- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 7 martie 2017
- Stat pârât
- HUN
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Baczúr împotriva Ungariei
Traducere în română Auto
CAUZUL CU BACZÚR/HUNGARY (Depunerea nr. 8263/15) CAUZUL DE JUSTĂ STRIBURG 7 martie 2017 FINAL 07/06/2017 Această hotărâre a devenit finală în temeiul articolului 44 § 2 din Convenție. Acesta poate fi supusă revizuirii editoriale.
În cazul Baczúr v. Ungaria, Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care stă în calitate de Cameră compusă de: Vincent A. De Gaetano, Președinte, András Sajó, Nona Tsotsoria, Paulo Pinto de Albuquerque, Krzysztof Wojtyczek, Egidijus Kūris, Iulia Motoc, judecători și Marialena Tsirli, grefierul secțiunii, având deliberat în privat la 31 ianuarie 2017, pronunță următoarea hotărâre, care a fost adoptată la data respectivă: Cazul a apărut într-o cerere (nr. 8263/15) împotriva Ungariei depusă la Curte în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) de către un național maghiar, dl István Baczúr („reclamantul”), la 12 martie 2013. Reclamantul a fost reprezentat de dl D. Karsai, avocat practicant la Budapesta.
Guvernul maghiar (“Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de dl Z. Tallódi, Agent, Ministerul Justiției. Reclamantul s-a plâns, în special, de o scădere semnificativă a beneficiilor primite din cauza capacităților sale reduse de lucru. El se bazează pe art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 precum și pe articolele 6, 8, 13 și 14 din Convenție. La 21 aprilie 2015, cererea a fost comunicată guvernului. FACTELE CIRCUMSTANCELE CAUZULUI Reclamantul s-a născut în 1958 și trăiește în Nagykozár. Reclamantul a lucrat ca inspector fiscal. În 1996 a solicitat pensionare anticipată din cauza handicapului.
Începând cu 1 aprilie 1996, a fost declarat că a pierdut 67% din capacitatea sa de a lucra și a primit o pensie de invaliditate de 114.000 880 de forints maghiari (HUF) pe lună (aproximativ 370 euro (EUR) la rata ianuarie 2017). Evaluarea acesteia a fost menținută în 1999, 2003 și 2006. Metodologia de evaluare relevantă a fost modificată începând cu 1 ianuarie 2008. Cazul reclamantului a fost reexaminat în conformitate cu noile norme în 2009. Fără a fi avut loc o modificare semnificativă a starei sale de sănătate, s-a constatat apoi că a pierdut 50% din capacitatea sa de lucru. În consecință, pensia sa de invaliditate a fost încheiată și, la 1 iulie 2009, el a fost declarat adecvat pentru reabilitare instituțională și a acordat o alocație lunară de reabilitare în valoare de HUF 152.820 (aproximativ 490), mai puțin deducerile salariale.
În conformitate cu statutul respectiv, beneficiul nu poate fi acordat decât pentru o perioadă limitată, și anume până la 31 octombrie 2011 în cazul reclamantului. Legea a permis o prelungire a termenului, stabilind termenul maxim pentru beneficiul 30 iunie 2012. Cu toate acestea, în temeiul legii, perioada globală permisă pentru reabilitare nu poate depăși trei ani. Sumele lunare plătibile au evoluat în perioada anterioară termenului limită. La expirare, au fost HUF 173.980 (aproximativ 570) pe lună, minus HUF 17,398 în deduceri de salariu, ceea ce a determinat o sumă netă de HUF 156.585 (aproximativ 510). Între timp, la 29 decembrie 2011 a fost promulgată Legea nr. CXCI din 2011 privind beneficiile acordate persoanelor cu capacitate redusă de muncă.
10. La 28 martie 2012, reclamantul a solicitat o indemnitate de invaliditate în temeiul noului lege. La 8 mai 2012 a fost examinat medical în fața unui comitet expert al Autorității Naționale de Reabilitare și Protecție Socială. Statul de sănătate al reclamantului a fost evaluat la 46% și el a fost clasificat ca fiind potrivit pentru reabilitare într-un interval de treizeci și șase luni. Autoritatea i-a acordat inițial HUF 41.850 (aproximativ 140 EUR) pe lună, la 1 iulie 2012. 11. La apel, scorul de sănătate al reclamantului a fost menținut, dar autoritatea de a doua instanție nu a mai recomandat reabilitarea sa. Alocația lunară de invaliditate corespunzător situației sale a fost stabilită în cele din urmă la HUF 55.800 (aproximativ 180 EUR).
