu au fost niciodată satisfăcute în acest caz, deoarece reclamanții s-au retras înainte de introducerea normelor din 1978 și deoarece s-au căsătorit după pensionarea lor. Nici în aceste circumstanțe, reclamanții sau soțiile lor nu au avut o cerere care să constituie o așteptare legitimă ca soțiile să devină eligibile pentru o pensie în temeiul regimului în caz de văduvă.
În consecință, Curtea constată că reclamanții care intră în cadrul grupului al doilea nu au avut „poziții” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție. În consecință, această parte a cererii este incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § 3 din Convenție. Reclamanții din Grupul Trei se plâng că văduvele lor vor avea dreptul numai la o pensie de serviciu restricționată. Acest lucru se datorează faptului că s-au căsătorit după pensionare, dar s-au retras foarte curând după introducerea normelor din 1978 și, prin urmare, nu au avut suficient timp de serviciu în urma intrării în vigoare a normelor din 1978 pentru a consolida contribuții semnificative la pensiile văduvelor lor.
De asemenea, acestea avansează aceleași argumente în ceea ce privește art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția, așa cum au fost avansate de reclamanții din Grupul Unu. Curtea constată că reclamanții au făcut contribuții la Schema pentru viitoarele lor soții, atâta timp cât au fost în măsură, în urma intrării în vigoare a normelor din 1978. Prin urmare, suma pensiilor la care soțiile lor vor avea dreptul în cazul deceselor lor va reflecta suma contribuțiilor efectuate de solicitanți. Reclamanții și soțiile lor nu au avut niciodată o așteptare de a avea dreptul la mai mult decât această sumă. În consecință, Curtea constată că, în măsura în care reclamanții care intră în cadrul Grupului Trei aveau drepturi pecuniare care constituie bunuri în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, faptele nu dezvăluie nici o interferență cu aceste drepturi.
În consecință, această parte a cererii este inadmisibilă ca fiind evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 și trebuie respinsă în temeiul articolului 35 § 4 din Convenție. Toți reclamanții se plâng în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenție că calculul în temeiul Schemei de pensii de serviciu a soțiilor lor în cazul morților lor, pe baza datei căsătoriei sau a datei pensionării, discrimina împotriva acestora în comparație cu serviciile într-o poziție analogă care se căsătoresc sau se retrag în date diferite.
art. 14 prevede următoarele: „Ocuparea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [] Convenția este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau alte opinii, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” Curtea reamintește că, în conformitate cu jurisprudența sa stabilită, art. 14 din Convenția completează celelalte dispoziții de fond ale Convenției și ale Protocolelor. Nu are existență independentă deoarece are efect numai în ceea ce privește „prețul drepturilor și libertăților” protejate de aceste dispoziții.
Deși aplicarea articolului 14 nu presupune neapărat o încălcare a acestor dispoziții, și în această măsură este autonomă, nu poate exista loc pentru aplicarea sa, cu excepția cazului în care faptele în cauză se încadrează în unul sau mai multe dintre acestea din urmă (a se vedea Hotărârea Abdulaziz, Cabales și Balkandali v. Regatul Unit din 28 mai 1985, Seria A nr. 94, p. 35, § 71). Curtea reamintește, de asemenea, că nu orice diferență de tratament în ceea ce privește exercitarea drepturilor și libertăților garantate de convenție va constitui o încălcare a articolului 14. În schimb, trebuie să se stabilească că alte persoane într-o situație analogă sau relevant similară beneficiază de tratament preferențial și că nu există nici o justificare rezonabilă sau obiectivă pentru această distincție (Stubbings și alții c. Hotărârea Regatului Unit din 22 octombrie 1996, Raportul hotărârilor și deciziilor 1996-IV, p.1507, § 72). Curtea remarcă că, în cazul reclamanților din Grupa a doua, constată că plângerea în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 este incompatibilă cu dispozițiile Convenției.
Cu toate acestea, având în vedere legătura strânsă dintre reclamațiile prezentate de solicitanți în fiecare dintre cele trei grupuri, Curtea consideră oportună examinarea plângerilor tuturor reclamanților în temeiul articolului 14 din convenție, coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. Curtea remarcă că, în ceea ce privește prevederea viitoarei plăți a pensiilor de servicii la prestatorii de servicii și la văduvele lor, autoritățile naționale sunt în principiu autorizate să stabilească condițiile care reglementează dreptul la astfel de pensii și, în special, să limiteze acest drept la cei care sunt încă în service la momentul introducerii noilor dispoziții și să stabilească nivelul de drept prin trimitere la perioada de serviciu finalizată în urma introducerii dispozițiilor relevante.
