- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 6 mai 2003
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly admissible
- Partly inadmissible
O'Connell și alții împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
A doua secțiune DECIZIE FINALĂ PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererii nr. 58370/00 și 11 alte cereri de către Daniel O’CONNELL și alții împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care așezează la 6 mai 2003 în calitate de ședință compusă de Președinte Pellonpää Sir Nicolas Bratza dna Strážnická Maruste Pavlovschi Garlicki Borrego, judecători și dl O’Boyle Secțiunea Grefier Având în vedere cererile de mai sus, având în vedere decizia parțială din 15 ianuarie 2002, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul respondent și observațiile prezentate în răspuns de solicitanți, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Circumstanțele cazului A se vedea tabelul atașat.
Conform legii Regatului Unit, anumite prestații de securitate socială sunt plătite din Fondul Național de Asigurări. În momentul material, secțiunea 1 din Legea privind securitatea socială și beneficiile din 1992 („Legea din 1992”), cu condiția ca fondurile necesare pentru a plăti astfel de beneficii, inclusiv plata văduvei, alocarea mamei văduvă și a pensiei văduvei, să fie furnizate prin intermediul contribuțiilor plătibile secretarului de stat pentru securitate socială de către câștigători, angajatori și alții, împreună cu anumite adăugari făcute la Fond de către Parlament. Bărbații și femeile câștigători au fost (și sunt) obligați să plătească aceleași contribuții de securitate socială în conformitate cu statutul lor de salariați sau de salariați independenți.
Plata de văduvă în temeiul art. 36 din Legea 1992, o femeie văduvă avea dreptul la plata unei văduve (la momentul material, o plată forfetară de 1000 de lire sterline (GBP)) dacă: (i) a fost sub vârsta de pensie la momentul în care soțul ei a murit sau nu avea dreptul la pensie de pensie de categorie A; (ii) soțul ei a îndeplinit anumite condiții de contribuție socială prevăzute într-un program al Legii 1992. În temeiul articolului 37 din Legea din 1992, în măsura în care este relevantă, o femeie care a fost văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) are dreptul la alocarea mamei în anumite condiții, următoarele fiind condițiile relevante pentru situațiile prezente: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-o schemă a Actului; și (ii) ea a avut dreptul să beneficieze de un copil în legătură cu un fiu sau fiica ei însuși și soțul său îndepărtat.
La momentul material, alocația mamei văduvă a fost de aproximativ 72,50 GBP pe săptămână, cu un supliment de 9,70 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește copilul cel mai mare eligibil, și un supliment de 11,35 GBP pe săptămână în ceea ce privește alți copii. Pensiunea Viduvii În temeiul articolului 38 din Legea din 1992, o femeie care a fost văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) a avut dreptul la pensia unei văduve în cazul în care: (i) soțul său a îndeplinit condițiile de contribuție prevăzute într-un program al Legii; și (ii) la data morții soțului ei a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani; sau (iii) ea a încetat să aibă dreptul la alocarea unei mame văduvă în momentul în care avea peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani.
Pentru perioada până la 7 aprilie 1997, termenele pentru a solicita plata văduvă și alocația mamei văduvă au fost stabilite în Regulamentele privind securitatea socială (Claims and Payments) 1987 („Regulamentele din 1987”), dintre care art. 19 prevedea: „(6) Timpul stabilit pentru a solicita prestații care nu sunt specificate în coloana 1 a anexei 4 este – ... (b) Douăsprezece luni în cazul beneficiului ... (7) Perioadele de șase și douăsprezece luni prevăzute de alineatul (6) sunt calculate de la oricare zi în care, în afară de a satisface condiția de a face o cerere, reclamantul are dreptul la beneficiul în cauză.” Începând cu 7 aprilie 1997, Regulamentul 19 a fost modificat astfel încât să citească: „(2) Timpul prescris pentru a solicita prestațiile menționate la alineatul (3) este de trei luni începând în ziua în care, în afară de a satisface condițiile depunerii unei cereri, reclamantul are dreptul la prestația în cauză.
(3) Beneficiile la care se aplică alineatul (2) sunt –... (g) beneficiul văduvului; ...” Termenele stabilite în versiunea modificată a Regulamentului 19 se aplică tuturor cererilor de beneficii ale văduvelor făcute la 7 aprilie 1987, indiferent de data pierderii.
