- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 9 septembrie 2008
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Partly inadmissible
- partly struck out of the list
McCANN împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
A doua secțiune DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 4839/03 de John McCANN împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 9 septembrie 2008 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Lech Garlicki, Președinte, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ledi Bianku, Mihai Poalelungi, judecători și Lawrence, Secțiunea Grefier având în vedere cererea depusă la 30 ianuarie 2003, având în vedere decizia de a comunica această cerere și de a o adera la alte cereri (n. 28067/02, 28087/02, 14401/03, 17233/03, 22361/03, 26083/03, 27988/03, 30242/03, 35695/03, 345/04, 11872/04, 26218/04, 36534/04, 5069/04, 1503/05, 18566/05), având în vedere decizia de a aplica art. 29 § 3 din Convenție și de a examina împreună admisibilitatea și meritul cazului, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTE Reclamantul, dl John McCann, este un național britanic născut în 1944 și locuiește în Kilbride.
El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către Ross Harper, avocati din Glasgow. Guvernul Regatului Unit (“Governul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl C. Whowersley al Biroului Externe și Commonwealth. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părțile, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului a murit la 26 ianuarie 2000. În momentul în care reclamantul a încercat să ceară beneficiile văduvelor. Solicitarea sa pentru beneficiile văduvelor a fost făcută la 8 februarie 2003 și a fost respinsă la 13 februarie 2003 din cauza faptului că nu avea dreptul la beneficiile văduvelor deoarece nu era o femeie. Această decizie a fost confirmată la 8 iulie 2003. Reclamantul nu a apelat în continuare, deoarece a considerat sau a fost recomandat că un astfel de remediu ar fi obligat să eșueze deoarece nu sunt plătite astfel de prestații de securitate socială în temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit.
Legea internă relevantă Legea internă relevantă pentru această cerere este prevăzută în Willis c. Regatul Unit, nr. 36042/97, §§§ 26, CEDO 2002-IV și Runkee și White v. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007. COMPLAINTĂ Reclamantul s-a plâns că legislația britanică de securitate socială a discriminat împotriva lui din motive de sex, în încălcarea art. 14 din Convenția luată împreună cu art. 8 din Convenție și cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. DREPTUL În ceea ce privește orice cerere de prestații efectuată de reclamant la o dată anterioară, mai aproape de moartea soției sale, plângerile reclamantei cu privire la refuzul de a-l plăti în acel moment sunt inadmisibile în conformitate cu reglementarea de șase luni și trebuie respinse în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Curtea reamintește că o Veduva nu a avut dreptul automat la beneficiile supraviețuitorilor, ci a trebuit să le revendice de la autoritatea relevantă. Diverse termene aplicate: de relevanță pentru cazul instant, după 1997, o văduvă a trebuit să facă o cerere de plată a văduvei („Wpt”) în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei. Curtea consideră, așa cum a deținut în Cornwell c. Regatul Unit (nu.
36578/97, (dec.), 11 mai 1999), care, cu excepția cazului în care un bărbat nu a formulat o cerere către autoritățile interne pentru beneficii de largă, nu poate fi considerat o „victima” a presupusei discriminări implicate în refuzul de a plăti astfel de beneficii, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar avea dreptul automat la beneficiile văduvelor până când ea nu a depus o cerere (a se vedea și White v. Regatul Unit) , nr. 53134/99 (dec.), 7 iunie 2001, în cazul în care Curtea a clarificat faptul că, atâta timp cât un reclamant a clarificat autorităților intenția sa de a solicita prestații, forma exactă în care a făcut acest lucru nu era importantă.
În mod asemănător, un bărbat care nu a aplicat în termenele aplicate unei femei reclamante nu a putut, în majoritatea cazurilor, pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiile în cauză (a se vedea Rogan v. Regatul Unit, nr. 57946/00, (dec.), 8 septembrie 2001). În consecință, cererea reclamantului pentru Wpt formulată în 2003 a fost formulată din timp. Astfel, reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Protocolului nr. 1, iar plângerea în ceea ce privește Wpt este incompatibilă ratione personae în conformitate cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarate inadmisibile în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
La 13 august 2007, reprezentanții reclamantului au informat Curtea că reclamantul a intenționat să își persevereze doar cererea de Wpt, deoarece reclamația privind dreptul la pensie de văduvă („WP”) a fost deja hotărâtă de Curte în cazul La 24 august 2007, Registrul Curții a trimis reprezentantului reclamantului o scrisoare care declară că, în urma cererii lor, Curtea ar putea concluziona că reclamantul nu mai a dorit să își mențină cererile pentru WP. Având în vedere cele de mai sus, în conformitate cu art. 37 alineatul (1) litera (a) din Convenție, Curtea consideră că reclamantul nu intenționează să urmărească această plângere. În plus, Curtea nu constată nicio circumstanță specială în ceea ce privește respectarea drepturilor omului, astfel cum este definită în Convenția sau în Protocolurile sale, care necesită continuarea examinării acestei plângeri.
