- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 14 octombrie 2003
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Clarke și alții împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
CUARTA DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILITATEA cererilor nr. 27973/02, 27999/02, 28038/02 și 28100/02 de către John CLARKE și 3 alții împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), ședința la 14 octombrie 2003 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Președintele Pellonpäää Sir Nicolas Bratza dna Strážnická Maruste Pavlovschi Garlicki Borrego, judecători Elens-Passos Registrul adjunct al secțiunii având în vedere cererile de mai sus, toate depuse la 1 martie 2001, având în vedere decizia Comitetului din 3 iunie 2003, după ce a deliberat, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Circumstanțele cazului A se vedea tabelul atașat.Legea internă relevantă Legea internă relevantă este stabilită în diferite decizii privind cereri similare, de exemplu, a se vedea Dodds și altele v. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 59314/02, 8 aprilie 2003). COMPLAINTE Reclamanții se plâng că legislația britanică de securitate socială le discrimină pentru motive de sex, în încălcarea articolului 14 din Convenția luată împreună cu art. 8 din Convenția și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. HOTĂRÂREA Reclamanții se plâng că lipsa de dispoziții privind prestațiile pentru văduvi în temeiul legislației britanice privind securitatea socială este discriminată împotriva acestora din motive de sex.
art. 14 din Convenție prevede: „Drumarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în prezenta convenție este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, originea națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 8 din convenție prevede (după caz): „1. Toată lumea are dreptul la respectarea vieții sale private și familiale ... Nu va exista nici o interferență de către o autoritate publică în exercitarea acestui drept, cu excepția celor care sunt în conformitate cu legea și sunt necesare într-o societate democratică în interesul ... bunăstarea economică a țării ...” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 prevede: „1.
Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesele sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și de principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Curtea reamintește că în Cornwell c. Regatul Unit , (dec.), nr. 36578/97, 11 mai 1999), Curtea a hotărât că, până când nu a formulat de fapt o cerere pentru beneficiile văduvelor, un bărbat nu poate pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie văduvă nu primește în mod automat beneficiile văduvelor și trebuie, în primul rând, să facă o cerere.
În aceste cazuri, până când fiecare reclamant nu a solicitat în biroul său local de prestații pentru beneficiile văduvelor, sau și-a exprimat dorința clară de a solicita aceste prestații, el nu a putut pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție care nu a făcut nicio reclamație nu ar avea dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor în temeiul dreptului intern. Curtea remarcă că din 7 aprilie 1997, un termen de trei luni, începând cu data dreptului, a solicitat cererile pentru beneficiile văduvelor de către femei. O văduvă care nu solicită plata unei văduve în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei, pierde toate drepturile la acest beneficiu.
Alocația mamei văduvă și pensia de văduvă (și echivalenții acestora în temeiul Legii 1999 privind reforma socială și pensiile) sunt beneficii continui care pot fi reclamate în orice moment, presupunând drepturi, dar o reclamație făcută în afara termenului de trei luni nu poate fi retrasă până la data pierderii de vieți. Înainte de 7 aprilie 1997, termenul a fost de 12 luni. Toți reclamanții au făcut anchete cu Agenția de Beneficii în timpul deceselor soției lor și au fost sfătuiți că nu au fost puse la dispoziția văduvelor niciun beneficiu echivalent cu cele plătibile. În fiecare caz, sfatul dat constituia „decizia internă finală” în sensul art. 35 din Convenție. În fiecare caz, această decizie, la data prevăzută la coloana 5 din tabelul atașat, a fost clar mai mult de șase luni înainte de data în care cererea a fost depusă Curții.
Solicitațiile, în măsura în care se referă la aceste cereri inițiale de prestații, trebuie, prin urmare, declarate inadmisibile ca fiind fără timp, în conformitate cu art. 35 § 4 din convenție (a se vedea Gardner și alții c. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 12937/02, 30 aprilie 2002). Toți reclamanții au formulat cereri mai târziu de prestații („reclamația relevantă”) la datele stabilite la coloana 6 din tabelul atașat, pentru care cererile lor au fost prezentate Curții în termen de șase luni. Cu toate acestea, în măsura în care reclamanții se plâng de nerambursare a plății văduvei, cererile relevante ale acestora au fost formulate după expirarea termenului intern și ar fi fost neautorizate dacă acestea ar fi fost văduve.
În plus, Curtea constată că, în temeiul articolului 38 din Legea privind contribuțiile și beneficiile pentru securitatea socială din 1992, o femeie văduvă (și care nu s-a recăsătorit) a avut dreptul la pensie de văduvă, dacă, printre altele, , la data decesului soțului ei, a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani, sau a încetat să aibă dreptul la alocația unei mame văduvă la momentul în care a avut peste 45 de ani, dar sub 65 de ani. Reclamanții în cererile nr. 27973/02, 27999/02 și 28038/02 au fost toate în vârstă peste 65 de ani la data cererii lor relevante pentru beneficiile văduvelor. Reclamantul în cerere nr. 28100/02 era sub 45 de ani la moartea soției sale. Nici unul dintre reclamanții nu avea copii dependenți și, chiar dacă erau femei, nu aveau dreptul nici la o alocație a mamei văduvă, nici la o pensie de văduvă.
