- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 24 ianuarie 2012
- Stat pârât
- ITA
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Torri și alții împotriva Italiei
Traducere în română Auto
Reclamanții, dna Laura Torri, dna Patrizia Tomage, dl Carlo Caino Rosa, dna Piera Albanese, dl Roberto Iodice, dl Andrea Camera, dna Loredana Pappada, dl Antonino Casciolo și dl Carmine Bucchiarelli, sunt resortisanți italieni care locuiesc la Roma (a se vedea anexa pentru data nașterii). Guvernul italian („Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de Co-Agentul lor, dna Paola Accardo. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamanții în calitate de angajați ai AGENSUD (Agenția per la promozione dello sviluppo nel Mezzogiorno) au acumulat până la 12 octombrie 1993 o anumită lungime de serviciu și au plătit contribuții pentru pensiile lor de vârstă în cadrul INPS (Instituto Nazionale della Previdenza Sociale), principala entitate de asistență socială italiană.
Astfel, în conformitate cu legea în vigoare la momentul respectiv, la 12 octombrie 1993, chiar presupunând că au devenit șomeri în viitor, toate reclamanții au acumulat deja toți anii necesari de contribuții pentru a obține o pensie de vârstă în vârstă la atingerea vârstei pensionabile (seizeci pentru bărbați și cincizeci și cinci pentru femei) (a se vedea tabelul anexat). AGENSUD a fost numită anterior Cassa per il Mezzogiorno (Cassa), o entitate publică care are propria personalitate juridică. Astfel, potrivit reclamanților, la 12 octombrie 1993 acestea erau funcționari și toate garanțiile relevante aplicate acestora, inclusiv art. 29 din Legea nr. 646 din 10 august 1950 (Legea nr. 646/50) (Legea care a instituit Cassa), cu condiția ca la data încetării cazei sau a dizolvării acesteia, toate drepturile și obligațiile acesteia să fie transferate statului.
Prin Legea nr. 488 din 19 decembrie 1992 (Legea nr. 488/92) AGENSUD a fost dizolvat. Cu toate acestea, relația de lucru între angajatorul și angajatul cu sarcinile și obligațiile sale nu a fost transferată statului așa cum au fost furnizate. În schimb, această relație de lucru a încetat să aibă efect și angajații au achiziționat dreptul la o „plăți finală a serviciului” (TFR). Această slujbă, însă, prevedea salarii mai mici decât cele pe care le-au primit anterior, în contrast, potrivit reclamanților, principiile consolidate ale serviciului public (decretul președinte nr. 3 din 10 ianuarie 1997 – a se vedea legislația internă relevantă). Guvernul a remarcat că acest salariu corespunde celui al angajaților din statul administrativ în graduri egale de serviciu.
În cele din urmă, în 1995, reclamanții au fost angajati în cadrul Ministerului Politicilor Forestiere și Agricole ( Ministerul) cu efect retroactiv începând cu 13 octombrie 1993. Astfel, au ales să rămână în locul de muncă și au acceptat salarii mai mici, împreună cu implicațiile pentru viitoarea acoperire socială și pensii în ceea ce privește contribuțiile care urmează să fie plătite în cadrul acestei noi locuri de muncă. În acel moment, legea (art. 14 bis din Legea nr. 96/1993) prevedea două opțiuni, una dintre care (denumită în continuare „aderarea”) implică faptul că contribuțiile anterioare plătite de solicitanți, viz de AGENSUD la INPS, se alătură celor care ar fi ulterior plătite de Minister la o altă entitate socială, și anume INPDAP (Istituto Nazionale di Previdenza per I Dipendenti dell’Amministrazione Publica).
Potrivit reclamanților, pe baza articolului 14 bis alineatul (1) litera (b) din Legea nr. 96/1993, toate beneficiile obținute au trebuit să rămână neatinse și schimbarea sistemului ar fi trebuit să aibă loc fără a fi fost plătite sau pierdete de partea lor. Astfel, reclamanții au acceptat oferta relevantă de ocupare a forței de muncă și aderarea contribuțiilor lor, considerând că, în conformitate cu jurisprudența în momentul respectiv (a se vedea titlul C de mai jos), acestea ar primi înapoi orice plăți care nu ar merge la calcularea pensiei lor. Într-adevăr, la momentul respectiv, sistemul de aderare a implicat că doar o parte din contribuțiile anterioare (pagate la INPS) a fost utilizată pentru calcularea pensiilor.
