- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 7 octombrie 2021
- Stat pârât
- HUN
- Articole
- Articolul 1, Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
- Concluzia
- Încălcare — Articolul 1 din Protocolul 1
Kovács împotriva Ungariei
Traducere în română Auto
Prima secțiune CAUZĂ DE KOVÁCS c. HUNGARY (Doc. nr. 25294/15) HOTĂRÂREA Strasburg 7 octombrie 2021 Această hotărâre este finală, dar poate fi supusă revizuirii editoriale.
În cazul Kovács c. Ungaria, Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (prima secțiune), ședința în calitate de comitet compus din: Alena Poláčková, președinte, Péter Paczolay, Gilberto Felici, judecători și Liv Tigerstedt, Registratorul adjunct al secțiunii, având în vedere: cererea (nr. 25294/15) împotriva Ungariei depusă Curții în temeiul articolului 34 din Convenția pentru protecția drepturilor omului și a libertăților fundamentale („Convenția”) de către un național maghiar, dna Endréné Kovács („reclamantul”), la 13 martie 2013; hotărârea de a anunța cererea către Guvernul maghiar („Guvernul”); observațiile părților; după ce a deliberat în particular la 14 septembrie 2021, emite următoarea hotărâre, care a fost adoptată la acea dată: INTRODUCȚIE Cererea se referă la o reducere substanțială a beneficiilor reclamantului pentru handicap.
Reclamantul s-a născut în 1958 și trăiește în Szeged. Ea a fost reprezentată de Dl. D.A. Karsai, un avocat practicant în Budapesta. Guvernul a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl Z. Tallódi, al Ministerului Justiției. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul a avut dreptul continuu la diferite prestații de invaliditate începând cu 2005. La 1 ianuarie 2012, ea a primit o alocație de reabilitare (rehabilitációs járadék ), în aplicarea articolului 10 alineatul (1)- alineatul (2) din Legea nr. LXXXIV din 2007. Sumă lunară a fost de 165.515 forints maghiari (HUF) (aproximativ 550 euro (EUR)).
În conformitate cu legea în acest moment, acest beneficiu a fost disponibil pentru un maxim de trei ani care în cazul reclamantului a expirat în iulie 2012. Reclamantul a depus o cerere de beneficii pentru persoanele cu capacitate redusă de muncă, care a fost determinată în conformitate cu Legea nr. CXCI din 2011 (în vigoare la 1 ianuarie 2012 – „Legea privind capacitatea redusă de muncă”). În procedura următoare, statutul de sănătate al reclamantului a fost evaluat medical la 47%, fără recomandare de reabilitare. La 1 august 2012, indemnitatea de invaliditate ( Rokkantsági ellátás ) în valoarea lunară de HUF 55.800 (190 EUR) a fost pusă în aplicare, în aplicarea normelor de calcul relevante atunci.
În urma unor modificări la Legea privind capacitatea de muncă redusă, alocația lunară a reclamantului a fost crescută, începând cu 1 ianuarie 2014, la HUF 159.100 EUR (530). Acest beneficiu pare să fi fost pus în aplicare încă de atunci. ÎNCĂLCAREA ARTICOLULUIUI 1 A PROTOCOLULUI NR. 1 LA CONVENȚIE Reclamantul s-a plâns de reducerea substanțială a beneficiilor sale, în special în perioada august 2012- ianuarie 2014. Ea s-a bazat pe art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 și articolele 6, 8, 13 și 14 din Convenție. Curtea, în calitate de comandant al caracterizării care urmează să fie acordată în drept faptelor unui caz (a se vedea Radomilja și Radomilja și Altele v. Croația [GC], nr. 37685/10 și nr. 22768/12, §§ 114 și 126, 20 martie 2018), consideră că această plângere este examinată numai în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, care se menționează după cum urmează: „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale.
Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau penalități.” Guvernul a susținut că reclamantul nu a epuizat căile de recurs interne deoarece nu a urmărit cazul (în care s-a stabilit scorul de 47%, a se vedea punctul 6 de mai sus) în instanță; o acțiune judiciară ar fi fost adecvată pentru a contesta evaluarea medicală care subjace scorul.