În consecință, restul cererii ar trebui eliminat din lista de cauze a Curții. În consecință și având în vedere concluziile de mai sus, art. 29 § 3 din Convenție nu ar trebui să se mai aplice cazului. Din aceste motive, Curtea declară în unanimitate cererea de la ceilalți la care a fost aderat; inadmisibila plângere a reclamantului cu privire la neprotejarea plății unei văduve; hotărăște să atace restul cererii din lista sa. Președintele grefierului Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 4839/03 by John McCANN against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 9 September 2008 as a Chamber composed of: Lech Garlicki, President, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ledi Bianku, Mihai Poalelungi, judges , and Lawrence Early, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 30 January 2003, Having regard to the decision to communicate this application and to join it to other applications (nos. 28067/02, 28087/02, 14401/03, 17233/03, 22361/03, 26083/03, 27988/03, 30242/03, 35695/03, 345/04, 11872/04, 26218/04, 36534/04, 5069/04, 1503/05, 18566/05), Having regard to the decision to apply Article 29 § 3 of the Convention and examine the admissibility and merits of the case together, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr John McCann, is a British national who was born in 1944 and lives in Kilbride.
He was represented before the Court by Ross Harper, solicitors in Glasgow. The United Kingdom Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr C. Whomersley of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant’s wife died on 26 January 2000. At the time the applicant attempted to claim widows’ benefits. His claim for widows’ benefits was made on 8 February 2003 and was rejected on 13 February 2003 on the ground that he was not entitled to widows’ benefits because he was not a woman. This decision was confirmed on 8 July 2003. The applicant did not appeal further as he considered or was advised that such a remedy would be bound to fail since no such social security benefits were payable to widowers under United Kingdom law.
B. Relevant domestic law The domestic law relevant to this application is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom, no. 36042/97, §§ 14 ‑ 26, ECHR 2002-IV and Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007. COMPLAINT The applicant complained that British social security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW In relation to any claim for benefits made by the applicant at some earlier date, closer to his wife’s death, the applicant’s complaints about the refusal to pay him benefits at that time are inadmissible under the six months rule and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
The Court recalls that a widow was not automatically entitled to survivors’ benefits, but had to claim them from the relevant authority. Various time-limits applied: of relevance to the instant case, after 1997 a widow had to make a claim for Widow’s Payment (“Wpt”) within three months of her husband’s death.
The Court considers, as it held in Cornwell v. the United Kingdom (no. 36578/97, (dec.), 11 May 1999), that unless or until a man has made a claim to the domestic authorities for bereavement benefits, he cannot be regarded as a “victim” of the alleged discrimination involved in the refusal to pay such benefits, because a woman in the same position would not automatically be entitled to widows’ benefits until she had made a claim (see also White v. the United Kingdom , no. 53134/99 (dec.), 7 June 2001, where the Court clarified that, as long as an applicant had made clear to the authorities his intention to claim benefits, the precise form in which he did so was not important).
Similarly, a man who failed to apply within the time-limits as they applied to a woman claimant could not, in most cases, claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see Rogan v. the United Kingdom , no. 57946/00, (dec.), 8 September 2001). Consequently, the applicant’s claim for Wpt made in 2003 had been made out of time. Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and Protocol No. 1, and the complaint in respect of Wpt is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
On 13 August 2007 the applicant’s representatives informed the Court that the applicant only intended to pursue his claim for Wpt since the complaint regarding entitlement to a Widow’s Pension (“WP”) had already been decided by the Court in the case of Runkee and White (cited above). On 24 August 2007 the Registry of the Court sent the applicant’s representative a letter stating that following their request, the Court might conclude that the applicant no longer wished to pursue his claim for WP. In the light of the above, in accordance with Article 37 § 1 (a) of the Convention, the Court considers that the applicant does not intend to pursue this complaint. Furthermore, the Court finds no special circumstances regarding respect for human rights as defined in the Convention or its Protocols which require the continuation of the examination of this complaint.
Accordingly, the remainder of the application should be struck out of the Court’s list of cases. Accordingly and having regard to the above conclusions, Article 29 § 3 of the Convention should no longer apply to the case. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Disjoins the application from the others to which it was joined; Declares inadmissible the applicant’s complaint regarding non-entitlement to a Widow’s Payment; Decides to strike the remainder of the application out of its list. Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki Registrar President