- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 5 iulie 2022
- Stat pârât
- SRB
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Milivojević împotriva Serbiei
Traducere în română Auto
SEGUNDA DECIZIE DECIZIE Nr. 11944/16 Radosav MIVIOJEVI împotrivă Serbiei Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (A doua secțiune), care a stat la 5 iulie 2022 ca cameră compusă din: Jon Fridrik Kjølbro, președinte, Egidijus Kūris, Branko Lubarda, Pauliine Koskelo, Jovan Ilievski, Gilberto Felici, Saadet Yüksel, judecători și Hasan Bakırcı, grefierul secțiunii, Având în vedere cererea depusă la 24 februarie 2016, având în vedere observațiile prezentate de Guvernul contestat și observațiile în răspuns transmise de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: FACTELE Reclamantul, dl Radosav Milivojević, este un național sârb, care s-a născut în 1955 și trăiește în Smederevo. El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către dl. R. Kojić , avocat practicant la Belgrad.
Guvernul sârb (“ Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dna Z. Jandrijević Mladar. Circumstanțele cazului Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Reclamantul a fost colonel în armata Serbiei timp de treizeci de ani până la 16 aprilie 2005, când s-a retras din cauza incapacității permanente de a îndeplini serviciul militar profesional. La expirarea serviciului său, el a avut un total de treizeci de ani, nouă luni și patru zile de serviciu. Pensiunea sa de invaliditate a fost calculată pe baza anilor de serviciu recunoscute (încrescut) și a constituit o sută de opt ani, nouă luni și douăzeci și opt zile. Potrivit reclamantului, la momentul pensionării, el a fost capabil să aleagă dacă să înceapă să primească o pensie de vârstă precoce sau o pensie de invaliditate, iar el a ales celălalt.
La 16 aprilie 2005, reclamantul a fost numit Procuror Adjunct în Biroul Procurorului Public al Republicii, un post în care a rămas până la 30 iunie 2010. În acel timp, a plătit contribuții obligatorii pentru Fondul de Asigurare a Pensiunii și Disabilității din Republica Serbia (denumit în continuare „Fondul”) pentru un total de cinci ani, două luni și cincisprezece zile. După încheierea serviciului public, la 20 martie 2012, reclamantul a solicitat Fondului să își recalculeze pensia ținând seama de anii de serviciu în calitate de procuror public adjunct. La 18 septembrie 2012, Fondul și-a respins cererea de a declara că, în temeiul articolului 121 din Legea privind asigurările pensiilor și handicapului, numai beneficiarii unei pensii de vârstă, dar nu de invaliditate, au dreptul de a solicita recalcularea pensiei lor din cauza ocupării forței de muncă ulterioare, cu condiția ca acestea să fie asigurate de cel puțin un an.
La 12 noiembrie 2012, recursul reclamantului împotriva deciziei de primă instanță a fost respins din aceleași motive. Curtea administrativă a respins acțiunea administrativă ulterioară a reclamantului la 7 februarie 2013. La 20 martie 2013, reclamantul a depus un recurs constituțional, plângând că a fost discriminat pe baza handicapului său în comparație cu beneficiarii pensiilor de vârstă. La 19 octombrie 2015, Curtea Constituțională și-a respins apelul. Constituția nu recunoaște principiul egalității ca un concept general și abstract care se aplică în mod egal persoanelor juridice diferite în fiecare situație juridică, ci garantează egalitatea în aceeași categorie de persoane juridice, și anume același tip de drepturi...
Curtea Constituțională afirmă în continuare că, la ... ședința din 22 decembrie 2014 a respins o cerere de revizuire constituțională a articolului 121 alineatul (1) din PIO...
descoperirea că această lege nu a instituit o categorie separată de „beneficiari ai pensiilor de invaliditate militară”, ci, în schimb, numai art. 21 din lege, care se referă la determinarea handicapului, prevede că există invaliditate atunci când o persoană asigurată suferă de o pierdere totală a capacităților de muncă, sau atunci când un ofițer militar profesionist pierde capacitatea de a îndeplini serviciul militar profesional ... De asemenea, s-a subliniat că Curtea Constituțională poate evalua doar constituționalitatea dispozițiilor legale existente, dar nu eșecul Adunării Naționale de a reglementa anumite chestiuni prin lege, deoarece adoptarea legilor face parte din puterea legislativă care, conform Constituției, este în competența exclusivă a Adunării Naționale...” Constituția Republicii Serbiei (Ustav Republike Srbije; publicată în Jurnalul Oficial al Republicii Serbiei – OG RS – nr. 98/06) 10. art. 21 prevede că „toți vor fi egali înaintea Constituției și a legii” și că „trebuie să aibă dreptul la protecție juridică egală, fără discriminare”.