12. Reclamantul a solicitat o reexaminare judiciară în fața Tribunalului Administrativ și Muncii Pécs, dar în zadar. La 26 mai 2014 Kúria A respins petiția de reexaminare din motivele că nu se bazase pe o încălcare specifică a legii, astfel cum prevede Codul de procedură civilă. 13. În urma unei alte modificări legislative din 1 aprilie 2014, reclamantul a devenit drept la o alocație de invaliditate de HUF 159.100 (aproximativ 520) pe lună retroactivă începând cu 1 ianuarie 2014. ARTICOLUL 1 ALEGAT AL PROTOCOLUL nr. 1 LA CONVENȚIE 14. Reclamantul se plânge că scăderea drastică a indemnității sale lunare de invaliditate, care a prevalențat între 1 iulie 2012 și 31 decembrie 2013, a constituit o privare nejustificată a bunurilor, având în vedere faptul că starea medicală subjacente nu s-a schimbat.
El se bazează pe art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenția și articolele 6, 8, 13 și 14 din Convenția. Curtea consideră că plângerea este examinată în conformitate cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, singur, care se menționează după cum urmează: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale. Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional.
Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânzile generale sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau sancțiuni.” Admisibilitatea 15. Guvernul a susținut că cererea era incompatibilă ratione materiae Cu dispozițiile Convenției, ei au reiterat în esență argumentele pe care le-au prezentat în cazul Béláné Nagy c. Ungaria ([GC], nr. 53080/13, §§ 60-66, 13 decembrie 2016), subliniind, ca element suplimentar și crucial, că prezenta cerere se referă la un avantaj pe termen fix care, la expirarea sa, nu a creat nici un „dreptul admisiv” sau „așteptarea legitimă” care să permită reclamantului să se folosească de art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 pentru a contesta beneficiile reduse acordate lui în perioada reclamată.
16. Reclamantul a contestat această opțiune. 17. Curtea consideră că obiecția Guvernului este atât de strâns legată de substanța plângerii reclamantului că ar trebui să fie aderată la fondul (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citată mai sus, § 71). De asemenea, constată că cererea nu este inadmisibilă din alte motive. Prin urmare, aceasta trebuie declarată admisibilă. În ceea ce privește aplicabilitatea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, reclamantul a susținut că, având în vedere faptul că starea sa de sănătate a fost afectată în mod permanent, el aștepta legitim un beneficiu adecvat din partea statului în întregime, în ciuda faptului că termenul legal de reabilitare a fost un termen fix. În ceea ce privește respectarea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, reclamantul a acceptat faptul că măsurile care susțin reclamația sa au urmărit interesul general de a revizui sistemul de prestații pentru handicap și au fost legale.
Cu toate acestea, el este de părere că interferența pe care a suferit-o a fost disproporționată în faptul că două treimi din beneficiul său au fost eliminate pentru o perioadă de un an și jumătate, în special de la 1 iulie 2012 până la 31 decembrie 2013 (a se vedea punctele 10 și 13 de mai sus). 20. Guvernul a susținut că, chiar dacă art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 sunt aplicabile, reclamantul nu a susținut nici o ingerință în drepturile sale în temeiul acestei dispoziții, deoarece nu există nicio bază în legislația internă pentru a solicita plata continuă a unei prestații nemodificate de invaliditate, indiferent de modul în care circumstanțele au evoluat. În plus, chiar și presupunând existența unei interferențe, măsurile aplicate în cazul reclamantului au decurs direct din normele relevante ale dreptului intern, astfel cum au fost modificate și au urmărit interesul general de a raționaliza sistemul de prestații de invaliditate.