În plus, secțiunea 1 alineatul (2) din Legea de administrare a securității sociale din 1992 prevede, în ceea ce privește cererile de plată a văduvei: „În cazul în care, în conformitate cu subsecțiunea (1) de mai sus, o persoană este obligată să facă o cerere sau să fie tratată ca fiind o cerere pentru o prestație pentru a avea dreptul la aceasta – (a) în cazul în care beneficiile este plata unei văduve, ea nu are dreptul la aceasta în ceea ce privește un deces care are loc mai mult de 12 luni înainte de data la care cererea este efectuată sau tratată ca fiind efectuată ...” Secțiunea 262 alineatul (1) din Legea din 1988 privind impozitele asupra veniturilor și societății: „În cazul în care un bărbat căsătorit al cărui soție locuiește cu el moare, văduva sa are dreptul – (a) pentru anul de evaluare în care se produce decesul, la o reducere a impozitului pe venit calculată prin referință la o sumă egală cu suma prevăzută la secțiunea 257A alineatul (1) pentru anul respectiv, și (b) (cu excepția cazului în care ea se căsătorește din nou înainte de începerea acestuia) pentru următorul an de evaluare, la o reducere a impozitului pe venit calculată prin trimitere la o sumă egală cu suma specificată în secțiunea 257A alineatul (1) pentru anul respectiv.” Reclamanții se plâng că securitatea socială și/sau legislația fiscală britanică le discrimină pentru motive de sex,
în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenție, luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. HOTĂRÂREA Reclamanții se plâng că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice de securitate socială le discrimină din motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată în conjuncție atât cu art. 8 din Convenție, cât și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 61019/00, 63471/00 și 63476/00 prezintă aceeași plângere, de asemenea, în ceea ce privește lipsa prevederilor de achiziție fiscală pentru persoanele în temeiul legislației fiscale britanice.
art. 14 din Convenția prevede: „Ducrarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [] Convenția este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 8 din convenție prevede (dacă este cazul): „1. Fiecare are dreptul de a respecta viața sa privată și de familie ... Nu va exista nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt în conformitate cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesele ... bunăstarea economică a țării ...” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale.
Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități”. Reclamanții se plâng de nepagarea alocației mamei văduvă de la data stabilită la coloana 4 a tabelului atașat. Curtea remarcă că guvernul nu contestă admisibilitatea cererilor în măsura în care se referă la nepagarea acestei beneficii și consideră că plângerile susțin probleme serioase de fapt și de drept în temeiul convenției, ale căror determinare necesită o examinare a meritelor.
Prin urmare, Curtea concluzionează că aceste plângeri nu sunt, vădit nefondate în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Nu s-a stabilit niciun alt motiv de declarare inadmisibilă. 61019/00 nu a formulat o cerere valabil de achiziție fiscală pentru pierderi și/sau nu ar fi avut dreptul la achiziție chiar dacă ar fi fost o femeie și/sau și-a depus cererea la Curte mai mult de șase luni de la decizia internă finală. Refuzul de a-și satisface cererea a fost formulat prin scrisoarea din 8 mai 1998 și cererea sa a fost introdusă la Curte la 22 august 2000. Prin urmare, Curtea constată că cererea nu a fost introdusă în termen de șase luni de la decizia internă finală și constată că reclamantul acordă că cererea sa este inadmisibilă în măsura în care se referă la cererea sa de indemnizare fiscală, ceea ce trebuie, prin urmare, să fie declarat inadmisibil în temeiul articolului 35 §§ 1 și 4 din convenție.
Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul, în cererea nr. 63471/00, nu și-a depus cererea în termen de șase luni de la decizia internă finală sau nu a formulat o cerere valabilă de achiziție fiscală în termenele interne. Reclamantul a formulat o cerere în 1993, la scurt timp după moartea soției sale. În iunie 2000, după expirarea termenului intern, Curtea a formulat o cerere (mai mult) la veniturile din iunie 2000. Cererea sa a fost introdusă la Curte în septembrie 2000. Curtea constată că, în ceea ce privește cererea sa inițială, cererea sa nu a fost introdusă în termen de șase luni de la decizia internă finală și că reclamantul acordă că această parte a cererii sale este inadmisibilă. Prin urmare, cererea sa, în ceea ce privește cererea de achiziție fiscală pentru pierderi, trebuie să fie declarată inadmisibilă în temeiul articolului 35 §§ 1 și 4 din Convenție.
