- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 8 aprilie 2003
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly admissible
- Partly inadmissible
Dodds și 28 Applications împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
A doua secțiune DECIZIE FINALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 59314/00 și 24 alte cereri de către Steven DODDS și alții împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 8 aprilie 2003 în calitate de Camera compusă de Președintele Pellonpää Sir Nicolas Bratza dna Strážnická Maruste Pavlovschi Garlicki Borrego, judecători și dl M. O’Boyle Secțiunea Grefier Având în vedere cererile de mai sus, având în vedere decizia parțială din 10 octombrie 2001, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de anumite solicitanți, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Circumstanțele cazului A se vedea tabelul atașat.
În momentul material, în temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit, s-au plătit anumite prestații de securitate socială, inclusiv plata văduvei, alocarea mamei văduvă și pensia văduvei din Fondul Național de Asigurări. Prin secțiunea 1 din Legea privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”), fondurile necesare pentru a plăti astfel de beneficii au fost furnizate prin intermediul contribuțiilor plătibile secretarului de stat pentru securitate socială de către câștigători, angajatori și alții, împreună cu anumite adăugari făcute la Fond de Parlament. Bărbații și femeile câștigătorii au fost obligați să plătească aceleași contribuții de securitate socială în conformitate cu statutul lor de salariați sau de salariați independenți.
Plata adunătorilor în temeiul art. 36 din Legea 1992, o femeie văduvă are dreptul la plata unei văduve (la timpul material, o plată forfetară de 1000 de lire sterline (GBP)) dacă: (i) ea este sub vârsta de pensie la momentul în care soțul ei a murit, sau el nu a avut atunci dreptul la o pensie de pensie de categorie A; (ii) soțul ei a îndeplinit anumite condiții specifice de contribuție de securitate socială prevăzute într-un program al Legii 1992. În temeiul articolului 37 din Legea din 1992, în măsura în care este relevantă, o femeie văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) are dreptul la alocarea mamei în anumite condiții, următoarele fiind condițiile relevante pentru situația prezentului caz: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-o schemă a Actului; și (ii) ea are dreptul să beneficieze de un copil în legătură cu un fiu sau fiica ei însuși și cu soțul său îndepărtat.
Pensiunea văduvă în temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie care a fost văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) are dreptul la pensie de văduvă dacă: (i) soțul ei a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Actului; și (ii) la data decesului soțului ei, a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani; sau (iii) a încetat să aibă dreptul la alocația unei mame văduvă la momentul în care avea peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani.
Pentru perioada până la 7 aprilie 1997, termenele pentru a solicita plata văduvă și alocația mamei văduvă au fost stabilite în Regulamentele privind securitatea socială (Claims and Payments) 1987 („Regulamentele din 1987”), dintre care art. 19 prevedea: „(6) Timpul stabilit pentru a solicita prestații care nu sunt specificate în coloana 1 a anexei 4 este – ... (b) Douăsprezece luni în cazul beneficiului ... (7) Perioadele de șase și douăsprezece luni prevăzute de alineatul (6) sunt calculate de la oricare zi în care, în afară de a satisface condiția de a face o cerere, reclamantul are dreptul la beneficiul în cauză.” Începând cu 7 aprilie 1997, Regulamentul 19 a fost modificat astfel încât să citească: „(2) Timpul prescris pentru a solicita prestațiile menționate la alineatul (3) este de trei luni începând în ziua în care, în afară de a satisface condițiile depunerii unei cereri, reclamantul are dreptul la prestația în cauză.
(3) Beneficiile la care se aplică alineatul (2) sunt – ... (g) beneficiul văduvului; ...” Termenele stabilite în versiunea modificată a Regulamentului 19 se aplică tuturor cererilor de beneficii ale văduvelor făcute la 7 aprilie 1987, indiferent de data pierderii.