În plus, plângerea reclamantului este, în opinia lor, incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției deoarece, după expirarea perioadei fixe de trei ani a indemnității de reabilitare, reclamantul nu a avut nicio speranță legitimă de a continua plata unei indemnități de valoare comparabilă. În cele din urmă, pentru Guvernul, reclamantul și-a pierdut statutul de victimă, deoarece legea și-a remediat situația începând cu 1 ianuarie 2014. 10. Reclamantul nu este de acord, subliniind în special faptul că o acțiune judiciară ar fi fost inutilă, deoarece plângerea sa se referă la contextul juridic, mai degrabă la evaluarea medicală. 11. Curtea constată că nu există nici o indicație în dosarul – sau depunerea oricărei părți – în sensul că starea de sănătate a reclamantului s-a schimbat în perioada materială.
În aceste circumstanțe, aceasta acceptă argumentul reclamantului în conformitate cu care cruxul acestei chestiuni este contextul juridic în sine, motiv pentru care o acțiune judecătorească care a contestat doar scorul de evaluare medicală nu a fost un remediu adecvat. Obiecția Guvernului în ceea ce privește căile de recurs interne trebuie, prin urmare, respinsă. 12. În plus, în ceea ce privește statutul victimei, Curtea constată că evoluțiile legislative au rezolvat problema reclamantului numai începând cu 1 ianuarie 2014. În aceste circumstanțe, nu se poate spune că nu are statutul victimei în ceea ce privește perioada 1 august 2012-1 ianuarie 2014. Prin urmare, această obiecție trebuie respinsă de asemenea.
13. Guvernul a susținut, de asemenea, că cererea era incompatibilă ratione materiae cu dispozițiile Convenției și au subliniat faptul că cererea se referă la întreruperea beneficiului pe termen fix care, la expirarea acestuia, nu a creat niciun „drept solid” sau „așteptarea legitimată” care să permită reclamantului să se folosească de art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 pentru a contesta beneficiile reduse acordate reclamantului în perioada reclamată. 14. Curtea consideră că această obiecție a Guvernului este atât de strâns legată de substanța plângerii reclamantului că ar trebui să fie aderată la fondul (compare Béláné Nagy c. Ungaria [GC], nr. 53080/13, § 71, 13 decembrie 2016). De asemenea, aceasta remarcă că cererea nu este inadmisibilă din alte motive.
Prin urmare, aceasta trebuie declarată admisibilă. În ceea ce privește aplicabilitatea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, reclamantul a susținut că, având în vedere că starea sa de sănătate a fost afectată permanent, ea se aștepta legitim să primească, în mod continuu, un beneficiu adecvat de la stat, în ciuda faptului că termenul legal pentru reabilitare a fost un termen fix.
16. În ceea ce privește respectarea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1, reclamantul a considerat că interferența pe care a suferit-o a fost disproporționată în faptul că aproximativ două treimi din beneficiul ei au fost eliminate pentru o perioadă de aproape un an și jumătate, în special de la 1 august 2012 până la 1 ianuarie 2014. 17. Guvernul a susținut că, chiar dacă art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 sunt aplicabile, reclamantul nu a susținut nici o ingerință în drepturile sale în temeiul acestei dispoziții, deoarece nu există nicio bază în dreptul intern pentru ea să solicite plata continuă a unui beneficiu nemodificat, indiferent de modul în care circumstanțele au evoluat.
În plus, chiar și presupunând existența unei interferențe, măsurile aplicate în cazul reclamantului au urmărit interesul general de a raționaliza sistemul de prestații pentru handicap și nu au fost disproporționate, fiind în vigoare doar pentru o perioadă limitată de timp și urmat de o creștere compensatorie a beneficiilor. Evaluarea Tribunalului 18. Curtea și-a rezumat poziția privind aplicabilitatea articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în cazuri similare cu cele prezente la alineatele 72- 110 din hotărârea Béláné Nagy (citată mai sus).
În special, Curtea reiterează că, în domeniul prestațiilor de securitate socială, „pentru recunoașterea unei posesiuni care constă într-o așteptare legitimă, reclamantul trebuie să aibă un drept afirmabil care ... nu poate să nu se îndepărteze de un interes de proprietate suficient de stabilit și susținut în temeiul legislației naționale” (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus, § 79). 20. În urma faptelor prezentei cereri, reclamantul a avut dreptul în mod continuu, în cadrul unui regim juridic sau altul, să primească beneficii de invaliditate din partea statului. Nu s-a susținut că statutul ei de sănătate s-a schimbat semnificativ în acest timp. Pentru Curte, aceste elemente au o importanță deosebită atunci când se ocupă de argumentul Guvernului care indică caracterul pe termen fix al alocației de reabilitare.