Reclamantul în cererea nr. 63476/00 a formulat o cerere de achiziție fiscală pentru pierderi pe care Guvernul a declarat că veniturile sunt responsabile în temeiul legislației interne de a plăti în întregime, ca urmare a unei erori administrative. Curtea constată că Guvernul a oferit o sumă prin plată reclamantului, dar el nu a acceptat oferta. Guvernul susține că oferta înseamnă că reclamantul nu mai poate pretinde că este victimă în sensul Convenției, dar nu au formulat observații altfel cu privire la admisibilitatea cererii. Curtea consideră că oferta Guvernului de a plăti reclamantul provine din reglementări procedurale și nu este legată de plângerea sa de discriminare.
Prin urmare, nu se poate spune că este vorba de o recunoaștere, fie în mod expres, fie în substanță, fie de a oferi remediere pentru o presupusă încălcare în sensul necesar pentru a priva reclamantul statutului său de victimă (a se vedea, printre alte autorități, Dalban c. România) [GC], nr. 28114/95, ECHR 1999-VI, § 44]. Curtea consideră că plângerea ridică probleme serioase de fapt și de drept în temeiul Convenției, ale căror hotărâre necesită o examinare a meritelor și concluzionează că această plângere nu este manifestament nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 din Convenție. Nu a fost stabilit niciun alt motiv pentru declararea inadmisibilă. Pensiunea văduvă - eventualele cereri viitoare Unele dintre reclamante se plâng că, dacă ar fi femei, la un moment dat, ar avea dreptul la pensia unei văduve.
Guvernul contează admisibilitatea cererilor în măsura în care se referă la viitoarea neautorizare a pensiei văduvei. În urma hotărârii Curții în Willis v. Regatul Unit (nu. 36042/97, CEDH 2002-IV), observă că chiar dacă reclamanții sunt femei și discriminarea a căror plângere a fost astfel eliminată, acestea nu ar fi calificate pentru pensie de văduvă în condițiile prevăzute în Legea de 1992 timp de câțiva ani, astfel încât și nu ar putea să se califice niciodată din cauza efectelor altor condiții legale. Acestea susțin că plângerile sunt în acest sens pur ipotetice și ar trebui să fie declarate inadmisibile. Unele dintre reclamanții au indicat dorința de a retrage plângerile în ceea ce privește posibilele lor cereri viitoare de pensie a văduvei ca răspuns la observațiile Guvernului.
Reclamantul în cererea nr. 63471/00 susține, totuși, că reclamația sa poate fi distinsă de cea a reclamantului în cazul Willis . El susține că ar avea dreptul la o pensie în 2004 sau 2005 și care nu este atât de departe în viitor, încât să facă reclamația pur speculativă. Curtea reamintește concluzia sa în cazul Willis menționat anterior (art. 50) că, „... din moment ce reclamantul nu a fost tratat diferit de o femeie într-o situație analogă, nu apare nicio problemă de discriminare contrară articolului 14 în ceea ce privește dreptul la pensie de văduvă cu privire la faptele prezentului caz”, și consideră că plângerea reclamantului este încă ipotetică în esență.
Prin urmare, nu există niciun motiv pentru a o distinge de cea a reclamantului în cazul Willis Prin urmare, această parte a fiecărei cereri trebuie să fie declarată inadmisibilă, vădit nefondată, în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4. Plata văduvei Curtea constată că Guvernul a prezentat observații cu privire la unele dintre solicitanți, cu privire la cererile lor de plată a văduvei. Doi dintre reclamanți au inclus, de asemenea, observații cu privire la reclamațiile lor referitoare la nepagarea acestei prestații. Cu toate acestea, Curtea constată că, în decizia parțială din 15 ianuarie 2002, acest aspect al reclamanților a fost deja declarat inadmisibil.
Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate admisibil, fără prejudecarea fondului, reclamațiile reclamanților cu privire la nepagarea alocației mamei văduvă de la data stabilită la coloana 4 a tabelului; Declarații admisibile, fără prejudecată a fondului, plângerea reclamantului în cererea nr. 63476/00 cu privire la nepagarea alocației fiscale pentru deviere; Declarați restul cererilor inadmisibil. Președintele grefierului O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 58370/00 and 11 other applications by Daniel O’CONNELL and Others against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 6 May 2003 as a Chamber composed of Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr L. Garlicki , Mr J. Borrego Borrego, judges , and Mr M. O’Boyle , Section Registrar , Having regard to the above applications, Having regard to the partial decision of 15 January 2002, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicants, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS A. The circumstances of the case See attached table.
