- Instanța
- Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului
- Data
- 11 martie 2008
- Stat pârât
- GBR
- Concluzia
- Inadmisibil
Peacock împotriva Regatului Unit
Traducere în română Auto
A doua secțiune DECIZIE PRIVIND ADMINISIBILitatea cererii nr. 28057/02 de Frederick PEACOCK împotriva Regatului Unit Curtea Europeană a Drepturilor Omului (a patra secțiune), care a stat la 11 martie 2008 în calitate de Cameră compusă din: Lech Garlicki, Președinte, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Stanislav Pavlovschi, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ledi Bianku, judecători și Lawrence Early, Secțiunea Grefier având în vedere cererea depusă la 24 octombrie 2001, având în vedere decizia parțială din 12 noiembrie 2002, având în vedere decizia de a aplica art. 29 § 3 din convenție și de a examina împreună admisibilitatea și meritul cazului, Având în vedere observațiile prezentate de guvernul contestat și observațiile transmise de solicitant, după deliberare, hotărăște după cum urmează: Reclamantul, dl Frederick Peacock, este un național britanic născut în 1944 și locuiește în județul Durham.
El a fost reprezentat în fața Curții de către Royds Rdw, avocati din Londra. Guvernul Regatului Unit (“Guvernul”) a fost reprezentat de agentul lor, dl C. Whowersley al Biroului Externe și Commonwealth. Faptele cazului, astfel cum au fost prezentate de părți, pot fi rezumate după cum urmează. Soția reclamantului a murit la 11 februarie 2001. Soția reclamantului a afirmat că la 21 aprilie 2001 a solicitat beneficiile văduvelor. Guvernul a contestat data de mai sus. În conformitate cu copia formularului de cerere prezentat Curții de către Guvern, se pare că reclamația beneficiilor a fost semnată de către reclamant la 25 mai 2001 și a fost ștampilată după data primită de Departamentul de Lucrări și Pensiuni la 29 mai 2001. La 30 mai 2001, reclamantul a fost informat că reclamația sa a fost dezactivată deoarece nu era o femeie.
Reclamantul nu a apelat în continuare, deoarece el a considerat sau a fost sfătuit că un astfel de remediu ar fi obligat să eșueze, deoarece nu este plătită unei astfel de prestații de securitate socială în temeiul dreptului Regatului Unit. Reclamantul nu a primit beneficiile pentru copii la momentul cererii sale. Legea internă relevantă Legea internă relevantă pentru această cerere este prevăzută în Willis v. Regatul Unit, nr. 36042/97, §§ 26, ECHR 2002-IV și Runkee și White c. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98 , §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007. Curtea reamintește că o văduvă nu a avut dreptul automat la beneficiile supraviețuitorilor, ci a trebuit să le revendice de la autoritatea relevantă.
Diferite termene aplicate: după 1997, o văduvă a trebuit să facă o cerere de plată a văduvei („Wpt”) în termen de trei luni de la moartea soțului ei; o cerere de acordare a mamei văduvice („WMA”) sau Pensiunea văduvă („WP”) ar putea fi făcută în afara termenului respectiv, dar ar fi retrasă doar trei luni. Pentru a fi eligibilă pentru WMA, o femeie a avut dreptul la beneficii pentru copii. Curtea observă că soția reclamantului a murit la 11 februarie 2001, dar că el a depus cererea de beneficii numai la 25 mai 2001, prin urmare, mai mult de trei luni după moartea ei. Curtea consideră că, cu excepția cazului în care un om nu a formulat o cerere către autoritățile interne pentru beneficii de largă, acesta nu poate fi considerat o „victima” a presupusei discriminări implicate în refuzul de a plăti astfel de beneficii, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar avea dreptul automat la beneficiile văduvelor până când nu a formulat o cerere.
În mod similar, un bărbat care nu s-a aplicat în termenele aplicate femeilor nu a putut, în majoritatea cazurilor, pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiul în cauză (a se vedea Rogan v. Regatul Unit, nr. 57946/00, decizia din 8 septembrie 2001). Astfel, Reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de o încălcare a drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Primului Protocol, iar plângerea în ceea ce privește Wpt este incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește plângerea referitoare la WMA, Curtea observă că reclamantul nu a fost la momentul cererii sale de primire a beneficiilor pentru copii și, prin urmare, nu poate pretinde că este o victimă a discriminării, deoarece o femeie în aceeași poziție nu ar fi avut dreptul la beneficiile în cauză (a se vedea mutatis mutandis Rogan c. Regatul Unit , nr. 57946/00, decizia din 8 septembrie 2001). Astfel, reclamantul nu poate pretinde că a fost victimă de încălcarea drepturilor sale în temeiul Convenției și al Primului Protocol, iar plângerea în ceea ce privește WMA este incompatibilă ratione personae cu dispozițiile Convenției și trebuie declarată inadmisibilă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ 3 și 4 din Convenție.
În ceea ce privește cererea pentru WP, Curtea a hotărât în hotărârea sa de conducere în ceea ce privește WP care la originea sa și până la abolirea acesteia în ceea ce privește femeile ale căror soții au murit după 9 aprilie 2001, WP a avut scopul de a corecta „inegalitățile reale” între văduvele în vârstă, ca grup, și restul populației, și că această diferență în ceea ce privește tratamentul a fost justificată în mod rezonabil și obiectiv.
