- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 26 iunie 2025
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Dudek împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
PRIMEA SECȚIUNE DECIZIE Nr. 29204/21 Krystyna DUDEK împotriva Poloniei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), care a stat la 26 iunie 2025 în calitate de comitet compus din: Raffaele Sabato , Președintele Frédéric Krenc, Anna Adamska-Gallant , judecători și Liv Tigerstedt, grefierul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere cererea (nu).
29204/21) împotriva Republicii Polone depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) la 29 mai 2021 de către o națională poloneză, dna Krystyna Dudek („reclamantul”), care s-a născut în 1953, locuiește în Wrocław și, după acordarea ajutorului juridic, a fost reprezentată de dna Flankowska, avocată care practică în Wrocław; hotărârea de a anunța cererea către Guvernul polonez („Guvernul”), reprezentată de agentul lor, dl J. Sobczak, al Ministerului Afacerilor Externe; observațiile părților; după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Cererea se referă la presupusa discriminare în acordarea beneficiilor sociale persoanelor cu handicap, pe baza dreptului lor la pensia de vârstă.
Reclamantul, o persoană retrasă în primirea pensiei minime de vârstă – care a impus ca persoana să lucreze într-un sistem de ocupare a forței de muncă care face obiectul drepturilor de pensionare –, a oferit asistență integrală soțului ei cu handicap între 2018 și 2022, atunci când acesta a murit. În 2019, a solicitat o alocație de asistență medicală (świadczenie pielęgnacyjne ) care a fost mai mare decât pensia ei, dar a fost negată acest lucru datorită dreptului ei stabilit la o pensie de vârstă. Apelurile ei au fost respinse, cu autoritățile care citează Legea privind prestațiile familiale, care exclude persoanele cu un drept stabilit la pensie de vârstă din alocația indiferent de valoarea pensiei.
În hotărârea sa finală din 30 noiembrie 2020, Curtea Administrativă Supremă a recunoscut o divergență în jurisprudența instanțelor administrative (inclusiv a sa), dar nu a fost de acord cu hotărârile invocate de reclamant, care au permis în esență dreptul pensionarului la (i) a solicitat să fie plătit diferența dintre alocația și pensia, sau la (ii) a suspendat dreptul la o pensie de vârstă pentru a primi alocația de asistență medicală mai mare. Curtea Administrativă Supremă a explicat că aceste soluții alternative au mers de la simpla interpretare a dispozițiilor aplicabile care nu au permis astfel de posibilități. 1 la Convenție și s-a plâns că dreptul ei la egalitate de tratament a fost încălcat în măsura în care a fost refuzată alocația de asistență medicală doar pe baza faptului că este o persoană care are dreptul la o pensie de vârstă.
Ea a susținut în continuare că a fost victimă de incertitudine juridică care rezultă din discrepanța menționată mai sus în jurisprudența internă. Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul nu a scăpat de căile de recurs interne prin nu introducerea unei plângeri constituționale. Curtea nu consideră necesar să se pronunțe asupra obiecției preliminare formulate de Guvern, deoarece plângerile reclamantului sunt, în orice caz, inadmisibile din motivele prezentate mai jos. Discriminare presupusă în ceea ce privește accesul la o prestație de asistență socială Reclamantul s-a plâns în esență că, refuzând-o dreptul la indemnul de asistență medicală pe baza faptului că deja avea un drept stabilit de a primi o pensie de vârstă, autoritățile au acționat în mod discriminatoriu.
Prin urmare, Curtea va examina plângerea formulată de reclamant din punctul de vedere al articolului 14 din Convenție, citită coroborat cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție și cu art. 8 din Convenție, presupunând că plângerea intră în ambința celor două dispoziții din urmă. În conformitate cu această abordare, plângerea reclamantului depinde de faptul că tratamentul diferențial, în comparație cu îngrijitorii fără un drept stabilit la o pensie de vârstă, a constituit discriminare în temeiul articolului 14 din Convenție. Curtea reiterează că nu orice diferență de tratament va constitui o încălcare a articolului 14 din Convenție.