21. Prin urmare, Curtea este convinsă că cererea reclamantului pentru beneficii de invaliditate în perioada de șaptezeci de luni în discuție (de la 1 August 2012 până la 1 ianuarie 2014) a constituit un „interes suficient de stabilit, substanțial proprietar în temeiul legislației naționale”, la fel cum a avut în perioadele anterioare sau ulterioare. Acest lucru este valabil indiferent dacă beneficiul într-o perioadă anumită a fost acordat pentru o durată definită sau nedefinită, deoarece starea medicală de bază a rămas constantă. 22. În consecință, art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 este aplicabil și obiecția preliminară a Guvernului privind incompatibilitatea ratione materiae trebuie respinsă (a se vedea Baczúr v. Ungaria , nr. 8263/15, § 25, 7 martie 2017). 23. În plus, Curtea nu poate să sublinieze faptul că, începând cu 1 August 2012, beneficiul reclamantului a fost redus la aproximativ o treime din valoarea sa anterioară – o situație care a durat șaptezeci de luni.
Prin urmare, trebuie concluzionat că dreptul ei de a primi beneficii de securitate socială din cauza bolilor sale a fost interferat. O sinopsie a poziției Curții privind conformitatea cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în acest domeniu poate fi găsită în alineatele 112- 118 din hotărârea Béláné Nagy (citată mai sus). Aceste considerații sunt valabile și în cazul în cauză. 25. Curtea constată, la început, că măsura reclamată a avut o bază nediscriminată în legislația națională; și acceptă că aceasta corespunde interesului general atașat raționalizării sistemului de securitate socială.
În acest moment, Curtea reiterează că „faptul că o persoană a intrat și face parte dintr-un sistem de securitate socială a statului (chiar dacă unul obligatoriu, ca în cazul instantaneu) nu înseamnă neapărat că acest sistem nu poate fi schimbat, fie în ceea ce privește condițiile de eligibilitate a plății, fie în ceea ce privește cuantitatea beneficiilor sau pensiilor (a se vedea mutatis mutandis) Carson și alții v. Regatul Unit [GC], nr. 42184/05, §§ 85-89, CEDH 2010, și Richardson v. Regatul Unit (dec.), nr. 26252/08, § 17, 10 aprilie 2012). Într-adevăr, Curtea a acceptat posibilitatea modificărilor legislației de securitate socială care pot fi adoptate ca răspuns la schimbările societale și la opiniile evolutive privind categoriile de persoane care au nevoie de asistență socială și, de asemenea, la evoluția situațiilor individuale (a se vedea Wieczorek c. Polonia , nr. 18176/05, § 67, 8 decembrie 2009, și Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus, § 88). Curtea ar sublinia faptul că, în condițiile actuale, aceste considerații joacă un rol primordial în evaluarea plângerilor legate de deficiența drepturilor de bunăstare socială și, fără îndoială, acestea oferă statului o marjă largă de apreciere în raționalizarea sistemelor lor de securitate socială.
Cu toate acestea, examinarea proporționalității acestor măsuri nu poate fi eliminată. 26. În abordarea proporționalității măsurii, adică în examinarea dacă interferența impusă unei sarcini individuale excesive pentru reclamant, Curtea va avea în vedere contextul specific în care a apărut problema, și anume cel al unui sistem de securitate socială, care reprezintă o exprimare a solidarității unei societăți cu membrii săi vulnerabili (a se vedea Béláné Nagy) § 116. O considerație importantă este dacă dreptul reclamantului de a obține beneficii din sistemul de asigurare socială în cauză a fost încălcat într-o manieră care a determinat deficiența esențială a drepturilor de pensie (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus § 118). Pentru Curte, o reducere a două treimi a acesteia, ca în cazul în cauză, intră în această categorie.
27. Curtea constată că, deși reclamantul – spre deosebire de doamna Nagy – nu a fost complet privat de toate drepturile, veniturile sale au fost reduse brusc la 190 EUR pe lună. Acest element este agravat de faptul că reclamantul aparent nu a avut alte venituri semnificative pe care să le susțină și că aparține unui grup vulnerabil de persoane cu handicap (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus § 123). 28. Prin urmare, Curtea consideră că, în acest caz, aplicarea legislației impușite a dus la o situație în care un echilibru echitabil nu a fost afectat între interesele în joc – chiar dacă această legislație a fost menită să protejeze poșta publică prin raționalizarea schemei de prestații pentru handicap, o chestiune de interes general legitim în a căror urmărire statul beneficiază de o marjă largă de apreciere.