În plus, art. 1 alineatul (2) din Legea de administrare a securității sociale din 1992 prevede, în ceea ce privește cererile de plată a văduvei: „În cazul în care, în conformitate cu subsecțiunea (1) de mai sus, o persoană este obligată să facă o cerere sau să fie tratată ca fiind o cerere pentru o prestație pentru a avea dreptul la aceasta – (a) în cazul în care beneficiul este plata unei văduve, ea nu are dreptul la aceasta în ceea ce privește un deces care are loc mai mult de 12 luni înainte de data la care cererea este efectuată sau tratată ca fiind efectuată ...“ Secțiunea 262 alineatul (1) din Legea din 1988 privind impozitele asupra veniturilor și societății: „În cazul în care un bărbat căsătorit al cărui soție locuiește cu el moare, văduva sa are dreptul – (a) pentru anul de evaluare în care se produce decesul, la o reducere a impozitului pe venit calculată prin referință la o sumă egală cu suma prevăzută la secțiunea 257A alineatul (1) pentru anul respectiv, și (b) (cu excepția cazului în care ea se căsătorește din nou înainte de începerea acestuia) pentru următorul an de evaluare, la o reducere a impozitului pe venit calculată prin trimitere la o sumă egală cu suma specificată în secțiunea 257A alineatul (1) pentru anul respectiv.” Reclamanții se plâng că legislația britanică de securitate socială le discrimină din motive de sex,
în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenție, luată împreună cu art. 8 din Convenție și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. Reclamanții în cererile nos 63468/00, 63475/00, 63483/00 și 63484/00 depun aceleași plângeri și în ceea ce privește legislația fiscală britanică. Reclamanții se plâng că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice de securitate socială le discrimină din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată coroborat atât cu art. 8 din Convenția, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocol Nr. 1. Reclamanții din cererile nr. 63468/00, 63475/00, 63483/00 și 63484/00 prezintă aceeași plângere, de asemenea, în ceea ce privește lipsa prevederii alocației fiscale pentru persoanele care au depășit-o în temeiul legislației fiscale britanice.
art. 14 din Convenție prevede: „Ducrarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [] Convenția este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 8 din convenție prevede (dacă este cazul): „1. Toată lumea are dreptul la respectarea vieții sale private și familiale... Nu va exista nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt în conformitate cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesele ... bunăstarea economică a țării ... “art.
1 din Protocolul nr. 1 menționează: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități”. Curtea constată că Guvernul nu contestă admisibilitatea cererilor pentru perioada următoare datei în care reclamanții și-au formulat cererile, astfel cum se prevede în coloana 4 a tabelului atașat, în măsura în care se referă la cererile de alocare a mamei văduvă.
Cu toate acestea, acestea și-au rezervat poziția în ceea ce privește datele aplicabile cererilor reclamanților în cererile nr. 62521/00 și 63466/00. Curtea consideră că această parte a cererilor ridică chestiuni serioase de fapt și de drept în temeiul Convenției, ale căror determinare necesită o examinare a meritelor. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că acest aspect al cererii nu este evident nefondat în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Nu s-a stabilit niciun alt motiv pentru declararea inadmisibilă. Pensiunea văduvei Reclamanții susțin că femeile situate în mod similar ar deveni în un moment dat dreptul la pensia de văduvă și că ar trebui să aibă dreptul la o beneficiune echivalentă.
Guvernul conteste admisibilitatea cererilor în măsura în care se referă la viitoarea neautorizare a pensiei de văduvă. În urma hotărârii Curții în cazul Willis v. Regatul Unit (nu. 36042/97, CEDH 2002-IV), observă că chiar dacă reclamanții sunt femei și discriminarea a căror plângere a fost astfel eliminată, acestea nu ar fi calificate pentru pensie de văduvă în condițiile stabilite în Legea de 1992 timp de câțiva ani, prin urmare, și ar putea să nu se califice niciodată din cauza efectelor altor condiții legale. Acestea susțin că plângerile sunt în acest sens pur ipotetic și ar trebui să fie declarate inadmisibile. Niciunul dintre reclamanții nu a prezentat în sprijinul posibilelor cereri viitoare de pensie a văduvei în răspunsul la observațiile Guvernului.
Unii au admis că plângerile sunt inadmisibile în acest sens și reclamanții în cererile nos. 60469/00, 60978/00, 61392/00, 61408/00, 63484/00, 63472/00 și 64008/00 au indicat dorința de a retrage cererile în măsura în care acestea se referă la viitoarea neautorizare a pensiei văduvei.
