- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 25 martie 2014
- Stat pârât
- POL
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Bryda împotriva Poloniei
Traducere în română Auto
CAUZA DE CAUZĂ DE SECȚIUNE DE BRYDA c. POLONIA (Declarația nr. 1902/05) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 25 martie 2014 Această hotărâre este finală, dar poate fi supusă revizuirii editoriale. În cazul Bryda c. Polonia, Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (Al patrulea secțiune), ședința în calitate de comitet compus din: Ledi Bianku, președinte, Paul Mahoney, Krzztof Wojtyczek, judecători și Fatoș Aracı, grefier adjunct al secțiunii, După deliberarea în particular la 4 martie 2014, emite următoarea hotărâre, adoptată la data respectivă: PROCEDURĂ Cazul a apărut într-o cerere (n. 1902/05) împotriva Republicii Poloniei depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) de către un național polonez, dna Anna Bryda („reclamantul”), la 24 decembrie 2004. Guvernul polonez („ Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl J. Wołāsiewicz, succesat de Chrzanowska, din Ministerul Afacerilor Externe.
Reclamantul a afirmat, în special, că reluarea de oficiu a procedurii de securitate socială referitoare la dreptul ei la o pensie de pensie anticipată, care a dus la anularea deciziei finale care îi acordă dreptul la o pensie, a fost încălcarea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție. La 20 mai 2010, cererea a fost comunicată Guvernului. FACTELE CIRCUMSTANCELE CAUZULUI Reclamantul s-a născut în 1962 și locuiește în Strzyżów. Înainte de pensionare anticipată, a fost angajată de 21 de ani în aceeași fabrică de mobilier și a plătit contribuțiile de securitate socială statului. Procedura privind grantul și revocarea unei pensii EWK La 18 decembrie 2001, reclamantul a depus o cerere la Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) de a acorda dreptul la o pensie de pensionare anticipată pentru persoanele care, datorită gravității situației lor de sănătate, au nevoie de îngrijire constantă, așa-numita pensie „EWK”.
Alături de cererea ei de pensie, reclamantul a depus, printre altele, un certificat medical privind starea de sănătate a fiului său, emis de un medic specialist. Certificatul a declarat că copilul (născut în 1989) a suferit de handicap intelectual ușor și că are nevoie de îngrijirea constantă a părintelui său. La 21 decembrie 2001, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów („SSB”) a emis o decizie care acordă reclamantului dreptul la o pensie de pensionare anticipată în valoare netă de aproximativ 730 zloti polonez (PLN) pe lună. 10. Datorită ocupării forței de muncă a reclamantului, Consiliul de Securitate Socială a suspendat inițial plata pensiei. La 12 iulie 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a solicitat medicului principal al Consiliului de Securitate Socială (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) să-i informeze dacă fiul reclamantului necesită îngrijirea permanentă a unui părinte.
Medicul a declarat că, pe baza documentelor medicale, copilul nu a putut fi considerat ca fiind vreodată necesară astfel de îngrijire. 12. La 20 august 2002, Consiliul de Securitate Socială Rzeszów a emis simultan două decizii cu privire la solicitant. În temeiul primei decizii, plata pensiei reclamantului a fost întreruptă cu efect imediat (1 septembrie 2002). În temeiul celei de-a doua decizii, Consiliul a redeschis procedura, a revocat decizia inițială de acordare a unei pensii și a refuzat în cele din urmă să acorde reclamantului dreptul la o pensie de pensie anticipată în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța Cabinetului din 15 mai 1989 privind dreptul la pensionare anticipată a angajaților care creează copii care necesită asistență permanentă ( Rozporzādzenie Rady Ministrów z dn.
15 mai 1989 w sprawie uprawnień do wcześniejszej emerytury pracowników opiekujācych się dziećmi wymagajācymi stałej opieki ) („Ordinarea din 1989”). 13. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva acestor decizii și a susținut că ar trebui să primească beneficiul deoarece copilul său necesită asistență constantă, astfel cum a confirmat certificatul medical atașat cererii inițiale ale reclamantului de pensie. În plus, reclamantul a susținut că revocarea pensiei sale de pensionare este contrar principiului drepturilor conținute. 14. La 27 februarie 2003, Curtea Regională Rzeszów (Sād Okręgowy) a respins recursul reclamantului. 15. Reclamantul a apelat împotriva hotărârii din prima instanță. 16. La 19 septembrie 2003, Curtea de Apel Rzeszów a respins apelul reclamantului.