Acestea nu ar putea, în niciun caz, fi considerate disproporționate începând cu (i) Perioada impușită a durat doar opt luni; (ii) reclamantul a primit o prestație chiar și în timpul acestui timp; (iii) valoarea acestuia a depășit o treime din prestația sa anterioară și aproape a echivalat 60% din venitul minim de sustenabilitate relevant în anii 2012 și 2013; și (iv) modificarea din 2014, care constă într-o ajustare echitabilă a legii, a determinat compensații parțiale pentru solicitant. Evaluarea Curții 21. Curtea și-a rezumat poziția privind aplicabilitatea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în cazuri similare cu cele prezente la alineatele 72- 110 din hotărârea Béláné Nagy (citată mai sus).
În special, Curtea reiterează că, în domeniul prestațiilor de securitate socială, „pentru recunoașterea unei posesiuni care constă într-o așteptare legitimă, reclamantul trebuie să aibă un drept afirmabil care ... nu poate să nu se îndepărteze de un interes de proprietate suficient de stabilit și susținut în temeiul legislației naționale” (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus, § 79). Acesta se referă la faptele prezentei cereri că, din 1996, reclamantul a avut dreptul continuu, în cadrul unui regim juridic sau altul, să primească beneficii de invaliditate din partea statului. Pentru Curte, acest element are o importanță deosebită atunci când se ocupă de argumentul guvernului care indică caracterul fixe al alocației de reabilitare.
Guvernul nu a contestat faptul că dificultățile de sănătate ale reclamantului au rămas, de o parte, nemodificate pe parcursul întregii perioade din 1996. Acest lucru s-a reflectat în mod repetat de deciziile consecutive ale autorităților interne care îi acordă diferite beneficii conexe. 24. Prin urmare, Curtea este convinsă că cererea reclamantului pentru prestație de invaliditate în cursul perioadei de 18 luni în cauză (de la 1 Iulie 2012 până la 31 decembrie 2013) a constituit un „interes suficient de stabilit, substanțial proprietar în temeiul legislației naționale”, la fel cum a avut în perioadele anterioare sau ulterioare. Acest lucru este valabil indiferent dacă beneficiul într-o perioadă anumită a fost acordat pentru o durată definită sau nedefinită, deoarece starea medicală de bază a rămas constantă.
25. În consecință, art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 este aplicabil și obiecția preliminară a Guvernului privind incompatibilitatea ratione materiae trebuie respinsă. 26. În plus, Curtea nu poate să sublinieze faptul că, începând cu 1 Iulie 2012, beneficiul reclamantului a fost redus la aproximativ o treime din valoarea sa anterioară – o situație care a durat opt luni, deoarece reclamantul a devenit dreptul la o indemnitate mai mare de invaliditate calculată în conformitate cu o nouă modificare legislativă numai la 1 ianuarie 2014 (a se vedea punctele 10-13 de mai sus). Prin urmare, trebuie concluzionat că dreptul său de a beneficia de prestații de securitate socială din cauza bolilor sale a fost interferat, care rămâne să fie verificat dacă interferența a fost justificată.
27. O sinopsie a poziției Curții cu privire la respectarea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în acest domeniu poate fi găsită la punctele 112-18 din Beláné Nagy Hotărârea (citată mai sus). Aceste considerații sunt, de asemenea, valabile în acest caz. 28. Curtea constată, la început, că măsura reclamată avea o bază clară în legislația națională și acceptă că corespunde interesului general atașat raționalizării sistemului de securitate socială.
În acest moment, Curtea reiterează că „faptul că o persoană a intrat și face parte dintr-un sistem de securitate socială a statului (chiar dacă unul obligatoriu, ca în cazul instantaneu) nu înseamnă neapărat că acest sistem nu poate fi schimbat, fie în ceea ce privește condițiile de eligibilitate a plății, fie în ceea ce privește cuantitatea beneficiilor sau pensiilor (a se vedea mutatis mutandis, Carson și alții v. Regatul Unit [GC], nr. 42184/05, §§ 85-89, CEDH 2010 și Richardson v. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 26252/08, § 17, 10 aprilie 2012). Într-adevăr, Curtea a acceptat posibilitatea modificărilor legislației de securitate socială care pot fi adoptate ca răspuns la schimbările societale și la opiniile evolutive privind categoriile de persoane care au nevoie de asistență socială și, de asemenea, la evoluția situațiilor individuale (a se vedea Wieczorek c. Polonia , nr. 18176/05, § 67, 8 decembrie 2009)” (a se vedea Béláné Nagy § 88. Curtea ar sublinia faptul că, în condițiile actuale, aceste considerații joacă un rol primordial în evaluarea plângerilor privind deficiența drepturilor de bunăstare socială și, fără îndoială, acestea oferă statului o marjă largă de apreciere în raționalizarea sistemelor lor de securitate socială (a se vedea paragraful) 31 mai jos).