Prin urmare, niciunul dintre reclamanții nu poate pretinde că este victime de discriminare în sensul Convenției, iar cererile lor trebuie respinse ca fiind inadmisibile în temeiul articolului 35 §§ 3 și 4. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate că cererile sunt inadmisibile. 3. Data introducerii 4. Data pierderii 5. Data cererii inițiale de beneficii 6. Data cererii de beneficii relevante John CLARKE 27973/02 01/03/01 21/02/78 1978 11/10/00 Alan GREEN 27999/02 01/03/01 07/05/93 1993/4 21/09/00 Thomas McLOughLIN 280338/02 01/03/01 19/07/88 1988 18/09/00 Ellis WAINWRIGHT 28100/02 01/03/01 12/08/93 1993 18/09/00
FOURTH SECTION
DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Applications nos. 27973/02, 27999/02, 28038/02 and 28100/02 by John CLARKE and 3 others against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 14 October 2003 as a Chamber composed of: Mr M. Pellonpää , President , Sir Nicolas Bratza , Mrs V. Strážnická , Mr R. Maruste , Mr S. Pavlovschi , Mr L. Garlicki , Mr J. Borrego Borrego, judges , Ms F. Elens-Passos , Deputy Section Registrar , Having regard to the above applications, all lodged on 1 March 2001, Having regard to the Committee decision of 3 June 2003, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS A. The circumstances of the case See attached table.
B. Relevant domestic law The relevant domestic law is set out in various decisions in respect of similar applications, see, for example, Dodds and others v. the United Kingdom ((dec.), no. 59314/02, 8 April 2003). COMPLAINTS The applicants complain that British social security legislation discriminates against them on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No.
THE LAW The applicants complain that the lack of provision for widowers’ benefits under British social security legislation discriminates against them on grounds of sex. Article 14 of the Convention provides: “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in this Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 8 of the Convention provides (as relevant): “1. Everyone has the right to respect for his private and family life ...
There shall be no interference by a public authority with the exercise of this right except such as is in accordance with the law and is necessary in a democratic society in the interests of ... the economic well-being of the country ...” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 provides: “1. Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. 2. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” 1. The Court recalls that in Cornwell v. the United Kingdom , ((dec.), no. 36578/97, 11 May 1999), the Court decided that, until he has actually made a claim for widows’ benefits, a man cannot claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman who is widowed does not automatically receive any widows’ benefits and must first make a claim. In the present cases, until each applicant applied to his local benefits office for widows’ benefits, or made clear his wish to claim those benefits, he could not claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position who had made no claim would have had no entitlement to widows’ benefits under domestic law. The Court notes that since 7 April 1997, a three-month time-limit, commencing from the date of entitlement, has applied to claims for widows’ benefits by women. A widow who does not claim a widow’s payment within three months of her husband’s death, loses all entitlement to this benefit. Widowed mother’s allowance and widow’s pension (and their equivalents under the Welfare Reform and Pensions Act 1999) are continuing benefits which can be claimed at any time, assuming entitlement, but a claim made outside the three-month time-limit cannot be back-dated to the date of bereavement. Before 7 April 1997 the time-limit was 12 months. 2. The applicants all made enquiries with the Benefits Agency around the time of their wives’ deaths and were advised that no benefits equivalent to those payable to widows were available to widowers. In each case the advice given constituted the “final domestic decision” for the purposes of Article 35 of the Convention. In each case this decision, on the date set out at column 5 of the attached table, was clearly more than six months before the date on which the application was submitted to the Court. The applications so far as they relate to those initial claims for benefits must therefore be declared inadmissible as being out of time, in accordance with Article 35 § 4 of the Convention (see Gardner and others v. the United Kingdom , (dec.), no. 12937/02, 30 April 2002).
The applicants all made later claims for benefits (“the relevant claim”) on the dates set out at column 6 of the attached table, in respect of which their applications were introduced to the Court within six months. However, to the extent that the applicants complain about non-payment of widow’s payment, their relevant claims were made after the expiry of the domestic time limit and would have been disallowed had they been widows. Furthermore, the Court notes that under Section 38 of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992 Act, a woman who was widowed (and who had not remarried) was entitled to a widow’s pension if, inter alia , at the date of her husband’s death she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65, or she ceased to be entitled to a widowed mother’s allowance at the time when she was over the age of 45 but under the age of 65. The applicants in applications nos. 27973/02, 27999/02 and 28038/02 were all aged over 65 at the date of their relevant claim for widows’ benefits. The applicant in application no. 28100/02 was under 45 at the time of his wife’s death. None of the applicants had dependent children and, even had they been women, they would not have been entitled either to a widowed mother’s allowance or a widow’s pension. It follows that none of the applicants can claim to be victims of discrimination for the purposes of the Convention and their applications must be rejected as inadmissible pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and
For these reasons, the Court unanimously Declares the applications inadmissible. Françoise Elens-Passos Matti Pellonpää Deputy Registrar President ANNEX 1. Name of applicant 2. Application no. 3. Date of introduction 4. Date of bereavement
Date of initial benefit claim
Date of relevant benefit claim John CLARKE 27973/02 01/03/01 21/02/78 1978 11/10/00 Alan GREEN 27999/02 01/03/01 07/05/93 1993/4 21/09/00 Thomas McLOUGHLIN 28038/02 01/03/01 19/07/88 1988 18/09/00 Ellis WAINWRIGHT 28100/02 01/03/01 12/08/93 1993 18/09/00