Totuși, în cele din urmă, a avut ca rezultat că orice contribuții în exces au fost în beneficiul INPDAP și nu au fost renunțate la INPS sau reclamanților. De aceea, prin această mișcare, reclamanții au suferit două dezavantaje: în primul rând, pensiile viitoare vor fi mai mici și, în al doilea rând, se va pierde o parte bună a contribuțiilor deja plătite. 10. În consecință, legislatorul prevedea o derogare (art. 14 bis alineatul 4) aplicabilă unui număr limitat de angajați ai AGENSUD, și anume personalul care a părăsit serviciul public după 13 octombrie 1993 și înainte de intrarea în vigoare a articolului 14 bis alineatul (1) litera (b) din Legea nr. 96/1993. Derogarea implică restituirea contribuțiilor plătite care nu au fost calculate în scopul aderării la perioadele de securitate socială.
Reclamanții nu au intrat în această categorie. 11. Inițial, serviciul public a început să plătească tuturor angajaților AGENSUD, fără distincție, fie spontan, fie ca urmare a unor cazuri judiciare cu succes în prima instanță. Cu toate acestea, în cele din urmă, serviciul public a limitat această plată numai persoanelor care au părăsit serviciul public după 13 octombrie 1993 și înainte de intrarea în vigoare a articolului 14 bis alineatul (1) litera (b) din Legea nr. 96/1993, excluzând astfel reclamanții, care au acceptat să ia noul loc de muncă și au convenit să se alăture contribuțiilor lor într-o entitate. 12. În 1995, sistemul de asistență socială italiană a introdus un nou calcul al pensiilor, și anume Sistemul Contributivo (calculul pensiilor prin referință la contribuțiile plătite pe parcursul vieții și la factorii de revalorizare), în loc de Sistemul Retributivo (în baza salariilor aplicabile angajaților în ultimii ani de serviciu).
Schimbarea sistemului a fost graduală și, în timp ce pentru tinerii angajați, sistemul este obligatoriu, pentru cei mai vârstnici este doar opțional. 13. În 2000 reclamanții au instituit proceduri judiciare pentru a se asigura dreptul la restituirea contribuțiilor pe care le-au plătit INPS și care nu au fost utilizate pentru calcularea pensiilor lor. Acestea au susținut că, dacă art. 14 bis ar trebui interpretat ca fiind insignificant dreptul de a retrage contribuțiile lor, ar fi discriminatoriu în raport cu a) alți angajați AGENSUD și/sau b) alți angajați, în general, care au fost transferați anterior și au fost rambursați cu excesul de contribuții, care au solicitat rambursarea sumelor relevante.
14. Prin hotărârea din 21 august 2003, Tribunalul Administrativ Lazio (TAR) a declarat cererea inadmisibilă din motive formale și procedurale. 15. Prin recurs, printr-o hotărâre pronunțată la 15 septembrie 2006 în registrul relevant al plenarului (Adunanza Plinaria), Curtea Administrativă Supremă (Consiglio di Stato) a respins cererile cu privire la fond. Acesta a susținut că contribuțiile care au fost plătite INPS, dar care nu au fost utilizate pentru calculul pensiilor, ar putea fi atribuite în mod valabil INPDAP. În cadrul unui sistem de asistență socială bazat pe principiul solidarității, circumstanțele pe care beneficiile sociale nu reflectă contribuțiile plătite nu constituie o îmbogățire nedreaptă a entității care beneficiază de contribuții.
În sfârșit, restituirea contribuțiilor a fost o măsură excepțională care nu a fost reglementată de norme uniforme și numai aplicabilă unei anumite categorii de persoane. În consecință, în absența unei norme specifice în acest sens, reclamanții nu au avut dreptul la rambursarea contribuțiilor plătite în depășire. În plus, reclamanții au acceptat să ia noi locuri de muncă cu serviciul public și au solicitat aderarea perioadelor lor de contribuție. 16. În 1992, plenaria (Adunanza Plinaria) a Curții Supreme de Administrație (Consiglio di Stato) a susținut că este posibilă rambursarea contribuțiilor în afara funcționarilor publici. Același lucru a fost repetat în 1997 în cazuri analoge legate de dizolvarea Serviciului Național de Sănătate (enti mutualisti), al căror angajați au fost transferați la un alt organ al funcției publice.