Cu toate acestea, examinarea proporționalității acestor măsuri nu poate fi eliminată. 29. În abordarea proporționalității măsurii, adică în examinarea dacă interferența impusă unei sarcini individuale excesive pentru reclamant, Curtea va avea în vedere contextul specific în care a apărut problema, și anume cel al unui sistem de securitate socială, care reprezintă o exprimare a solidarității unei societăți cu membrii săi vulnerabili (a se vedea Béláné Nagy) § 116. O considerație importantă este dacă dreptul reclamantului de a obține beneficii din sistemul de asigurare socială în cauză a fost încălcat într-o manieră care a determinat deficitul esențial al drepturilor sale de pensie (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus § 118). Pentru Curte, o reducere a două treimi, ca în cazul actual, intră fără îndoială în această altă categorie.
30. Curtea remarcă că, deși reclamantul – spre deosebire de doamna Nagy – nu a fost complet privat de toate drepturile, veniturile sale au fost reduse brusc la 180 EUR pe lună (a se vedea punctul 11 de mai sus), care, după cum a fost admis de guvern, abia 60 % din nivelul minim de susținere relevant în perioada în cauză (a se vedea alineatul (1)) Acest element este agravat de faptul că reclamantul nu a avut nici un alt venit semnificativ pe care să-l susțină și că a aparținut unui grup vulnerabil de persoane cu handicap (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus § 123). 31. Prin urmare, Curtea consideră că, în acest caz, aplicarea legislației impușite a dus la o situație în care un echilibru echitabil nu a fost afectat între interesele în joc – chiar dacă această legislație a fost menită să protejeze poșta publică prin raționalizarea schemei de prestații pentru handicap, o chestiune de interes general legitim în a căror urmărire statul beneficiază de o marjă largă de apreciere (a se vedea punctul 28 mai sus).
Din nou, trebuie subliniat faptul că reclamantul a suferit îndepărtarea a două treimi din beneficiul său, în timp ce nu a existat nici o indicație că nu a acționat cu bună credință în orice moment, să coopereze cu autoritățile sau să facă orice creanțe sau reprezentări relevante (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus §§ 121, 125 și 126). 32. Prin urmare, Curtea consideră că nu există o relație rezonabilă de proporționalitate între obiectivul urmărit și restricțiile aplicate alocației reclamantului în perioada cuprinsă între 1 iulie 2012 și 31 Decembrie 2013. În consecință, constată că, în ciuda marii marje de apreciere ale statului în acest domeniu, reclamantul a trebuit să suporte, în perioada în cauză; o sarcină individuală excesivă.
Chiar dacă reclamantul a beneficiat ulterior de o nouă modificare legislativă, care a dus la o creștere a indemnității sale pentru invaliditate, această măsură nu a aplicat decât de la 1 În ianuarie 2014 (a se vedea punctul 13 de mai sus). 33. Rezultă că a existat o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1. II. APLICAREA ARTICOLULUI 41 AL CONVENȚIEI 34. art. 41 din Convenție prevede: „Dacă Curtea constată că a existat o încălcare a Convenției sau a Protocolelor sale și dacă legea internă a Înălțimei Parte contractante în cauză permite numai repararea parțială, Curtea permite, dacă este necesar, satisfacție echitabilă părții vătămate.” Daune 35. Reclamantul a solicitat 6,320 EUR în ceea ce privește prejudiciu material, care corespunde diferenței acumulate între beneficiul precedent și cel care prevalează în perioada care dă naștere a încălcării constatate.