Curtea constată în acest caz că, în măsura în care reclamanții din grupele Unu și Doi pot fi considerați într-o situație analogă față de cei care încă au fost în service la data introducerii normelor relevante, diferențele de tratament în cadrul sistemului pot fi justificate în mod rezonabil și obiectiv, condițiile pentru dreptul la pensii de serviciu nu sunt nici arbitrare, nici irezonabile. În mod similar, în măsura în care reclamanții din Grupa Trei pot fi considerați într-o situație analogă celor care au rămas în serviciu pentru o perioadă mai lungă după introducerea normelor din 1978, diferența de tratament în cadrul Schemei poate fi justificată în mod rezonabil și obiectiv, condițiile de drept la pensiile îmbunătățite nu sunt nici arbitrare, nici irazonabile.
În consecință, Curtea nu constată nicio încălcare a articolului 14 din Convenție în ceea ce privește reclamanții din oricare dintre grupele Unu, Doi sau Trei. Rezultă că această parte a cererii este inadmisibilă ca fiind manifestament nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea este în unanimitate O’Boyle Pellonpäää Președintele grefierului Anexa DATA DATEA BIRTH ADRESD NEILL Dominic Fitzgerald 09.12.1921 Okehampton INVERARITY George Arnold 23.09.1919 Shoreham-by-Sea BARTHELMAS David Walter 13.05.1921 Aldeburgh MAUD John Michael 22.12.1925 Constantin HILLEN Reginald Guy 26.04.1917 Norwich FRANCIS John Douglas 19.01.1931 Bembridge Isla de Wigh JOHNSON John Malcolm 19.06.1933 Newton-le-Willlows STEELE Arthur George 02.10.1923 Bournemouth
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 56721/00 by Dominic Fitzger NEILL and Others against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 29 January 2002 as a Chamber composed of Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mr A. Pastor Ridruejo , Mrs E. Palm , Mr M. Fischbach , Mr J. Casadevall , Mr S. Pavlovschi , judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 26 November 1999 and registered on 19 April 2000, Having regard to the application form and further observations submitted by the applicants, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicants are British citizens, resident in the United Kingdom. A list of applicants is annexed to the present decision.
They are represented by before the Court by Mr J. H. Briggs, a solicitor with Blount Petre Kramer in London. A. The circumstances of the case The applicants are retired officers from the British armed forces. The first and third applicants have died since the application was introduced before the Court, and their complaints are being continued by their respective estates. A list of the applicants is annexed to this decision. The applicants are divided into three groups. The first group, Group One, consists of the first and second applicants. The second group, Group Two, consists of the third to sixth applicants. The third group, Group Three, consists of the seventh and eighth applicants. Group One The first and second applicants retired from the armed forces before 31 March 1973 and married while serving.
The first applicant received a pension under the Armed Forces Pensions Scheme (“the Scheme”) until his death on 24 December 1999. Following his death, his wife has been entitled as his widow to a pension of one-third of that paid to the first applicant. The second applicant receives a pension under the Scheme but in the event of his death his widow will similarly be entitled only to a one-third pension. Group Two The third, fourth, fifth and sixth applicants retired from the armed forces before 6 April 1978 and married after they retired. The third applicant received a pension under the Scheme until his death on 3 May 2000. Following his death, his wife has had no entitlement to any pension under the Scheme.
The fourth, fifth and sixth applicants receive a pension under the Scheme but in the event of their deaths their widows will similarly be have no pension entitlement. Group Three The seventh and eighth applicants retired from the armed forces after 6 April 1978 having served the majority of their careers before that date, and married after they retired. They receive a pension under the Scheme but in the event of their deaths their widows will be entitled only to a restricted pension under the Scheme. B. Relevant domestic law The Armed Forces Pension Scheme is the occupational pension scheme for members of the British armed forces, the rules of which are contained in prerogative instruments made under three statutes, one for each of the armed services: the Navy and Marine Pay and Pensions Act 1865 for the Royal Navy and Royal Marines, the Pensions and Yeomanry Pay Act 1884 for the Army and the Air Force (Constitution) Act 1917 for the Royal Air Force.
The Scheme is substantially the same for each of the three services. Although the Scheme is described as non-contributory, there is an abatement applied in the calculation of military salaries to allow for the comparative worth to servicemen of their pensions, currently 7%. The widow of a serviceman who retired before 31 March 1973 and who married while serving receives a pension of one-third the value of her husband’s service pension following his death. As of 31 March 1973, new rules (“the 1973 rules”) entered into force which increased this entitlement to half of the husband’s service pension following his death. The rate of abatement applied to salaries did not change as a result of these new rules.