Se interzice toate „discriminația directă sau indirectă bazată pe orice motiv, în special pe motive de rasă, sex, origine națională sau socială, naștere, religie, opinie politică sau de altă naștere, statut de proprietate, cultură, limbă, vârstă, invaliditate mentală sau fizică”. Măsurile speciale care pot fi introduse pentru a asigura egalitatea deplină a persoanelor fizice sau a grupului de persoane care, în alt mod, sunt într-o poziție substanțială inegală față de alți cetățeni nu sunt considerate discriminare. 11. art. 170 prevede că „un recurs constituțional poate fi interzis împotriva deciziilor sau acțiunilor individuale ale organismelor sau organizațiilor de stat care exercită competențe publice delegate care încalcă sau negă drepturile și libertățile omului sau minorității garantate de Constituție, în cazul în care au fost deja epuizate sau nu prescrise alte măsuri juridice [pentru protecția acestor drepturi sau libertăți]”.
În conformitate cu principiul solidarității, art. 5 prevede că drepturile de asigurare a pensiilor și handicapului se achiziționează și se exercită pe baza anilor de serviciu și a ratei de bază a contribuției, în conformitate cu principiul de solidaritate. art. 21 prevede că o persoană este considerată invalidă în temeiul prezentei legi în cazul în care suferă de o pierdere totală a capacităților de muncă, sau atunci când un membru al personalului militar profesional suferă o pierdere totală a capacității de serviciu militar profesional, sau atunci când un ofițer de poliție suferă o pierdere completă a capacității de a îndeplini sarcini profesionale de poliție, datorită modificărilor situației sale de sănătate cauzate de o leziune la locul de muncă, boală profesională, neîntreruptă leziunile sau bolile legate de muncă, care nu răspund la tratament sau reabilitare medicală.
În conformitate cu art. 69 , printre altele , în calculul cuantumului pensiei de invaliditate cauzate de o leziune legată de muncă, se ia în considerare o perioadă de patruzeci de ani. În calculul unei pensii de invaliditate cauzate de un prejudiciu sau de o boală legată de muncă, se adaugă următoarele ani de serviciu începând cu data încheierii asigurărilor: la o persoană asigurată cu vârsta sub 53 de ani, două treimi din anii de serviciu lipsă se adaugă până când are 53 ani și jumătate din anii de serviciu lipsă se adaugă unei femei cu vârsta cuprinsă între 53 și 58 de ani și la un bărbat cu vârsta cuprinsă între 53 și 63 de ani. Pentru persoanele asigurate cu vârste de peste 53 de ani, o jumătate din anii de serviciu lipsă se adaugă unei femei până la 58 de ani și la un bărbat până la 63 de ani.
15. În conformitate cu art. 121, printre altele, beneficiarii unei pensii de vârstă sau de vârstă prematură care sunt angajate cel puțin un an au dreptul de a recalcula pensiile și sunt atribuite sumei de pensie mai favorabile. Reclamantul s-a plâns că a fost discriminat în cazul în care, spre deosebire de pensionarii de vârstă, nu ar putea să își recalcule pensiile de invaliditate pentru a include o perioadă ulterioară de cinci ani în care a contribuit la sistemul obligatoriu de asigurare a pensiilor. 1 și art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 12 al acestuia.
Ca stăpân al caracterizării în lege a faptelor de față (a se vedea, de exemplu, Radomilja și alții c. Croația) [GC], nr. 37685/10 și 22768/12, §§ 114 și 126, 20 martie 2018), Curtea consideră că plângerea reclamantului este examinată în conformitate cu art. 14 luat în legătură cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 la Convenție, care așa cum urmează: „Ducrarea drepturilor și libertăților prevăzute în [] Convenția este asigurată fără discriminare pe niciun motiv, cum ar fi sexul, rasa, culoarea, limba, religia, opinia politică sau de altă natură, origine națională sau socială, asocierea cu o minoritate națională, proprietatea, nașterea sau alt statut.” art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 „Fiecare persoană fizică sau juridică are dreptul la bucuria pașnică a bunurilor sale.
Nimeni nu poate fi privat de posesiunile sale cu excepția interesului public și sub rezerva condițiilor prevăzute de lege și prin principiile generale ale dreptului internațional. Cu toate acestea, dispozițiile anterioare nu afectează în niciun fel dreptul unui stat de a aplica legile pe care le consideră necesare pentru a controla utilizarea bunurilor în conformitate cu dobânda generală sau pentru a asigura plata impozitelor sau a altor contribuții sau sancțiuni.” Argumentele părților Guvernului Guvernul a explicat că, în temeiul dreptului intern, numai ofițerii militari profesioniști și de poliție au fost capabili să obțină o pensie de invaliditate atunci când suferă o pierdere a capacității de a-și îndeplini serviciul militar sau de poliție, dar nu o pierdere totală a capacității de a lucra în alte locuri de muncă.