El a solicitat, de asemenea, 30.000 EUR în prejudiciu moral. 36. Guvernul a considerat că aceste afirmații sunt excesive. 37. Curtea nu poate specula cu privire la valoarea beneficiilor de invaliditate care ar fi fost deturnată reclamantului dacă nu s-a produs încălcarea. Prin urmare, i-a acordat o sumă forfetară de 5.000 EUR în ceea ce privește daunele pecuniare suportate (a se vedea Béláné Nagy) În plus, consideră că a suferit unele pagube nepecuniare din cauza suferirii și îi acordă, pe baza capitalului propriu, 5.000 EUR sub acest cap. Costuri și cheltuieli 38. Reclamantul a solicitat, de asemenea, 13,400 EUR plus TVA pentru costurile și cheltuielile suportate în fața Curții. Această sumă corespunde la șasezeci și șapte de ore de muncă legală facbil de către avocatul său la o rată orară de 200 EUR plus TVA.
39. Guvernul a contestat această cerere. 40. Potrivit jurisprudenței Curții, un reclamant are dreptul la rambursarea costurilor și cheltuielilor numai în măsura în care s-a demonstrat că acestea au fost suportate de fapt și în mod necesar și sunt rezonabile în ceea ce privește cuantitatea. În cazul în cauză, având în vedere documentele în posesia sa și criteriile de mai sus, Curtea consideră că este rezonabil atribuirea sumei de 9.000 EUR care acoperă costurile în toate șefile. Curtea consideră oportună faptul că rata dobânzii implicite ar trebui să se bazeze pe rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene, la care ar trebui adăugate trei puncte procentuale.
Pentru aceste motive, TRIBUNALUL, UNANIMOUS, se alătură obiecției preliminare guvernului și îl respinge; declara cererea admisibilă; că a existat o încălcare a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție; deține (a) că statul pârât trebuie să plătească reclamantului, în termen de trei luni de la data în care hotărârea devine finală în conformitate cu art. 2 din Convenție, următoarele sume, care urmează să fie convertite în moneda statului interesat la rata aplicabilă la data decontare: (i) 5.000 EUR (cincă mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil, în ceea ce privește prejudiciu material; (ii) 5.000 EUR (cincă mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil, în ceea ce privește daunele nepecuniare; (iii) 9,000 EUR (nouă mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil reclamantului, în ceea ce privește costurile și cheltuielile; (b) că de la expirarea celor trei luni menționate mai sus până la decontarea dobânzilor simple se plătesc pe sumele de mai sus la o rată egală cu rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene în timpul perioadei de incumprire plus trei puncte procentuale; respinge restul cererii reclamantului pentru o justă satisfacție.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 7 martie 2017, în conformitate cu art. 77 § § 2 și 3 din Regulamentul Curții. Marialena Tsirli Vincent A. De Gaetano Grefier Președinte
FOURTH SECTION
CASE OF BACZÚR v. HUNGARY (Application no. 8263/15) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 7 March 2017 FINAL 07/06/2017 This judgment has become final under Article 44 § 2 of the Convention. It may be subject to editorial revision. In the case of Baczúr v. Hungary, The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting as a Chamber composed of: Vincent A. De Gaetano, President, András Sajó, Nona Tsotsoria, Paulo Pinto de Albuquerque, Krzysztof Wojtyczek, Egidijus Kūris, Iulia Motoc, judges, and Marialena Tsirli, Section Registrar, Having deliberated in private on 31 January 2017, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: PROCEDURE
The case originated in an application (no. 8263/15) against Hungary lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a Hungarian national, Mr István Baczúr (“the applicant”), on 12 March 2013.
The applicant was represented by Mr D. Karsai, a lawyer practising in Budapest. The Hungarian Government (“the Government”) were represented by Mr Z. Tallódi, Agent, Ministry of Justice.
The applicant complained, in particular, of a significant decrease in the benefit he had received on account of his reduced capacity to work. He relied on Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 as well as on Articles 6, 8, 13 and 14 of the Convention.
On 21 April 2015 the application was communicated to the Government. THE FACTS
THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE CASE
5. The applicant was born in 1958 and lives in Nagykozár.
The applicant had been working as a tax inspector. In 1996 he applied for early retirement on account of disability. As of 1 April 1996, he was declared to have lost 67% of his capacity to work and was granted a disability pension of 114,880 Hungarian forints (HUF) per month (approximately 370 euros (EUR) at the rate of January 2017). That disability assessment was maintained in 1999, 2003 and 2006.