Curtea internă a susținut că reclamantul a fost îndepărtat în mod corect de dreptul său la o pensie în temeiul regimului prevăzut de Ordonanța din 1989, deoarece nu a îndeplinit cerințele de asistență permanentă necesară. 17. În 2004 Curtea Supremă a refuzat să examineze recursul de casă al reclamantului. Hotărârea Curții Supreme a fost acordată avocatului reclamantului la 1 iulie 2004. Situația financiară a reclamantului 18. În urma procedurii de securitate socială, reclamantul nu a fost ordonat să-și returneze prestațiile de pensie timpurie plătite de Consiliul de Securitate Socială, în ciuda revocarii dreptului ei la pensia EWK. 19. Reclamantul a demisionat de la locul de muncă atunci când a fost acordată pensia EWK și pe parcursul întregii perioade de primire a acesteia nu a lucrat.
20. După revocarea pensiei, reclamantul a fost șomer timp de 82 de zile fără drept la orice beneficiu. Între 22 noiembrie 2002 și 17 iunie 2003 a fost angajată de angajatorul său anterior. 21. Între 17 iunie 2003 și 1 iunie 2004, reclamantul a fost șomer fără dreptul la niciun beneficiu. La 1 iunie 2004, reclamantul a acceptat din nou un contract de șapte luni de la angajatorul său anterior. Apoi a fost angajată de agenția de șomaj cu doar intervale scurte. Din ianuarie 2007 rămâne angajată de compania de mobilier pentru care a început să lucreze în 1980. 22. Guvernul a susținut că venitul anual brut al reclamantului în 2003 s-a ridicat la 5,070 PLN (aproximativ 1.200 EUR) care a constituit 19,17% din salariul mediu în Polonia la momentul respectiv.
II. HOTĂRÂREA DOMESTICĂ RELEVANTĂ ȘI PRATICE 23. Dispozițiile juridice aplicabile la momentul material și la chestiunile de practică sunt stabilite în hotărârile din cazul Moskal v. Polonia , nr. 10373/05, §§§§ 34, 15 septembrie 2009 și Antoni Lewandowski c. Polonia , nr. 38459/03, §§ 43, 2 octombrie 2012). PRESUPUSA ÎNCĂLCARE A ARTICOLUL 1 AL PROTOCOLULUI 1 LA CONVENȚIE 24. Reclamantul s-a plâns că, în circumstanțele cazului, cedarea ei de dreptul de a beneficia de o pensie de pensie anticipată a constituit o privare nejustificată de bunuri, plângerea care intră sub incidența articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, care spune după cum urmează: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale.
Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Admisibilitatea 25. Curtea remarcă că guvernul a formulat mai multe obiecții față de admisibilitatea cazului, susținând că reclamantul nu a respectat regulile de șase luni și că cererea ei constituie un abuz al dreptului la cerere individuală.
26. Reclamantul nu este de acord cu Guvernul. 27. În ceea ce privește nerespectarea normei de șase luni, Curtea a considerat deja, în alte cazuri ale EWK, că reclamanții nu ar trebui să fie penalizate pentru că au încercat să depună un recurs de casație în fața Curții Supreme pentru a evita orice risc de respingere a cazului de către Curte pentru neepuizare a recoursurilor interne (a se vedea, de exemplu, Frāczek-Potęga c. Polonia În consecință, hotărârea finală în cazul în cauză a fost adoptată de Curtea Supremă la 4 mai 2004, care a servit avocatul reclamantului la 1 iulie 2004, în timp ce reclamantul și-a depus cererea la Curtea la 24 decembrie 2004. În acest sens, Curtea concluzionează că reclamantul a respectat cele șase.
Termenul lunar prevăzut la art. 35 § 1 și obiecția guvernului ar trebui, prin urmare, respinsă. 28. Curtea constată că a examinat deja obiecții identice în ceea ce privește abuzul asupra dreptului unei cereri individuale și le-a respins, în cazurile de urmărire a Moskalului (de exemplu, Lewandowski , citate mai sus, §§ 45-72 și Lew c. Polonia, nr. 34386/04, §§§§ 62, 4 decembrie 2012). Curtea nu consideră niciun motiv să se depărteze de concluziile sale anterioare. 29. Curtea constată că această plângere nu este manifestament nefondată în sensul art. 35 § 3 lit. (a) din Convenție. Reclamantul a susținut că cesionarea ei, în circumstanțele cazului, a dreptului achiziționat la o pensie de pensie anticipată a constituit o privare nejustificată de bunuri.