B. Relevant domestic law and practice Under United Kingdom law, certain social security benefits are paid for out of the National Insurance Fund. At the material time, Section 1 of the Social Security and Benefits Act 1992 (“the 1992 Act”), provided that the funds required for paying such benefits, including Widow’s Payment, Widowed Mother’s Allowance, and Widow’s Pension, were to be provided by means of contributions payable to the Secretary of State for Social Security by earners, employers and others, together with certain additions made to the Fund by Parliament. Male and female earners were (and are) obliged to pay the same social security contributions in accordance with their status as employed earners or self-employed earners.
Widow’s Payment Under Section 36 of the 1992 Act, a woman who had been widowed was entitled to a widow’s payment (at the material time, a lump sum payment of 1,000 pounds sterling (GBP)) if: (i) she was under pensionable age at the time when her husband died, or he was not then entitled to a Category A retirement pension; (ii) her husband satisfied certain specified social security contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the 1992 Act.
Widowed Mother’s Allowance Under Section 37 of the 1992 Act, in so far as relevant, a woman who had been widowed (and who had not remarried) was entitled to a mother’s allowance on certain conditions, the following being the relevant conditions to the circumstances of the present cases: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) she was entitled to receive child benefit in relation to a son or daughter of herself and her late husband. At the material time, the widowed mother’s allowance amounted to approximately GBP 72.50 per week, with an extra GBP 9.70 per week in respect of the eldest eligible child, and a further GBP 11.35 per week in respect of other children.
Widow’s Pension Under Section 38 of the 1992 Act, a woman who had been widowed (and who had not remarried) was entitled to a widow’s pension if: (i) her husband satisfied the contribution conditions set out in a Schedule to the Act; and (ii) at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65; or (iii) she ceased to be entitled to a widowed mother’s allowance at the time when she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65.
Time-limit for applications for benefits For the period up to 7 April 1997, the time-limits for claiming widow’s payment and widowed mother’s allowance were set out in the Social Security (Claims and Payments) Regulations 1987 (“the 1987 Regulations”), regulation 19 of which provided: “(6) The prescribed time for claiming benefits not specified in column (1) of Schedule 4 shall be – ... (b) twelve months in the case of ... widow’s benefit ... (7) The periods of six and twelve months prescribed by paragraph (6) are calculated from any day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned.” As of 7 April 1997, regulation 19 was amended so as to read: “(2) The prescribed time for claiming the benefits specified in paragraph (3) is three months beginning on the day on which, apart from satisfying the condition of making a claim, the claimant is entitled to the benefit concerned. (3) The benefits to which paragraph (2) applies are –... (g) widow’s benefit; ...” The time-limits set out in the amended version of regulation 19 applied to all widows’ benefits claims made as of 7 April 1987, regardless of the date of bereavement. In addition, section 1(2) of the Social Security Administration Act 1992 provided, in relation to claims for Widow’s Payment: “Where under subsection (1) above a person is required to make a claim or to be treated as making a claim for a benefit in order to be entitled to it – (a) if the benefit is a widow’s payment, she shall not be entitled to it in respect of a death occurring more than 12 months before the date on which the claim is made or treated as made ...”
Bereavement Tax Allowance Section 262(1) of the Income and Corporation Taxes Act 1988 provides: “Where a married man whose wife is living with him dies, his widow shall be entitled – (a) for the year of assessment in which the death occurs, to an income tax reduction calculated by reference to an amount equal to the amount specified in section 257A(1) for that year, and (b) (unless she marries again before the beginning of it) for the next following year of assessment, to an income tax reduction calculated by reference to an amount equal to the amount specified in section 257A(1) for that year.”