17. Apoi, numeroși ex-empleați ai AGENSUD au instituit o procedură judiciară care se plânge de salariile mai mici și acoperirea socială. Prin hotărârea Curții Constituționale din 19 iunie 1998 s-a considerat că persoanele aflate în poziția reclamanților au dobândit un nou statut egal cu colegii lor. Astfel, din moment ce le-a fost acordată posibilitatea de a se retrage și de a menține vechiul regim de bunăstare sau de a continua în ocuparea forței de muncă și de a se alătura contribuțiilor într-una (a cheltuielile statului și pentru unele altele cu recuperarea acestor contribuții), sistemul a fost în conformitate cu principiile constituționale. 18. Din nou în ceea ce privește angajații AGENSUD, Curtea Administrativă Supremă a avut inițial un aviz din 30 iunie 1999, eliberat în cadrul competenței sale consultative, s-a exprimat în favoarea rambursării tuturor angajaților AGENSUD, inclusiv a celor în situația reclamanților.
Pe aceleași linii, o serie de hotărâri în primă instanță, unele dintre care au devenit finale, au fost emise (de exemplu, Antognoni Alberto/Ministrul pentru transport și infrastructură, INPS și INPDAP, hotărârea Tribunalului Administrativ Lazio din 9 octombrie 2002 și D’Agostino Caterina/Președintele del Consiglio dei Ministri, Ministerul Economiei și Finanțelor, INPS și INPDAP hotărârea Tribunalului Administrativ Lazio din 6 aprilie 2004). În conformitate cu legea în vigoare până la 31 decembrie 1992, persoanele au fost eligibile să primească o pensie de vârstă în vârstă pensionabilă, adică șasezeci de ani pentru bărbați și cincizeci de ani pentru femei. De la 1 ianuarie 1993 până la 31 decembrie 1993, șaisprezece ani de contribuții sociale au fost necesare pentru a obține acest beneficiu, ceea ce se aplică chiar dacă persoanele erau șomere până la data la care au ajuns la vârsta pensionabilă.
Începând cu 1 ianuarie 1994 până la 31 decembrie 1994, au fost necesare 16 ani de contribuții sociale pentru a obține acest beneficiu; totuși, vârsta pensionabilă a fost crescută la șaizeci și unu pentru bărbați și 56 de femei. De la 1 ianuarie 1995 până la 31 decembrie 1995, au fost necesare 17 ani de contribuții sociale pentru a obține acest beneficiu atunci când a ajuns la vârsta pensionabilă, care a rămas șaizeci și unu pentru bărbați și șase pentru femei.
20. art. 29 din Legea nr. 646/50, în măsura în care este cazul, se citește după cum urmează: „La data încetării cazei sau a dizolvării acesteia, toate drepturile și obligațiile acesteia sunt transferate statului.” 21. art. 202 din decretul prezidențial nr. 3 din 10 ianuarie 1997, prevede următoarele: „În cazul schimbărilor carierei în aceeași administrație sau într-o administrație diferită, angajații cu salarii mai mari decât cele prevăzute în această schimbare se acordă un cec personal, relevant pentru pensii, egal cu diferența dintre cele două salarii, fără a aduce atingere creșterilor salariale viitoare.” 22. art. 14 bis alineatul (1) litera (b) din Legea nr. 96/1993 prevedea ca art. 6 din Legea nr. 29 din 1979 să fie aplicabil persoanelor aflate în pozițiile reclamanților în scopul asigurării sociale.
Acestea din urmă au citit după cum urmează: „Aderarea la perioadele de securitate socială legate de serviciile prestate cu entități publice suprimate, în ceea ce privește care a existat un transfer de personal către alte entități publice, apare de oficiu prin intermediul entității de asistență socială primitoare, fără nicio acuzație asupra angajaților.”
1. The applicants, Ms Laura Torri, Ms Patrizia Tomage, Mr Carlo Caino Rosa, Ms Piera Albanese, Mr Roberto Iodice, Mr Andrea Camera, Ms Loredana Pappada, Mr Antonino Casciolo and Mr Carmine Bucchiarelli, are Italian nationals who live in Rome (see Annex for dates of birth). They were represented before the Court by Mr M. de Stefano, a lawyer practising in Rome. The Italian Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Co-Agent, Ms Paola Accardo.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows.