În plus, Curtea a considerat că Regatul Unit nu a putut fi criticat pentru faptul că nu a abolit WP mai devreme și că nu este irazonabil din partea legislației să decidă să introducă reformele încet (a se vedea Runkee și White c. Regatul Unit , nr. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 iulie 2007). Curtea, în consecință, având în vedere faptul că nu a fost necesară examinarea separată a plângerii în ceea ce privește art. 8, nu a constatat o încălcare a articolului 14 luat în legătură cu art. 1 din Protocolul nr. 1 în ceea ce privește nepagarea reclamanților WP sau echivalent (ibid 42). În consecință, plângerea referitoare la WP este evident nefondată și trebuie respinsă în conformitate cu art. 35 §§ § 3 și 4 din Convenție.
Având în vedere cele de mai sus, este necesar să se întrerupă aplicarea articolului 29 §§ 3. Din aceste motive, Curtea decide în unanimitate să declare inadmisibilă restul cererii. Președintele grefierului Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki
FOURTH SECTION
FINAL DECISION
AS TO THE ADMISSIBILITY OF
Application no. 28057/02 by Frederick PEACOCK against the United Kingdom The European Court of Human Rights (Fourth Section), sitting on 11 March 2008 as a Chamber composed of: Lech Garlicki, President, Nicolas Bratza, Giovanni Bonello, Stanislav Pavlovschi, Ljiljana Mijović, David Thór Björgvinsson, Ledi Bianku, judges, and Lawrence Early, Section Registrar , Having regard to the above application lodged on 24 October 2001, Having regard to the partial decision of 12 November 2002, Having regard to the decision to apply Article 29 § 3 of the Convention and examine the admissibility and merits of the case together, Having regard to the observations submitted by the respondent Government and the observations in reply submitted by the applicant, Having deliberated, decides as follows: THE FACTS The applicant, Mr Frederick Peacock, is a British national who was born in 1944 and lives in County Durham.
He was represented before the Court by Royds Rdw, solicitors in London. The United Kingdom Government (“the Government”) were represented by their Agent, Mr C. Whomersley of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. A. The circumstances of the case The facts of the case, as submitted by the parties, may be summarised as follows. The applicant’s wife died on 11 February 2001. The applicant alleged that on 21 April 2001 he applied for widows’ benefits. The Government contested the above date. According to the copy of the application form submitted to the Court by the Government it appears that the benefits claim was signed by the applicant on 25 May 2001 and was date stamped as received by the Department of Works and Pensions on 29 May 2001. On 30 May 2001 the applicant was informed that his claim had been disallowed as he was not a woman.
The applicant did not appeal further as he considered or was advised that such a remedy would be bound to fail since no such social security benefit was payable to widowers under United Kingdom law. The applicant was not in receipt of child benefit at the time of his claim. B. Relevant domestic law The domestic law relevant to this application is set out in Willis v. the United Kingdom, no. 36042/97, §§ 14 ‑ 26, ECHR 2002-IV and Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007. COMPLAINT The applicant complained that British social security legislation discriminated against him on grounds of sex, in breach of Article 14 of the Convention taken in conjunction with both Article 8 of the Convention and Article 1 of Protocol No. 1. THE LAW The Court recalls that a widow was not automatically entitled to survivors’ benefits, but had to claim them from the relevant authority.
Various time-limits applied: after 1997, a widow had to make a claim for Widow’s Payment (“Wpt”) within three months of her husband’s death; a claim for Widowed Mother’s Allowance (“WMA”) or Widow’s Pension (“WP”) could be made outside that time-limit, but would be back-dated only three months. To be eligible for WMA, a woman had to be entitled to child benefit. The Court observes that the applicant’s wife died on 11 February 2001 but that he introduced his claim for benefits only on 25 May 2001, therefore more than three months after her death. The Court considers, that unless or until a man has made a claim to the domestic authorities for bereavement benefits, he cannot be regarded as a “victim” of the alleged discrimination involved in the refusal to pay such benefits, because a woman in the same position would not automatically be entitled to widows’ benefits until having made a claim.
Similarly, a man who failed to apply within the time-limits as they applied to women could not, in most cases, claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see Rogan v. the United Kingdom , no. 57946/00, decision of 8 September 2001). Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and First Protocol, and the complaint in respect of Wpt is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
In relation to the complaint in respect of WMA, the Court observes that the applicant was not at the time of his claim in receipt of child benefit and therefore he can not claim to be a victim of discrimination, since a woman in the same position would not have been entitled to the benefit in question (see, mutatis mutandis , Rogan v. the United Kingdom , no. 57946/00, decision of 8 September 2001). Thus, the applicant cannot claim to have been a victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention and First Protocol, and the complaint in respect of WMA is incompatible ratione personae with the provisions of the Convention and must be declared inadmissible in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
In relation to the claim for WP, the Court held in its lead judgment regarding WP that at its origin, and until its abolition in respect of women whose spouses died after 9 April 2001, WP was intended to correct “factual inequalities” between older widows, as a group, and the rest of the population and that this difference in treatment was reasonably and objectively justified.
Moreover, the Court considered that the United Kingdom could not be criticised for not having abolished WP earlier and that it was not unreasonable of the legislature to decide to introduce the reform slowly (see Runkee and White v. the United Kingdom , no. 42949/98, §§ 40-41, 25 July 2007). The Court, consequently, considering it was not necessary to examine separately the complaint in respect of Article 8, did not find a violation of Article 14 taken in conjunction with Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 in respect of the non-payment to the applicants of WP or equivalent ( ibid § 42). Consequently, the complaint in respect of WP is manifestly ill-founded and must be rejected in accordance with Article 35 §§ 3 and 4 of the Convention.
In view of the above it is appropriate to discontinue the application of Article 29 § 3. For these reasons, the Court unanimously Decides to declare inadmissible the remainder of the application. Lawrence Early Lech Garlicki Registrar President