(b) Guvernul 31. Guvernul a susținut că ingerința în drepturile de proprietate ale reclamantului a fost legală și justificată. În special, scăderea dreptului reclamantului la pensia de pensionare anticipată a fost prevăzută de lege și a fost în interesul general. Există, de asemenea, o relație rezonabilă de proporționalitate între interferența și interesele urmărite. În plus, reclamantul a rămas șomer doar timp de 82 de zile după revocarea pensiei, astfel, sarcina pusă pe ea nu a fost excesivă. Evaluarea Curții (a) Principiile generale 32. Principiile generale relevante sunt stabilite în Moskal Hotărârea, citată anterior, punctele 49-52.
Cu toate acestea, Curtea va reitera că orice interferență de către o autoritate publică în ceea ce privește bucuria pașnică a bunurilor ar trebui să fie legală și să urmărească un obiectiv legitim prin mijloace rezonabil proporționale cu scopul urmărit (a se vedea Moskal , citat mai sus §§ 49 și 50). (b) Aplicarea principiilor de mai sus la cazul în cauză (i) Dacă a existat o interferență cu posesele reclamantului 33. Părțile au convenit că hotărârile Consiliului de Securitate Socială Rzeszów din 20 august 2002, ulterior validate de trei instanțe de instanță (curtea regională, instanța de recurs și Curtea Supremă), care au privat reclamantul de dreptul de a primi pensia EWK, a constituit o interferență cu bunurile sale în sensul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție.
Curtea nu vede nici un motiv pentru a reține altfel. (ii) Legitimea interferenței și obiectivul legitim 34. Ca în cazul Moskal, Curtea consideră că această interferență a fost prevăzută prin lege și a urmărit un obiectiv legitim, conform articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție (a se vedea Moskal , citat mai sus §§ 56, 57 și 61 63 și, de asemenea, Iwaszkiewicz c. Polonia , nr. 30614/06 , §§ 47, 48, 26 Iulie 2011). (iii) Proporționalitate 35. În cazul instantaneu, un drept de proprietate a fost generat prin evaluarea favorabilă a dosarului reclamantului atașat cererii de pensie, care a fost depus de bună credință, și prin recunoașterea dreptului a Consiliului de Securitate Socială (a se vedea punctele 7-9 de mai sus).
Înainte de a fi invalidată decizia din 21 decembrie 2001 a produs fără îndoială efecte pentru solicitant. 36. Trebuie subliniat faptul că întârzierea cu care autoritățile au examinat dosarul reclamantului a fost relativ lungă. Decizia din 21 decembrie 2001 a fost lăsată în vigoare timp de opt luni înainte ca autoritățile să devină conștienți de eroarea lor. Pe de altă parte, de îndată ce s-a descoperit eroarea, decizia de a întrerupe plata beneficiilor a fost eliberată relativ rapid și cu efect imediat (a se vedea punctele 11-12 de mai sus). Chiar dacă reclamantul a avut ocazia de a contesta decizia Consiliului de Securitate Socială din 20 august 2002 în cadrul procedurii de reexaminare judiciară, dreptul ei la pensie a fost în cele din urmă determinat de instanțe aproape doi ani mai târziu (a se vedea punctele 12-17 de mai sus).
37. În examinarea conformității acestor evenimente cu Convenția, Curtea reiterează importanța deosebită a principiului bunei guvernanțe. Este necesar ca, în cazul în care este în joc o problemă legată de interesul general, mai ales atunci când afectează drepturile fundamentale ale omului, inclusiv drepturile de proprietate, autoritățile publice să acționeze prompt și într-un mod adecvat și mai ales coerent (a se vedea Beyeler v. Italia [GC], nr. 33202/96 , § 120, CEDH 2000 Öneryıldız v. Turcia [GC], nr. 48939/99 , § 128, CEDH 2004 XII; Megadat.com S.r.l. c. Moldova , nr. 21151/04 , § 72 , 8 aprilie 2008 și Rysovsky c. Ucraina , nr. 29979/04 , § 71, 20 octombrie 2011). Este de dorit ca autoritățile publice să acționeze cu cea mai mare grijă, în special atunci când se ocupă de chestiuni de importanță vitală pentru persoanele fizice, cum ar fi beneficiile de bunăstare și alte drepturi de acest gen.