Pentru toate celelalte persoane, handicapul a însemnat că nu au putut realiza niciun loc de muncă. Prin urmare, legislația relevantă a conținut deja o discriminare pozitivă în favoarea personalului militar, permițându-i, spre deosebire de toate celelalte persoane care pot beneficia de o pensie de invaliditate, să găsească alte locuri de muncă. Guvernul a subliniat, de asemenea, că o pensie de invaliditate nu este o pensie standard și că suma sa nu se bazează exclusiv pe anii de serviciu sau pe suma contribuțiilor de asigurare plătite. În schimb, s-a calculat o pensie de invaliditate aplicand o formulă specială definită în lege (a se vedea alineatul 14 de mai sus), din cauza căreia suma sa a fost determinată mai favorabil decât alte pensii.
Prin urmare, nu a existat nicio bază pentru a oferi posibilitatea de a recalcula ulterior suma pensiilor de invaliditate. În situația în care ofițerii militari erau deja tratați în mod mai favorabil prin faptul că erau eligibili pentru reluare a ocupării forței de muncă, nu s-a justificat faptul că astfel de persoane au, de asemenea, posibilitatea de a crește pensia de invaliditate deja calculată în mod favorabil, contrar, ar pune toți ceilalți beneficiari de pensii de invaliditate într-o poziție inegală. 20. Guvernul a subliniat, de asemenea, că în Serbia drepturile la asigurarea pensiilor și invalidității au fost exercitate pe baza principiului solidarității, ceea ce înseamnă că plata pensiilor a fost furnizată în principal din contribuțiile generației în prezent angajate și că persoana asigurată specifică nu a plătit contribuții din care pensia sa a fost plătită ulterior.
Niciun angajat nu ar putea fi absolvit de la plata contribuțiilor obligatorii, în ciuda posibilului statut de beneficiar al pensiilor de invaliditate. În caz contrar, alți angajați ar fi plasați într-o poziție inegală, deoarece ocuparea beneficiarilor de pensii ar fi mai favorabilă pentru angajatorii. 21. Guvernul a concluzionat că, din motivele anterioare, invaliditatea și pensionarii de vârstă nu erau categorii comparabile, deoarece aceste două drepturi diferă semnificativ în modul de determinare a prestațiilor lor de pensie respective. Reclamantul a susținut că atunci când s-a pensionat din cauza handicapului său, legea a permis recalcularea pensiilor de invaliditate. Cu toate acestea, după ce pensiile militare au devenit reglementate de legislația care reglementează pensiile civile, el, spre deosebire de pensionarii de vârstă, nu mai are acest drept de a include perioada de muncă ulterioară.
De asemenea, reclamantul a remarcat că, la momentul pensionării sale în 2005, el a îndeplinit atât cerințele pentru o pensie de vârstă timpurie, cât și pentru o pensie de invaliditate și a fost în măsură să aleagă în conformitate cu ce regim să se retragă. El a furnizat, de asemenea, informații privind un coleg ofițer militar care s-a pensionat în cadrul schemei de pensionare anticipată și care a fost autorizat să își recalculeze pensia din cauza anilor ulterioare de muncă civilă, ceea ce a determinat o creștere semnificativă a sumelor de pensii lunare, deși ambele au avut practic același număr de ani de serviciu militar și de ocupare civilă ulterioare. 24. Reclamantul a susținut că, în ciuda contribuțiilor obligatorii semnificative acordate Fondului în cursul serviciului său în calitate de civil timp de mai mult de cinci ani, el a fost ulterior incapabil să beneficieze de aceste contribuții ca urmare a handicapului său în serviciul militar.
În sfârșit, reclamantul a susținut, de asemenea, că anumite categorii de beneficiari de pensii de invaliditate au, de asemenea, dreptul la drepturi specifice în temeiul dreptului intern, dar că statul nu a adoptat niciodată o lege în acest sens. Prin urmare, este inacceptabil ca statul să susțină acum că reclamantul a fost discriminat pozitiv în comparație cu persoanele cu capacitate redusă de lucru. Reclamantul nu ar trebui să fie comparat cu alte persoane cu capacitate redusă de a lucra, ci cu alte persoane care au contribuit la fond. Evaluarea Curții Principiile generale 26. Pentru ca o chestiune să apară în temeiul articolului 14, trebuie să existe o diferență în tratamentul persoanelor în situații analoge sau relevante similare (a se vedea, printre multe autoritățile, Fábián c. Ungaria [GC], nr. 78117/13, § 113, 5 septembrie 2017). Cu alte cuvinte, obligația de a demonstra o poziție analogă nu impune ca grupurile de comparatori să fie identice.