Curtea reamintește constatarea Curții în cazul Willis menționat anterior (§ 50) că, „Deoarece reclamantul nu a fost tratat în mod diferit de o femeie într-o situație analogă, nu apare nicio problemă de discriminare contrară articolului 14 în ceea ce privește dreptul la pensie de văduvă cu privire la faptele prezentului caz”, și constată că, în măsura în care plângerile reclamanților se referă la cererile viitoare, ipotetice pentru pensia de văduvă, acestea nu sunt distinse de cele ale reclamantului în De aceea, această parte a fiecărei cereri trebuie să fie declarată inadmisibilă, în mod manifest nefondat, în temeiul articolului 35 §§ 3 și al articolului 4. Guvernul nu a formulat nicio observație cu privire la admisibilitatea acestor plângeri.
Curtea consideră că plângerile susțin probleme serioase de fapt și de drept în temeiul Convenției, ale căror hotărâre necesită o examinare a fondului. Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că aceste plângeri nu sunt manifestamente nefondate în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Nu s-a stabilit niciun alt motiv pentru declararea lor inadmisibilă. Cererea nr. 63468/00 Reclamantul în cererea nr. 63468/00 a făcut inițial anchete cu Revenuul Intern cu privire la disponibilitatea unei alocații fiscale în decembrie 1995 sau ianuarie 1996. Alocația fiscală ar fi fost disponibilă pentru anii 1995/6 și 1996/7 unei femei într-o situație similară.
Reclamantul a formulat o nouă cerere scrisă la veniturile din 29 septembrie 2000, care a fost refuzată la 3 octombrie 2000. Cererea sa a fost introdusă la Curte la 29 septembrie 2000. Guvernul susține că reclamantul nu poate pretinde că este victimă în ceea ce privește ancheta verbală din 1995/96, deoarece nu a depus o cerere scrisă pentru alocația fiscală, astfel cum a fost solicitat de legislația internă. Acestea susțin, de asemenea, că cererea sa a fost introdusă în Curte mai mult de șase luni după refuzul cererii sale în 1996. În ceea ce privește cererea sa ulterioară din septembrie 2000, Guvernul susține că aceasta a fost pur și simplu o repetare a cererii sale anterioare și că, după refuzul din 1996, faptul că a formulat o cerere suplimentară nu ar trebui să afecteze inadmisibilitatea cererii.
Aceștia susțin, în plus, că reclamantul nu și-a epuizat căile de recurs interne, deoarece nu a încercat să pună în pericol decizia Revenuului în Curtea Înaltă sau în fața Comisarilor Generali (sau Speciali) de Impoziție. Guvernul se referă la faptul că există proceduri interne în curs, ale cărora rezultatul este incert și susțin că cazul Hobbs v. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 63684/00, 18 iunie 2002), în care Curtea a constatat că nu există nici o soluție eficace în instanța internă, a fost hotărât în mod necorespunzător. Reclamantul susține că argumentul Guvernului potrivit căreia pretenția anterioară asupra veniturilor interne nu a fost valabilă nu este în concordanță cu susținerea că cererea ulterioră a fost pur și simplu o „recerere” a celei anterioare.
Reclamantul susține că, în orice opinie, el a formulat o cerere valabil în septembrie 2000 și poate pretinde în mod corespunzător că este o victimă a unei încălcări a Convenției în ceea ce privește refuzul ulterior. Solicitarea sa a fost introdusă Curtea în termen de șase luni de la refuzul final. El se bazează, printre altele, pe cazul Hobbs c. Regatul Unit (citat mai sus), în susținerea că nu a existat un remediu intern eficace disponibil pentru el. Curtea remarcă că guvernul nu acceptă faptul că anchetele inițiale ale reclamantului cu venitul interior ar putea constitui o cerere valabil de achiziție fiscală pentru pierdere. Guvernul susține, de asemenea, că nu a fost deschis reclamantului să facă o cerere ulterioră pentru aceeași alocație, deși nu justifică argumentul lor.
Se pare că nu există nici un motiv pentru care o văduvă care a făcut o cerere invalidă anterioră nu ar fi fost acordată alocația ca urmare a unei cereri ulteriore, valabile. Pe această bază, Curtea consideră că reclamantul poate pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării în ceea ce privește cererea formulată în 2000. Curtea nu constată niciun motiv de a revizui decizia din Hobbs. Cazul (citat mai sus) și constată că, în aceste circumstanțe, căile de recurs interne menționate nu au fost suficient de „eficace” pentru a putea furniza reclamantului recurs pentru plângerea sa. În consecință, Curtea consideră că plângerea ridică probleme serioase de fapt și de drept în temeiul Convenției, ale căror determinare necesită o examinare a meritelor.
Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că această plângere nu este evident nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Nu s-a stabilit niciun alt motiv pentru declararea inadmisibilă. Reclamantul în cererea nr. 63483/00 se plânge, de asemenea, în ceea ce privește nepagarea alocației fiscale pentru pierderi. Cererea a fost introdusă la 29 septembrie 2000, în timp ce reclamantul a indicat în cererea sa inițială că se plângea de discriminare în beneficiile Regatului Unit și legislația fiscală, el nu a furnizat nicio bază de fapt pentru plângerea sa în ceea ce privește legislația fiscală, astfel cum prevede art. 47 din Regulamentul Curții și acest aspect al plângerii sale nu a fost comunicat guvernului contestat.
plângerea sa în ceea ce privește prestațiile de securitate socială a fost comunicată la 5 noiembrie 2001. La 20 iunie 2002, reclamantul a depus o cerere modificată, inclusiv detalii ale cererii de achiziție fiscală pentru pierdere de viață pe care le-a formulat la 19 noiembrie 2001. Cererea a fost refuzată de Revenuul Intern la 23 noiembrie 2001. Acest refuz a fost decizia internă finală în sensul articolului 35 din convenție. Curtea constată că cererea, în măsura în care se referă la cererea pentru o alocație fiscală, nu a fost introdusă până când nu s-a precizat baza de fapt a plângerii. Acest lucru a fost atunci când cererea modificată a fost depusă și, prin urmare, reclamantul nu a introdus plângerea în termen de șase luni de la decizia finală.
Prin urmare, această parte a cererii trebuie să fie declarată inadmisibilă în temeiul articolului 35 § § § 1 și 4. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate admisibilă, fără prejudecarea meritelor, plângerile reclamanților cu privire la nepagarea alocației mamei văduve; admisibil, fără prejudecarea fondului, plângerile reclamanților în cererile nr. 63468/00, 63475/00 și 63484/00, în ceea ce privește nepagarea unei alocații fiscale pentru pierderi; declara restul cererilor inadmisibil. Președintele grefierului Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Anexa 1. Denumirea reclamantului 2. Denumire nr. 3. Data pierderii 4. Data cererii de beneficii 5. Solicitarea beneficiilor văduvelor? 6. Solicitarea alocației de impozitare pentru iubire?
Steven DODDS 59314/00 02/09/1990 08/05/2000 Dai Norman TERRILL 60469/00 02/10/1999 09/03/2000 Dai Paul DAVIS 60946/00 18/09/1998 16/05/2000 Dai John SILKSTONE 60949/00 19/10/1998 24/11/1999 Dai Kevin HUTTON 60978/00 07/07/1999 12/01/2000 Dai Joseph FALLON 61392/00 13/07/1999 05/2000 Dai Dennis THOMAS 61399/00 14/01/1999 12/05/2000 Dai Grahame ROURKE 61408/00 04/08/1999 mijlocul 04/2000 Dai Tom CREW 61928/00 02/10/1998 18/05/2000 Dai Suraj GOSWAMI 62521/00 09/11/1998 Martie 1999 Dai Hugh MCCRORY 62775/00 1991 12/05/2000 Dai George HERBERT 62868/00 11/11/1999 22/06/2000 Dai Irwin HAGAN 63176/00 28/08/1999 06/08/2000 Dai Lee HYDE 63287/00 07/09/1996 17/06/2000 Dai Paul BLANNIN 63465/00 30/03/1993 18/07/2000 Dai Martin DONAVAN 63466/00 04/07/1992 12/10/1999 Da David GEEN 63468/00 17/10/1995 30/05/2000 Da Da David LINES 63472/00 20/01/2000 13/06/2000 Da Da Ian RICHARD 63475/00 14/10/1995 06/1997 Da Da, Nigel HARRISON 63483/00 05/05/1996 04/05/2000 Da, Paul WALSH 63484/00 01/03/1997 30/05/2000 Da, Simon TURNER 64008/00 08/04/2000 08/2000 Da, Victor HYLAND 64115/00 26/01/1999 03/09/2000 Da, Ivan MCCAVERY 64984/01 16/11/1998 01/09/2000 Da, Douglas FORBES 65727/01 29/06/1999 07/2000 Da,
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 59314/00 and 24 other applications by Steven DODDS and Others against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 8 April 2003 as a Chamber composed of Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr L. Garlicki , Mr J. Borrego Borrego, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above applications, Having regard to the partial decision of 10 October 2001, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by certain applicants, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS A. The circumstances of the case See attached table.