Those servicemen who were serving on 31 March 1973 were permitted, if they so elected, to “buy in” their previous reckonable service for a half-rate pension for their future widows. This option was not available to those servicemen who had already retired by that date. The widow of a serviceman who retired before 6 April 1978 and who married after his retirement receives no pension under the Scheme following his death. As of 6 April 1978, new rules (“the 1978 rules”) entered into force which provided that the widow of a serviceman who retired after that date and who married after his retirement would be entitled to a pension based upon one thirty-fourth of a normal service widow’s pension for each year of service by her husband after 6 April 1978. Service up to 6 April 1978 did not count towards the pension as it would if the serviceman had married while still serving.
The rate of abatement applied to salaries did not change as a result of these new rules. The rules have been subsequently amended, but the 1973 and 1978 rules as described above are still in force and the complaints in this application relate to those rules. COMPLAINTS The applicants in Group One complain that their widows are, or will be, entitled to only a one-third pension under the Scheme because, although they married whilst the applicants were still in service, the applicants retired before the 1973 rules were introduced. The applicants in Group Two complain that their widows are not, or will not be, entitled to a service pension because they married after the applicants’ retirement but before the 1978 rules were introduced.
The applicants in Group Three complain that their widows will be entitled to only a restricted service pension because they married after retirement but the applicant retired very soon after the 1978 rules were introduced and therefore did not have enough time in service under the 1978 rules to build up significant contributions to their widows’ pensions. All the applicants complain that the calculation under the Scheme of their wives’ service pension entitlements in the event of their deaths, based as it is upon the date of marriage or the date of retirement, is arbitrary and discriminatory. They invoke Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention together with Article 14 of the Convention.
THE LAW 1. Victim status All of the applicants claim to be victims of an alleged violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, together with Article 14 of the Convention. They complain that they are personally disadvantaged by the Scheme in that they are conscious of their wives’ restricted pension rights in the event of their death. They argue that they are forced to make additional payments into private pensions in order to make provision for their wives, in the event that they are widowed, at the same level enjoyed by those covered by the improved Scheme under the 1973 and 1978 rules. On these grounds, the applicants argue that the Commission’s decision in Coke and others v. the United Kingdom (application no. 38696/97, admissibility decision of 9 September 1998) was based upon a misunderstanding of the disadvantages faced by the applicants falling within “Group A” as described in that case.
The Court recalls the consistent case-law of the Convention organs under Article 34 of the Convention and its predecessor, the old Article 25 of the Convention, which provides that an individual application under the Convention must be made by a person who claims to be a victim of a violation of a Convention right or rights. It notes that the applicants are not complaining about how the Scheme affects, or may affect, their wives, but rather about how it has affected themselves. However, given the conclusions reached below the Court considers that it is not necessary to determine whether or not the applicants can claim to be “victims” for the purposes of Article 34. 2. Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 provides as follows: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions.
No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” The Court recalls that the Convention does not as such guarantee a right to a State pension or to similar State-funded benefits. However, where a right to such benefits based on a contributory scheme is provided for in domestic legislation, such right may be treated as a pecuniary right for the purposes of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 so as to render applicable that provision (Gaygusuz v. Austria judgment of 16 September 1996, Reports 1996-IV, §§ 39-41).
The Court further recalls that, in the Gaygusuz case itself, the applicant had satisfied all the statutory pre-conditions for obtaining the emergency assistance in question, including the making of contributions to the unemployment fund, save that of being of Austrian nationality. The applicants in Group One complain that their widows are, or will be, entitled only to a one-third pension under the Scheme because, although they married whilst the applicants were still in service, the applicants retired before the 1973 rules were introduced. They argue that they enjoy, as part of their terms of engagement, the expectation of receiving a pension under the Scheme following their retirement, both for themselves and for their widows.
They submit that this expectation is a “possession” for the purposes of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention in light of the abatements of pay which they have suffered by virtue of the Scheme. They maintain that the limits placed by the Scheme upon the pension rights of their widows amount to an unlawful interference with that possession contrary to Article 1. The Court notes that the wives of the applicants falling within Group One are receiving, or will in the event of widowhood receive, a service pension based on one third of their husbands’ service pensions. This right is unaffected by the provisions of the 1973 rules. The applicants and their wives have no right under the rules to a higher pension since the applicants retired prior to 31 March 1973 and were thus not eligible under the terms of the rules themselves.
Nor did they have any claim amounting to a legitimate expectation that, on widowhood, the applicants’ wives would be entitled to a pension in an amount higher than one third of their husband’s service pension. Accordingly, the Court finds that, insofar as the applicants falling within Group One had pecuniary rights amounting to possessions for the purposes of Article 1 of Protocol No.1 to the Convention, the facts disclose no interference with those rights. It follows that this part of the application is inadmissible as being manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention and must be rejected pursuant to Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. The applicants in Group Two complain that their widows are not, or will not be, entitled to a service pension because these applicants retired before the 1978 rules were introduced and married following their retirement.