Numai diferențele de tratament bazate pe o caracteristică identificabilă, sau „status”, sunt capabile să constituie discriminare în sensul articolului 14 (a se vedea, printre multe alte autorități, Molla Sali c. Grecia [GC], nr. 20452/14, § 134, 19 Decembrie 2018). În cazul instantaneu, reclamantul a susținut în esență că dreptul ei la o pensie de vârstă a constituit „alt statut” pe baza căruia a fost discriminată. 10. În acest context, Curtea își reamintește concluziile în cazul Springett și alții c. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 34726/04, 27 aprilie 2010: „Curtea nu consideră că faptul de a avea sau de a nu achiziționa un drept la un beneficiu social poate fi considerat un aspect al statutului personal în sensul articolului 14. Spre deosebire de principalele motive prevăzute la art. 14, cum ar fi „sex”, „rață” sau „coloră”, aceasta nu este o caracteristică inata care se aplică de la naștere.
În plus, spre deosebire de „religiune”, „politică sau altă opinie” sau chiar locul de reședință, faptul de a fi achiziționat un drept la un beneficiu nu se referă la o convingere sau o alegere de bază sau personală”. 11. În consecință, Curtea constată că faptul de a achiziționa dreptul la o pensie de vârstă care impune persoanei să lucreze într-un sistem de ocupare a forței de muncă care face obiectul drepturilor de pensionare nu este un „alt statut” relevant care ar putea pune în aplicare art. 14 din Convenția.
În temeiul art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție, jurisprudența divergentă ca sursă de incertitudine juridică 12. În ceea ce privește jurisprudența divergentă a instanțelor interne, Curtea, în calitate de stăpân al caracterizării care trebuie acordată în drept faptelor cazului (a se vedea Radomilja și alții c. Croația [GC], nr. 37685/10 și 22768/12, §§§§ 114 și 126, 20 martie 2018), vor examina această plângere din punctul de vedere al articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. 13. În primul rând, ar trebui stabilit dacă acest articol este aplicabil în cazul instantaneu. Curtea reiterează, în acest sens, că art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 nu creează un drept de a dobândi bunuri sau de a primi un beneficiu anume.
Protecția sa se aplică numai poseselor existente și, în anumite circumstanțe, „așteptarea legitimă” a obținerii unui bun; pentru recunoașterea unei posesiuni care constă într-o așteptare legitimă, reclamantul trebuie să aibă un drept afirmabil, care nu poate să nu depășească un interes de proprietate suficient de stabilit și de fond în temeiul legislației naționale (a se vedea Béláné Nagy c. Ungaria) [GC], nr. 53080/13, §§ 74‐79, 13 decembrie 2016). Astfel, în cazul în care reclamantul nu îndeplinește condițiile juridice prevăzute în dreptul intern pentru dreptul la orice formă specifică de prestații sau pensii, nu există nici o ingerință în drepturile prevăzute la art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 (a se vedea Beeler c. Elveția [GC], nr. 78630/12, §§ 57-58, 20 octombrie 2020). 14. În plus, nu se poate spune că există nici o așteptare legitimă în cazul în care există un litigiu privind interpretarea și aplicarea corectă a dreptului intern și, ulterior, argumentele reclamantului sunt respinse de către instanțele naționale (a se vedea Kopecký c. Slovacia [GC], nr. 44912/98, § 50, CEDH 2004-IX; Anheuser-Busch Inc.
c. Portugal [GC], nr. 73049/01, § 65, ECHR 2007 Domeniech Aradilla și Rodríguez González v. Spania , nos. 32667/19 și 30807/20, § 81, 19 ianuarie 2023 și Valverde Digon v. Spania , nr. 22386/19, § 49, 26 ianuarie 2023). 15. Curtea constată că legislația națională a exclus în mod explicit reclamantul de la acordarea alocației de asistență medicală. Prin urmare, reclamantul nu a avut o posesie în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. De asemenea, având în vedere existența unei jurisprudențe interne divergente în ceea ce privește eligibilitatea reclamantului pentru alocație, Curtea consideră că aceasta din urmă nu se poate spune că a avut nici o „așteptare legitimată” (a se vedea Petrescu și alții c. România (dec.), nr. 31390/18 și altele 9, §§§ 70 72, 7 Martie 2023, precum și referințele citate în acest articol.