B. Relevant domestic law At the material time, under United Kingdom law, certain social security benefits, including Widow’s Payment, Widowed Mother’s Allowance, and Widow’s Pension, were paid for out of the National Insurance Fund. By Section 1 of the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”), the funds required for paying such benefits were to be provided by means of contributions payable to the Secretary of State for Social Security by earners, employers and others, together with certain additions made to the Fund by Parliament. Male and female earners were obliged to pay the same social security contributions in accordance with their status as employed earners or self-employed earners.
Widow’s Payment Under Section 36 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed is entitled to a widow’s payment (at the material time, a lump sum payment of 1,000 pounds sterling (GBP)) if: (i) she is under pensionable age at the time when her husband died, or he was not then entitled to a Category A retirement pension; (ii) her husband satisfied certain specified social security contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the 1992 Act.
Widowed Mother’s Allowance Under Section 37 of the 1992 Act, in so far as relevant, a woman who has been widowed (and who has not remarried) is entitled to a mother’s allowance on certain conditions, the following being the relevant conditions to the circumstance of the present cases: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) she is entitled to receive child benefit in relation to a son or daughter of herself and her late husband.
Widow’s Pension Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who has been widowed (and who has not remarried) is entitled to a widow’s pension if: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65; or (iii) she ceased to be entitled to a widowed mother’s allowance at the time when she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65.
Time-limit for applications for benefits For the period up to 7 April 1997, the time-limits for claiming widow’s payment and widowed mother’s allowance were set out in the Social Security (Claims and Payments) Regulations 1987 (“the 1987 Regulations”), regulation 19 of which provided: “(6) The prescribed time for claiming benefits not specified in column (1) of Schedule 4 shall be – ... (b) twelve months in the case of ... widow’s benefit ... (7) The periods of six and twelve months prescribed by paragraph (6) are calculated from any day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned.” As of 7 April 1997, regulation 19 was amended so as to read: “(2) The prescribed time for claiming the benefits specified in paragraph (3) is three months beginning on the day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned. (3) The benefits to which paragraph (2) applies are– ... (g) widow’s benefit; ...” The time-limits set out in the amended version of regulation 19 applied to all widows’ benefits claims made as of 7 April 1987, regardless of the date of bereavement. In addition, section 1(2) of the Social Security Administration Act 1992 provides, in relation to claims for Widow’s Payment: “Where under subsection (1) above a person is required to make a claim or to be treated as making a claim for a benefit in order to be entitled to it – (a) if the benefit is a widow’s payment, she shall not be entitled to it in respect of a death occurring more than 12 months before the date on which the claim is made or treated as made ... ”
Bereavement Tax Allowance Section 262(1) of the Income and Corporation Taxes Act 1988 provides: “Where a married man whose wife is living with him dies, his widow shall be entitled – (a) for the year of assessment in which the death occurs, to an income tax reduction calculated by reference to an amount equal to the amount specified in section 257A(1) for that year, and (b) (unless she marries again before the beginning of it) for the next following year of assessment, to an income tax reduction calculated by reference to an amount equal to the amount specified in section 257A(1) for that year.”