Din nou, trebuie subliniat faptul că reclamantul a suferit îndepărtarea a două treimi din beneficiul ei, în timp ce nu a existat nici o indicație că nu a acționat în mod de bună credință în orice moment, să coopereze cu autoritățile sau să facă orice afirmații sau reprezentații relevante (a se vedea Béláné Nagy , citat mai sus §§ 121, 125 și 126). 29. Prin urmare, Curtea consideră că nu există o relație rezonabilă de proporționalitate între obiectivul urmărit și restricțiile aplicate alocației reclamantului în perioada cuprinsă între 1 august 2012 și 1 ianuarie 2014. Baczúr , citat mai sus, §§ 27-32). Chiar dacă reclamantul a beneficiat ulterior de o nouă modificare legislativă, care a dus la o creștere a alocației ei pentru handicap, această măsură a aplicat numai de la 1 ianuarie 2014 înainte.
30. Rezultă că a existat o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. APLICAREA ARTICOLULUI 41 AL CONVENȚIEII 31. 41 din Convenție prevede: „Dacă Curtea constată că a existat o încălcare a Convenției sau a Protocolelor sale, și în cazul în care dreptul intern al Înălțimei Parte contractante în cauză permite numai repararea parțială, Curtea oferă, dacă este necesar, satisfacție echitabilă părții vătămate.” 32. Reclamantul a solicitat 6,700 EUR în ceea ce privește prejudiciu material (17 luni de pierdere acumulată în alocația lunară în perioada materială), 10.000 EUR în ceea ce privește daunele nepecuniare și 12.192 EUR în ceea ce privește costurile și cheltuielile suportate în fața Curții.
33. Guvernul a contestat aceste cereri. 34. Curtea nu poate specula cu privire la valoarea beneficiilor de invaliditate care ar fi fost deturnată reclamantului dacă nu s-a produs încălcarea. Prin urmare, i-a acordat o sumă forfetară de 5.000 EUR în ceea ce privește daunele pecuniare suportate (a se vedea Béláné Nagy) În plus, consideră că ea trebuie să fi suferit unor pagube nepecuniare din cauza suferirii suferite și să-i acorde, pe baza capitalului propriu, 5.000 EUR sub acest cap. În sfârșit, în conformitate cu jurisprudența Curții, un reclamant are dreptul la rambursarea costurilor și cheltuielilor numai în măsura în care s-a demonstrat că acestea au fost efectiv și neapărat suportate și sunt rezonabile în ceea ce privește cuantitatea.
În cazul în cauză, având în vedere documentele în posesia sa și criteriile de mai sus, Curtea consideră că este rezonabil atribuirea sumei de 3.000 EUR care acoperă costurile în cadrul tuturor șefelor. 35. Curtea consideră oportună ca rata dobânzii implicite să se bazeze pe rata de creditare marginală a Băncii Centrale Europene, la care ar trebui adăugate trei puncte procentuale.
Pentru aceste motive, TRIBUNALUL, UNANIMOUS, hotărăște să se alăture obiecției guvernului în ceea ce privește incompatibilitatea ratione materiae și o respinge; declara cererea admisibilă; declară că a existat o încălcare a articolului 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție; deține (a) că statul pârât trebuie să plătească reclamantului, în termen de trei luni, următoarele sume, care urmează să fie convertite în moneda statului interesat la rata aplicabilă la data decontare: (i) 5000 EUR (cincă mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi impugnabil, în ceea ce privește prejudiciu material; (ii) 5.000 EUR (cincă mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil, în ceea ce privește daunele nepecuniare; (iii) 3.000 EUR (3 mii de euro), plus orice impozit care poate fi taxabil pentru solicitant, în ceea ce privește costurile și cheltuielile; (b) că de la expirarea celor trei luni menționate mai sus până la decontarea dobânzilor simple se plătesc pe sumele de mai sus la o rată egală cu rata marginală de creditare a Băncii Centrale Europene în timpul perioadei de incumprire plus trei puncte procentuale; respinge restul cererii reclamantului pentru o justă satisfacție.