Astfel, reclamantul nu se poate baza pe jurisprudența divergentă ca sursă de încălcare a drepturilor sau a așteptărilor sale proprietare dacă, în circumstanțele cazului, nu poate argumenta că are un drept sau o așteptare. 16. În plus, chiar presupunând că reclamantul avea o așteptare legitimă de a fi acordată indemnitatea de asistență medicală, Curtea constată, în ceea ce privește jurisprudența internă divergentă, că, spre deosebire de cazul Aliyeva și alții c. Azerbaidjan (nr. 66249/16 și altele 6, §§§ 132-34, 21 Septembrie 2021, Curtea Supremă Administrativă a abordat în mod clar chestiunea susținută de reclamant și a dat motive pentru decizia lor de a nu respecta jurisprudența invocată de reclamant.
17. Având în vedere cele de mai sus, Curtea concluzionează că reclamantul nu avea o „așteptare legitimă” în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 care urmează să fie acordată indemnitatea de asistență medicală. În consecință, plângerea în temeiul prezentei convenții este incompatibilă ratione materiae Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea inadmisibilă. Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 17 iulie 2025. Liv Tigerstedt Raffaele Sabato Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
DECISION Application no. 29204/21 Krystyna DUDEK against Poland The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting on 26 June 2025 as a Committee composed of: Raffaele Sabato , President , Frédéric Krenc, Anna Adamska-Gallant , judges , and Liv Tigerstedt, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 29204/21) against the Republic of Poland lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) on 29 May 2021 by a Polish national, Ms Krystyna Dudek (“the applicant”), who was born in 1953, lives in Wrocław and, having been granted legal aid, was represented by Ms J. Flankowska, a lawyer practising in Wrocław; the decision to give notice of the application to the Polish Government (“the Government”), represented by their Agent, Mr J. Sobczak, of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; the parties’ observations; Having deliberated, decides as follows:
SUBJECT MATTER OF THE CASE
1. The application concerns alleged discrimination in granting social benefits to caretakers of disabled persons on the basis of their entitlement to old-age pension.
The applicant, a retired person in receipt of the minimum old-age pension – which required that the person had worked within an employment scheme subject to retirement rights –, provided full-time care for her disabled husband between 2018 and 2022 when the latter died.
In 2019, she applied for a nursing allowance ( świadczenie pielęgnacyjne ) which was higher than her pension but was denied this due to her established right to an old-age pension. Her appeals were dismissed, with authorities citing the Family Benefits Act, which excluded persons with an established right to old-age pension from the allowance irrespective of the amount of the pension.
In its final judgment of 30 November 2020, the Supreme Administrative Court acknowledged a divergence in case-law of administrative courts (including its own), but disagreed with the judgments relied upon by the applicant, which essentially allowed for the pensioner’s right to either (i) request to be paid the difference between the allowance and the pension, or to (ii) suspend their right to an old-age pension in order to receive the higher nursing allowance. The Supreme Administrative Court explained that these alternative solutions went beyond mere interpretation of the applicable provisions which did not allow for such possibilities.
The applicant cited Articles 8 and 14 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention and complained that her right to equal treatment was violated in so far as she was refused the nursing allowance purely on the basis of her being a person entitled to an old-age pension. She further alleged that she was a victim of legal uncertainty stemming from the above-mentioned discrepancy in the domestic case-law.
THE COURT’S ASSESSMENT
6. The Government argued that the applicant had failed to exhaust domestic remedies by not introducing a constitutional complaint. The Court does not find it necessary to rule on the preliminary objection raised by the Government, since the applicant’s complaints are in any event inadmissible for the reasons outlined below. Alleged discrimination in access to a welfare benefit
The applicant essentially complained that by refusing her the right to the nursing allowance based on the fact that she already had an established right to receive an old-age pension, the authorities had acted in a discriminatory fashion.
The Court will therefore examine the complaint raised by the applicant from the standpoint of Article 14 of the Convention read in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention and with Article 8 of the Convention, assuming that the complaint falls within the ambit of the latter two provisions. Under this approach, the applicant’s complaint depends on whether the differential treatment, in comparison to caregivers without an established right to an old-age pension, constituted discrimination under Article 14 of the Convention.