În acest caz, Curtea consideră că, după descoperirea greșelii lor, autoritățile nu au reușit să acționeze în mod corespunzător (a se vedea Moskal , menționat mai sus, § 72). 38. În plus, în opinia Curții, faptul că statul nu a solicitat reclamantului să returneze pensia plătită în mod necorespunzător (a se vedea punctul 18 de mai sus) nu atenuat suficient consecințele pentru reclamantul care decurge din interferența în cazul ei. Curtea remarcă în acest sens că, după ce dreptul ei la pensia EWK a fost confirmat de autoritățile, reclamantul a decis să demisioneze de la ocuparea sa profitabilă (a se vedea punctele 10 și 19 de mai sus). 39. De asemenea, ar trebui observat că, ca urmare a măsurii impușite, reclamantul s-a confruntat, fără nicio perioadă de tranziție care să îi permită să se adapteze la noua situație, cu pierderea totală a pensiei de pensionare anticipată, care constituia singura sursă de venit în acel moment.
Este adevărat că reclamantul a reușit să găsească un loc de muncă relativ rapid după revocarea pensiei EWK (a se vedea punctele 20 și 21 de mai sus). Cu toate acestea, Curtea constată că ocuparea a durat doar șapte luni. După aceea a rămas șomeră timp de un an fără niciun drept la beneficii. În primii doi ani de la revocarea pensiei sale EWK, venitul anual al reclamantului a fost foarte scăzut, deoarece în 2003 s-a ridicat la 19% din salariul mediu din Polonia (a se vedea punctul 22 de mai sus). Numai în ianuarie 2007, reclamantul a reușit să se asigure un loc de muncă permanent în profesia sa cu fostul său angajator.
40. Având în vedere considerentele de mai sus, Curtea nu consideră niciun motiv să se îndepărteze de hotărârea sa în cazul principal privind pensiile EWK, Moskal c. Polonia , și constată că, în caz instant, un echilibru echitabil nu a fost identificat între cererile de interes general al publicului și cerințele de protecție a drepturilor fundamentale ale persoanei și că sarcina pusă asupra reclamantului a fost excesivă. 41. Rezultă că s-a constatat o încălcare a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția. II. ARTICOLUL 6 ARTICOLUL 1 ARTICOLUL 1 ȘI 8 AL CONVENȚIEI 42. De asemenea, reclamantul a susținut că reluarea de oficiu a procedurii de securitate socială, care a dus la anularea deciziei finale care îi acordă dreptul la pensie, a fost încălcarea principiului certitudineifică juridică în temeiul articolului 6 § 1 din Convenție.
De asemenea, în conformitate cu art. 8 din Convenția, ea s-a plâns de o ingerință în dreptul ei la respectarea vieții sale private și familiale în ceea ce în cazul în care a cedat-o de la pensia EWK autoritățile au privat-o de singura sursă de venit și resursele financiare indispensabile pentru viața sa. 43. Curtea constată că aceste plângeri sunt legate de cea examinată mai sus și, prin urmare, trebuie, de asemenea, declarate admisibile. 44. Cu toate acestea, având în vedere motivele care au condus Curtea la găsirea unei încălcări a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, Curtea constată că plângerile reclamantului în temeiul articolelor 6 și 8 din Convenție nu necesită o examinare separată (a se vedea Moskal) , citat mai sus, §§ 83 și 94 . III . REZULTAREA COMPLAINTELOR 45 . În sfârșit, reclamantul a susținut încălcarea articolelor 14 și 53 din Convenție.
Cu toate acestea, având în vedere toate materialele în posesia sa, și în măsura în care chestiunile reclamate sunt în competența sa, Curtea constată că acestea nu dezvăluie nicio apariție a unei încălcări a drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în Convenție sau în Protocolurile sale. Rezultă că această parte a cererii este întemeiată în mod evident și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 a) și 4 din Convenție. IV. APLICAREA ARTICOLULUI 41 AL CONVENȚIEI 46. art. 41 din Convenție prevede: „Dacă Curtea constată că a existat o încălcare a Convenției sau a Protocolelor sale și dacă dreptul intern al Înaltei Parte contractanți în cauză permite numai reparații parțiale, Curtea permite, dacă este necesar, să ofere satisfacție echitabilă părții vătămate.” Daune 47. Reclamantul a solicitat 80.000 de euro (EUR) în ceea ce privește prejudicii materiale și morale.