The applicants as employees of AGENSUD (Agenzia per la promozione dello sviluppo nel Mezzogiorno) had by 12 October 1993 accumulated a certain length of service and had been paying contributions towards their old-age pension into the INPS (Istituto Nazionale della Previdenza Sociale), the primary Italian welfare entity. Thus, according to the law in force at the time, on 12 October 1993, even assuming they became unemployed in the future, all the applicants had already accrued all the necessary years of contributions to obtain an old age-pension on attaining pensionable age (sixty for men and fifty-five for women) (see annexed table).
AGENSUD had previously been called Cassa per il Mezzogiorno (Cassa), a public entity having its own juridical personality. Thus, according to the applicants, on 12 October 1993 they were civil servants and all the relevant guarantees applied to them, including Article 29 of Law no. 646 of 10 August 1950 (Law no. 646/50) (the law which had instituted the Cassa), providing that on the date of cessation of the Cassa or its dissolution, all the rights and obligations of the latter would be transferred to the State.
By means of Law no. 488 of 19 December 1992 (Law no. 488/92) AGENSUD was dissolved. However, the working relationship between employer and employee with its duties and obligations was not transferred to the State as had been provided. Instead, this working relationship ceased to have effect and the employees acquired a right to an “end-of-service payment” (TFR). They were further given the option to undertake new employment with a new civil service entity. This employment, however, provided for lower salaries than the ones they had previously received, contrary, according to the applicants, to consolidated principles of the public service (Presidential decree no. 3 of 10 January 1997 – see relevant domestic law). The Government noted that this salary corresponded to that of Administrative State employees in equal grades of service.
Eventually, in 1995, the applicants were employed within the Ministry for Forest and Agricultural Policies (the Ministry) with retroactive effect from 13 October 1993. Thus, they had chosen to remain in employment and accepted lower salaries, together with the implications for their future social welfare coverage and pensions, in respect of contributions to be paid during this new employment.
At the time, the law (Article 14 bis of Law no. 96/1993) provided for two options, one of which (hereinafter referred to as joining) entailed that previous contributions paid by the applicants, viz by AGENSUD to the INPS, be joined to those that would subsequently be paid by the Ministry to a different welfare entity, namely the INPDAP (Istituto Nazionale di Previdenza per I Dipendenti dell’Amministrazione Pubblica).
According to the applicants, on the basis of Article 14 bis paragraph 1 (b) of Law no. 96/1993, any benefits acquired had to remain untouched and the change of system should have occurred without any disbursements or losses on their part. Thus, the applicants accepted the relevant employment offer and the joining of their contributions, believing that, in accordance with the case-law as it stood at the time (see Title C below), they would receive back any payments in excess which would not go towards the calculation of their pension.
Indeed, at the time, the system of joining entailed that only part of the previous contributions (paid to INPS) was used for the calculation of the pensions. However, it eventually resulted that any contributions in excess were to the benefit of the INPDAP and were not given back to the INPS or to the applicants. It followed that a future pension would also not have benefited from the entirety of the contributions paid. Thus, through this move the applicants suffered two disadvantages: firstly, any future pensions would be lower and secondly a good share of the already paid contributions would be lost.
In consequence, the legislator provided for a derogation (Article 14 bis paragraph 4) applicable to a limited number of employees of the AGENSUD, namely personnel who had left the civil service after 13 October 1993 and before the entry into force of Article 14 bis paragraph 1 (b) of Law No. 96/1993. The derogation entailed the restitution of the paid contributions which had not been calculated for the purposes of joining the social security periods. The applicants did not fall within this category.
Initially, the civil service started paying up all the AGENSUD employees, without distinction, either spontaneously or as a result of a number of court cases successful at first instance. However, eventually, the civil service limited this payment only to persons who had left the civil service after 13 October 1993 and before the entry into force of Article 14 bis paragraph 1 (b) of Law No. 96/1993, thus excluding the applicants, who had accepted to take up new employment and agreed to the joining of their contributions into one entity.
In 1995 the Italian welfare system introduced a new pension calculation, namely the Sistema Contributivo (calculation of pension by reference to contributions paid throughout a life-time and revalorisation factors) as opposed to the Sistema Retributivo (based on the salaries applicable to employees in their last years of service). The change in system has been gradual and while for young employees the system is obligatory, for older ones it is only optional.