They advance the same arguments in relation to Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention as were advanced by the applicants in Group One. In contrast to the position in the above-mentioned Gaygusuz case, the pre-conditions under the Scheme for the grant of a service pension to the applicants’ wives in the event of widowhood were never satisfied in the present case since the applicants retired before the 1978 rules were introduced and since they married following their retirement. Nor, in these circumstances, did the applicants or their wives have a claim amounting to a legitimate expectation that the wives would become eligible for a pension under the Scheme in the event of widowhood. Accordingly, the Court finds that the applicants falling within Group Two had no “possessions” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No.1 to the Convention.
It follows that this part of the application is incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. The applicants in Group Three complain that their widows will be entitled only to a restricted service pension. This is because they married after retirement but retired very soon after the 1978 rules were introduced and therefore did not have sufficient time in service following the coming into force of the 1978 rules to build up significant contributions to their widows’ pensions. They also advance the same arguments in relation to Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention as were advanced by the applicants in Group One.
The Court notes that the applicants made contributions to the Scheme for their future wives for as long as they were able, following the coming into force of the 1978 rules. The amount of the pensions to which their wives will become entitled in the event of their deaths will therefore reflect the amount of the contributions made by the applicants. The applicants and their wives have never had an expectation that they would be entitled to any more than that amount. Accordingly, the Court finds that, insofar as the applicants falling within Group Three had pecuniary rights amounting to possessions for the purposes of Article 1 of Protocol No.1 to the Convention, the facts disclose no interference with those rights.
It follows that this part of the application is inadmissible as being manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 and must be rejected pursuant to Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. 3. Article 14 of the Convention All of the applicants complain under Article 14 of the Convention that the calculation under the Scheme of their wives’ service pension entitlements in the event of their deaths, based as it is upon the date of marriage or the date of retirement, discriminates against them as compared with servicemen in an analogous position who married or retired on different dates.
Article 14 provides as follows: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” The Court recalls that, according to its established case-law, Article 14 of the Convention complements the other substantive provisions of the Convention and the Protocols. It has no independent existence since it has effect solely in relation to “the enjoyment of the rights and freedoms” safeguarded by those provisions.
Although the application of Article 14 does not necessarily presuppose a breach of those provisions, and to this extent is autonomous, there can be no room for its application unless the facts at issue fall within the ambit of one or more of the latter (see the Abdulaziz, Cabales and Balkandali v. the United Kingdom judgment of 28 May 1985, Series A no. 94, p. 35, § 71). The Court further recalls that not every difference of treatment in the enjoyment of the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Convention will amount to a violation of Article 14. Instead, it must be established that other persons in an analogous or relevantly similar situation enjoy preferential treatment, and that there is no reasonable or objective justification for this distinction (Stubbings and Others v. the United Kingdom judgment of 22 October 1996, Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1996-IV, p.1507, § 72). The Court notes that, in the case of the applicants in Group Two, it finds their complaint under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to be incompatible with the provisions of the Convention.
However, having regard to the close link between the complaints made by the applicants in each of the three groups, the Court considers it appropriate to examine the complaints of all the applicants under Article 14 of the Convention in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The Court observes that, in making provision for the future payment of service pensions to servicemen and to their widows, national authorities are in principle permitted to set conditions governing entitlement to such pensions and, in particular, to restrict such entitlement to those who are still in service at the time of introduction of the new provisions, and to fix the level of entitlement by reference to the period of service completed following introduction of the relevant provisions.
The Court finds in the present case that, insofar as the applicants in Groups One and Two may be considered to be in an analogous situation to those who were still in service at the date of introduction of the relevant rules, the differences in treatment under the Scheme may be reasonably and objectively justified, the conditions for entitlement to service pensions being neither arbitrary nor unreasonable. Similarly, insofar as the applicants in Group Three may be considered to be in an analogous situation to those who have remained in service for a longer period after the introduction of the 1978 rules, the difference in treatment under the Scheme may be reasonably and objectively justified, the conditions for entitlement to the enhanced pensions being neither arbitrary nor unreasonable.
The Court accordingly finds no appearance of a violation of Article 14 of the Convention in respect of the applicants in any of Groups One, Two or Three. It follows that this part of the application is inadmissible as being manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares the application inadmissible. M. O’Boyle M. Pellonpää Registrar President Annex No NAME
DATE OF BIRTH
ADDRESS 1 NEILL Dominic Fitzgerald 09.12.1921 Okehampton 2 INVERARITY George Arnold 23.09.1919 Shoreham-by-Sea 3 BARTHELMAS David Walter 13.05.1921 Aldeburgh 4 MAUD John Michael 22.12.1925 Constantine 5 HILLEN Reginald Guy 26.04.1917 Norwich 6 FRANCIS John Douglas 19.01.1931 Bembridge Isle of Wigh 7 JOHNSON John Malcolm 19.06.1933 Newton-le-Willows 8 STEELE Arthur George 02.10.1923 Bournemouth