Adoptat în limba engleză și notificat în scris la 7 octombrie 2021, în conformitate cu articolele 2 și 3 din Regulamentul de procedură. {signature_p_2} Liv Tigerstedt Alena Poláčková Președintele adjunct al grefierului
FIRST SECTION
CASE OF KOVÁCS v. HUNGARY (Application no. 25294/15) JUDGMENT STRASBOURG 7 October 2021 This judgment is final but it may be subject to editorial revision. In the case of Kovács v. Hungary, The European Court of Human Rights (First Section), sitting as a Committee composed of: Alena Poláčková, President, Péter Paczolay, Gilberto Felici, judges, and Liv Tigerstedt, Deputy Section Registrar, Having regard to: the application (no. 25294/15) against Hungary lodged with the Court under Article 34 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (“the Convention”) by a Hungarian national, Ms Endréné Kovács (“the applicant”), on 13 March 2013; the decision to give notice of the application to the Hungarian Government (“the Government”); the parties’ observations; Having deliberated in private on 14 September 2021, Delivers the following judgment, which was adopted on that date: INTRODUCTION
The application concerns a substantial reduction of the applicant’s disability benefit. THE FACTS
The applicant was born in 1958 and lives in Szeged. She was represented by Mr D.A. Karsai, a lawyer practising in Budapest.
The Government were represented by their Agent, Mr Z. Tallódi, of the Ministry of Justice.
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows.
The applicant was continuously entitled to various disability benefits from 2005 onwards. On 1 January 2012 she was in receipt of a rehabilitation allowance ( rehabilitációs járadék ), in application of section 10(1)-(2) of Act no. LXXXIV of 2007. Its monthly amount was 165,515 Hungarian forints (HUF) (approximately 550 euros (EUR)). Under the law as it stood then, this benefit was available for a maximum of three years which in the applicant’s case expired in July 2012.
The applicant filed an application for a benefit for persons with reduced work capacity, which request was determined under Act no. CXCI of 2011 (in force as of 1 January 2012 - “the Reduced Work Capacity Act”). In the ensuing procedure, the applicant’s health status was medically assessed at 47% with no recommendation of rehabilitation. As of 1 August 2012, disability allowance ( rokkantsági ellátás ) in the monthly amount of HUF 55,800 (EUR 190) was put in place, in application of the then relevant calculation rules.
In pursuit of intervening amendments to the Reduced Work Capacity Act, the applicant’s monthly allowance was increased, as of 1 January 2014, to HUF 159,100 (EUR 530). This benefit appears to have been in place ever since. THE LAW ALLEGED VIOLATION OF ARTICLE 1 of PROTOCOL NO. 1 TO THE CONVENTION
The applicant complained of the substantial reduction of her benefit, in particular in the period August 2012 to January 2014. She relied on Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and Articles 6, 8, 13 and 14 of the Convention. The Court, being the master of the characterisation to be given in law to the facts of a case (see Radomilja and Others v. Croatia [GC], nos. 37685/10 and 22768/12, §§ 114 and 126, 20 March 2018), considers that this complaint falls to be examined under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 alone, which reads as follows: “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” Admissibility
The Government argued that the applicant had not exhausted domestic remedies because she had not pursued the case (in which the 47% score had been established, see paragraph 6 above) in court; a court action would have been adequate to challenge the medical assessment underlying the score. Moreover, the applicant’s complaint is, in their view, incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention because, once the three-year fix-term period of rehabilitation allowance had expired, the applicant had no legitimate expectation of continued payment of an allowance of comparable amount. Lastly, for the Government, the applicant had lost her victim status, because the law had remedied her situation as of 1 January 2014.
The applicant disagreed, emphasising in particular that a court action would have been futile, since her complaint concerned the legal context rather than the medical assessment.
The Court notes that there is no indication in the case file – or submission from any of the parties – to the effect that the applicant’s health status changed in the material period. In these circumstances, it accepts the applicant’s argument according to which the crux of the matter is the legal context itself, which is why a court action challenging merely the medical assessment score was not an adequate remedy. The Government’s objection of domestic remedies must therefore be rejected.
Furthermore, as regards the victim status, the Court notes that the legislative developments solved the applicant’s problem only as of 1 January 2014. In these circumstances, it cannot be said that she has no victim status in regard to the period 1 August 2012 to 1 January 2014. This objection must therefore likewise be rejected.