The relevant assessment methodology changed as of 1 January 2008. The applicant’s case was reviewed under the new rules in 2009. Without any significant change in his state of health having occurred, he was then found to have lost 50% of his working capacity. As a consequence, his disability pension was terminated and, as of 1 July 2009, he was declared suitable for institutional rehabilitation and granted a monthly rehabilitation allowance in the amount of HUF 152,820 (approximately EUR 490), minus payroll deductions. Under the relevant statute, the benefit could only be granted for a limited period, namely until 31 October 2011 in the applicant’s case. The law allowed for one extension of the time-limit, making the maximum deadline for the benefit 30 June 2012. However, under the law, the overall period allowable for rehabilitation could not exceed three years.
The monthly amount payable evolved in the period preceding the deadline. On expiry, it was HUF 173,980 (approximately EUR 570) per month, minus HUF 17,398 in payroll deductions, resulting in a net sum of HUF 156,585 (approximately EUR 510).
Meanwhile, on 29 December 2011 Act no. CXCI of 2011 on the Benefits Granted to Persons with Reduced Work Capacity was enacted. It came into effect on 1 January 2012 and introduced a new system of allowances.
On 28 March 2012 the applicant applied for a disability allowance under the new law. On 8 May 2012 he was medically examined before an expert panel of the National Rehabilitation and Social Welfare Authority. The applicant’s state of health was rated at 46% and he was classified as being suitable for rehabilitation within a time-frame of thirty-six months. The authority initially granted him HUF 41,850 (approximately EUR 140) per month in disability allowance, as of 1 July 2012.
On appeal, the applicant’s health score was maintained but the second-instance authority no longer recommended his rehabilitation. The monthly disability allowance corresponding to his situation was eventually set at HUF 55,800 (approximately EUR 180).
The applicant sought a judicial review before the Pécs Administrative and Labour Court, but in vain. On 26 May 2014 the Kúria rejected his petition for review on the grounds that he had not relied on any particular breach of the law, as required by the Code of Civil Procedure.
Following a further legislative amendment of 1 April 2014, the applicant became entitled to a disability allowance of HUF 159,100 (approximately EUR 520) per month retroactively as of 1 January 2014. THE LAW I.
ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 1 OF PROTOCOL NO. 1 TO THE CONVENTION
14. The applicant complained that the drastic decrease in his monthly disability allowance, which had prevailed between 1 July 2012 and 31 December 2013, amounted to an unjustified deprivation of possessions in view of the fact that his underlying medical condition had not changed. He relied on Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention and Articles 6, 8, 13 and 14 of the Convention. The Court considers that the complaint falls to be examined under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 alone, which reads as follows: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law.
The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” A. Admissibility
The Government argued that the application was incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention. They essentially reiterated the arguments they had put forward in the case of Béláné Nagy v. Hungary ([GC], no. 53080/13, §§ 60-66, 13 December 2016), emphasising, as an additional and crucial element, that the present application concerned a fixed-term benefit which, on its expiry, did not create any “assertable right” or “legitimate expectation” enabling the applicant to avail himself of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in order to challenge the reduced benefit granted to him in the period complained of.
The applicant contested that view.
The Court considers that the Government’s objection is so closely linked to the substance of the applicant’s complaint that it should be joined to the merits (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 71). It further notes that the application is not inadmissible on any other grounds. It must therefore be declared admissible. B. Merits 1. The parties’ submissions
As to the applicability of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, the applicant submitted that, given that his state of health was permanently impaired, he legitimately expected an adequate benefit from the State throughout, notwithstanding the fact that the statutory time-frame for rehabilitation was a fixed-term one. Any change in the rate of his health impairment was artificial and had resulted merely from the 2008 change in the scoring methodology.
As to compliance with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, the applicant accepted that the measures underlying his grievance had pursued the general interest of overhauling the system of disability benefits and had been lawful. However, he was of the view that the interference he had suffered was disproportionate in that two-thirds of his benefit had been eliminated for a period of one and a half years, notably from 1 July 2012 until 31 December 2013 (see paragraphs 10 and 13 above).