48. Guvernul a considerat afirmația reclamantului fără motiv, susținând că, din moment ce cererea este inadmisibilă, cererea just-satisfaction ar trebui respinsă. 49. Curtea constată că reclamantul a fost privat de venitul ei în legătură cu încălcarea constatată și trebuie să țină seama de faptul că, fără îndoială, a suferit unele prejudicii materiale și morale (a se vedea Moskal) , citat mai sus, § 105 cu o altă trimitere ). Evaluarea pe o bază echitabilă, conform articolului 41 din Convenție, Curtea atribuie reclamantului 2500 EUR pentru a acoperi toate șefii de daune. Costuri și cheltuieli 50. Reclamantul a susținut, de asemenea, că a trebuit să efectueze costuri de călătorie la și de la instanțe și să plătească taxele avocaților pentru reprezentarea juridică în fața instanțelor interne.
De asemenea, a susținut că a suportat costuri în ceea ce privește procedura de la Strasbourg. 51. Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul nu a solicitat rambursarea costurilor și cheltuielilor. 52. În ceea ce privește documentele în posesia sa și jurisprudența sa, Curtea consideră că este rezonabil atribuirea sumei de 300 EUR pentru costurile și cheltuielile din cadrul tuturor șefurilor. Dobânzile implicite 53. Curtea consideră oportună ca rata dobânzii implicite să se bazeze pe rata de creditare marginală a Băncii Centrale Europene, la care ar trebui adăugate trei puncte procentuale.
Pentru aceste motive, TRIBUNALUL, UNANIMOUS, declară plângerile în temeiul articolelor 6 și 8 din Convenție și în conformitate cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție admisibile și cu restul cererii inadmisibile; susține că a existat o încălcare a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție; că nu este necesară examinarea separată a plângerilor reclamantului în temeiul articolelor 6 și 8 din convenție; deține (a) că statul pârât trebuie să plătească reclamantului, în termen de trei luni, următoarele sume, care urmează să fie convertite în moneda statului interesat la rata aplicabilă la data decontare: (i) 2 500 EUR (2 mii cinci sute de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil, în ceea ce privește prejudicii materiale și morale; (ii) 300 EUR (3 sute de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil reclamantului, în ceea ce privește costurile și cheltuielile; (b) că de la expirarea celor trei luni menționate mai sus până la decontarea dobânzilor simple se plătesc pe sumele de mai sus la o rată egală cu rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene în timpul perioadei de incumprire plus trei puncte procentuale; respinge restul cererii reclamantului pentru o justă satisfacție.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 25 martie 2014, în conformitate cu art. 77 §§ 2 și 3 din Regulamentul de procedură. Fatoș Aracı Ledi Bianku Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FOURTH SECTION
CASE OF BRYDA v. POLAND (Application no. 1902/05) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 25 March 2014 This judgment is final but it may be subject to editorial revision. In the case of Bryda v. Poland, The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting as a Committee composed of: Ledi Bianku, President, Paul Mahoney, Krzysztof Wojtyczek, judges, and Fatoș Aracı, Deputy Section Registrar, Having deliberated in private on 4 March 2014, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: PROCEDURE
The case originated in an application (no. 1902/05) against the Republic of Poland lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a Polish national, Ms Anna Bryda (“the applicant”), on 24 December 2004.
The Polish Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr J. Wołąsiewicz, succeeded by Ms J. Chrzanowska, of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
The applicant alleged, in particular, that the ex officio reopening of the social security proceedings concerning her right to an early-retirement pension, which resulted in the quashing of the final decision granting her a right to a pension, was in breach of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention.
On 20 May 2010 the application was communicated to the Government. THE FACTS I.
THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE CASE
5. The applicant was born in 1962 and lives in Strzyżów.
Prior to her early retirement she had been employed for 21 years at the same furniture factory and had paid her social security contributions to the State. A. Proceedings concerning the grant and the revocation of an EWK pension
On 18 December 2001 the applicant filed an application with the Rzeszów Social Security Board (Zakład Ubezpieczeń Społecznych) to be granted the right to an early-retirement pension for persons raising children who, due to the seriousness of their health condition, required constant care, the so-called “EWK” pension.
Along with her application for a pension, the applicant submitted, among other documents concerning her son’s health condition, a medical certificate issued by a specialist doctor. The certificate stated that the child (born in 1989) suffered from mild intellectual disability and that he was in need of his parent’s constant care.
On 21 December 2001 the Rzeszów Social Security Board (“the SSB”) issued a decision granting the applicant the right to an early ‑ retirement pension in the net amount of around 730 Polish zlotys (PLN) per month.