In 2000 the applicants instituted judicial proceedings to ascertain their right to the restitution of the contributions they had paid to the INPS and which had not been used to calculate their pensions. They contended that if Article 14 bis had to be interpreted as not implying the right for them to take back their contributions, it would be discriminatory vis-à-vis both a) other AGENSUD employees and/or b) other employees in general who had previously been transferred and had been reimbursed the excess contributions. They requested the reimbursement of the relevant sums.
By a judgment of 21 August 2003, the Lazio Administrative Tribunal (TAR) declared the application inadmissible on formal and procedural grounds.
On appeal, by a judgment delivered on 15 September 2006 in the relevant registry of the plenary (Adunanza Plenaria), the Supreme Administrative Court (Consiglio di Stato) rejected the claims on the merits. It held that the contributions which had been paid to INPS but had not been used for pension calculation could validly be vested in the INPDAP. In the ambit of a welfare system based on the principle of solidarity, the circumstances that social benefits do not reflect the contributions paid did not amount to unjust enrichment of the entity receiving the contributions. Lastly, the restitution of contributions was an exceptional measure not regulated by uniform norms and only applicable to a certain category of people. In consequence, in the absence of any specific norm to that effect, the applicants did not have a right to the reimbursement of contributions paid in excess. Moreover, the applicants had accepted to take up new employment with the civil service and requested the joining of their contributory periods.
In 1992 the plenary (Adunanza Plenaria) of the Supreme Administrative Court (Consiglio di Stato) had held that it was possible to reimburse contributions in excess to civil servants. The same was reiterated again in 1997 in analogous cases relating to the dissolution of the National Health Service (enti mutualistici), whose employees were transferred to another organ of the civil service.
Subsequently, numerous ex-employees of the AGENSUD instituted court proceedings complaining about the lower salaries and social coverage. By a judgment of the Constitutional Court of 19 June 1998 it was held that persons in the applicants’ position had acquired a new status equal to their colleagues. Thus, since they had been given the option either to retire and maintain the old welfare regime or to continue in employment and join the contributions into one (at the State’s expense and for certain others with the recovery of such contributions), the system was in conformity with constitutional principles.
Again in relation to AGENSUD employees, the Supreme Administrative Court had originally by an opinion of 30 June 1999, delivered in the framework of its consultative competence, expressed itself in favour of reimbursement being made to all AGENSUD employees, including the ones in the applicants’ situation. On the same lines, a number of decisions at first instance, some of which had become final, were delivered (for example Antognoni Alberto v the Ministry for transport and Infrastructure, INPS and INPDAP, judgment of the Lazio Administrative Tribunal of 9 October 2002 and D’Agostino Caterina v Presidente del Consiglio dei Ministri, Ministry of Economy and Finance, INPS and INPDAP judgment of the Lazio Administrative Tribunal of 6 April 2004). It was only the Supreme Administrative Court Plenary formation which reversed this jurisprudence in 2006 in the applicants’ domestic case.
In accordance with the law in force up to 31 December 1992, persons were eligible to receive an old-age pension on attaining pensionable age, namely sixty for men and fifty-five for women, after fifteen years of welfare contributions. As from 1 January 1993 to 31 December 1993, sixteen years of welfare contributions were necessary to obtain the said benefit. This applied even if persons had been unemployed up to the date when they reached pensionable age. As from 1 January 1994 to 31 December 1994, sixteen years of welfare contributions were necessary to obtain the said benefit; however, pensionable age was increased to sixty-one for men and fifty-six for women. As from 1 January 1995 to 31 December 1995, seventeen years of welfare contributions were necessary to obtain the said benefit when reaching pensionable age, which remained sixty-one for men and fifty-six for women.
Article 29 of Law no. 646/50, in so far as relevant, reads as follows: “On the date of cessation of the Cassa or its dissolution, all the rights and obligations of the latter are transferred to the State.”
Article 202 of Presidential decree no. 3 of 10 January 1997, provides as follows: “In the case of career changes in the same or a different administration, employees having higher salaries than those provided on such change are awarded a personal cheque, relevant to pensions, equal to the difference between the two salaries, without prejudice to future salary increases.”
Article 14 bis paragraph 1 (b) of Law no. 96/1993 provided that Article 6 of Law no. 29 of 1979 was applicable to the persons in the applicants’ positions for the purposes of welfare coverage. The latter read as follows: “The joining of social security periods related to service rendered with suppressed public entities, in relation to which there has been a transfer of personnel to other public entities, occurs ex officio through the receiving welfare entity, without any charges on the employees.”