Northern Ireland Precise equivalents of all of the above provisions of primary and secondary legislation appear in Northern Ireland legislation. COMPLAINTS The applicants complain that British social security legislation discriminates against them on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicants in applications nos. 63468/00, 63475/00, 63483/00 and 63484/00 make the same complaint also in respect of British tax legislation. THE LAW The applicants complain that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British social security legislation discriminates against them on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicants in applications nos. 63468/00, 63475/00, 63483/00 and 63484/00 make the same complaint also in respect of lack of provision for bereavement tax allowance for men under British tax legislation. Article 14 of the Convention states: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 8 of the Convention provides (as relevant): “1. Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life... 2. There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of ... the economic well-being of the country ... ” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 states: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” A. Widowed Mother’s Allowance The Court notes that the Government do not contest the admissibility of the applications for the period following the date on which the applicants made their claims, as set out in column 4 of the attached table, insofar as they relate to claims for Widowed Mother’s Allowance. (They have however, reserved their position regarding the dates applicable to the claims by the applicants in applications nos. 62521/00 and 63466/00). The Court considers that this part of the applications raises serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that this aspect of the applications is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring them inadmissible has been established. B. Widow’s Pension The applicants claim that similarly situated women would at some point in the future become entitled to a Widow’s Pension and that they should be entitled to an equivalent benefit. The Government contest the admissibility of the claims insofar as they relate to future non-entitlement to Widow’s Pension. Following the Court’s judgment in the case of Willis v. the United Kingdom (no. 36042/97, ECHR 2002-IV), they observe that even if the applicants were women and the discrimination of which they complain was thus removed, they would not qualify for a Widow’s Pension under the conditions set out in the 1992 Act for some years hence and might never qualify due to the effect of other statutory conditions. They submit that the complaints are in that regard purely hypothetical and should be declared inadmissible. None of the applicants have made submissions in support of their possible future claims for Widow’s Pension in response to the Government’s observations. Some have conceded that the complaints are in that respect inadmissible and the applicants in applications nos. 60469/00, 60978/00, 61392/00, 61408/00, 63484/00, 63472/00 and 64008/00 have indicated a wish to withdraw their claims to the extent that they relate to future non-entitlement to Widow’s Pension. The Court recalls the finding of the Court in the above mentioned Willis case (§ 50) that, “since the applicant has not been treated differently from a woman in an analogous situation, no issue of discrimination contrary to Article 14 arises as regards entitlement to a Widow’s Pension on the facts of this case”, and finds that insofar as the applicants’ complaints relate to future, hypothetical claims for a Widow’s Pension, they are indistinguishable from that of the applicant in the Willis case. That part of each application must therefore be declared inadmissible as manifestly ill-founded, under Article 35 §§ 3 and 4. C. Bereavement Tax Allowance 1. Applications nos. 63475/00 and 63484/00 The applicants in applications nos. 63475/00 and 63484/00 complain about non-payment of the allowance against income tax that would have been payable to women in their situation. The Government has made no observations on the admissibility of those complaints. The Court considers that the complaints raise serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that these complaints are not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring them inadmissible has been established. 2. Application no. 63468/00 The applicant in application no. 63468/00 initially made enquiries with the Inland Revenue about availability of a tax allowance in December 1995 or January 1996. The tax allowance would have been available for the years 1995/6 and 1996/7 to a woman in a similar situation. The applicant made a further, written claim to the Revenue on 29 September 2000, which was refused on 3 October 2000. His application was introduced to the Court on 29 September 2000. The Government submit that the applicant cannot claim to be a victim in respect of the verbal enquiry in 1995/96, as he failed to submit a written application for the tax allowance as was required by domestic law. They also submit that his application was introduced to the Court more than six months after the refusal of his claim in 1996. So far as his later claim in September 2000 is concerned, the Government submit that it was simply a repeat of his earlier claim and that following the refusal in 1996, the fact that he made a further claim should not affect the inadmissibility of the application. They submit moreover that the