The Government also argued that the application was incompatible ratione materiae with the provisions of the Convention. They emphasised that the application concerned the discontinuation of a fixed-term benefit which, on its expiry, did not create any “assertable right” or “legitimate expectation” enabling the applicant to avail himself of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in order to challenge the reduced benefit granted to the applicant in the period complained of.
The Court considers that this objection of the Government is so closely linked to the substance of the applicant’s complaint that it should be joined to the merits (compare Béláné Nagy v. Hungary [GC], no. 53080/13, § 71, 13 December 2016). It further notes that the application is not inadmissible on any other grounds. It must therefore be declared admissible. Merits The parties’ submissions
As to the applicability of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, the applicant submitted that, given that her state of health was permanently impaired, she legitimately expected to receive, continuously, an adequate benefit from the State, notwithstanding the fact that the statutory time-frame for rehabilitation was a fixed-term one.
As to compliance with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1, the applicant was of the view that the interference she had suffered was disproportionate in that about two-thirds of her benefit had been removed for a period of nearly one and a half years, notably from 1 August 2012 until 1 January 2014.
The Government submitted that even if Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 were applicable, the applicant had not sustained any interference with her rights under that provision, since there was no basis in domestic law for her to claim the continuous payment of an unchanged benefit no matter how the circumstances evolved. Moreover, even assuming the existence of an interference, the measures applied in the applicant’s case pursued the general interest of rationalising the system of disability benefits and were not disproportionate, having been in place for only a limited period in time and followed by a compensatory increase of the benefit. The Court’s assessment
The Court has summarised its position on the applicability of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in cases similar to the present one in paragraphs 72 to 110 of the Béláné Nagy judgment (cited above). It sees no reason to depart from those considerations.
In particular, the Court reiterates that, in the field of social-security benefits, “for the recognition of a possession consisting in a legitimate expectation, the applicant must have an assertable right which ... may not fall short of a sufficiently established, substantive proprietary interest under the national law” (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 79).
It transpires from the facts of the present application that, since 2005, the applicant has been continuously entitled, under one legal regime or another, to receive disability benefits from the State. It has not been argued that her health status changed significantly during that time. For the Court, these elements gain particular significance when dealing with the Government’s argument pointing to the fixed-term character of the rehabilitation allowance.
The Court is therefore satisfied that the applicant’s claim for disability benefit during the seventeen-month period in issue (from 1 August 2012 until 1 January 2014) constituted a “sufficiently established, substantive proprietary interest under the national law”, just as it had in the preceding or subsequent periods. This holds true irrespective of whether the benefit in a given period was granted for a definite or an indefinite duration, since the underlying medical condition remained constant.
It follows that Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 is applicable and the Government’s preliminary objection of incompatibility ratione materiae must be dismissed (see Baczúr v. Hungary , no. 8263/15, § 25, 7 March 2017).
Moreover, the Court cannot but emphasise that, as of 1 August 2012, the applicant’s benefit had been reduced to approximately one-third of its previous value – a situation which lasted seventeen months. It must therefore be concluded that her right to receive social-security benefits on account of her ailments was interfered with. It remains to be ascertained whether the interference was justified.
A synopsis of the Court’s position on compliance with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in this field can be found in paragraphs 112 to 118 of the Béláné Nagy judgment (cited above). Those considerations are also valid in the present case.
The Court notes at the outset that the measure complained of had undisputedly a basis in national law; and it accepts that it corresponded to the general interest attached to the rationalisation of the social-security system. At this juncture, the Court reiterates that “the fact that a person has entered into and forms part of a State social-security system (even if a compulsory one, as in the instant case) does not necessarily mean that that system cannot be changed, either as to the conditions of eligibility of payment or as to the quantum of the benefit or pension (see, mutatis mutandis , Carson and Others v. the United Kingdom [GC], no. 42184/05, §§ 85-89, ECHR 2010, and Richardson v. the United Kingdom (dec.), no. 26252/08, § 17, 10 April 2012). Indeed, the Court has accepted the possibility of amendments to social-security legislation which may be adopted in response to societal changes and evolving views on the categories of persons who need social assistance, and also to the evolution of individual situations (see Wieczorek v. Poland , no. 18176/05, § 67, 8 December 2009, and Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 88). The Court would stress that, in present-day conditions, these considerations play a primordial role in assessing complaints going to the impairment of social welfare rights; and they undoubtedly provide the State with a wide margin of appreciation in rationalising their social-security systems. Nevertheless, the examination of proportionality of such measures cannot be dispensed with.