Un solicitant trebuie să demonstreze că, având în vedere natura specifică a plângerii sale, el sau ea a fost într-o situație relevant similară celor tratate diferit (a se vedea Clift v. Regatul Unit , nr. 7205/07, § 66, 13 iulie 2010). 27. Cu toate acestea, nu orice diferență de tratament va constitui o încălcare a art. 14, în primul rând, Curtea a stabilit în jurisprudența sa că numai diferențele de tratament bazate pe o caracteristică identificabilă, sau „status”, sunt capabile să constituie discriminare în sensul art. 14 (a se vedea Carson și alții c. Regatul Unit [GC], nr. 42184/05, § 61, CEHR 2010, și Molla Sali c. Grecia [GC], nr. 20452/14, §§ 134, 19 decembrie 2018). În al doilea rând, o diferență în tratament este discriminatorie dacă nu are justificare obiectivă și rezonabilă; în alte cuvinte, dacă nu urmărește un obiectiv legitim sau dacă nu există o relație rezonabilă de proporționalitate între mijloacele utilizate și scopul căutat de a fi realizat (a se vedea Fabris c. Franța [GC], nr. 16574/08, § 56, CEDH 2013 (extracte); și Weller c. Ungaria , nr. 44399/05, § 27, 31 martie 2009). 28. Statele contractante beneficiază de o anumită marjă de apreciere în evaluarea dacă și în ce măsură diferențele în situații similare justifică un tratament diferit.
Domeniul de aplicare al marjei va varia în funcție de circumstanțe, subiectul și contextul (a se vedea Stummer c. Austria) [GC], nr. 37452/02, § 88, CEDO 2011), însă hotărârea finală privind respectarea cerințelor Convenției constă în Curtea (a se vedea, printre altele, Konstantin Markin c. Rusia [GC], nr. 30078/06, § 126. CEDO 2012 (extracte).
În primul rând, natura statutului pe care se bazează tratamentul diferențial cântărește în mare măsură în determinarea domeniului de aplicare a acestei marje (a se vedea Regatul Unit nr. 56328/07 , § 47, CEDO 2011). Curtea a reiterat recent că marja de apreciere va fi considerabil mai largă și justificarea necesară nu va fi la fel de importantă, dacă statutul în cauză este supus unui element de alegere personală (a se vedea Savickis și alții c. Letonia [GC], nr. 49270/11, § 183, 9 iunie 2022). O marjă largă este de obicei permisă statului în temeiul Convenției în ceea ce privește măsurile generale de strategie economică sau socială (a se vedea Fábián , citat mai sus , § 115). Datorită cunoștințele lor directe despre societatea lor și nevoile sale, autoritățile naționale sunt în principiu mai bine plasate decât judecătorul internațional pentru a aprecia ceea ce este în interesul public pe motive sociale sau economice, iar Curtea va respecta în general alegerea de politică a legislației, cu excepția cazului în care este „manifest fără fundații rezonabile” (a se vedea Carson și alții , citat mai sus, § 61). Orice măsuri luate pentru astfel de motive, inclusiv reducerea sumei de pensie plătibile în mod normal populației calificate,
trebuie totuși să fie puse în aplicare în mod nediscriminatoriu și să respecte cerințele de proporționalitate (a se vedea Lakićević și alții c. Muntenegru și Serbia , nr. 27458/06 și altele 3 , § 61, 13 decembrie 2011, și Stec și alții c. Regatul Unit (dec.) [GC], nr. 65731/01 și 65900/01, § 55, CEDO 2005). 30. În cele din urmă, în ceea ce privește sarcina dovezii în raport cu art. 14 din Convenție, Curtea a considerat că, după ce reclamantul a arătat o diferență în tratament, guvernul trebuie să demonstreze că a fost justificat (a se vedea Popović și alții c. Serbia, nr. 26944/13 și al., § 73, 30 iunie 2020). Curtea va examina în primul rând dacă reclamantul poate fi considerat într-o situație analogă sau relevant similară cu grupul cu care a încercat să se compare, și anume pensionari în primirea unei pensii de vârstă.
Curtea a susținut deja că elementele care caracterizează diferite situații și stabilesc comparabilitatea celor două grupuri care sunt comparate trebuie evaluate în funcție de subiectul și de scopul măsurii care fac distincția în cauză (a se vedea Fábián , citat mai sus § 121; a se vedea, de asemenea, Špoljar și Dječji vrtić Pčelice v. Croația (dec.), nr. În acest sens, Curtea constată, la început, că reclamantul aparține unui grup destul de îngust de persoane care, în ciuda calificării unei pensii de invaliditate, au dreptul, în temeiul legii sârbe, să ia ulterior noua ocupare a forței de muncă.
După cum a explicat Guvernul, numai fostul personal militar și de poliție au fost capabili să se califice pentru o pensie de invaliditate fără a fi complet incapabili să lucreze și, prin urmare, numai ei pot lua noi locuri de muncă, menținând în același timp dreptul la o pensie de invaliditate (a se vedea În acest context, este irelevant dacă statul a adoptat sau nu o legislație specifică care reglementează posibilele drepturi suplimentare ale altor beneficiari (nemilitare) de pensie de invaliditate, astfel cum a afirmat reclamantul (a se vedea punctul 25 de mai sus), deoarece el însuși nu a fost în această poziție. 33. În al doilea rând, Curtea acordă importanță faptului că, atunci când se retrage din serviciul militar în 2005, reclamantul s-a calificat atât pentru o pensie de vârstă timpurie, cât și pentru o pensie de invaliditate.