The Government submitted that even if Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 were applicable, the applicant had not sustained any interference with his rights under that provision, since there was no basis in domestic law for him to claim the continuous payment of an unchanged disability benefit, no matter how the circumstances evolved. Moreover, even assuming the existence of an interference, the measures applied in the applicant’s case flowed directly from the relevant rules of the domestic law as amended and pursued the general interest of rationalising the system of disability benefits. They could by no means be considered as disproportionate since (i) the impugned period had lasted only eighteen months; (ii) the applicant had been in receipt of a benefit even during that time; (iii) the amount of that benefit had exceeded one-third of his previous benefit and almost equalled 60% of the minimum subsistence income relevant in the years 2012 and 2013; and (iv) the 2014 amendment, consisting in an equitable adjustment of the law, had resulted in partial compensation for the applicant. 2. The Court’s assessment
The Court has summarised its position on the applicability of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in cases similar to the present one in paragraphs 72 to 110 of the Béláné Nagy judgment (cited above). It sees no reason to depart from those considerations.
In particular, the Court reiterates that, in the field of social-security benefits, “for the recognition of a possession consisting in a legitimate expectation, the applicant must have an assertable right which ... may not fall short of a sufficiently established, substantive proprietary interest under the national law” (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 79).
It transpires from the facts of the present application that, since 1996, the applicant has been continuously entitled, under one legal regime or another, to receive disability benefits from the State. For the Court, this element gains particular significance when dealing with the Government’s argument pointing to the fixed-term character of the rehabilitation allowance. It has not been disputed by the Government that the applicant’s health impairment has, by and large, remained unchanged throughout the entire period since 1996. This was reflected repeatedly by the domestic authorities’ consecutive decisions granting him various related benefits.
The Court is therefore satisfied that the applicant’s claim for disability benefit during the eighteen-month period in issue (from 1 July 2012 until 31 December 2013) constituted a “sufficiently established, substantive proprietary interest under the national law”, just as it had in the preceding or subsequent periods. This holds true irrespective of whether the benefit in a given period was granted for a definite or an indefinite duration, since the underlying medical condition remained constant.
It follows that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 is applicable and the Government’s preliminary objection of incompatibility ratione materiae must be dismissed.
Moreover, the Court cannot but emphasise that, as of 1 July 2012, the applicant’s benefit had been reduced to approximately one-third of its previous value – a situation which lasted eighteen months, since the applicant became entitled to a higher disability allowance calculated according to a further legislative amendment only as of 1 January 2014 (see paragraphs 10-13 above). It must therefore be concluded that his right to receive social-security benefits on account of his ailments was interfered with. It remains to be ascertained whether the interference was justified.
A synopsis of the Court’s position on compliance with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in this field can be found in paragraphs 112 to 118 of the Béláné Nagy judgment (cited above). Those considerations are also valid in the present case.
The Court notes at the outset that the measure complained of had undisputedly a clear basis in national law; and it accepts that it corresponded to the general interest attached to the rationalisation of the social-security system. At this juncture, the Court reiterates that “the fact that a person has entered into and forms part of a State social-security system (even if a compulsory one, as in the instant case) does not necessarily mean that that system cannot be changed, either as to the conditions of eligibility of payment or as to the quantum of the benefit or pension (see, mutatis mutandis, Carson and Others v. the United Kingdom [GC], no. 42184/05, §§ 85-89, ECHR 2010; and Richardson v. the United Kingdom (dec.), no. 26252/08, § 17, 10 April 2012). Indeed, the Court has accepted the possibility of amendments to social-security legislation which may be adopted in response to societal changes and evolving views on the categories of persons who need social assistance, and also to the evolution of individual situations (see Wieczorek v. Poland , no. 18176/05, § 67, 8 December 2009)” (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 88). The Court would stress that, in present-day conditions, these considerations play a primordial role in assessing complaints going to the impairment of social welfare rights; and they undoubtedly provide the State with a wide margin of appreciation in rationalising their social-security systems (see paragraph 31 below). Nevertheless, the examination of proportionality of such measures cannot be dispensed with.
In addressing the proportionality of the measure, that is, in considering whether the interference imposed an excessive individual burden on the applicant, the Court will have regard to the particular context in which the issue arose, namely that of a social-security scheme. Such schemes are an expression of a society’s solidarity with its vulnerable members (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 116). An important consideration is whether the applicant’s right to derive benefits from the social-insurance scheme in question has been infringed in a manner resulting in the impairment of the essence of his pension rights (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 118). For the Court, a two-thirds reduction, as in the present case, undoubtedly falls into this latter category.