applicant has failed to exhaust his domestic remedies, in that he did not seek to challenge the Revenue’s decision in the High Court or before the General (or Special) Commissioners of Tax. The Government refer to the fact that there are ongoing domestic proceedings, the outcome of which is uncertain, and they submit that the case of Hobbs v. the United Kingdom ((dec.), no. 63684/00, 18 June 2002), in which the Court found that no effective remedy exists in the domestic courts, was wrongly decided. The applicant submits that the Government’s argument that the earlier claim to the Inland Revenue was invalid is inconsistent with their submission that the later claim was simply a ‘repeat’ of the earlier one. The applicant maintains that on any view he made a valid claim in September 2000 and he can properly claim to be a victim of a violation of the Convention in respect of the later refusal. His application was introduced to the Court within six months of that final refusal. He relies, inter alia , on the case of Hobbs v. the United Kingdom (cited above), in submitting that there was no effective domestic remedy available for him to pursue. The Court notes that the Government do not accept that the applicant’s initial enquiries with the Inland Revenue could amount to a valid claim for bereavement tax allowance. The Government further contend that it was not open to the applicant to make a later claim for the same allowance, although they do not substantiate their argument. There appears to be no reason why a widow who had made an earlier invalid claim would not have been awarded the allowance as a result of a later, valid, claim. On that basis, the Court considers that the applicant can claim to be a victim of discrimination in respect of the claim made in 2000. The Court finds no reason to re-visit the decision in the Hobbs case (cited above) and finds that, in the circumstances, the domestic remedies referred to were not sufficiently “effective” so as to be capable of providing the applicant with redress for his complaint. Accordingly, the Court considers that the complaint raises serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that this complaint is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring it inadmissible has been established. 3. Application no. 63483/00 The applicant in application no. 63483/00 also complains about non-payment of the bereavement tax allowance. The application was introduced on 29 September 2000. Whilst the applicant indicated in his initial application that he was complaining about discrimination in United Kingdom benefits and tax legislation, he did not provide any factual basis for his complaint in respect of tax legislation, as required by Rule 47 of the Rules of Court and that aspect of his complaint was not communicated to the respondent Government. His complaint in respect of social security benefits was communicated on 5 November 2001. On 20 June 2002, the applicant submitted an amended application, including details of a claim for bereavement tax allowance which he had made on 19 November 2001. The claim was refused by the Inland Revenue on 23 November 2001. That refusal was the final domestic decision for the purposes of Article 35 of the Convention. The Court finds that the application, insofar as it relates to the claim for a tax allowance, was not introduced until the factual basis for the complaint was outlined. That was when the amended application was lodged and the applicant did not therefore introduce the complaint within six months of the final decision. That part of the application must therefore be declared inadmissible under Article 35 §§ 1 and 4. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares admissible, without prejudging the merits, the applicants’ complaints regarding non-payment of Widowed Mother’s Allowance; Declares admissible, without prejudging the merits, the complaints of the applicants in applications nos. 63468/00, 63475/00 and 63484/00, regarding non-payment of a bereavement tax allowance; Declares the remainder of the applications inadmissible. Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Registrar President Annex 1. Name of applicant 2. Application no. 3. Date of bereavement 4. Date of benefit claim 5. Claim for widows’ benefits? 6. Claim for bereavement tax allowance? Steven DODDS 59314/00 02/09/1990 08/05/2000 YES NO Norman TERRILL 60469/00 02/10/1999 09/03/2000 YES NO Paul DAVIS 60946/00 18/09/1998 16/05/2000 YES NO John SILKSTONE 60949/00 19/10/1998 24/11/1999 YES NO Kevin HUTTON 60978/00 07/07/1999 12/01/2000 YES NO Joseph FALLON 61392/00 13/07/1999 05/2000 YES NO Dennis THOMAS 61399/00 14/01/1999 12/05/2000 YES NO Grahame ROURKE 61408/00 04/08/1999 mid 04/2000 YES NO Tom CREW 61928/00 02/10/1998 18/05/2000 YES NO Suraj GOSWAMI 62521/00 09/11/1998 March 1999 YES NO Hugh MCCRORY 62775/00 1991 12/05/2000 YES NO George HERBERT 62868/00 11/11/1999 22/06/2000 YES NO Irwin HAGGAN 63176/00 28/08/1999 06/08/2000 YES NO Lee HYDE 63287/00 07/09/1996 17/06/2000 YES NO Paul BLANNIN 63465/00 30/03/1993 18/07/2000 YES NO Martin DONAVAN 63466/00 04/07/1992 12/10/1999 YES NO David GEEN 63468/00 17/10/1995 30/05/2000 YES YES David LINES 63472/00 20/01/2000 13/06/2000 YES NO Ian RICHARD 63475/00 14/10/1995 06/1997 YES YES Nigel HARRISON 63483/00 05/05/1996 04/05/2000 YES YES Paul WALSH 63484/00 01/03/1997 30/05/2000 YES YES Simon TURNER 64008/00 08/04/2000 08/2000 YES NO Victor HYLAND 64115/00 26/01/1999 03/09/2000 YES NO Ivan MCCAVERY 64984/01 16/11/1998 01/09/2000 YES NO Douglas FORBES 65727/01 29/06/1999 07/2000 YES NO