alin. (4) și 23) Indiferent de motivele pe care le alege schema de invaliditate în momentul material, reclamantul nu poate compara acum situația sa cu situația unui alt ofițer militar pensionat cu experiență similară, dar care a ales un sistem de pensionare diferit (a se vedea punctul 23 de mai sus). 34. În al treilea rând, și probabil cel mai semnificativ, Curtea constată că, în temeiul dreptului sârb, invaliditatea și pensiile de vârstă nu sunt calculate în același mod. Astfel cum a explicat Guvernul, o pensie de invaliditate este în mod normal mai favorabilă pentru persoana în cauză, deoarece conține deja un calcul mai generos al prestațiilor în cauză (a se vedea punctul 19 de mai sus). În consecință, reclamantul a beneficiat deja de un astfel de calcul favorabil (a se vedea punctul 4 de mai sus).
În astfel de circumstanțe, Curtea consideră că ar fi dificil, dacă nu imposibil, să se combine metoda de calcul al unui handicap și a unei pensii de vârstă în ceea ce privește aceeași persoană. 35. În măsura în care reclamantul a susținut că nu va primi în schimb sumele semnificative de contribuții obligatorii pe care le-a plătit în cursul cinci anilor de serviciu ca procuror adjunct, Curtea observă că sistemul de pensii sârb se bazează pe principiul solidarității și că, în orice caz, persoanele asigurate în temeiul unui astfel de sistem nu au dreptul automat la primirea în beneficii a cuantumului echivalent de contribuții pe care le-au plătit în cadrul sistemului de muncă.
Curtea a examinat deja sisteme de pensii similare bazate pe principiul solidarității dintre contributori și beneficiari, și a concluzionat că obligația de a contribui la asigurarea legală de vârstă nu a fost disproporționată și nu a constituit un tratament discriminatoriu (a se vedea Ackermann și Fuhrmann c. Germania) (dec.), nr. 71477/01, 8 septembrie 2005). Acesta nu vede motivele de a depărta de această concluzie în acest caz. 36. Având în vedere cele de mai sus, Curtea consideră că scopul măsurii care face distincția între pensionarii de vârstă și pensionari de invaliditate în cazul în cauză nu este de a pune o categorie într-o poziție mai puțin favorabilă sau de a discrimina un anumit grup de persoane pe baza handicapului lor, ci de a reflecta în schimb caracterul diferit al celor două pensii, și de a contribui la echilibrarea atentă a sumelor de beneficii oferite diferitelor grupuri de beneficiari din sistemul de securitate socială al statului.
37. În suma, Curtea nu este convinsă că reclamantul a reușit să demonstreze că a fost într-o poziție relevantă sau analogă față de grupul cu care a încercat să se compare. 38. Rezultă că această plângere este vădit nefondată în sensul articolului 35 § 3 și trebuie respins în temeiul articolului 35 § 4 din Convenție. Din aceste motive, Curtea, în unanimitate, Declară cererea inadmisibilă, făcută în limba engleză și notificată în scris la 8 septembrie 2022. Hasan Bakırcı Jon Fridrik Kjølbro Președintele grefierului
SECOND SECTION
DECISION Application no. 11944/16 Radosav MILIVOJEVIĆ against Serbia The European Court of Human Rights (Second Section), sitting on 5 July 2022 as a Chamber composed of: Jon Fridrik Kjølbro, President, Egidijus Kūris, Branko Lubarda, Pauliine Koskelo, Jovan Ilievski, Gilberto Felici, Saadet Yüksel, judges, and Hasan Bakırcı, Section Registrar, Having regard to the above application lodged on 24 February 2016, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS
The applicant, Mr Radosav Milivojević, is a Serbian national, who was born in 1955 and lives in Smederevo. He was represented before the Court by Mr R. Kojić , a lawyer practising in Belgrade.
The Serbian Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mrs Z. Jandrijević Mladar. The circumstances of the case
The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. 4 . The applicant was a colonel in the Army of the Republic of Serbia for thirty years until 16 April 2005, when he retired due to his permanent inability to perform professional military service. At the time of termination of his service, he had a total of thirty years, nine months and four days of service. His disability pension was calculated on the basis of recognised benefitted (increased) years of service and amounted to thirty-eight years, nine months and twenty-eight days. According to the applicant, at the time of retiring, he was able to choose whether to start receiving an early old-age pension or a disability pension, and he chose the latter.
On 16 April 2005 the applicant was appointed Deputy Public Prosecutor in the Republic Public Prosecutor’s Office-Military Department, a position in which he stayed until 30 June 2010. During that time, he was paying compulsory contributions to the Pension and Disability Insurance Fund of the Republic of Serbia (hereinafter “the Fund”) for a total of five years, two months and fifteen days.
After termination of his public service, on 20 March 2012 the applicant requested the Fund to recalculate his pension taking into account his years of service as a Deputy Public Prosecutor.