The Court notes that although the applicant – unlike Mrs Nagy – was not completely deprived of all entitlements, his income was nevertheless abruptly reduced to EUR 180 per month (see paragraph 11 above), which, as admitted by the Government themselves, was barely 60% of the minimum subsistence level relevant in the period in issue (see paragraph 20 above). This element is aggravated by the fact that the applicant apparently had no other significant income on which to subsist and that he belonged to a vulnerable group of disabled persons (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 123).
The Court thus considers that in the present case the application of the impugned legislation resulted in a situation in which a fair balance was not struck between the interests at stake – even if that legislation was aimed at protecting the public purse by rationalising the scheme of disability benefits, a matter of legitimate general interest in whose pursuit the State enjoys a wide margin of appreciation (see paragraph 28 above). Once again, it must be stressed that the applicant suffered the removal of two-thirds of his benefit, whereas there was no indication that he had failed to act in good faith at all times, to co-operate with the authorities or to make any relevant claims or representations (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, §§ 121, 125 and 126).
The Court thus considers that there was no reasonable relation of proportionality between the aim pursued and the restrictions applied to the applicant’s allowance in the period from 1 July 2012 to 31 December 2013. It therefore finds that, notwithstanding the State’s wide margin of appreciation in this field, the applicant had to bear, in the period at issue; an excessive individual burden. Even though the applicant later benefitted from a further legislative amendment, which resulted in an increase of his disability allowance, that measure only applied from 1 January 2014 onwards (see paragraph 13 above).
It follows that there has been a violation of his rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. II.
APPLICATION OF ARTICLE 41 OF THE CONVENTION
34. Article 41 of the Convention provides: “If the Court finds that there has been a violation of the Convention or the Protocols thereto, and if the internal law of the High Contracting Party concerned allows only partial reparation to be made, the Court shall, if necessary, afford just satisfaction to the injured party.” A. Damage
The applicant claimed EUR 6,320 in respect of pecuniary damage, which corresponds to the accumulated difference between the previous benefit and the one prevailing in the period giving rise to the violation found. He also claimed EUR 30,000 in non-pecuniary damage.
The Government found these claims to be excessive.
The Court cannot speculate on the amount of disability benefit which would have been disbursed to the applicant had the violation not occurred. It therefore awards him a lump sum of EUR 5,000 in respect of the pecuniary damage sustained (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 131). Moreover, it considers that he must have suffered some non-pecuniary damage on account of the distress suffered and awards him, on the basis of equity, EUR 5,000 under this head. B. Costs and expenses
The applicant also claimed EUR 13,400 plus VAT for the costs and expenses incurred before the Court. This amount corresponds to sixty-seven hours of legal work billable by his lawyer at an hourly rate of EUR 200 plus VAT.
The Government contested this claim.
According to the Court’s case-law, an applicant is entitled to the reimbursement of costs and expenses only in so far as it has been shown that these have been actually and necessarily incurred and are reasonable as to quantum. In the present case, regard being had to the documents in its possession and the above criteria, the Court considers it reasonable to award the sum of EUR 9,000 covering costs under all heads. C. Default interest
The Court considers it appropriate that the default interest rate should be based on the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank, to which should be added three percentage points. FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT, UNANIMOUSLY, 1. Joins to the merits the Government’s preliminary objection and dismisses it; 2. Declares the application admissible; 3. Holds that there has been a violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention; 4. Holds , (a) that the respondent State is to pay the applicant, within three months from the date on which the judgment becomes final in accordance with Article 44 § 2 of the Convention, the following amounts, to be converted into the currency of the respondent State at the rate applicable at the date of settlement: (i) EUR 5,000 (five thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of pecuniary damage; (ii) EUR 5,000 (five thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of non-pecuniary damage; (iii) EUR 9,000 (nine thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable to the applicant, in respect of costs and expenses; (b) that from the expiry of the above-mentioned three months until settlement simple interest shall be payable on the above amounts at a rate equal to the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank during the default period plus three percentage points; 5. Dismisses the remainder of the applicant’s claim for just satisfaction. Done in English, and notified in writing on 7 March 2017, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. Marialena Tsirli Vincent A. De Gaetano Registrar President