Due to the applicant’s employment the Social Security Board initially suspended the payment of the pension. The payment started on 1 January 2002 when the applicant resigned from her employment.
On 12 July 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board asked the Main Social Security Board’s doctor (Główny Lekarz Orzecznik) to inform it whether the applicant’s son required the permanent care of a parent. The doctor stated that, on the basis of the medical documents, the child could not be considered as ever having required such care.
On 20 August 2002 the Rzeszów Social Security Board simultaneously issued two decisions in respect of the applicant. By virtue of the first decision, the payment of the applicant’s pension was discontinued with immediate effect (1 September 2002). By virtue of the second decision, the Board reopened the proceedings, revoked the initial decision granting a pension and eventually refused to award the applicant the right to an early-retirement pension under the scheme provided for by the Cabinet’s Ordinance of 15 May 1989 on the right to early retirement of employees raising children who require permanent care ( Rozporządzenie Rady Ministrów z dn. 15 maja 1989 w sprawie uprawnień do wcześniejszej emerytury pracowników opiekujących się dziećmi wymagającymi stałej opieki ) (“the 1989 Ordinance”).
The applicant appealed against these decisions. She submitted that she should receive the benefit because her child required constant care, as confirmed by the medical certificate attached to the applicant’s original application for a pension. Moreover, the applicant alleged that the revocation of her retirement pension was contrary to the principle of vested rights.
On 27 February 2003 the Rzeszów Regional Court ( Sąd Okręgowy) dismissed the applicant’s appeal.
The applicant appealed against the first-instance judgment.
On 19 September 2003 the Rzeszów Court of Appeal dismissed the applicant’s further appeal. The domestic court held that the applicant had been rightfully divested of her right to a pension under the scheme provided by the 1989 Ordinance as she had not satisfied the requirement of necessary permanent care.
On 4 May 2004 the Supreme Court refused to examine the applicant’s cassation appeal. The Supreme Court’s decision was served on the applicant’s lawyer on 1 July 2004. B. The applicant’s financial situation
Following the social security proceedings the applicant was not ordered to return her early-retirement benefits paid by the Social Security Board, despite the revocation of her right to the EWK pension.
The applicant resigned from her job when she was granted the EWK pension and throughout the whole period of receiving it she did not work.
After revocation of the pension the applicant was unemployed for 82 days without right to any benefit. Between 22 November 2002 and 17 June 2003 she was employed by her previous employer.
Between 17 June 2003 and 1 June 2004 the applicant was unemployed without right to any benefit. On 1 June 2004 the applicant again accepted a seven-month-long contract from her previous employer. Afterwards she was employed by the unemployment agency with only short intervals. Since January 2007 she remains employed by the furniture company for which she had started working in 1980.
The Government submitted that the applicant’s gross annual income in 2003 amounted to PLN 5,070 (approx. EUR 1,200) which constituted 19.17% of the average salary in Poland at the relevant time. II.
RELEVANT DOMESTIC LAW AND PRACTICE
23. The legal provisions applicable at the material time and questions of practice are set out in the judgments in the case of Moskal v. Poland , no. 10373/05, §§ 31 ‑ 34, 15 September 2009 and Antoni Lewandowski v. Poland , no. 38459/03, §§ 36 ‑ 43, 2 October 2012). THE LAW I. ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 1 OF PROTOCOL No. 1 TO THE CONVENTION
The applicant complained that divesting her, in the circumstances of the case, of her acquired right to an early-retirement pension amounted to an unjustified deprivation of property. This complaint falls to be examined under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, which reads as follows: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” A. Admissibility
The Court notes that the Government raised several objections to the admissibility of the case. They submitted that the applicant had failed to comply with the six-month rule and that her application constituted an abuse of the right to individual application.
The applicant disagreed with the Government.
As regards non-compliance with the six-month rule, the Court has already considered in other EWK cases that the applicants should not be penalised for having tried to file a cassation appeal with the Supreme Court in order to avoid any risk of having their case rejected by the Court for non ‑ exhaustion of domestic remedies (see, for example, Frączek-Potęga v. Poland , no. 39430/04, § 55, 4 December 2012). Accordingly, the final decision in the case under consideration was given by the Supreme Court on 4 May 2004, served on the applicant’s lawyer on 1 July 2004, whereas the applicant lodged her application with the Court on 24 December 2004. That being so, the Court concludes that the applicant complied with the six ‑ month term laid down in Article 35 § 1 and the Government’s objection should therefore be dismissed.