On 18 September 2012 the Fund dismissed his request stating that, pursuant to section 121 of the Pension and Disability Insurance Act, only beneficiaries of an old age pension, but not a disability pension, had the right to request recalculation of their pension on account of subsequent employment, provided that they had been insured for at least one year.
On 12 November 2012 the applicant’s appeal against the first-instance decision was dismissed on the same grounds. The Administrative Court dismissed the applicant’s subsequent administrative action on 7 February 2013.
On 20 March 2013 the applicant lodged a constitutional appeal, complaining that he had been discriminated against on the basis of his disability in comparison to old age pension beneficiaries. On 19 October 2015 the Constitutional Court dismissed his appeal. The relevant parts of that decision read as follows: “...[T]he Constitution does not recognise the principle of equality as a general, abstract concept that applies equally to different legal entities in every legal situation, but guarantees equality within the same category of legal entities, namely the same type of rights... The Constitutional Court further notes that at its ... meeting of 22 December 2014 it dismissed a request for constitutional review of section 121(1) of the PIO... finding that the said Act did not establish a separate category of ‘military disability pension beneficiaries’, but instead only section 21 of the Act, which relates to determination of disability, provides that disability exists when an insured person suffers from a total loss of ability to work, or when a professional military officer loses the ability to perform professional military service ... It has also been pointed out that the Constitutional Court can only assess the constitutionality of existing legal provisions but not the failure of the National Assembly to regulate certain issues by law, because adoption of laws is a part of the legislative power which, according to the Constitution, is within the exclusive competence of the National Assembly...”
RELEVANT LEGAL FRAMEWORK
The Constitution of the Republic of Serbia ( Ustav Republike Srbije ; published in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Serbia – OG RS – no. 98/06)
Article 21 provides that “everyone shall be equal before the Constitution and the law” and “shall have the right to equal legal protection, without discrimination”. All “direct or indirect discrimination based on any ground, particularly on grounds of race, sex, national or social origin, birth, religion, political or other opinion, property status, culture, language, age, mental or physical disability shall be prohibited”. Special measures which may be introduced in order to achieve full equality of individuals or group of individuals who are otherwise in a substantively unequal position compared to other citizens shall not be deemed as discrimination.
Article 170 provides that “a constitutional appeal may be lodged against individual decisions or actions of State bodies or organisations exercising delegated public powers that violate or deny human or minority rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Constitution, if other legal remedies [for the protection of those rights or freedoms] have already been exhausted or have not been prescribed”. The Old-Age Pension and Disability Act ( Zakon o penzionom i invalidskom osiguranju , published in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Serbia – OG RS – no. 34/2003, as amended)
Article 5 provides that pension and disability insurance rights shall be acquired and exercised based on the years of service and contribution base rate, in compliance of the solidarity principle. 13 . Article 21 provides that a person shall be deemed disabled under this Act if he or she suffers of a total loss of working ability, or when a member of professional military personnel suffers a total loss of capacity for professional military service, or when a police officer suffers a complete loss of ability to perform professional police duties, due to changes in his or her health condition caused by a workplace injury, occupational disease, non ‑ work related injury or disease, which do not respond to treatment or medical rehabilitation. 14 . According to Article 69, inter alia , in calculating the amount of disability pension caused by a work-related injury, a period of forty years shall be taken into account. In calculating a disability pension caused by a non-work-related injury or disease, the following years of service shall be added as of the date of the termination of insurance: to an insured person under 53 years of age, two-thirds of the missing years of service shall be added until he or she turns 53 and half of the missing years of service shall be added to a woman between 53 and 58, and to a man between 53 and 63 years of age. For insured persons older than 53, one half of the missing years of service shall be added to a woman until 58, and to a man until 63 years of age.
According to Article 121, inter alia , beneficiaries of an old-age or early old-age pension who become employed for at least one year shall have the right to recalculation of pension and shall be attributed the more favourable amount of pension. COMPLAINT
The applicant complained that he had been discriminated against in that, unlike old-age pensioners, he could not have his disability pension recalculated in order to include a subsequent period of five years during which he had contributed to the compulsory pension insurance system. THE LAW
The applicant relied on Article 14 of the Convention, Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 and Article 1 of Protocol No. 12 thereto. As master of the characterisation to be given in law to the facts of the case before it (see, for example, Radomilja and Others v. Croatia [GC], nos. 37685/10 and 22768/12, §§ 114 and 126, 20 March 2018), the Court considers that the applicant’s complaint falls to be examined under Article 14 taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the Convention, which read as follows: Article 14 “The enjoyment of the rights and freedoms set forth in [the] Convention shall be secured without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status.” Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 “Every natural or legal person is entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of his possessions. No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest and subject to the conditions provided for by law and by the general principles of international law. The preceding provisions shall not, however, in any way impair the right of a State to enforce such laws as it deems necessary to control the use of property in accordance with the general interest or to secure the payment of taxes or other contributions or penalties.” The parties’ arguments The Government 18 . The Government explained that under domestic law only professional military and police officers were able to obtain a disability pension when they suffer a loss of ability to perform their military or police service, but not a total loss of the ability to work in other jobs. For all other persons, disability meant that they were unable to perform any employment at all. The relevant legislation thus already contained a positive discrimination in favour of military personnel, allowing them, unlike all other persons qualifying for a disability pension, to find other employment. 19 . The Government further pointed out that a disability pension was not a standard pension and that its amount was not exclusively based on the years of service or the sum of paid insurance contributions. Instead, a disability pension was calculated applying a special formula defined in the law (see paragraph 14 above), as a result of which its amount was determined more favourably than other pensions. There had thus been no basis for providing the possibility of subsequently recalculating the amount of disability pensions. In the situation where military officers were already treated more favourably by being eligible for re-employment, it was not justified that such persons also have the possibility of increasing their already favourably calculated disability pension. The contrary would put all other disability pension beneficiaries in an unequal position.