The Court reiterates that not every difference in treatment will amount to a violation of Article 14 of the Convention. Only differences in treatment based on an identifiable characteristic, or “status”, are capable of amounting to discrimination within the meaning of Article 14 (see, among many other authorities, Molla Sali v. Greece [GC], no. 20452/14, § 134, 19 December 2018). In the instant case, the applicant essentially contended that her entitlement to an old-age pension constituted “other status” on the basis of which she had been discriminated against.
In that context, the Court recalls its findings in the case Springett and Others v. United Kingdom (dec.), no. 34726/04, 27 April 2010: “The Court does not consider that the fact of having, or not having, acquired a right to a welfare benefit can be considered to be an aspect of personal status within the meaning of Article
Unlike the principal grounds set out in Article 14, such as “sex”, “race” or “colour”, it is not an innate characteristic which applies from birth. Furthermore, unlike “religion”, “political or other opinion” or even place of residence, the fact of having acquired a right to a benefit does not relate to a core or personal belief or choice.” 11. Consequently, the Court finds that the fact of having acquired the right to an old-age pension, which requires the person to have worked within an employment scheme subject to retirement rights, is not a relevant “other status” which could bring Article 14 of the Convention into play. It follows that, since Article 14 does not apply, this complaint must be rejected as incompatible ratione materiae pursuant to Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention. Divergent case-law as source of legal uncertainty 12. As regards the divergent case-law of domestic courts, the Court, being the master of the characterisation to be given in law to the facts of the case (see Radomilja and Others v. Croatia [GC], nos. 37685/10 and 22768/12, §§ 114 and 126, 20 March 2018), will examine this complaint from the standpoint of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. 13. Firstly, it should be determined whether that Article is applicable in the instant case. The Court reiterates, in this connection, that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 does not create a right to acquire property or to receive a particular benefit. Its protection applies only to existing possessions and, under certain circumstances, to the “legitimate expectation” of obtaining an asset; for the recognition of a possession consisting of a legitimate expectation, the applicant must have an assertable right which may not fall short of a sufficiently established, substantive proprietary interest under the national law (see Béláné Nagy v. Hungary [GC], no. 53080/13, §§ 74‑79, 13 December 2016). Thus, where the applicant does not satisfy the legal conditions laid down in domestic law for entitlement to any particular form of benefits or pension, there is no interference with the rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 (see Beeler v. Switzerland [GC], no. 78630/12, §§ 57-58, 20 October 2020). 14. Moreover, no legitimate expectation can be said to arise where there is a dispute as to the correct interpretation and application of domestic law and the applicant’s submissions are subsequently rejected by the national courts (see Kopecký v. Slovakia [GC], no. 44912/98, § 50, ECHR 2004-IX; Anheuser-Busch Inc. v. Portugal [GC], no. 73049/01, § 65, ECHR 2007 ‑ I; Domenech Aradilla and Rodríguez González v. Spain , nos. 32667/19 and 30807/20, § 81, 19 January 2023; and Valverde Digon v. Spain , no. 22386/19, § 49, 26 January 2023).
The Court notes that the national law explicitly excluded the applicant from being granted the nursing allowance. Consequently, the applicant did not have a possession within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. Likewise, given the existence of divergent domestic case-law regarding the applicant’s eligibility for the allowance, the Court considers that the latter cannot be said to have had a “legitimate expectation” either (see Petrescu and Others v. Romania (dec.), nos. 31390/18 and 9 others, §§ 70 ‑ 72, 7 March 2023, and the references cited therein). Thus, the applicant cannot rely on the divergent case-law as the source of a violation of her proprietary rights or expectations if, in the circumstances of the case, she cannot argue to have had a right or expectation.
Moreover, even assuming that the applicant had a legitimate expectation of being awarded the nursing allowance, the Court notes, as regards the divergent domestic case-law, that unlike in the case of Aliyeva and Others v. Azerbaijan (nos. 66249/16 and 6 others, §§ 132-34, 21 September 2021), the Supreme Administrative Court clearly addressed the issue raised by the applicant and gave reasons for their decision not to follow the case-law relied upon by the applicant.
In view of the foregoing, the Court concludes that the applicant did not have a “legitimate expectation” within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to be awarded the nursing allowance. Accordingly, the complaint under this Convention Article is incompatible ratione materiae . For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 17 July 2025. Liv Tigerstedt Raffaele Sabato Deputy Registrar President