The Court further notes that it has already examined identical objections regarding abuse of the right of individual application and dismissed them, in the follow ‑ up cases to Moskal (see, for instance, Lewandowski , cited above, §§ 45-72 and Lew v. Poland, no. 34386/04, §§ 35 ‑ 62, 4 December 2012). The Court sees no reason to depart from its previous findings.
The Court notes that this complaint is not manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 (a) of the Convention. It further notes that it is not inadmissible on any other grounds. It must therefore be declared admissible. B. Merits 1. The parties’ submissions (a) The applicant
The applicant submitted that divesting her, in the circumstances of the case, of her acquired right to an early-retirement pension had amounted to an unjustified deprivation of property. (b) The Government
The Government claimed that the interference with the applicant’s property rights had been lawful and justified. In particular, divesting the applicant of her right to the early-retirement pension had been provided for by law and was in the general interest. There was also a reasonable relationship of proportionality between the interference and the interests pursued. Moreover, the applicant remained unemployed only for 82 days after the revocation of the pension thus the burden placed on her had not been excessive. 2. The Court’s assessment (a) General principles
The relevant general principles are set out in the Moskal judgment, cited above, paragraphs 49-52. The Court would nevertheless reiterate that any interference by a public authority with the peaceful enjoyment of possessions should be lawful and must pursue a legitimate aim by means reasonably proportionate to the aim sought to be realised (see Moskal , cited above, §§ 49 and 50). (b) Application of the above principles to the present case (i) Whether there has been an interference with the applicant’s possessions
The parties agreed that the decisions of the Rzeszów Social Security Board of 20 August 2002, subsequently validated by three court instances (the regional court, the court of appeal and the Supreme Court), which deprived the applicant of the right to receive the EWK pension, amounted to an interference with her possessions within the meaning of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. The Court sees no reason to hold otherwise. (ii) Lawfulness of the interference and legitimate aim
As in the Moskal case the Court considers that this interference was provided for by law and pursued a legitimate aim, as required by Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention (see Moskal , cited above, §§ 56, 57 and 61 ‑ 63 and also Iwaszkiewicz v. Poland , no. 30614/06 , §§ 47, 48, 26 July 2011). (iii) Proportionality
In the instant case, a property right was generated by the favourable evaluation of the applicant’s dossier attached to the application for a pension, which was lodged in good faith, and by the Social Security Board’s recognition of the right (see paragraphs 7-9 above). Before being invalidated the decision of 21 December 2001 had undoubtedly produced effects for the applicant.
It must be stressed that the delay with which the authorities reviewed the applicant’s dossier was relatively long. The decision of 21 December 2001 was left in force for eight months before the authorities became aware of their error. On the other hand, as soon as the error was discovered the decision to discontinue the payment of the benefit was issued relatively quickly and with immediate effect (see paragraphs 11-12 above). Even though the applicant had an opportunity to challenge the Social Security Board’s decision of 20 August 2002 in judicial review proceedings, her right to the pension was eventually determined by the courts almost two years later (see paragraphs 12-17 above).
In examining the conformity of these events with the Convention, the Court reiterates the particular importance of the principle of good governance. It requires that where an issue pertaining to the general interest is at stake, especially when it affects fundamental human rights, including property rights, the public authorities must act promptly and in an appropriate and above all consistent manner (see Beyeler v. Italy [GC], no. 33202/96 , § 120, ECHR 2000 ‑ I; Öneryıldız v. Turkey [GC], no. 48939/99 , § 128, ECHR 2004 ‑ XII; Megadat.com S.r.l. v. Moldova , no. 21151/04 , § 72, 8 April 2008; and Rysovskyy v. Ukraine , no. 29979/04 , § 71, 20 October 2011). It is desirable that public authorities act with the utmost care, in particular when dealing with matters of vital importance to individuals, such as welfare benefits and other such rights. In the present case, the Court considers that having discovered their mistake, the authorities failed in their duty to act in an appropriate manner (see Moskal , cited above, § 72).
Moreover, in the Court’s opinion, the fact that the State did not ask the applicant to return the pension which had been unduly paid (see paragraph 18 above) did not mitigate sufficiently the consequences for the applicant flowing from the interference in her case. The Court notes in this connection that the applicant, after her right to the EWK pension had been confirmed by the authorities, decided to resign from her gainful employment (see paragraphs 10 and 19 above).