The Government further stressed that in Serbia the rights to pension and disability insurance were exercised based on the principle of solidarity. That meant that payment of pensions was mainly provided from contributions by currently employed generation and that the specific insured person did not pay contributions from which his or her pension was subsequently paid out. No employee could be absolved from paying compulsory contributions, despite their possible status of disability pension beneficiary. Otherwise, other employees would be put in an unequal position as the employment of pension beneficiaries would be more favourable for employers.
The Government concluded that for the foregoing reasons disability and old age pensioners were not comparable categories as these two rights significantly differed in the manner of determining their respective pension benefits. The applicant
The applicant maintained that at the time when he retired on account of his disability, the law had allowed for a recalculation of disability pensions. However, once military pensions had become regulated by the legislation governing civilian pensions, he, unlike old age pensioners, no longer enjoyed such right to include his subsequent period of employment. 23 . The applicant further noted that at the time of his retirement in 2005 he had fulfilled both requirements for an early old age pension and for a disability pension and was able to choose under which regime to retire. He also provided information concerning a colleague military officer who had retired under the early retirement scheme and who had been allowed to have his pension recalculated on account of subsequent years in civilian employment, resulting in a significant increase in his monthly pension amounts, although they both had virtually the same number of years of military service and subsequent civilian employment.
The applicant contended that, despite having paid significant compulsory contributions to the Fund during his service as a civilian for over five years, he was subsequently unable to benefit from those contributions as a result of his disability for military service. 25 . Finally, the applicant also submitted that certain categories of disability pension beneficiaries were also entitled to specific rights under domestic law, but that the State never adopted a law in this respect. It was thus unacceptable for the State to now claim that the applicant had been positively discriminated in comparison to persons of reduced capacity to work. The applicant should not be compared to other persons of reduced capacity to work but instead to other persons who had contributed to the Fund. The Court’s assessment General principles
In order for an issue to arise under Article 14, there must be a difference in the treatment of persons in analogous, or relevantly similar, situations (see, amongst many authorities, Fábián v. Hungary [GC], no. 78117/13, § 113, 5 September 2017). In other words, the requirement to demonstrate an analogous position does not require that the comparator groups be identical. An applicant must demonstrate that, having regard to the particular nature of his or her complaint, he or she was in a relevantly similar situation to others treated differently (see Clift v. the United Kingdom , no. 7205/07, § 66, 13 July 2010).
However, not every difference in treatment will amount to a violation of Article 14. Firstly, the Court has established in its case-law that only differences in treatment based on an identifiable characteristic, or “status”, are capable of amounting to discrimination within the meaning of Article 14 (see Carson and Others v. the United Kingdom [GC], no. 42184/05, § 61, ECHR 2010, and Molla Sali v. Greece [GC], no. 20452/14, §§ 134, 19 December 2018). Secondly, a difference in treatment is discriminatory if it has no objective and reasonable justification; in other words, if it does not pursue a legitimate aim or if there is not a reasonable relationship of proportionality between the means employed and the aim sought to be realised (see Fabris v. France [GC], no. 16574/08, § 56, ECHR 2013 (extracts); and Weller v. Hungary , no. 44399/05, § 27, 31 March 2009).