Northern Ireland Precise equivalents of all of the above provisions of primary and secondary legislation appeared in Northern Ireland legislation. COMPLAINT The applicants complain that British social security and/or tax legislation discriminates against them on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The applicants complain that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British social security legislation discriminates against them on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. The applicants in applications nos. 61019/00, 63471/00 and 63476/00 make the same complaint also in respect of lack of provision for bereavement tax allowance for men under British tax legislation. Article 14 of the Convention states: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 8 of the Convention provides (as relevant): “1. Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life ... 2. There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of ... the economic well-being of the country ...” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 states: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” A. Widowed Mother’s Allowance The applicants complain about non-payment of widowed mother’s allowance from the date set out at column 4 of the attached table. The Court notes that the Government do not contest the admissibility of the applications in so far as they relate to non-payment of this benefit and considers that the complaints raise serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits. The Court concludes therefore that these complaints are not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring them inadmissible has been established. B. Bereavement Tax Allowance The Government submitted that the applicant in application no. 61019/00 did not make a valid application for bereavement tax allowance, and/or would not have been entitled to the allowance even if he were a woman, and/or introduced his application to the Court more than six months after the final domestic decision. The refusal to satisfy his claim was made by letter dated 8 May 1998 and his application was introduced to the Court on 22 August 2000. The Court therefore finds that the application was not introduced within six months of the final domestic decision and notes that the applicant concedes that his application is inadmissible in so far as it concerns his tax allowance claim. That aspect of his claim must therefore be declared inadmissible under Article 35 §§ 1 and 4 of the Convention. The Government submitted that the applicant in application no. 63471/00 either did not introduce his application within six months of the final domestic decision or did not make a valid claim for bereavement tax allowance within the domestic time limits. The applicant made a claim in 1993, shortly after his wife’s death. He made a (further) claim to the Revenue in June 2000, after the expiry of the domestic time limit. His application was introduced to the Court in September 2000. The Court notes that in respect of his initial claim, his application was not introduced within six months of the final domestic decision and that the applicant concedes that this part of his application is inadmissible. His application, in so far as it relates to his claim for bereavement tax allowance, must therefore be declared inadmissible under Article 35 §§ 1 and 4 of the Convention. The applicant in application no. 63476/00 made a claim for bereavement tax allowance which the Government have stated the Revenue are liable under domestic law to pay in full, as a result of an administrative error. The Court notes that the Government have offered a sum by way of payment to the applicant, but he has not accepted the offer. The Government submit that the offer means that the applicant can no longer claim to be a victim for the purposes of the Convention, but they have made no comments otherwise on the admissibility of the application. The Court considers that the Government’s offer to pay the applicant derives from procedural regulations and is not related to his complaint of discrimination. It cannot therefore be said to amount to an acknowledgement of, either expressly or in substance, or to offer redress for an alleged violation in the sense necessary to deprive the applicant of his status as a victim (see, amongst other authorities, Dalban v. Romania [GC], no. 28114/95, ECHR 1999-VI, § 44). The Court considers that the complaint raises serious issues of fact and law under the Convention, the determination of which requires an examination of the merits and concludes that this complaint is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 of the Convention. No other ground for declaring it inadmissible has been established. C. Widow’s Pension - possible future claims Some of the applicants complain that if they were women they would at some point in the future become entitled to a widow’s pension. The Government contest the admissibility of the claims in so far as they relate to future non-entitlement to widow’s pension. Following the Court’s judgment in Willis v. the United Kingdom (no. 36042/97, ECHR 2002-IV), they observe that even if the applicants were women and the discrimination of which they complain was thus removed, they would not qualify for a widow’s pension under the conditions set out in the 1992 Act for some years hence and might never qualify due to the effect of other statutory conditions. They submit that the complaints are in that regard purely hypothetical and should be declared inadmissible. Some of the applicants have indicated a wish to withdraw the complaints in respect of their possible future claims for widow’s pension in response to the Government’s observations. The applicant in application no. 63471/00 submits, however, that his claim can be distinguished from that of the applicant in the case of Willis . He submits that he would become entitled to a pension in 2004 or 2005 and that is not so far in the future as to make the claim purely speculative. The Court recalls its finding in the above mentioned Willis case (§ 50) that, “... since the applicant has not been treated differently from a woman in an analogous situation, no issue of discrimination contrary to Article 14 arises as regards entitlement to a Widow’s Pension on the facts of this case”, and considers that the applicant’s complaint is still essentially hypothetical. There is thus no reason to distinguish it from that of the applicant in the case of Willis . That part of each application must therefore be declared inadmissible as manifestly ill-founded, under Article 35 §§ 3 and 4. D. Widow’s Payment The Court notes that the Government have submitted observations in respect of some of the applicants, concerning their claims for widow’s payment. Two of the applicants have also included observations about their complaints concerning non-payment of this benefit. The Court notes however, that in the partial decision of 15 January 2002, this aspect of the applicants’ complaints has already been declared inadmissible. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares admissible, without prejudging the merits, the applicants’ complaints concerning non-payment of widowed mother’s allowance from the date set out at column 4 of the table; Declares admissible, without prejudging the merits, the complaint of the applicant in application no. 63476/00 concerning non-payment of bereavement tax allowance; Declares the remainder of the applications inadmissible. Michael O’Boyle Matti Pellonpää Registrar President