In addressing the proportionality of the measure, that is, in considering whether the interference imposed an excessive individual burden on the applicant, the Court will have regard to the particular context in which the issue arose, namely that of a social-security scheme. Such schemes are an expression of a society’s solidarity with its vulnerable members (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 116). An important consideration is whether the applicant’s right to derive benefits from the social-insurance scheme in question has been infringed in a manner resulting in the impairment of the essence of her pension rights (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 118). For the Court, a two-thirds reduction, as in the present case, falls into this latter category.
The Court notes that although the applicant – unlike Mrs Nagy – was not completely deprived of all entitlements, her income was nevertheless abruptly reduced to EUR 190 per month. This element is aggravated by the fact that the applicant apparently had no other significant income on which to subsist and that she belonged to a vulnerable group of disabled persons (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 123).
The Court thus considers that in the present case the application of the impugned legislation resulted in a situation in which a fair balance was not struck between the interests at stake – even if that legislation was aimed at protecting the public purse by rationalising the scheme of disability benefits, a matter of legitimate general interest in whose pursuit the State enjoys a wide margin of appreciation. Once again, it must be stressed that the applicant suffered the removal of two-thirds of her benefit, whereas there was no indication that she had failed to act in good faith at all times, to co-operate with the authorities or to make any relevant claims or representations (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, §§ 121, 125 and 126).
The Court thus considers that there was no reasonable relation of proportionality between the aim pursued and the restrictions applied to the applicant’s allowance in the period from 1 August 2012 to 1 January 2014. It therefore finds that, notwithstanding the State’s wide margin of appreciation in this field, the applicant had to bear, in the period at issue, an excessive individual burden (see Baczúr , cited above, §§ 27-32). Even though the applicant later benefitted from a further legislative amendment, which resulted in an increase of her disability allowance, that measure only applied from 1 January 2014 onwards.
It follows that there has been a violation of her rights under Article 1 of Protocol No. 1.
APPLICATION OF ARTICLE
41 OF THE CONVENTION
31. Article 41 of the Convention provides: “If the Court finds that there has been a violation of the Convention or the Protocols thereto, and if the internal law of the High Contracting Party concerned allows only partial reparation to be made, the Court shall, if necessary, afford just satisfaction to the injured party.”
The applicant claimed EUR 6,700 in respect of pecuniary damage (17 months of accrued loss in the monthly allowance in the material period), EUR 10,000 in respect of non-pecuniary damage and EUR 12,192 in respect of costs and expenses incurred before the Court.
The Government contested these claims.
The Court cannot speculate on the amount of disability benefit which would have been disbursed to the applicant had the violation not occurred. It therefore awards her a lump sum of EUR 5,000 in respect of the pecuniary damage sustained (see Béláné Nagy , cited above, § 131). Moreover, it considers that she must have suffered some non-pecuniary damage on account of the distress suffered and awards her, on the basis of equity, EUR 5,000 under this head. Lastly, according to the Court’s case-law, an applicant is entitled to the reimbursement of costs and expenses only in so far as it has been shown that these have been actually and necessarily incurred and are reasonable as to quantum. In the present case, regard being had to the documents in its possession and the above criteria, the Court considers it reasonable to award the sum of EUR 3,000 covering costs under all heads.
The Court considers it appropriate that the default interest rate should be based on the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank, to which should be added three percentage points. FOR THESE REASONS, THE COURT, UNANIMOUSLY, Decides to join to the merits the Government’s objection concerning incompatibility ratione materiae and dismisses it; Declares the application admissible; Holds that there has been a violation of Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention; Holds (a) that the respondent State is to pay the applicant, within three months, the following amounts, to be converted into the currency of the respondent State at the rate applicable at the date of settlement: (i) EUR 5,000 (five thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of pecuniary damage; (ii) EUR 5,000 (five thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable, in respect of non-pecuniary damage; (iii) EUR 3,000 (three thousand euros), plus any tax that may be chargeable to the applicant, in respect of costs and expenses; (b) that from the expiry of the above-mentioned three months until settlement simple interest shall be payable on the above amounts at a rate equal to the marginal lending rate of the European Central Bank during the default period plus three percentage points; Dismisses the remainder of the applicant’s claim for just satisfaction. Done in English, and notified in writing on 7 October 2021, pursuant to Rule 77 §§ 2 and 3 of the Rules of Court. {signature_p_2} Liv Tigerstedt Alena Poláčková Deputy Registrar President