The Contracting States enjoy a certain margin of appreciation in assessing whether and to what extent differences in otherwise similar situations justify a different treatment. The scope of the margin will vary according to the circumstances, the subject matter and the background (see Stummer v. Austria [GC], no. 37452/02, § 88, ECHR 2011), but the final decision as to the observance of the Convention’s requirements rests with the Court (see, among other authorities, Konstantin Markin v. Russia [GC], no. 30078/06, § 126, ECHR 2012 (extracts). First and foremost, the nature of the status upon which differential treatment is based weighs heavily in determining the scope of that margin (see Bah v. the United Kingdom , no. 56328/07 , § 47, ECHR 2011). The Court has recently reiterated that the margin of appreciation will be considerably wider, and the justification required will not be as weighty, if the status in question is subject to an element of personal choice (see Savickis and Others v. Latvia [GC], no. 49270/11, § 183, 9 June 2022). 29 . A wide margin is usually allowed to the State under the Convention when it comes to general measures of economic or social strategy (see Fábián , cited above, § 115). Because of their direct knowledge of their society and its needs, the national authorities are in principle better placed than the international judge to appreciate what is in the public interest on social or economic grounds, and the Court will generally respect the legislature’s policy choice unless it is “manifestly without reasonable foundation” (see Carson and Others , cited above, § 61). Any measures taken on such grounds, including the reduction of the amount of pension normally payable to the qualifying population, must nevertheless be implemented in a non-discriminatory manner and comply with the requirements of proportionality (see Lakićević and Others v. Montenegro and Serbia , nos. 27458/06 and 3 others, § 61, 13 December 2011, and Stec and Others v. the United Kingdom (dec.) [GC], nos. 65731/01 and 65900/01, § 55, ECHR 2005).
Lastly, as regards the burden of proof in relation to Article 14 of the Convention, the Court has held that once the applicant has shown a difference in treatment, it is for the Government to show that it was justified (see Popović and Others v. Serbia , no. 26944/13 et al, § 73, 30 June 2020). Application in the present case
The Court will first examine whether the applicant can be considered as being in an analogous or relevantly similar situation to the group he sought to compare himself with, namely pensioners in receipt of an old-age pension. The Court has already held that the elements which characterise different situations and determine the comparability of the two groups that are being compared must be assessed in the light of the subject matter and purpose of the measure which makes the distinction in question (see Fábián , cited above, § 121; see also Špoljar and Dječji vrtić Pčelice v. Croatia (dec.), no. 68320/13, § 39, 22 September 2020).
In that connection, the Court notes at the outset that the applicant belongs to a rather narrow group of persons who, despite qualifying for a disability pension, were entitled under Serbian law to subsequently take up new employment. As explained by the Government, only former military and police personnel were able to qualify for a disability pension without being fully unable to work and thus only they could take up new employment while at the same time keeping their entitlement to a disability pension (see paragraphs 13 and 18 above). In this context, it is irrelevant whether or not the State has adopted specific legislation regulating possible additional rights of other (non-military) disability pension beneficiaries, as claimed by the applicant (see paragraph 25 above), as he himself was not in that position.
Secondly, the Court attaches importance to the fact that, when retiring from military service in 2005, the applicant qualified both for an early old ‑ age pension and for a disability pension. As he himself admitted, he was allowed to choose under which regime he wished to retire, and he chose the latter (see paragraphs 4 and 23 above). Whatever the reasons behind his choice of the disability scheme at the material time, the applicant can hardly now compare, as he sought to do, his situation to that of another retired military officer with similar work experience, but who had chosen a different retirement scheme (see paragraph 23 above).
Thirdly, and perhaps most significantly, the Court notes that under Serbian law disability and old age pensions are not calculated in the same manner. As explained by the Government, a disability pension is normally more favourable for the person concerned as it already contains a more generous calculation of the benefit in question (see paragraph 19 above). Accordingly, the applicant already benefitted from such a favourable calculation (see paragraph 4 above). In such circumstances, the Court considers that it would be difficult, if not impossible, to combine the method of calculating both a disability and an old-age pension in respect of the same person.
In so far as the applicant argued that he would never receive in return the significant amounts of compulsory contributions which he had paid during his five years of service as a Deputy Prosecutor, the Court observes that the Serbian pension system is based on the solidarity principle and that in any event persons insured under such a scheme do not have an automatic entitlement to receive in benefits the equivalent amount of contributions they had paid to the system during their employment. The Court has already examined similar pension systems based on the principle of solidarity between contributors and beneficiaries, and concluded that the obligation to contribute to the statutory old-age insurance was not disproportionate nor did it amount to discriminatory treatment (see Ackermann and Fuhrmann v. Germany (dec.), no. 71477/01, 8 September 2005). It sees no reasons to depart from that conclusion in the present case.
Bearing in mind the foregoing, the Court considers that the purpose of the measure that makes the distinction between the old-age and disability pensioners in the present case is not to put one category in a less favourable position, or to discriminate a particular group of persons on the basis of their disability, but instead to reflect the different nature of the two pensions, and to contribute to the careful balancing of the amounts of benefits provided to the various groups of beneficiaries in the State’s social security system.
In sum, the Court is not convinced that the applicant has succeeded in showing that he was in a relevantly similar or analogous position to the group he sought to compare himself with.
It follows that this complaint is manifestly ill-founded within the meaning of Article 35 § 3 and has to be rejected pursuant to Article 35 § 4 of the Convention. For these reasons, the Court, unanimously, Declares the application inadmissible. Done in English and notified in writing on 8 September 2022. Hasan Bakırcı Jon Fridrik Kjølbro Registrar President