It should also be observed that as a result of the impugned measure, the applicant was faced, without any transitional period enabling her to adjust to the new situation, with the total loss of her early ‑ retirement pension, which constituted her only source of income at that time. It is true that the applicant managed to find a job relatively quickly after her EWK pension had been revoked (see paragraphs 20 and 21 above). The Court notes however that the employment lasted only seven months. Afterwards she remained unemployed for one year without any right to benefits. In the first two years following the revocation of his EWK pension the applicant’s yearly income was very low as in 2003 it amounted to 19% of the average salary in Poland (see paragraph 22 above). Only in January 2007 did the applicant manage to secure herself a permanent employment in her profession with her former employer.
In view of the above considerations, the Court does not see any reason to depart from its ruling in the leading case concerning EWK pensions, Moskal v. Poland , and finds that in the instant case a fair balance has not been struck between the demands of the general interest of the public and the requirements of the protection of the individual’s fundamental rights and that the burden placed on the applicant was excessive.
It follows that there has been a violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention. II.
ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLES 6 § 1 AND 8 OF THE CONVENTION
42. The applicant also alleged that the ex officio reopening of the social security proceedings, which had resulted in the quashing of the final decision granting her a right to a pension, was in breach of the principle of legal certainty under Article 6 § 1 of the Convention. She also complained under Article 8 of the Convention of an interference with her right to respect for her private and family life in that by divesting her of the EWK pension the authorities deprived her of her sole source of income and the financial resources indispensable for her livelihood.
The Court notes that these complaints are linked to the one examined above and must therefore likewise be declared admissible.
However, having regard to the reasons which led the Court to find a violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, the Court finds that the applicant’s complaints under Articles 6 and 8 of the Convention do not require a separate examination (see Moskal , cited above, §§ 83 and 94). III.
REMAINING COMPLAINTS
45. Lastly, the applicant alleged a breach of Articles 14 and 53 of the Convention. However, in the light of all the material in its possession, and in so far as the matters complained of are within its competence, the Court finds that they do not disclose any appearance of a violation of the rights and freedoms set out in the Convention or its Protocols. It follows that this part of the application is manifestly ill ‑ founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 (a) and 4 of the Convention. IV.
APPLICATION OF ARTICLE 41 OF THE CONVENTION
46. Article 41 of the Convention provides: “If the Court finds that there has been a violation of the Convention or the Protocols thereto, and if the internal law of the High Contracting Party concerned allows only partial reparation to be made, the Court shall, if necessary, afford just satisfaction to the injured party.” A. Damage
The applicant claimed 80,000 euros (EUR) in respect of pecuniary and non-pecuniary damage.
The Government considered the applicant’s claim groundless. They submitted that since the application is inadmissible, the just-satisfaction claims should be dismissed.
The Court finds that the applicant was deprived of her income in connection with the violation found and must take into account the fact that she undoubtedly suffered some pecuniary and non-pecuniary damage (see Moskal , cited above, § 105 with a further reference). Making an assessment on an equitable basis, as required by Article 41 of the Convention, the Court awards the applicant EUR 2,500 to cover all heads of damage. B. Costs and expenses
The applicant also submitted that she had to incur costs of travelling to and from the courts and pay the lawyers’ fees for legal representation before the domestic courts. She also submitted that she had incurred costs in relation to the Strasbourg proceedings.
The Government submitted that the applicant had not claimed reimbursement of costs and expenses.
Regard being had to the documents in its possession and to its case-law, the Court considers it reasonable to award the sum of EUR 300 for costs and expenses under all heads. C. Default interest
The Court considers it appropriate that the default interest rate should be based on the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank, to which should be added three percentage points. FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT, UNANIMOUSLY, 1. Declares the complaints under Articles 6 and 8 of the Convention and under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention admissible and the remainder of the application inadmissible; 2. Holds that there has been a violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention; 3. Holds that there is no need to examine separately the applicant’s complaints under Articles 6 and 8 of the Convention; 4. Holds (a) that the respondent State is to pay the applicant, within three months, the following amounts, to be converted into the currency of the respondent State at the rate applicable at the date of settlement: (i) EUR 2,500 (two thousand five hundred euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of pecuniary and non-pecuniary damage; (ii) EUR 300 (three hundred euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable to the applicant, in respect of costs and expenses; (b) that from the expiry of the above-mentioned three months until settlement simple interest shall be payable on the above amounts at a rate equal to the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank during the default period plus three percentage points; 5. Dismisses the remainder of the applicant’s claim for just satisfaction. Done in English, and notified in writing on 25 March 2014, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. Fatoș Aracı Ledi Bianku Deputy Registrar President